HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hak's House

Hostel | Build Bright Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia 120000

92.2% Overall Rating

291 out of 301 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/04/2014)

"Very nice and friendly staff! Guy at the reception speaks extremly nice enlish and is super helpful for anything like transfers, information etc.. They can arrange friendly tuk tuk drivers to the temple complex tour for…"

Read all Hak's House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Siem Reap?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Siem Reap

Pechh So Angkor Hostel
5.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Angkor Spirit Palace Hotel
30.00 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
New Bequest Angkor Hotel
7.50 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Bliss Villa
133.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Villa Médamrei
16.00 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Alliance Villa
14.75 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Angkor Empire Boutique Hotel
20.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
45.00 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.2%

Overall Rating

291 out of 301 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hak's House'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
96.8%
Value
97.6%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 280 of 294 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and friendly staff! Guy at the reception speaks extremly nice enlish and is super helpful for anything like transfers, information etc.. They can arrange friendly tuk tuk drivers to the temple complex tour for 15USD a day which is a good price. Good value for your money!

Disliked: Location is 15 min by feet from the main market or 1-2USD with Tuktuk which was no problem for us.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Nielsen

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2014 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, Cheap and good rooms.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Jackson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2014 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Hak is very helpful and the room was good quality for the price. Always willing to help out where he can

Disliked: Minor issue; mix up about the time we needed to be at ACCB and the tuk-tuk driver he arranged got us there late, so we missed out. Interesting odour from the shower drain...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tuncay Kilic

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2014 Tuncay would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms (air-con room with TV), nice staff, good free breakfast, cheap, Restaurant

Disliked: last night no power - impossible to sleep without fan or air-con (not really their fault)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Big clean Rooms. Good breakfast. Free airport pickup.

Disliked: The owner doesn't give more information than necessary ;-) He sometimes seems to be a bit annoyed.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Overall this place is great. The included breakfast is really tasty and you have about 9 options which is nice. Try the cheese, tomato on a baguette with fruit. Hak is the best part though. he is always avalibel, friendly, and helpful and has services that include free internet, free bikes, 1$ tuk tuks into town, and can do your laundry or get you a bus to most places in thailand or cambodia. The fan room we stayed in the first 2 nights was simple but clean and had a pretty good fan. Our last 2 nights we had a delux aircon room that was the same but also had a tv with many english stations including HBO...pretty sweet for a chilled out night at the house. If you need a cab back from town just say its next to the BBU and it should cost 2 dollars....

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed here for 3 nights and it was brilliant, Hak the owner is such nice person who provided a very friendly environment with great local knowledge and uses Tuk-Tuk drivrs that he trust and won't rip you off. Brilliant quite location within 5 minutes Tuk-Tuk of Bar street. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good sized room, good breakfast, provides soap and toilet paper, comfy bed, offers good cheap food and drinks.

Disliked: The room was only cleaned sporadically. We stayed 6 nights and it was only cleaned once (eg bin emptied, fresh towels, toilet cleaned) and just our bed was made one other time. I'm sure they would have no problems doing it more often but you'd have to ask and we couldn't be bothered. Not a problem more of an fyi.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Phillip Tan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2014 Phillip would recommend this property

Liked: Hak is a nice guy and is always there if you have questions.

Disliked: The hostel is a little further from pub street but an easy 10 minute walk if you don't mind. It's dark but safe.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Claire Thomas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2014 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, OK hot water, good TV, for $10 no complaints

Disliked: No atmosphere at all as very small communal area and no beer being served when we were there. Location was as described, but is a brisk 10 minute walk to the centre.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marissa Sjoblom

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Marissa would recommend this property

Liked: Good rooms, staff helpfull

Disliked: Location - a bit far from the centre

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alion Chiki

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2014 Alion would recommend this property

Liked: This was a really good experience! I recommend! The place is really nice. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean. The breakfast is included. Really good value for money

Disliked: Not much. Just the location is not perfect. A bit far from the center, but walkable (15 min?). The water was not really hot, but it wasn't a problem, since it was so hot outside that hot shower was not needed. I'm sure they can do something to fix this, but we didn't even bother to ask

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

BALLET MATTHIEU

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2014 BALLET would recommend this property

Liked: Really cool and good located

Disliked: BALLET left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved my stay at Haks House, it felt just like home. All the staff were very friendly, the service was unbeatable, every morning there would be my usual coffee and scrambled eggs without having to ask for it. There was a very relaxed and comfortable atmosphere in the house, you never felt like there was any pressure and you could stay for as long as you liked and just chat with what felt like family. As a solo traveller it is really nice to find a guesthouse that makes you feel like you are not alone. The house itself it really nice, the rooms are big and spacious and have very good ammenities. The free wifi through out the hotel is brilliant! I would definately recommend Haks House to anyone travelling in Siem Reap!

Disliked: Nothing at all

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to pub street, value for money!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Boatwright

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2014 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Hak is a great guy. He is very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Nothing comes to mind

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dominique Lance

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 January 2014 Dominique would recommend this property

Liked: Hak's place is brilliant! Hak is the most welcoming host and creates a very relaxed environment where nothing is too much effort. We extended our stay due to having such a good time and cannot thank Hak enough for helping us plan our Angkor explorations. Our private room was incredible value and the food served is both cheap and delicious. The INCLUDED breakfast is the best we have had in Asia. Stay here.

Disliked: Dominique left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

04 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a fabulous time!!! So warm, welcoming and wonderful! Went out of their way to help and make our stay fantastic!

Disliked: The bathroom floor didn't drain well and the toilet seat came off easily.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hak is an awesome guy and really helpful. All the staff are lovely. Rooms are amazing and comfortable. Unbelievable how cheap it is, including a free breakfast. Room cleaning was fantastic. They folded all our clothes and arranged my jewelry in a pattern! So close to Pub st. Couldn't have asked for better accomidation

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hak grows on you... he's a nice guy that is very helpful and accommodating. Prices for activities (bus, tuk tuk, laundry) are fair at the hostel. The atmosphere was pretty quiet most days except for the AWESOME Christmas party that Hak threw. About 15 minute walk to Pub Street (and all the action) or $1 tuk tuk. Safe place to stay!

Disliked: Room was not serviced during the duration of our stay, walls were stained, freezing cold showers (expected for Cambodia though), "bus" (aka van) to Bangkok was misrepresented (book on your own!).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ronald Childs

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2013 Ronald would recommend this property

Liked: Hak is great. Excellent with helping you enjoy your stay and navigate the many options of things to do.

Disliked: Nothing.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2013

Liked: breakfast was okay

Disliked: not so friendly staff, were moved to another hotel close by that was really really bad. water in shower was dark brown (!)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful owner, no problems with check in or anything else.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i spent 3 nights at haks house and thought it was amazing. the guesthouse is about 15 minutes walk from the main "pub street", set in a nice quiet part of town that gets you involved with the locals. the guest house itself is spacious and well ddesigned with a great little seated communal area out the front. all facilites were great and all the staff very helpful. they also have a tuk tuk driver on staff. Pheap. He is very helpful and friendly and i cant imagine having gone to the temples without him. recommended to everyone. also, the mother of the family is an amazing cook, so if you get the chance have a meal there with them, its like you're part of the family yourself!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.