We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Garden Village Guesthouse

Guesthouse | #434, Group 4, Steng Thmey village, Svaydongkum commune Siem Reap, Cambodia r3x 1k1

65.3% Overall Rating

48 out of 67 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/09/2014)

"The sunset bar is this places only redeeming feature. The food is tasty and very reasonably priced, and the staff in this area actually seem to have a clue what they're doing."

Read all Garden Village Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Siem Reap?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Siem Reap

Mekong Angkor Palace Hotel
17.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 80.3% 9 reviews
Naga Angkor Hotel
5.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
King Boutique
10.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.9% 120 reviews
288 Boutique Villa
15.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Avatar Angkor Hotel & Restaurant
10.00 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Hotel Somadevi Angkor Resort & Spa
36.85 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Royal Hidden Villa
7.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Prohm Roth Guesthouse
6.75 USD

Guesthouse 87.5% 91 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.3%

Overall Rating

48 out of 67 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Garden Village Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
67.2%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
64.8%
Cleanliness
52.0%
Staff
62.4%
Value
71.2%
Safety
64.0%
Refine your results Showing 59 of 64 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2014

Liked: The sunset bar is this places only redeeming feature. The food is tasty and very reasonably priced, and the staff in this area actually seem to have a clue what they're doing.

Disliked: Holes in the ceilings and general disrepair to the whole place. They played loud music until 2am. When you're planning on getting up at 5am to go to Ankor Wat this is an absolute farce. The dorms have only one key for all guests. As a result it gets left in the slot which provides the electrics and the door is constantly left open. As each bed does NOT have its own power socket, you are forced to abandon your valuables at random power points, which means at any point in the night someone could walk in and steal your stuff! Ridiculous! The lockers have abnormally large hoops, meaning most people are forced to get a padlock from reception to fit. We were assured there would be someone available at 4:30am to take orders for sandwiches for Ankor Wat and we were really impressed by this as we had gone to order the night before. When we got up at 4am just to order our sandwiches before our Tuk Tuk came it turned out to be a total lie. We found a member of staff at the desk and asked what was going on, he simply looked at us as if we were idiots and said 'Food when the chef gets here but I don't know wher that will be'. Helpful! We left after 5 and still no one had appeared. We bought a padlock from reception and as per the signs in reception I requested a receipt. I was told I didn't need one. Later that day a member of staff chased me halfway to my room and accused me of stealing my padlock. He demanded my receipt and obviously I didn't have one, so I had to return to reception and point out the man who had refused to give me one. We gave in our laundry and were told it would be 24 hours. 24 hours later no laundry, and no explanation except a shrug. No apology. And when we DID get our laundry another 24 hours later we were accused AGAIN of not paying for it even though I had the receipt and there was another receipt IN THE BAG WITH THE WASHING which he had just handed to us which clearly said paid!!! All in all the reception staff are utterly unhelpful and the rooms are pathetic. We moved down the road for the same price to a private room which was far superior.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location easy walking distance to pub street, sunset bar is a cool place to hang out, air con in the rooms is really good.

Disliked: Some staff need a serious attitude adjustment. Which is a shame because a few of them are really nice and helpful, but they get overshadowed by the down right rudeness of the rest of them. It's funny that they should go to such lengths to look smart with matching shirts and trousers when they don't bother to sort out the rude attitude problems some of them have. In my first room the toilets never once got cleaned, I watched the cleaners just walk in and out again on several occasions, it got to the point where there was sand everywhere around the whole room from outside and you had to wear shoes in the toilet it was so gross, there was a dead cockroach sitting there for god knows how long and just general rubbish on every surface, I complained to reception in which they said they would get someone to clean it, I returned later that day to the exact same state, all that had gone was the cockroach. I had to move rooms during my stay and the next room was cleaner but from no help from the actual cleaners, we were just lucky not to have sand and messy people in the room. At one point no one has the air con remote and the air con wasn't on, so we asked reception and this EXTREMELY rude member of staff basically told us we were lying and the remote was in the room, when I said we had all searched everywhere she cut me off and got even ruder telling me it was there and basically couldn't be bothered to deal with me any longer, later in the day a guy from the room asked another member of staff and they kindly went and got the remote from BEHIND RECEPTION! So the rude cow had actually been wrong the whole time and even if she hadn't she needed a slap in the face and some manners taught to her. We also had an issue where they padlocked our stuff into some lockers whilst we were out as we had not paid for the next night yet, I have never ever been to a hostel so strict that they can't be bothered to clean you room but will go to the effort to empty your bed of things and padlock them into a locker. I felt like it was more to prove a point than anything else as they knew we weren't going anywhere anytime soon, I've been travelling for 11months now and have never been to a hostel so trick on payment, you need to ease up a little. Funnily enough I probably would stay again because the travellers that come to this hostel create the best atmosphere, but the staff and cleaners need to sort it out!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: X

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Shauna Furse

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2014 Shauna would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice atmosphere, very sociable with a good bar and restaurant.

