We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of My Home Tropical Garden Villa

Apartment | # 142, St. Psar Krom, Siem Reap, Cambodia 855

81.1% Overall Rating

40 out of 43 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/08/2014)

David Bell thinks…

"Good location only 5 minutes walk from centre of town. Very clean rooms, and kind helpful staff. Good range of facilities on offer."

Read all My Home Tropical Garden Villa reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Siem Reap?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Siem Reap

Channa's Angkor Homestay
15.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Golden Takeo Guesthouse
10.00 USD

Hostel 93.4% 17 reviews
Palm Village Resort & Spa
15.00 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 87.2% 46 reviews
Ancient Angkor Hotel
70,000.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Siem Reap Bat Hotel
15.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Nikkivinsi Boutique Villa
8.10 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence
21.50 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
I Lodge Guest House
15.13 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.1%

Overall Rating

40 out of 43 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'My Home Tropical Garden Villa'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
69.6%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
84.0%
Value
81.6%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 35 of 41 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Bell

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 August 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: Good location only 5 minutes walk from centre of town. Very clean rooms, and kind helpful staff. Good range of facilities on offer.

Disliked: Wifi is not so good in the rooms.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ronja Sigloch

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2014 Ronja would recommend this property

Liked: Pool very great , pick up Service for free , friendly staff

Disliked: Bathroom very small and dark

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Grace Phillips

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2013 Grace would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly service. Swimmingpool is a big plus. Good food.

Disliked: Grace left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2013

Liked: The room was a decent size, and decently clean.

Disliked: The staff double booked the room we had booked, so we had to stay in a twin room with no window. The room was dark and stuffy. The staff also neglected to mention the change in the room until we had already paid, and walked into the room. ThE breakfast, although included, was poor quality - have to pay extra for milk and sugar for coffee, the food was below average.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: At first it was difficult to see what the Lonely Planet top choice was based on. The rooms are ok, but nothing special & the bathroom could do with updating. But after a day or 2 of the staff's fantastic service, the great free breakfasts, the good atmosphere & having used the pool after a long day of visiting the temples, it all made sense! Felt really at home

Disliked: The toilet leaked (we reported this upon leaving & they said they'd fix it) & wifi was only really strong in the communal areas. But that made it more sociable. The walk back from the centre was short but very dark after 9/10 pm.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Cecilia Vieira

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 July 2013 Cecilia would recommend this property

Liked: The reception looks really nice, and staff was friendly. The pool was also a great option after a hot day. The beds were good and the air con worked well.

Disliked: I aske for a double bed, and we had two beds. The bathroom is very very bad, old, no shower box, the water exit was blocked! A disaster. The towels are really bad. And definitely, the staff should speak a better English!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Pascal Checkley

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2013 Pascal would recommend this property

Liked: SWIMMING POOL

Disliked: BIT FAR OUT OF THE CENTRE OF TOWN

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is just outside the city centre, but still close enough so that you could walk there in 5/10 min. The staff is friendly and the pool is very nice after a dat for walking around angkor war.

Disliked: We booked for a double bed, but on arrival they said that they only had twin rooms left.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were not only clean, but also cozy! It's hard to get that traveling in Southeast Asia unless you usually pay alot more money.

Disliked: The pool was nice to lie by but the color was a bit off... not as inviting for a swim as I would have hoped!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jo Keymeulen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2012 Jo would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hotel; not all rooms have airco (they do all have airco, but if you take the budgetroom, they don't give you the remote control!); friendly staff (but English is not so good); free bikes for less than 2 hours (and 1$ / day); VISA possible; breackfast included

Disliked: out of center (maybe that's a plus too); ask the tuk-tukdrivers outsite to write their prices (13$ is not 30$ ;)

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Elena Proshina

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2012 Elena would recommend this property

Liked: The room we stayed is really good, but it was Budget Private Twin without window. So, if no condition in here we wouldn't have enough oxygen. So it's better to stay in a room with window. But as it is dust outside - I mean in the dry season the dust is everywhere especially if your hotel is on the road.

Disliked: The staff. We made a reservation and received the confirmation e-mail. But then we arrived they said they are full and didn't receive our booking. After rechecking I show them my booking information plus the e-mail from Mr. Sonan, My Home Villa staff. They said he didn't tell them about reservation so now they don't have any room for us. So they brought us to the hotel nearby and we stayed there 1 night for the same money. Next day we moved into My Home. And what we see? Another guests are coming and they also having problems on the reception. They made a reservation but there is no room for them left. The day after that some guest was checking out, he booked a pick-up from the hotel to the bus station the day before. So he is waiting for the pick-up... but nobody is coming. Then he asks the staff and the staff says 'oh, so that was you who wanted a pick-up... but the tuk-tuk driver already been here and we didn't know the room where you're staying and he just left. Sorry.' Though the day before another guy from the staff wrote down all the guest's information for the pick-up. So this guest was really angry trying to catch his bus.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Damon Workman

With my spouse / partner

City break

27 December 2011 Damon would recommend this property

Liked: Nice honesty and very caring by all staff, i will reccomend to any1. Si kea awesome

Disliked: nothing at all

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Slow internet

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mikhail pofralidi

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2011 mikhail would recommend this property

Liked: Having a good pool does not correspond to a relatively low price. And in general it is rare for this level of Hostel.

