We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap

Hostel | No19, Mondul 2, Khoum Svay Dangkom, Siem Reap, Cambodia -

94.2% Overall Rating

100 out of 109 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/06/2015)

Catherine Hooper thinks…

"Great, sociable roof bar and pool area which was a really nice place to relax after a day at Angkor Wat. The beds were huge and comfortable, and the rooms really clean."

Read all Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 6.00
  • Breakfast USD 2.50

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Full tours and travel service is available, no escorts or taxi girls in the hostel. Check in from 12am until 12pm every day. Food and drink from purchased from outside of the hostel should not be consumed on the premises. Group bookings of ten people are over are subject to a half board stipend.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Siem Reap?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Siem Reap

Pavillon Indochine Boutique - Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Prince D' Angkor Hotel & Spa
35.00 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Dream Villa
8.45 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Mystères d'Angkor
42.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Central Boutique Angkor Hotel
30.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 96.8% 9 reviews
Tara Angkor Hotel
28.00 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Velkommen Guesthouse Siem reap
4.00 USD

Guesthouse 89.8% 12 reviews
Explorers House
6.03 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.2%

Overall Rating

100 out of 109 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
96.0%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
88.0%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 99 of 108 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pool. AC. Rooftop bar

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Catherine Hooper

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 June 2015 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: Great, sociable roof bar and pool area which was a really nice place to relax after a day at Angkor Wat. The beds were huge and comfortable, and the rooms really clean.

Disliked: My dorm on the ground floor was pretty dark and not that well lit, and the bathroom facilities weren't great.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Facilities and location

Disliked: Security of building

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Elior Bliah

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2015 Elior would recommend this property

Liked: Young atmosphere, all the facilities A backpacker need

Disliked: Elior left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It offers a total package. You are able to stay, eat drink, organise tours etc etc. Convenient, friendly and organised.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Michael twomey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2015 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and gd 'top banana' bar

Disliked: Lots of guys

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved this hostel as it is so friendly and well set up to meet fellow travellers one bar or by the pool. It's the most social hostel we have stayed at so far in Asia. Easy to get to the temples and a short walk to pub street, the night market and lots of restaurants

Disliked: It would be good if they arranged group trips to the temples but otherwise nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Piqueira

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2015 David would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel with an awesome rooftop sand bar. Clean. Really easy to meet other people. Staff were very friendly and knowledgeable. I loved that each bunk had a big storage locker to put their pack in. Brilliant!

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Max Clinton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2015 Max would recommend this property

Liked: Good facilities and atmosphere

Disliked: Pool was quite dirty

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ana Gomez Gallardo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2015 Ana would recommend this property

Liked: Best atmosphere!

Disliked: Ana left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Esmee sturges

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2015

Liked: The rooftop beach bar is quite cool and the swinging chairs by the pool but that's about all that I liked here.

Disliked: Staff could be a lot friendlier, there are so many different workers you get confused who you just spoke to. Doesn't have a great atmosphere it seems to attract the wrong type of people. Stayed in a 4 bed dorm which was comfy and good aircon but then had to move to 12 bed door which was really hot and not what I wanted concidering I pay for aircon and I was not told I would be moved the 12 bed for my extra night otherwise I would not have agreed. I asked to change as it was to hot and was fully booked and I got my money back and stayed at the one connected to mad monkey down the road called naga hotel and it was great.. I then moved to funky flash packers(best hostel ever). I have stayed in mad monkey Siem reap and Kampot and neither have impressed me and for a well known hostel there A/C is shockingly bad. Food is also over priced.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

marcia jackson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2015 marcia would recommend this property

Liked: I love Mad Monkey, Siem Reap. I stay there every time I visit and would never stay anywhere else! The atmosphere upstairs in the bar always gets you ready for a night out in Pub Street. Bar staff are amazing and the rooms/dorms are clean. This was my 4th time staying at MM. Great value for money.

Disliked: The staff on reception like to take their time which is a bit frustrating if you have just got off a long bus, however this is Cambodia and they don't rush!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Turner

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2015 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed in a 4 bed dorm and it was so clean and spacious too. Right next to the pool. Great atmosphere all day at the pool and the beach bar upstairs is so much fun too. They also booked our buses for the next place which was helpful and not overpriced. Great hostel to meet other backpackers and a Close walk to the night life.

Disliked: Hannah left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

julija lavosnik

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2015 julija would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic service, good location, amazing vibrant atmosphere, loved the swimming pool!!! Staying there you're always aware of all the action and parties in the town!!! Loved every moment there!!!

Disliked: Nothing, even the noice from the bar was not a problem...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Joanna Stahl

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2015 Joanna would recommend this property

Liked: We loved the staff and the people we met here. The food was good and loved thatbit had a pool area!

Disliked: The only minor issues were our light and toilet were not working in our room but after we mentioned it, they were both fixed swiftly. We loved the hostel but did think it was a little too expensive in comparison to what was about.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roland Nüsser

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2015 Roland would recommend this property

Liked: Nice Location Good Pool Nice rooftopbar Mad Monkeys tuk tuk driver are awesome frindly and know a Lot about The places where they go best Guys ever hab a Great Day with them 14 hours on the road and they wir with a Big smile to Drive You Home

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

paul stevenson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2015 paul would recommend this property

Liked: this hostel is 5 star barside pool chillout cushions free computers lovely dorms cleaned all the time good tour info excellent beach bar many things going on if your in siem reap book this hostel ok

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jason Miller

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2015 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: The pool and the rooftop bar are great. The staff are very helpful and happy to be working there. So close to pub st as well!! Cant fault it

Disliked: Jason left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

chen si?run

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2015 chen would recommend this property

Liked: pool friendly good location

Disliked: a little noise

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Stephanie Giles

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2015 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good rooftop bar.

Disliked: Very noisy at night until about 1pm - we were on the second floor and the music and shouting (so much shouting) from the bar was quite loud. Room got cleaned daily but they left hair in the drain the first time. The map provided was terrible - pretty much useless. For a hostel/chain this is a simple thing to get right.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea Giraldo Tabares

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2015 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel with amazing location, 10 minutes walk form the Pub Street and market. The pool and the bar are perfect for meeting people. The rooms are clean, beds confortable and lockers big enough for your backpack.

Disliked: The rooms were a bit over priced compared to other hostels.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marie Schwabe

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2014 Marie would recommend this property

Liked: Pool and bar

Disliked: No comment

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were overall nice, having the pool was nice after going around temples, the lounging areas were comfortable good for relaxing. The bar was lively, and serves good food. Easy to book tuk tuks and tours etc.nat reception

Disliked: Me and my friend thought the rooms were very over priced compared to other hostels around so decided to move. The shower in our room didn't work. The bar was loud and went on throughout the night which is annoying when getting up for sunrise at the temples, and felt it was not necessary as pub street is only a walk down the road so probably not worth the extra cost of the hostel.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Lauren Novak

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2014 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Only short walk from pub street. Has a pool. Effective air con. Can organise lots of tours. Free water on arrival. Lockers in rooms.

Disliked: Quite dirty, not sure the room was cleaned for 3days we were there. Lock on our dorm door was broken, they didn't tell us and couldn't fix it. Bar closed early Sat night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gemma Beveridge

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2014 Gemma would recommend this property

Liked: This place is awesome. The staff are so helpful, it's in the perfect location, tuk tuks outside hostel for when you may need one. I wouldn't stay anywhere but here....if you like to party! Would recommend to everyone, definitely will come back. Solo traveller and met the best people ever :)

Disliked: Nothing!