We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap

Hostel | No19, Mondul 2, Khoum Svay Dangkom, Siem Reap, Cambodia -

87.0% Overall Rating

78 out of 86 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/09/2014)

"The rooms were overall nice, having the pool was nice after going around temples, the lounging areas were comfortable good for relaxing. The bar was lively, and serves good food. Easy to book tuk tuks and tours etc.nat…"

Read all Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 6.00
  • Breakfast USD 2.50

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Siem Reap?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Siem Reap

Pavillon Indochine Boutique - Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Prince D' Angkor Hotel & Spa
50.00 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Dream Villa
8.43 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Mystères d'Angkor
42.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Central Boutique Angkor Hotel
30.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 96.8% 9 reviews
Tara Angkor Hotel
39.67 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Velkommen Guesthouse Siem reap
5.00 USD

Guesthouse 88.8% 11 reviews
Angkoriana Boutique Hotel
16.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.0%

Overall Rating

78 out of 86 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
83.2%
Value
84.0%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 78 of 85 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marie Schwabe

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2014 Marie would recommend this property

Liked: Pool and bar

Disliked: No comment

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were overall nice, having the pool was nice after going around temples, the lounging areas were comfortable good for relaxing. The bar was lively, and serves good food. Easy to book tuk tuks and tours etc.nat reception

Disliked: Me and my friend thought the rooms were very over priced compared to other hostels around so decided to move. The shower in our room didn't work. The bar was loud and went on throughout the night which is annoying when getting up for sunrise at the temples, and felt it was not necessary as pub street is only a walk down the road so probably not worth the extra cost of the hostel.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Lauren Novak

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2014 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Only short walk from pub street. Has a pool. Effective air con. Can organise lots of tours. Free water on arrival. Lockers in rooms.

Disliked: Quite dirty, not sure the room was cleaned for 3days we were there. Lock on our dorm door was broken, they didn't tell us and couldn't fix it. Bar closed early Sat night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gemma Beveridge

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2014 Gemma would recommend this property

Liked: This place is awesome. The staff are so helpful, it's in the perfect location, tuk tuks outside hostel for when you may need one. I wouldn't stay anywhere but here....if you like to party! Would recommend to everyone, definitely will come back. Solo traveller and met the best people ever :)

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like that they adopt an ethical approach to employment to ensure their workers get paid above average and making sure they get enough holiday. A lot of places in cambodia aren't like this so its great that it means the staff are happy and enjoy working here. Also the food in the rooftop bar is really good quality and reasonably priced and all made fresh. The pool was great too and there are loads of comfy communal arews to chill put.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Bankart

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2014 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: In 35+ years of travel I've never stayed in a more friendly, fun place than Mad Monkey Siem Reap. 4th floor bar has a sand floor. Pool is perfect . Staff is beyond helpful and they have an in house staff of tuk tuk drivers who know their stuff

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Travelled solo and it was so easy to make friends given the fun atmosphere. Pool and roof top bar were great. Walking distance to Pub st!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel for social travellers. The pool was very nice and always perfectly clean and the rooftop bar had a nice beach vibe.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2014

Liked: The bar and pool

Disliked: A bit overrated and a bit far out from pub street

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gwen de vries

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2014 Gwen would recommend this property

Liked: Great people, great atmosphere, loved the pool!

Disliked: Not really a dislike, but the prices for food and tours are slightly higher then they are out in the street. But that's what you can expect for booking trough a hostel right?

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Baizurawani Richard

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2014 Baizurawani would recommend this property

Liked: The swimming pool and the rooftop bar were amazing and very unique for a low budget hostel. The location was also very good as it is located near lots of restaurants and shops. It is also 5 minutes away from the night market.

Disliked: The fact that the staff would just barge in our room without any warning is concerning. They should knock first and politely ask if they need to clean the room.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooftop

Disliked: Some of the unfriendly staff

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jan Vogel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2014 jan would recommend this property

Liked: nice hostel to meet other people (pool, rooftopbar), nice beds

Disliked: the pool area is very noisy around noon and afternoon (people and music). try to get a room not at the pool side.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lee thomas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2014 lee would recommend this property

Liked: awesome atmosphere

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were clean. The rooftop bar and the pool were great.

Disliked: The room wasn't air conditioned when it said it would be.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good young person atmosphere for socializing. great bar, great bartenders, free shots nightly. weekly hostel specials, drink specials. medium food price for western dishes in Cambodia.

Disliked: bathroom smelled like and looked rusty.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

waranya leelawatwatana

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2014 waranya would recommend this property

Liked: Good fun

Disliked: No duvet . Just a sheet in a/c room

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location; swimming pool; good food

Disliked: It can be a bit noisy at night - they play a lot of loud music at the rooftop bar, and I'm not really one for drinking or going to bed at the crack of dawn. It didn't disturb me as such, but just a warning for anyone who can't sleep through loud music.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Ben Duff

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2014 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly staff and a great chill out place as well. The rooftop bar has some great food, at fairly reasonable prices, certainly the best breakfast we found in siem reap. The pool is really nice as well with comfy beanbags, it's a great place to meet others with plenty of people hanging out, mostly talking about the temples and heat. The rooms had big comfy beds and felt plenty safe enough.

Disliked: No complaints, wish it was cheaper though

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jakub Žitný

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2014 Jakub would recommend this property

Liked: Best place to stay in SR. They have pool, wifi, beach rooftop bar, it's almost in the SR centre. Awesome.

Disliked: Jakub left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ángel Gómez Vallejo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2014 Ángel would recommend this property

Liked: nice place, clean, fantastic bar, beautiful pool, well located

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lauren Moon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2014 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed the rooftop bar and restaurant. The food was incredible! I could have eaten there three meals a day, everyday. Meeting Steve on our first night really set the tone for our experience in Siem Reap. Such a cool place with a little bit of everything for everyone!

Disliked: The bathrooms were a bit small with poor lighting and a small foggy mirror. This kind of makes it difficult for multiple people to get ready for an evening out. Also, Wi-Fi is very choppy and can be unreliable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yone Liau

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2014 Yone would recommend this property

Liked: Just the general atmosphere is very welcoming and a great place with activities for travelers to interact with other travelers. Just on the check in we were given tokens for a free 'drink of awesomeness' at their rooftop beach bar! I was recommended this hostel by another traveller and my only regret is not booking more nights sooner since this hostel gets booked fast.

Disliked: Just wished I could have extra nights at this hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was super easy to meet people there

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bahador Hosseini-Alast

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2014 Bahador would recommend this property

Liked: Everything about this place is awesome (The staff, the rooms, the pool, bar, location, etc.) It's very close to the entertainment district of Siem Reap and there is always something going on at one of the two bars in the hostel. It's more like a resort, at a much better price. We had a great time and met several amazing people. I would strongly recommend this place.

Disliked: Nothing.