HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of HI Siem Reap

Hostel | 209 Wat Domnak Village, Salakamruek Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia .

92.5% Overall Rating

66 out of 68 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/07/2014)

Andrew Reeve thinks…

"The is the best place I stayed at in SEA. Lovely staff who were very helpful, pub street a 5 min walk away through a populated area."

Read all HI Siem Reap reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Café

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Siem Reap?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Siem Reap

Damnak Riverside Villa
10.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Tropical Breeze Guesthouse
5.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.0% 28 reviews
Tan Kang Angkor Hotel & Restaurant
11.50 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Royal Crown Hotel
22.70 USD

Hotel 4 star 92.6% 5 reviews
Villa Médamrei
16.00 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
New Bequest Angkor Hotel
7.50 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Steung Siemreap Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
53.00 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.5%

Overall Rating

66 out of 68 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI Siem Reap'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
96.8%
Value
92.8%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 63 of 68 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Reeve

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 July 2014 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: The is the best place I stayed at in SEA. Lovely staff who were very helpful, pub street a 5 min walk away through a populated area.

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They have been nice and you could sit outside and play pool. Beds have been big and comfortable.

Disliked: Toilet and bathroom was a bit small and often wet because of the shower. You need a locker, if you want to put things away. Unfortunately they do not offer a computer.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff in booking our visit to Ankor Wat and bus to Phnom Penh which is invaluable in avoiding scams in Cambodia, especially touristy Siem Reap. We stayed in a private double, whic was nice but a bit stuffy, but that's kind of unavoidable in humidity. Very clean and tidy though.

Disliked: The free breakfast is just bread (not toast) and butter/jam (but really who can complain about free stuff) and we had a bit of trouble finding it as we arrived at night, but no biggies!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really sociable and the staff were helpful and friendly its location is amazing.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alex Levinson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

01 June 2014 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location, right by the market and 2 minute walk to Pub Street.

Disliked: Alex left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carina Fish

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2014 Carina would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was everything I could've hoped for. Used their pick up service from the bus and the staff were super helpful, nice, and overall great! Also used their Angkor wat loop tuktuk service as well as their airport transfer tuktuk service and got to use my cc on everything. The staff who showed me to my dorm carried both my bags up the 2 flights of stairs! Common area was great for socializing and meeting other hostelers. So perfect for me, would definitely come back.

Disliked: Just two minor things, the dorm got easily smelly since it had a private bathroom meaning it had no window to vent out. Also, top bunks had no outlets, but that wasn't really an issue since there were enough plugs near the base of the wall.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Callum Banfield

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2014 Callum would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome tuk tuk drivers employed by Hostel, very good English speaking staff, location awesome, not noisy, not too far from pub Street, nice medium priced Khmer Western menu incl proper coffee, crowd and atmosphere very nice

Disliked: En Suite bathroom nice for only six ppl, yet very small, shower not very good, no Aircon during afternoon

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and comfortable small hostel/hotel. We had a double room, which was clean and totally enough for our stay there. The staff was really helpful and friendly, would definitely recommend it to stay there. The location is also perfect, since it is really not even a 2 minutes walk yo the city center. We are backpackers, however a clean place is very importend for us!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Personal

Disliked: -

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very laidback, a perfect hostel!

Disliked: I missed a better 'free breakfast', the bread wasn't very good...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great roof terrace and the location. Elizabeth from the reception was really nice and helpful!

Disliked: Bathroom in dorm was quite small and there was no more bathroom in the floor. Not the best for a 6-bed-dorm.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its just one of those hostels that you will like and enjoy, the staff will get drunk with you instead of getting you drunk. Very recommended.

Disliked: Leaving

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and calm hostel, good to meet other backpackers, not far from pub street, markets etc.

Disliked: no water in the yakuzi

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathryn McIlveen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

28 February 2014 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: The location was amazing, right on top of the night market and a 5 minute walk from pub street where all the bars are located, there was also this incredible cafe called sister sister that was charity inspired and just over the bridge, it stays really homely and quiet even though it's in the middle if everything! The staff were also lovely and would help you in anyway they could. We booked a sunrise visit to Angkor Wat with their local Tuk Tuk driver and he stayed with us all day taking us to various temples we hadn't seen and dropping us off. They organised our bus tickets to Battambang, literally they were so helpful!

Disliked: Nothing! We even had double bed bunk beds, whats not to love!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Muhammad Reza Rizky

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 February 2014 Muhammad Reza would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel staff was just really friendly and helpful. The food that they sell is great! And the manage tour and provide tuk tuk service for a reasonable price. Its a good place to meet people to.. And the location is just briliant.

Disliked: Muhammad Reza left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was in a great location, close to pub street and the market but not right there so you can sleep. The hostel provided great tuk tuk services for anything you needed and they offered fair prices.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very nice hostel with a very nice people working at reception. They organized a transfer from the airport for free which was really appreciated. Also, they helped a lot with transport in Siem-Reap and to the temples at a very good price. Very clean hostel with a pleasant atmosphere.

Disliked: Everything was really good.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: An amazing find in Southeast Asia. Great value private rooms in a fantastic location with very friendly and helpful staff. Lots of interesting tours on offer as well as info on Angkor temples and transportation. Nice patio upfront with pool table, as well as a seldom used terrace on the first floor with lounge chairs. Rooms are spacious and colorful, even have TV and pretty good wifi. They'll even give you a free t-shirt on stays 4 days or longer!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tracy Pihir

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

05 February 2014 Tracy would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is super friendly!

Disliked: Tracy left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jordan Hreljac

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2014 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious room. Close to night market and pub street!

Disliked: The jacuzzi was broken:(

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carli Breur

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2014 Carli would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location with markets at your front door and a short stroll to the main part of siem reap- old market & pub street. The staff were extremely helpful, organising us tours at reasonable prices. It was close to the action but far away enough to be quiet.

Disliked: We stayed in a private twin room. The bathroom was super small and you showered next to the toilet. Seems to be a common thing though. However we were happy with a hot shower :)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central, great atmosphere. Draft beer for 50 cent!

Disliked: The male staff members trying to squeeze out every cent from you and also trying to charge you more! So be careful!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: as described, good staff, location, facilities, nice atmosphere and cool/social place to hang out in hostel courtyard, very busy so make sure you book extra nights well in advance.

Disliked: I paid for the first two nights on arrival (6 days in total). I then paid for those nights again on leaving due to a mistake on the receipt I was issued when I arrived. Honest mistake by girl working there though.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are really helpful and friendly. It's in a great location close to the centre of town but far enough away that it is quiet at night. Plenty of plug sockets to charge stuff. The towel is free of charge.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing