HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hak's House

Hostel | Build Bright Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia 120000

87.9% Overall Rating

298 out of 310 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/07/2014)

rebecca ewens thinks…

"Hak was an excellent host. Was happy to arrange anything for you but not pushy with the tours etc (which makes a change!). He has his own tuk tuk drivers that are always ready available and we found…"

Read all Hak's House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Siem Reap?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Siem Reap

Panda Guesthouse
5.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Pechh So Angkor Hostel
5.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Angkor Spirit Palace Hotel
25.00 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
New Bequest Angkor Hotel
7.50 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Bliss Villa
133.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Villa Médamrei
16.00 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Alliance Villa
14.72 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
The Unique Angkor Villa
10.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.9%

Overall Rating

298 out of 310 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hak's House'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
72.8%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
89.6%
Value
93.6%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 290 of 304 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rebecca ewens

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2014 rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Hak was an excellent host. Was happy to arrange anything for you but not pushy with the tours etc (which makes a change!). He has his own tuk tuk drivers that are always ready available and we found to be very friendly and a better price than just hailing then from the street. We stayed in an air con room and it was excellent, very clean, spacious and had all the facilities you need.

Disliked: The only minor thing is that it's slightly further out of town than some other places, However it's only $2 there in a taxi (you can also walk it in maybe 20mins). In the end I cruelly preferred the location to being a bit more central as it meant you weren't harrased by the tuk tuk drivers, beggars and street sellers as soon as you left the place (as you would be in town).

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs were helpful and friendly. They offered many services such as tuk tuk,tours and they also helped me to book my bus ticket

Disliked: The location is bit far from town. There were sands on my bedsheets. The tap water smells rusty. I dont feel clean after shower.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hal is a great person.

Disliked: Some minor problems

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: After traveling in Laos, Myanmar (Birma-Burma), Bangkok and Vietnam Haks House was the best hostel of my entire itinerary. Haks english if perfect, he organizes the hostel, the small restaurant and tours of all kind professionally and reliably. His prices for meals and any kind of travel-tickets are fair and competitive. Beyond this excellent service, the atmosphere if kind and quasi familiar. If there would be any problem, Hak solves it in a second. He is present in the hostel 24/7. I enjoyed the clean, spacious room and the large bath! In the meantime I was "living" in Haks House for the third time! No complains at all! Book always in advance in order to get a bed in this wonderful place.

Disliked: Nothing at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: calm

Disliked: no aircon in my room

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jakub Tomasek

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2014

Liked: Ordinary hotel atmosphere with all you can expect.

Disliked: Hard to rate, the hostel was overbooked and so they moved me to other hotel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sarah Mitchell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, who were very accommodating. They were especially good to book things through. The free breakfast was really good and also the free mineral water, which was always available these both made it good value for money.

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dominik Zeilinger

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

02 May 2014 Dominik would recommend this property

Liked: quiet location a bit outside of the center, the fan room was good value for the money, included breakfast was OK - many different choices but a bit small

Disliked: at this time of the year the rooms with fan get very hot - maybe better to choose a room with AC we rented a bike for 1$ - unfortunately the frontwheel was losing air, so we had to repair it in angkor, when we told Hak he didn't really take responsibility and we had to pay half of the repair ourselves - it wasn't expensive but not very fair either so check your bikes carefully before you go! ;)

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014

Liked: Hak himself is a friendly and helpful guy. There is a local eating place across the road that has nice food. The property is a 15min walk from the centre of town, so there is no street/crowd noise.

Disliked: The place is pretty run down but it could have just been because I was in a cheaper fan room, which the fan was really loud and not oscillating. The place was like a sauna. Hak's staff are not friendly or welcoming. Room was not cleaned at all. Cold showers and the drain in the bathroom clogged up. Dodgy Tuk Tuk driver - Mr Vong.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and very helpful and booked a bus to Battambang for us without ripping us off. Breakfast was nice and the rooms were spacious and clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and friendly staff! Guy at the reception speaks extremly nice enlish and is super helpful for anything like transfers, information etc.. They can arrange friendly tuk tuk drivers to the temple complex tour for 15USD a day which is a good price. Good value for your money!

Disliked: Location is 15 min by feet from the main market or 1-2USD with Tuktuk which was no problem for us.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Nielsen

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2014 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, Cheap and good rooms.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Jackson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2014 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Hak is very helpful and the room was good quality for the price. Always willing to help out where he can

Disliked: Minor issue; mix up about the time we needed to be at ACCB and the tuk-tuk driver he arranged got us there late, so we missed out. Interesting odour from the shower drain...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tuncay Kilic

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2014 Tuncay would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms (air-con room with TV), nice staff, good free breakfast, cheap, Restaurant

Disliked: last night no power - impossible to sleep without fan or air-con (not really their fault)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Big clean Rooms. Good breakfast. Free airport pickup.

Disliked: The owner doesn't give more information than necessary ;-) He sometimes seems to be a bit annoyed.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Overall this place is great. The included breakfast is really tasty and you have about 9 options which is nice. Try the cheese, tomato on a baguette with fruit. Hak is the best part though. he is always avalibel, friendly, and helpful and has services that include free internet, free bikes, 1$ tuk tuks into town, and can do your laundry or get you a bus to most places in thailand or cambodia. The fan room we stayed in the first 2 nights was simple but clean and had a pretty good fan. Our last 2 nights we had a delux aircon room that was the same but also had a tv with many english stations including HBO...pretty sweet for a chilled out night at the house. If you need a cab back from town just say its next to the BBU and it should cost 2 dollars....

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed here for 3 nights and it was brilliant, Hak the owner is such nice person who provided a very friendly environment with great local knowledge and uses Tuk-Tuk drivrs that he trust and won't rip you off. Brilliant quite location within 5 minutes Tuk-Tuk of Bar street. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good sized room, good breakfast, provides soap and toilet paper, comfy bed, offers good cheap food and drinks.

Disliked: The room was only cleaned sporadically. We stayed 6 nights and it was only cleaned once (eg bin emptied, fresh towels, toilet cleaned) and just our bed was made one other time. I'm sure they would have no problems doing it more often but you'd have to ask and we couldn't be bothered. Not a problem more of an fyi.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Phillip Tan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2014 Phillip would recommend this property

Liked: Hak is a nice guy and is always there if you have questions.

Disliked: The hostel is a little further from pub street but an easy 10 minute walk if you don't mind. It's dark but safe.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Claire Thomas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2014 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, OK hot water, good TV, for $10 no complaints

Disliked: No atmosphere at all as very small communal area and no beer being served when we were there. Location was as described, but is a brisk 10 minute walk to the centre.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marissa Sjoblom

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Marissa would recommend this property

Liked: Good rooms, staff helpfull

Disliked: Location - a bit far from the centre

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alion Chiki

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2014 Alion would recommend this property

Liked: This was a really good experience! I recommend! The place is really nice. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean. The breakfast is included. Really good value for money

Disliked: Not much. Just the location is not perfect. A bit far from the center, but walkable (15 min?). The water was not really hot, but it wasn't a problem, since it was so hot outside that hot shower was not needed. I'm sure they can do something to fix this, but we didn't even bother to ask

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

BALLET MATTHIEU

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2014 BALLET would recommend this property

Liked: Really cool and good located

Disliked: BALLET left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved my stay at Haks House, it felt just like home. All the staff were very friendly, the service was unbeatable, every morning there would be my usual coffee and scrambled eggs without having to ask for it. There was a very relaxed and comfortable atmosphere in the house, you never felt like there was any pressure and you could stay for as long as you liked and just chat with what felt like family. As a solo traveller it is really nice to find a guesthouse that makes you feel like you are not alone. The house itself it really nice, the rooms are big and spacious and have very good ammenities. The free wifi through out the hotel is brilliant! I would definately recommend Haks House to anyone travelling in Siem Reap!

Disliked: Nothing at all

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to pub street, value for money!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.