HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Jasmine Family Hostel

Hostel | #6 Salakanseng, Svaydangum Commune, Siem Reap District-Province Siem Reap, Cambodia +855

83.9% Overall Rating

54 out of 58 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/07/2014)

Charles Winter thinks…

"Great pool! Lovely hostel providing free breakfast and with friendly staff. Also helps they have a fleet of their own tuk tuk drivers on hand to ferry you places at reasonable prices."

Read all Jasmine Family Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Siem Reap?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Siem Reap

Jasmine Lodge
5.00 USD

Guesthouse 80.5% 191 reviews
Angkor boutique hostel
7.50 USD

Hostel 79.6% 7 reviews
Adan World Hostel
5.00 USD

Hostel 92.7% 21 reviews
Okay 1 Villa
22.00 USD

Apartment 92.4% 6 reviews
Jasmine Garden Villa
5.00 USD

Guesthouse 90.4% 25 reviews
Angkor Paradise Hotel
70.00 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Advisor Angkor Villa Siem Reap
3.41 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 89.8% 263 reviews
Tom & Jerry Hostel
3.00 USD

Hostel 77.0% 15 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.9%

Overall Rating

54 out of 58 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Jasmine Family Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
70.4%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
83.2%
Value
91.2%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 50 of 54 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I dont like speccialy

Disliked: The acces is trough a dark dedend back sreet wihtout good conditions The ouwner and the staf are little frienly

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charles Winter

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2014 Charles would recommend this property

Liked: Great pool! Lovely hostel providing free breakfast and with friendly staff. Also helps they have a fleet of their own tuk tuk drivers on hand to ferry you places at reasonable prices.

Disliked: Charles left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and quiet, not too many people crammed in like at other hostels. Pool is amazing, always quiet enough for a swim and always clean.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MICHAEL KING

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2014 MICHAEL would recommend this property

Liked: Located in a quiet street, yet close enough to get around by foot to the local markets and restaurants. But the food served in the hostel is delicious and excellent value! Nice pool to lounge around by. I stayed in a double room, it was spacious and had air con. Day trips organised from the reception. A great choice to stay. Not really for partying, but this is Siem Reap.

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Terhi Hakli

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Terhi would recommend this property

Liked: After a long day of exploring the Angkor temples, taking a dive in the pool was absolute perfection!

Disliked: the stairs to the top floor where the dorm was located were very narrow and a bit shaky, not the safest in other words!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pool is great! The first time we stayed there we were in a nice room by the pool. The next time we stayed there we were in a room that was obviously an overflow room and it was not as good.

Disliked: The hot water in the showers is intermittent. Tours and transportation prices at the desk are more expensive than you can get at travel agents in Siem Reap.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Geary

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and helpful, especially in helping with travel arrangements. There is a nice swimming pool and they serve good food.

Disliked: Not right in the middle of town although this Means it is quiet

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pool, hot showers, easy to arrange travel to the temples, free breakfast made to order, lockers safe in dorm room, comfy bed

Disliked: No toilet role provided, access to dorm room up a very narrow staircase!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Holtan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Great pool and bar/restaurant.

Disliked: The air conditioning in the dorm didn't work very well. Quite hot at night. The staff wasn't very well informed on tourist information.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pool

Disliked: Nothin to dislike

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the swimming pool is awesome,room is quite clean.

Disliked: the owner is not very friendly,i can understand,everyday you see people come and go...you may just tired of tourists..and the breakfast is pretty simple,could be better...they have bus service but it's a bit expensive than buying from the bus station...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pool and food are really good! You can use laundry, phone, Internet, wi-fi!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tasha Hayes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2013 Tasha would recommend this property

Liked: After traveling through Remote Laos for 2 weeks Jasmine Family Hostel was paradise. The property was clean, the showers were awesome, the AC was great, breakfast, and pool added to this property. The staff were friendly and helped us arrange transport to the temples. All around great experience and would recommend to others.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean dormitory and bathroom, comfortable bed and great complimentary breakfast.

Disliked: Hike up 3 flights of stairs and a tiny fire escape to get to dormitory, air con not very effective and location a tuk tuk ride from town.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was the cheapest hostel we could find that had a nice pool. I liked that we got to choose our free breakfast choice from the menu, and the eggs and baguettes were delicious. The rooms were a nice size. Overall, it was good value for money. I liked that we could walk to Pub Street.

Disliked: They overbooked and my friend had to stay at a different hostel. Very annoying. Worst coffee ever at breakfast. There are not nearly enough lounge chairs at the pool, and people would put their towel down to save their spot for the day. The shower never once got warm, much less hot. Not a very social hostel - guests didn't seem to ever interact.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2012

Liked: There was nothing to like.

Disliked: Unfortunately I wasn't able to stay at Jasmine family after all. After booking in with them I realised my mates and I would need to change our booking dates. I e-mailed them a number of times with plenty of notice before our booking was due but didn't ever hear back. As a result we had to scramble to stay somewhere else in beautiful Siem Reap.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The private room is very spacious for teh price.

Disliked: I did not like the location of the propety. Although the hotel itself is kept clean, the street where it is located is on the dirty side.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Chih Hsiang Ho

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2012

Liked: the hostel looks good outside.

Disliked: the hostel totally forget to pick me from the airport until I made a phone call.(we both had double checked the date I will be there ) It waste my time in siem reap. also they didn't appoligis for their mistake.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was lovey. Good place to meet people. a little walk to the centre but the centres not the best part anyway. comfy as beds. sweet pool. nice people. cant. go. wrong.

Disliked: nada

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew King

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

10 June 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are excellent and the hostel itself the nicest we have stayed in so far. The free breakfast is a huge bonus as this saved us quite a bit of money. The room was very nice and cleaned daily. The pool is beautiful and will be much missed. We look forward to returning in the future.

Disliked: The shower can sometimes be a little cool / luke warm as it is heated by solar panels. However don't let this put you off!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

BROUILLARD ANAIS

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2012 BROUILLARD would recommend this property

Liked: Prices is not so high compare to the other guesthouses In the area. Cheapest prices for bus tickets Good Breakfast

Disliked: Staff does not speak english very well except the boss, but not very friendly. Not clear about the facilities in the room and their prices (hot Shower and AC) Around 20mn walking from the center and its Markets

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kong Ratana

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2012 kong would recommend this property

Liked: Jasmine family is nice family in quiet garden and relax with hammock and nice breeze garden with green mangoes fruit and trees and really valuable for $4 in dorm with shower and Lcd tv and huge breakfast with different choice and also goo to meet all backpackers to shared trip and advice.and full of information and good to stay and owner helping school in his homevillage more than 350 students and i will be back to help him with English education in his school and finding more stationary for his shool and please bring more books and pens to help his poor children in his grand father's school.

Disliked: nothing to negative of this hotel really cheap

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2012

Liked: We stayed in the dorm for 3 dollars a night, and breakfast was included which was very nice value for your money

Disliked: The owner was very unfriendly and rude to us and they often don't check their online reservations. A lot of times people have showed up while they booked a room, but couldn't stay there because the hostel was full.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tobias Welte

Alone

City break

02 February 2012 Tobias would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful stuff. Arrived almost 2 a.m in the night and mixed up my reservation, still found a bed for me.

Disliked: Tobias left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

SHELAH WILKINS

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2012

Liked: This hostel is average if you're looking for a dorm and prepared to sacrifice a decent night's sleep in exchange for setting down your rucksack. The breakfast is free and good. If you're leaving early in the morning 6am, or so, they will give you breakfast in a bag which is bread, butter jam and bananas. The bar is a good place to mingle and meet other travelers.

Disliked: Reception is not 24 hours! I went to ask about a tour at 11pm and a guy was closing up saying I had to come back in the morning. He worked there, but wouldn't answer my questions. Also, the bicycles are not free to ride to the temples. They told us to go next door to rent one when we asked. I did not see a communal kitchen anywhere. They also say they give 'free' drinking water, but the jug was empty the whole time I stayed. The hotel says it is air conditioned, but the dorms are not and there is poor air circulation. During the night, a dog was howling outside the window on the property next door which is only a few feet away. The shower and toilet (one room) is right by reception so everyone uses it and it's nearly impossible to take a shower without someone banging on the door needing the toilet. A lady came into our dorm in the middle of the night (2am) and woke us all up to ask if there was an empty bed which was really annoying; they should know that! The dorm is close to reception and is just a sliding glass door with no lock. There are four lockers in the room that aren't big enough for a rucksack, and there are 8 beds. There was no electricity for most of the day so we couldn't charge anything or use the wifi. I left my laundry on night one and went to get it on night two and it wasn't done, even though they said it would be. I was leaving at 6 am so they said someone would bring it in the morning but they never did. I nearly missed my bus because I was trying to track down my laundry. All in all, it was a nightmare, except for the cool people I met.