We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Palm Garden Lodge

Guesthouse | La Pax Hotel Street (No.132, St. Tepvong)Next to Phsar Gné, Ta Poul Village, Svaydan kum Siem Reap, Cambodia .

89.8% Overall Rating

294 out of 328 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/12/2014)

Janny Jian thinks…

"I stayed four nights at lodge in a single room. The staff are incredibly friendly and very helpful in organizing tuktuks, tours or private guides to the temples and sightseeing the rest of the local…"

Read all Palm Garden Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Room service (24 hour)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Siem Reap?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Siem Reap

288 Boutique Villa
25.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Shadow Angkor Inn
27.75 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
King Boutique
16.50 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.9% 120 reviews
Oudom Angkor Villa
10.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Ancient Angkor Inn
14.45 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Bun Linda Hostel
8.50 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Garden Village Guesthouse
3.50 USD

Guesthouse 65.3% 67 reviews
Avatar Angkor Hotel & Restaurant
13.00 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.8%

Overall Rating

294 out of 328 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Palm Garden Lodge'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
92.0%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 314 of 325 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Aron Benedek

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2014 Aron would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap, but okay.

Disliked: The staff could not manage to repair the the hot water for two days.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

jurij drevensek

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2014 jurij would recommend this property

Liked: location and atmosphere

Disliked: jurij left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chi Fung Hui

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2014

Liked: Location is good which is a short walk or bike ride to the downtown and night market.

Disliked: A few things I don't like about this hostel: Upon my arrival they told me the hostel was full and I had to go to another hostel which is owned by the same owners. When I get my room (which was advertised as a one-bed dorm), it was 3 single beds tightly together (no space in between), and 2 of them has been used but not yet tidied up. The breakfast is also shocking as it was instant noodle with a fried egg. There are so many hostels around one should find a better one at a similar price range.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff

Disliked: There was a booking mistake on their part, but they made up for it.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2014

Liked: I loved the staff...they are so sweet. so i feel very sad to write a bad review for the property.

Disliked: i think this place needs a face lift. the rooms, the bathroom especially.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

peter williams

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2013 peter would recommend this property

Liked: When I arrived they put me in the hotel opposite, the room review relates to that hotel. Both hotels looked clean and tdy.staff at both hotels were friendly. They even phoned a tuk tuk driver for me so I could arrange circuit trips without using the drivers based at the hotel. Internet workedworked in the outside area of palm garden lodge and they PC's available to.

Disliked: When booking it says that they will collect you from bus station.saying not to use other drivers as they take you to other hotel. They did not turn up so had to get another driver. The hotel did refund me the rare.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Work / volunteering

26 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had nice stay in here. This guesthouse is located in the heart of Siem Reap. It was well decorated with a beautiful small garden and we were served welcome drink. The staff was also very attentive to our needs and provided us all the information we needed to get around the City. They also charge very reasonably cheap price for Angkor tour. There was free coffee, internet connection and wifi, city map and pick up from airport and bus station. It’s really quiet place too. Probably the best place we've stayed in South East Asia. Great value too. As budget travelers it's a little more than we usually spend but it was worth it for the standard and service.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My visit was a short one, so I did not have the opportunity to make use of all the facilities that were offered but we really enjoyed the ambience and the excellent service offered by the staffs. The staffs were wonderful, friendly and helpful. They have a good selection of tours of the temples and the surrounding area and can arrange drivers and guides with reasonable price. They picked us up at the bus station at 05:00am for free, and they booked our transport to our next destination in Cambodia. Would recommend this place to anyone who is visiting Siem Reap.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lim Wenxia

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2013 lim would recommend this property

Liked: This is a nice place. Really friendly and helpful staff. Lovely guesthouse and tours. It is a 15 mins walk from all the restaurants, bars, shops and markets. So it's really quiet as well. It’s the best place we've stayed in South East Asia. Great value for money.

Disliked: lim left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2013

Liked: Free breakfast, large clean room, free water, about 15min walk to Pub Street

Disliked: The sign outside the hostel is ripped and falling apart, so you can't really see the name of the hostel at all. As such, it is difficult for drivers or tour operators to find this particular hostel as the sign isn't visible. The tuk tuk drivers at the hostel are kind of pushy, and will ask you everyday if you need a tuk tuk service. Front desk isn't staffed all the time, so sometimes no one's there to pick up the phone. No hot showers here (but the water is around room-temperature, so it's manageable).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed here for 2 nights, the staff were very friendly and helpful , they organized us an excellent tuk tuk driver and guide to visit the temples. we also received a free breakfast, hot tea and coffee which was really enjoyed with. the guesthouse had cheap price and great value for money. We enjoyed our stay here and would visit again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yim Wong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2013 Yim would recommend this property

Liked: So many good things of this place. Staffs were so helpful, friendly, polite, good English speaking and smiling. They helped us arranging tours and transfers at honest prices (free pickup from the airport). Free tea, coffee and breakfast was excellent. Great location, closed to the central markets, and the night markets. But it’s very quiet at night. Thanks so much for making my stay so comfortable and enjoyable!