Disliked: Sometimes a little unclean in the bathroom, but for the price you pay it is of a reasonable standard.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Eva Kepka

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2014 Eva would recommend this property

Liked: good location, nice atmosphere, wide range of rooms

Disliked: well, not that clean hostel, but for this price is completely acceptable.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Romy Gallardo de la Hoz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The bathroom was dirty, the whold room. I never saw someone cleaning. In my bed there where bugs. I woke up the next morning with al black spots on my sheets , that was from killing the bugs in my sleep, how discasting !!! Then the next i ask for clean sheets and they transfer me tho another room, that was nice but solved no problems.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: THE rooftop bar

Disliked: Mices

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Rachel Herbert

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2013 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: It's perfect for cheap accommodation, bit grubby in the rooms but livable for sure as there is a nice easy going atmosphere.

Disliked: There was not enough lockers for valuables.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap

Disliked: n/a

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Redentor Real

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2013 Redentor would recommend this property

Liked: cheap

Disliked: n/a

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

james walton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 November 2013 james would recommend this property

Liked: Good restaurant, good value for money, only 5 minute walk into town centre, plently of tuk tuks around in case you don't want to walk, helpful tour desk

Disliked: Rooms very hot with just fan-definitely recommend air con, room wasn't cleaned once throughout my stay, can be noisy late at night and early mornings depending on room your in.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2013

Liked: Not much

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2013

Liked: The price and decent wifi

Disliked: Wondering if I was going to fall through the floor and dodging holes in the floor getting to my room. The whole floor shaking when others walked to there room. Sleeping on a mat on the floor no actual bed.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2013

Liked: The price and the food were good.

Disliked: Our door did not fully close. We did not have wifi in the rooms, the food was incredibly slow.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The 4 dollar double room is amazing value. you get free internet and wifi and pub street is 2 minutes away. The bar sells 50 cent beer and cheap food. It is a very sociable hostel.

Disliked: The pillows had mould and a rat was on the celling but for 4 dollars the value is amazing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

David BENONY

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere in the hostel Feel like home

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

12 March 2013

Liked: Very cheap options, quite good location close to the centre.

Disliked: bathroom wasn't clean, rooms were abit dirty too.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Dimitar Grakov

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2013 Dimitar would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and cheap, it's also cheap.

Disliked: Nothing. I like lizards.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and friendly

Disliked: We had a massive power cut whilst I stayed there the whole of siem reap was in the dark, not enough candles where provided

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Nataliia Giumiushliu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2013

Liked: The guesthouse is one of the cheapest in the town

Disliked: The first day I came to the place with my Chinese friend who had a Cambodian translator and the stuff told us that they don't have space. Later I came alone and they found one room for me. It was very dirty, the shower was broken, etc. I asked if they had dorm availiable next day. The girl at the reception told me that she doesn't know... So I deicided to book online (because the computer system may know better that her!) Next morning I showed her the reservation when I was ready to move to the dorm and she was laughing and she told me that there was no need to book because I already lived in the guesthouse so I didnt need any reservations, they had space in the dorm for me. She promissed me to give 10% money I paid online back when I checked in. But after 5 days when I was checking out she didn't give money back. So stupid first say that she doesnt know if they have space or not for me the next day and then refuse my reservation by online...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's one of the least expensive places in Siem Reap that I found online. I stayed in a single room with a shared bathroom. The entire room is made out of bamboo, which is kind of cool. The Internet is pretty fast and reliable.

Disliked: Both of the bathrooms I used looked like they hadn't been cleaned in years. One of them didn't even have piping for the sink so when you turned on the water, it splashed you once it hit the floor. The drain of the shower I used was a little clogged so by the time I finished taking a shower, I was standing in a puddle of probably dirty water. Yuck!

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Sean Stokes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2013

Liked: Not much. The location was ok.

Disliked: Staff playing along with travellers acting like idiots to try to look cool. Dirty bathroom. Unsafe, no lockers available and no plug to charge phone overnight without sleeping with it well away from your bed when people are leaving at 3am. Untrustworthy staff. Demanded money as I was leaving despite me insisting I had paid for everything. Luckily after 10 minutes looking and my pick up bus waiting for me, I found my receipts. Food took forever to come and when it did left a lot to be desired. I could go on...I never usually write bad reviews but felt compelled to here. I stayed at The Mad Monkey in Phnom Penh and loved it. Wish I had just stayed at their hostel in Siem Reap now too.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Manon Pagniey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2013 Manon would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place to meet a lot of people

Disliked: I was staying in the $2,50 dorm, which was fine, you had your own fan and light. The only thing was that I had ants all over my bed for 4 nights in a row and not because I had food or anything. It is just full of insects and dust. Showers are fine, even though it is very dirty at the end of the day.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Harts Kesuma

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2013 Harts would recommend this property

Liked: very good location n u can safe alot money

Disliked: no thing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price,WiFi

Disliked: It was not very comfortble to stay here. Don't expect. But don't forget. This accomodation is one of the cheapest in Siem Reap. If you pay $2 more, you can find more comfortable accomodation.