We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hak's House

Hostel | Build Bright Road, Vihear Jen Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia 120000

88.7% Overall Rating

317 out of 332 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/06/2015)

Max Buntine thinks…

"Very cheap! Hak was very helpful and spoke English quite well which was great to organize buss."

Read all Hak's House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Siem Reap?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Siem Reap

The Cashew Nut Guesthouse
5.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Angkor Spirit Palace Hotel
25.00 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Angkor Wonder Hostel
3.50 USD

Hostel 83.9% 138 reviews
Surmetta Inn
10.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
New Bequest Angkor Hotel
7.50 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Bliss Villa
9.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Villa Médamrei
14.10 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Alliance Villa
12.05 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.7%

Overall Rating

317 out of 332 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hak's House'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
74.4%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
96.0%
Value
92.8%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 312 of 327 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lukas Pfahlsberger

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2015 Lukas would recommend this property

Liked: cool staff, breakfast for free

Disliked: -

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Max Buntine

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2015 Max would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap! Hak was very helpful and spoke English quite well which was great to organize buss.

Disliked: Location isn't great but only a $1/$2 took took into pub street. The wifi in the rooms was barely usable. Additionally some air conditioning in the foyer/sitting area would be much appreciated.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Their common area was nice. Not too loud but it was lively. They had a water cooler, which was nice and you could watch movies.

Disliked: They over booked our rooms (reserved 2 private with A/C), had to share one room with no working A/C.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shahar bdolach

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2015 Shahar would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice

Disliked: Shahar left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very clean and safe. Breakfast is amazing! Although you have to walk approx. 10-15 min to the city centre or take tuk-tuk. It's still worth staying there.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fabulous, friendly, staff. Clean roms, breakfast included as well, a bonus. Whilst it's a 10 minute walk from the river front, it is well worth the stay as is slightly quieter and less crowded. Had a fantastic stay. Hak can organise anything!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hamish Paap

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2015 Hamish would recommend this property

Liked: I have been travelling around the world for 7 months now and I would rate this one of the best hostels I have stayed at, mainly due to how friendly Hak was and also was able to assist with any questions I had. Without a doubt I will stay there again if I ever go back to siem reap

Disliked: Nothing it was great

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap Place with friendly and helpfull staff:)

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Myles Jeffers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2015 Myles would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean, nice staff, and good free breakfast. Coffee is solid too. Great value for your dollar here. Also, solid folk were met at this hostel. Bonus is free water if you have a bottle. nice touch.

Disliked: Only thing worth mentioning is that it is a bit of a walk to the main town, but you probably need the exercise. And, tuk tuk's are always out front.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

JIAN HONG LIN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2015

Liked: price is cheap

Disliked: not clean and no hot shower

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2015

Liked: Cheap food n d owner was nice n helpfull

Disliked: We were in a 6 bed dorm n myself n my partner shared with 2 girls n 2 lads which were not connect ... We went to bed on our 1st nite of 4 der n at 3 1 d lads came in with a girl he met down town n dey put on d full show for every1 in d room n we had just got back 2 sleep when d 2nd guy arrived in at half 5 n he turned on al lights was shouting jumping in his bed woke d hole place ... Decided to start smoking then at dis stage d other man n his girlfriend de used to leave d room... He kept us up al nite banging doors shouting getting like 5 showers n so on... We ended up cancelling on tuk tuk n Angkor wat tour loosing our money cause of only 2 hours sleep!! We contacted d fronts desk at half 8 n complained n asked 4 a single room but dey were booked out... So we decided to move to a guest house n loose our money for d haks hostel aswel .... So disappointed

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

antonio briglia

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2014 antonio would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: antonio left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

10 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: comfortable small hotel; reasonable breakfast; Mr Hak very helpful

Disliked: A bit far out of the city

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luke Hetzel

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2014 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: Hak is the best. Very helpful and trustworthy. Awesome free breakfast.

Disliked: Luke left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really helpful Friendly staff who speak great English and offer tuk tuk and travel Services. Good location, nice food, great room. Definitely stay here if you go to siem reap!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We suggest to anyone to stay here. The guys are great, the wifi was great, the food was great, and it was very comfortable. The walking street area is in walking distance but you don't have the noise from it disturbing your stay.We booked the hotel tuk tuk fo rthe day and he was great. He knew the area well and made sure we saw everything. Best choice we could have made was staying with Hak

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hak's House is located in the heart of Siem Reap (10 min walking distance to town) in a quiet street. They have different types of rooms all of them are nice. Prices between USD 5-15. Staff is really friendly and helpful. They have a very nice lounge/restaurant - the food is delicious!!! They got also their own tuktuk drivers who are very honest in their guesthouse too. They do all the bookings, bus tickets, boat tickets, temples tour and daily group tour too which is good for s single tourist.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We thought that the rooms were nice! Comfortable beds! The staff were really friendly and Hal spoke very good English, they helped with anything we needed. The rooms were good value for money. The food was good!

Disliked: It was a little bit far from the town centre, but only a short tuk tuk ride to get there!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Owner Mr. Hak, who speaks excellent English and is very welcoming and friendly.. His staffs are helpful and friendly...I stayed here 3 nights in a single bed room. He can arrange for airport transfer (free), visits around the city, Angkor and buses to other destinations.. The GH common area usually has Hak 's friends and Tuk Tuk drivers making jokes and having a good time, which makes u feel at home.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2014

Liked: It's very clean

Disliked: Not hot shower

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really a good and friendly atmosphere at hostel. Mr. Hak is a friendly person with full of smile and has best stories to say. He can help you to plan your trip to visit temples and guide with where to start from. He has provided a tuk-tuk with guide (Mr. Chum), who is one the best guide to roam around. Mr. Chum is full of energy to take you around on temple visit. The rooms are very good...neat & clean. Specially the pool was too clean & refreshing. There is a 10minutes walk to night market fom the hostel. Staying here is value for your money.!!!

Disliked: NOTHING

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rebecca ewens

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2014 rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Hak was an excellent host. Was happy to arrange anything for you but not pushy with the tours etc (which makes a change!). He has his own tuk tuk drivers that are always ready available and we found to be very friendly and a better price than just hailing then from the street. We stayed in an air con room and it was excellent, very clean, spacious and had all the facilities you need.

Disliked: The only minor thing is that it's slightly further out of town than some other places, However it's only $2 there in a taxi (you can also walk it in maybe 20mins). In the end I cruelly preferred the location to being a bit more central as it meant you weren't harrased by the tuk tuk drivers, beggars and street sellers as soon as you left the place (as you would be in town).

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs were helpful and friendly. They offered many services such as tuk tuk,tours and they also helped me to book my bus ticket

Disliked: The location is bit far from town. There were sands on my bedsheets. The tap water smells rusty. I dont feel clean after shower.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hal is a great person.

Disliked: Some minor problems