HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hak's House Hostel

Hostel | Build Bright Road, Vihear Jen Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia 120000

89.0% Overall Rating

304 out of 317 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/09/2014)

"Really helpful Friendly staff who speak great English and offer tuk tuk and travel Services. Good location, nice food, great room. Definitely stay here if you go to siem reap!"

Read all Hak's House Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Siem Reap?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Siem Reap

The Cashew Nut Guesthouse
5.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Pechh So Angkor Hostel
5.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Angkor Spirit Palace Hotel
34.00 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Angkor Wonder Hostel
3.00 USD

Hostel 83.3% 118 reviews
Surmetta Inn
10.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
New Bequest Angkor Hotel
7.50 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Bliss Villa
6.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Villa Médamrei
21.00 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.0%

Overall Rating

304 out of 317 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hak's House Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
91.2%
Value
93.6%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 297 of 311 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really helpful Friendly staff who speak great English and offer tuk tuk and travel Services. Good location, nice food, great room. Definitely stay here if you go to siem reap!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We suggest to anyone to stay here. The guys are great, the wifi was great, the food was great, and it was very comfortable. The walking street area is in walking distance but you don't have the noise from it disturbing your stay.We booked the hotel tuk tuk fo rthe day and he was great. He knew the area well and made sure we saw everything. Best choice we could have made was staying with Hak

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hak's House is located in the heart of Siem Reap (10 min walking distance to town) in a quiet street. They have different types of rooms all of them are nice. Prices between USD 5-15. Staff is really friendly and helpful. They have a very nice lounge/restaurant - the food is delicious!!! They got also their own tuktuk drivers who are very honest in their guesthouse too. They do all the bookings, bus tickets, boat tickets, temples tour and daily group tour too which is good for s single tourist.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We thought that the rooms were nice! Comfortable beds! The staff were really friendly and Hal spoke very good English, they helped with anything we needed. The rooms were good value for money. The food was good!

Disliked: It was a little bit far from the town centre, but only a short tuk tuk ride to get there!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Owner Mr. Hak, who speaks excellent English and is very welcoming and friendly.. His staffs are helpful and friendly...I stayed here 3 nights in a single bed room. He can arrange for airport transfer (free), visits around the city, Angkor and buses to other destinations.. The GH common area usually has Hak 's friends and Tuk Tuk drivers making jokes and having a good time, which makes u feel at home.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2014

Liked: It's very clean

Disliked: Not hot shower

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really a good and friendly atmosphere at hostel. Mr. Hak is a friendly person with full of smile and has best stories to say. He can help you to plan your trip to visit temples and guide with where to start from. He has provided a tuk-tuk with guide (Mr. Chum), who is one the best guide to roam around. Mr. Chum is full of energy to take you around on temple visit. The rooms are very good...neat & clean. Specially the pool was too clean & refreshing. There is a 10minutes walk to night market fom the hostel. Staying here is value for your money.!!!

Disliked: NOTHING

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rebecca ewens

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2014 rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Hak was an excellent host. Was happy to arrange anything for you but not pushy with the tours etc (which makes a change!). He has his own tuk tuk drivers that are always ready available and we found to be very friendly and a better price than just hailing then from the street. We stayed in an air con room and it was excellent, very clean, spacious and had all the facilities you need.

Disliked: The only minor thing is that it's slightly further out of town than some other places, However it's only $2 there in a taxi (you can also walk it in maybe 20mins). In the end I cruelly preferred the location to being a bit more central as it meant you weren't harrased by the tuk tuk drivers, beggars and street sellers as soon as you left the place (as you would be in town).

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs were helpful and friendly. They offered many services such as tuk tuk,tours and they also helped me to book my bus ticket

Disliked: The location is bit far from town. There were sands on my bedsheets. The tap water smells rusty. I dont feel clean after shower.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hal is a great person.

Disliked: Some minor problems

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: After traveling in Laos, Myanmar (Birma-Burma), Bangkok and Vietnam Haks House was the best hostel of my entire itinerary. Haks english if perfect, he organizes the hostel, the small restaurant and tours of all kind professionally and reliably. His prices for meals and any kind of travel-tickets are fair and competitive. Beyond this excellent service, the atmosphere if kind and quasi familiar. If there would be any problem, Hak solves it in a second. He is present in the hostel 24/7. I enjoyed the clean, spacious room and the large bath! In the meantime I was "living" in Haks House for the third time! No complains at all! Book always in advance in order to get a bed in this wonderful place.

