HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Garden Village Guesthouse

Guesthouse | #434, Group 4, Steng Thmey village, Svaydongkum commune Siem Reap, Cambodia r3x 1k1

67.2% Overall Rating

45 out of 63 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/12/2013)

Rachel Herbert thinks…

"It's perfect for cheap accommodation, bit grubby in the rooms but livable for sure as there is a nice easy going atmosphere."

Read all Garden Village Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Siem Reap?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Siem Reap

Mekong Angkor Palace Hotel
17.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 80.3% 9 reviews
Naga Angkor Hotel
5.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
King Boutique
7.50 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.9% 120 reviews
Avatar Angkor Hotel & Restaurant
8.00 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Hotel Somadevi Angkor Resort & Spa
36.85 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Prohm Roth Guesthouse
6.50 USD

Guesthouse 87.5% 91 reviews
The Villa Siem Reap
12.50 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Sidewalk Hotel
10.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.7% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.2%

Overall Rating

45 out of 63 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Garden Village Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
74.4%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
52.8%
Staff
67.2%
Value
74.4%
Safety
65.6%
Refine your results Showing 55 of 60 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Eva Kepka

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2014 Eva would recommend this property

Liked: good location, nice atmosphere, wide range of rooms

Disliked: well, not that clean hostel, but for this price is completely acceptable.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Romy Gallardo de la Hoz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The bathroom was dirty, the whold room. I never saw someone cleaning. In my bed there where bugs. I woke up the next morning with al black spots on my sheets , that was from killing the bugs in my sleep, how discasting !!! Then the next i ask for clean sheets and they transfer me tho another room, that was nice but solved no problems.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: THE rooftop bar

Disliked: Mices

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Rachel Herbert

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2013 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: It's perfect for cheap accommodation, bit grubby in the rooms but livable for sure as there is a nice easy going atmosphere.

Disliked: There was not enough lockers for valuables.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap

Disliked: n/a

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Redentor Real

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2013 Redentor would recommend this property

Liked: cheap

Disliked: n/a

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

james walton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 November 2013 james would recommend this property

Liked: Good restaurant, good value for money, only 5 minute walk into town centre, plently of tuk tuks around in case you don't want to walk, helpful tour desk

Disliked: Rooms very hot with just fan-definitely recommend air con, room wasn't cleaned once throughout my stay, can be noisy late at night and early mornings depending on room your in.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2013

Liked: Not much

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2013

Liked: The price and decent wifi

Disliked: Wondering if I was going to fall through the floor and dodging holes in the floor getting to my room. The whole floor shaking when others walked to there room. Sleeping on a mat on the floor no actual bed.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2013

Liked: The price and the food were good.

Disliked: Our door did not fully close. We did not have wifi in the rooms, the food was incredibly slow.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The 4 dollar double room is amazing value. you get free internet and wifi and pub street is 2 minutes away. The bar sells 50 cent beer and cheap food. It is a very sociable hostel.

Disliked: The pillows had mould and a rat was on the celling but for 4 dollars the value is amazing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

David BENONY

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere in the hostel Feel like home

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

12 March 2013

Liked: Very cheap options, quite good location close to the centre.

Disliked: bathroom wasn't clean, rooms were abit dirty too.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Dimitar Grakov

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2013 Dimitar would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and cheap, it's also cheap.

Disliked: Nothing. I like lizards.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and friendly

Disliked: We had a massive power cut whilst I stayed there the whole of siem reap was in the dark, not enough candles where provided

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Nataliia Giumiushliu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2013

Liked: The guesthouse is one of the cheapest in the town

Disliked: The first day I came to the place with my Chinese friend who had a Cambodian translator and the stuff told us that they don't have space. Later I came alone and they found one room for me. It was very dirty, the shower was broken, etc. I asked if they had dorm availiable next day. The girl at the reception told me that she doesn't know... So I deicided to book online (because the computer system may know better that her!) Next morning I showed her the reservation when I was ready to move to the dorm and she was laughing and she told me that there was no need to book because I already lived in the guesthouse so I didnt need any reservations, they had space in the dorm for me. She promissed me to give 10% money I paid online back when I checked in. But after 5 days when I was checking out she didn't give money back. So stupid first say that she doesnt know if they have space or not for me the next day and then refuse my reservation by online...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's one of the least expensive places in Siem Reap that I found online. I stayed in a single room with a shared bathroom. The entire room is made out of bamboo, which is kind of cool. The Internet is pretty fast and reliable.

Disliked: Both of the bathrooms I used looked like they hadn't been cleaned in years. One of them didn't even have piping for the sink so when you turned on the water, it splashed you once it hit the floor. The drain of the shower I used was a little clogged so by the time I finished taking a shower, I was standing in a puddle of probably dirty water. Yuck!

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Sean Stokes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2013

Liked: Not much. The location was ok.

Disliked: Staff playing along with travellers acting like idiots to try to look cool. Dirty bathroom. Unsafe, no lockers available and no plug to charge phone overnight without sleeping with it well away from your bed when people are leaving at 3am. Untrustworthy staff. Demanded money as I was leaving despite me insisting I had paid for everything. Luckily after 10 minutes looking and my pick up bus waiting for me, I found my receipts. Food took forever to come and when it did left a lot to be desired. I could go on...I never usually write bad reviews but felt compelled to here. I stayed at The Mad Monkey in Phnom Penh and loved it. Wish I had just stayed at their hostel in Siem Reap now too.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Manon Pagniey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2013 Manon would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place to meet a lot of people

Disliked: I was staying in the $2,50 dorm, which was fine, you had your own fan and light. The only thing was that I had ants all over my bed for 4 nights in a row and not because I had food or anything. It is just full of insects and dust. Showers are fine, even though it is very dirty at the end of the day.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Harts Kesuma

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2013 Harts would recommend this property

Liked: very good location n u can safe alot money

Disliked: no thing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price,WiFi

Disliked: It was not very comfortble to stay here. Don't expect. But don't forget. This accomodation is one of the cheapest in Siem Reap. If you pay $2 more, you can find more comfortable accomodation.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stacey Wilkinson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2012 Stacey would recommend this property

Liked: Met lots of cool people here, one of the best-value hostels I've stayed at in the last few months. The bar/common room area is great, fast free wifi, helpful staff, great location near Pub Street, great food on the menu...for a dollar a night, what more do you want!

Disliked: Wouldn't say it's a dislike, but be aware of the 'Khmer style' in parts of the hostel, it is open-air (and it IS Cambodia) so you do get the odd lizard, rat, spider scuttling around outside. You've got a net, though so you'll be safe!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Maria Shevyakova

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2012 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: I slept in small rustic bamboo room. Matrass, fan and mosquito net. Shared bathroom. Good wifi. For 3 dollar it's cool place!

Disliked: cafe on the territory of guest house was very noisy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I think this is an ideal stay for any backpacker!

Disliked: Nothing, really.