Disliked: Yim left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Garren Emily

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2013 Garren would recommend this property

Liked: I did not expect much from the choices of accommodations I considered during our previous trip to Cambodia. All I wanted was a comfortable private room that I could share with my husband after a long day of touring Angkor. The hotel is located very near the Central market, Angkor Night Market and Pub Street area, but it is located in a quiet alley, so you won't be bothered by any noise. Our trip to Siem Reap, the owner of lodge told us by email that they have a free pick-up service for their guests which is really nice because you get to save a few bucks for the transfer and you won't get lost looking for the hotel. They just told us to tell them in advance of our arrival time in Siem Reap and what bus will I be taking. True enough, when we arrived at bus station. We’re so happy to see a tuk-tuk driver holding a paper with my name on it. Our room was a standard, comfortable and nice one. We give Palm Garden Lodge excellent service, because of the staffs are very courteous, accommodating, helpful and very friendly. They really went an extra mile to make you feel really at home. When we get a chance to go back in Siem Reap, we'll definitely stay again in here. Really thank for everyone.

Disliked: No

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here for 3 nights. Room was nicely decorated, my room number was 402. I really loved it. Location was great. On a quieter side street, but walking distance to all the markets, restaurants and shops. The service was excellent. They organized a great tuk tuk driver and tour guide for me to explore Angkor and others ruins. I travelled alone and felt safe the whole time.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Frankie Bolton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2013 Frankie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so friendly! My debit card was blocked when I got to Cambodia and the owner let me use his mobile to call my bank twice to get it sorted. They also invited me to join them for dinner one evening.

Disliked: Nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Sarah Bonham

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2013

Liked: We booked the hotel in advance, they collected us from the bus stop which was great, the staff were friendly and it seemed like a nice place.

Disliked: The bathroom was ok but it was a wet room, so no shower cubicle just a shower on the wall next to the toilet. We didn't stay however because the room had bed bugs, they were crawling over the bed and floor. We took one down to show them and they weren't interested, they didn't try and stop us leaving, i think they wanted us to leave quietly before putting off new customers. We found a lovely hotel in the guidebook and stayed there instead.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a great stay here in an airconditioned room which was clean and comfortable, especially for the price. Make friends with the tuk tuk drivers, some of them are great fun and lovely people. I remember reading a review that the staff were unfriendly - I imagine these reviewers are just referring to the few staff who don't speak English very well, I don't think they were unfriendly!

Disliked: When we first arrived I was quite annoyed because even though we had booked and paid a deposit they told us they were fully booked but that we would sleep that first night in another guesthouse around the corner and then spend the remaining 2 nights at Palm Garden Lodge as planned. Luckily, the guesthouse they must have some deal with is of a similar standard, if not better. I would have been VERY annoyed if they had put us into gross accommodation that I knew nothing about. One of the tuk tuk drivers drove us to the guesthouse around the corner and picked us up again in the morning so it wasn't too much of an inconvenience. All was good in the end and we really enjoyed our stay here, mostly because of the Cambodian staff there who we were able to have some drinks and a laugh with!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Ian May

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing stood out but it was value for money

Disliked: The first room I was given was the roadside one which seemed like it hadn't been used for a while, both beds were dirty/dusty and needed changing and my room also had no hot water. I asked for the beds to be changed but came back to the same situation and an excuse that I had the only room key. However they did eventually move me to another room after I kicked up a fuss, so I'd say check your room first.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Within walking distance to Pub Street and the Old Market, this guesthouse is an oasis of calm. Staffs are very friendly and helpful and will arrange whatever you need. Rooms are cheap and cheerful, and clean. I would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alastair Breen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2013 Alastair would recommend this property

Liked: really frienldy staff will help you out with anything and everything. The owner himself picked us up from the bus station which was really good.

Disliked: no too keen on the breakfast and the shower leaked onto our floor

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joe Lorren

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2013 Joe would recommend this property

Liked: I had a nice stay for 3 nights in here. I don't think I've ever stayed in a guesthouse or hotel, where all the staff was so great, helpful, and genuinely happy to get acquainted with guests. My room was kept clean by the housekeeping. They had free pickup service airport, bus station. There are lots of lodging choices in Siem Reap and I'm sure there are others that are just as good, but this lodge felt like your home.

Disliked: Joe left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2013

Liked: Just a 10min walk to pub street and night market. Also, 12km away from Angkor Wat Temple which is good if you plan to ride a bike.

Disliked: The linen of the bed and pillows smell really really bad as if 100 smelly people who doesn't take a bath for a month slept on that bed. I am not kidding! My own laundry which I used as my pillow smells good than their own pillows! Yuck!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wie Feng

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2013 Wie would recommend this property

Liked: My friend and I stayed here in September and had a lovely stay. From the moment we arrived we were greeted with Orange juice and big smiles all around. It was great to have access to free Wifi. The rooms were clean, very cheap, big enough and decorated in the Khmer style. The staffs were so friendly. They arranged great tour for us and really low price. We're really happy with them and we’ll stay here again.

Disliked: Wie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lee Jing

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 Lee would recommend this property

Liked: This guesthouse is great value for money. The rooms are clean and everything is fine. What is really outstanding is the service. The staff is very caring, helpful and friendly. They have free pick up, breakfast, city map, Wifi. It is very central and you can walk everywhere in Siem Reap. I certainly recommend to any travelers.

Disliked: Lee left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We've never stayed at a hotel or guesthouse with staffs as friendly as that in Palm Garden Lodge. From the time I checked in till I left, everyone always had a kind smile and polite. Everything mentioned in the other reviews is true. They’re free breakfst, tea, coffee, Wifi and Internet. They offer package tours to all the temples with a lowest price. Our room were nice, clean and comfortable. The location is excellent, just a few mins with TukTuk to the Old Market, Night Market and Pub Street. We will return again.

Disliked: Nothing