Disliked: Nothing at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: calm

Disliked: no aircon in my room

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jakub Tomasek

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2014

Liked: Ordinary hotel atmosphere with all you can expect.

Disliked: Hard to rate, the hostel was overbooked and so they moved me to other hotel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sarah Mitchell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, who were very accommodating. They were especially good to book things through. The free breakfast was really good and also the free mineral water, which was always available these both made it good value for money.

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dominik Zeilinger

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

02 May 2014 Dominik would recommend this property

Liked: quiet location a bit outside of the center, the fan room was good value for the money, included breakfast was OK - many different choices but a bit small

Disliked: at this time of the year the rooms with fan get very hot - maybe better to choose a room with AC we rented a bike for 1$ - unfortunately the frontwheel was losing air, so we had to repair it in angkor, when we told Hak he didn't really take responsibility and we had to pay half of the repair ourselves - it wasn't expensive but not very fair either so check your bikes carefully before you go! ;)

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014

Liked: Hak himself is a friendly and helpful guy. There is a local eating place across the road that has nice food. The property is a 15min walk from the centre of town, so there is no street/crowd noise.

Disliked: The place is pretty run down but it could have just been because I was in a cheaper fan room, which the fan was really loud and not oscillating. The place was like a sauna. Hak's staff are not friendly or welcoming. Room was not cleaned at all. Cold showers and the drain in the bathroom clogged up. Dodgy Tuk Tuk driver - Mr Vong.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and very helpful and booked a bus to Battambang for us without ripping us off. Breakfast was nice and the rooms were spacious and clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and friendly staff! Guy at the reception speaks extremly nice enlish and is super helpful for anything like transfers, information etc.. They can arrange friendly tuk tuk drivers to the temple complex tour for 15USD a day which is a good price. Good value for your money!

Disliked: Location is 15 min by feet from the main market or 1-2USD with Tuktuk which was no problem for us.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Nielsen

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2014 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, Cheap and good rooms.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Jackson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2014 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Hak is very helpful and the room was good quality for the price. Always willing to help out where he can

Disliked: Minor issue; mix up about the time we needed to be at ACCB and the tuk-tuk driver he arranged got us there late, so we missed out. Interesting odour from the shower drain...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tuncay Kilic

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2014 Tuncay would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms (air-con room with TV), nice staff, good free breakfast, cheap, Restaurant

Disliked: last night no power - impossible to sleep without fan or air-con (not really their fault)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Big clean Rooms. Good breakfast. Free airport pickup.

Disliked: The owner doesn't give more information than necessary ;-) He sometimes seems to be a bit annoyed.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Overall this place is great. The included breakfast is really tasty and you have about 9 options which is nice. Try the cheese, tomato on a baguette with fruit. Hak is the best part though. he is always avalibel, friendly, and helpful and has services that include free internet, free bikes, 1$ tuk tuks into town, and can do your laundry or get you a bus to most places in thailand or cambodia. The fan room we stayed in the first 2 nights was simple but clean and had a pretty good fan. Our last 2 nights we had a delux aircon room that was the same but also had a tv with many english stations including HBO...pretty sweet for a chilled out night at the house. If you need a cab back from town just say its next to the BBU and it should cost 2 dollars....

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed here for 3 nights and it was brilliant, Hak the owner is such nice person who provided a very friendly environment with great local knowledge and uses Tuk-Tuk drivrs that he trust and won't rip you off. Brilliant quite location within 5 minutes Tuk-Tuk of Bar street. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good sized room, good breakfast, provides soap and toilet paper, comfy bed, offers good cheap food and drinks.

Disliked: The room was only cleaned sporadically. We stayed 6 nights and it was only cleaned once (eg bin emptied, fresh towels, toilet cleaned) and just our bed was made one other time. I'm sure they would have no problems doing it more often but you'd have to ask and we couldn't be bothered. Not a problem more of an fyi.