Disliked: Having a good pool does not correspond to a relatively low price. And in general it is rare for this level of Hostel. At a time when we were with his wife, the road to the hostel, if not built, it was in a terrible state. If it is put in proper condition, then about the hostel one can say that he is perfect in all respects.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are really friendly and always trying to help you - they helped us move rooms to the backside room where the owner lives so we had our own little apartment. The pool is really nice and well maintained with sunloungers and a pool bar (which is sometimes manned but you have to go and get someone). The food is decent and reasonably priced.

Disliked: When we arrived we did not like our first room - you had to crouch to go into the bathroom and it was a twin, not double which we had booked. Also, don't book your buses out of town with the hotel - we paid $8 each to Battenbang and got a lift 1 minute down the road to find it is meant to be $3.75 each if you book at the office. Also, it is better to go into town and negotiate a tuk tuk to see the temples as it is a lot cheaper than at the hotel. We got 3 days for $35 in town.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a really relaxed place to hang out after a day of temples. Friendly staff and a nice pool with bar. They were very nice to offer a free pickup from the bus station by e -mail.

Disliked: The personnel can improve on their English a little.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

JULIE BLOOMFIELD

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 April 2011 JULIE would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful, and nice touches like bringing me aglass of ice-cold water when i arrived hot and tired from the temple tour. Nice breakfast included. Decent location, walkable to the market.

Disliked: I had some problems when it came to settling my bill (no record of my deposit paid, and great problems working out 10% of $60). My romo had a faint smell of damp, and looked out onto a wall.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place. Bit peeved when we arrived the first night and were taken to a partner hotel as they had overbooked My Home, which was a bit disruptive to our trip because we had to move the next day but the Ancient Angkor Hotel had a small pool and staff all friendly.

Disliked: See above. Also, bit far out of the way, need to take a tuk tuk everywhere to downtown which can be a pain but it meant the place was quieter.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Markus Hausammann

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 January 2011 Markus would recommend this property

Liked: We think the place is good value, the biggest plus is the garden restaurant. Although it's facing the (averagely busy) street it has a calm and green atmosphere. The stuff is nice and helpful. When I had a cold they gave me tea with my food unasked and made me a special lime juice without sugar and with a little salt, the perfect cold medicine. The room with TV and aircon we had was bright, clean and not too small.

Disliked: We didn't dislike it but for some it might be the drawback. You have to walk a couple of minutes to get to the center (pub-street). But for us that's never a drawback, rather an advantage because you see more and you move yourself.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandre Andrade

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 January 2011 Alexandre would recommend this property

Liked: My Home Tropical Garden Village is my home at Siem Reap in Cambodja as well as my family...I love them. Hope to come back.

Disliked: NA.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carol Lee

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2011 Carol would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent base for our stay in Siem Reap. Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The staff instantly made us welcome and with free wifi and daily water, it was good value.

Disliked: Overall, its a great place. Only weakness is the walk to the town which is a fair stretch but doesnt take that long. Good exercise!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philip Le Gouais

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2010 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: A very nice guest house/small hotel with very friendly staff. We were met at our bus by their tuk tuk driver who took us to the hotel which let us check in at 5:30am have a sleep and even gave us breakfast afterwards. The room was a decent size and comfortable and it was only a 15 minute walk from all the action. They also orgainsed our tuk tuk for Angkor Wat which made for a completely hassle free stay.

Disliked: The bus company they booked our tickets to Bangkok through with were muppets. Not a problem with the hostel itself but they might think about using a different company in future.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim Kim

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2010 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: The guesthouse is located right next to the Old Market. 5 - 10 minute walk depending on your speed. The guesthouse had a little cafe right outside the front lawn so you don't have to travel far to grab a cup of coffee or beer (the price is reasonable too) The staff is great. The rooms are nice and big. Hot showers and the AC work great.

Disliked: Laundry service. The clothes weren't completely dried when I got it back so I asked them to please dry it again which they happily complied. However, some of the clothes weren't washed all the way. And my girlfriend didn't get two of her shirts back. I'm sure it was not intentional because they hand wash it in the back and i'm sure it got lost along the way. I recommend walking 2-3 minutes down the street and dropping it off at the laundry service. it's cheaper and i believe it's machine wash.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Patricia Sawyer

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 September 2010 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: It was incredible value for money. The staff were always polite, willing to help and friendly. It was a large room and very comfortable. It's slightly out of the town but a 10 minute walk or a short bike ride took you into the Old Market where all the action was. The benefit of the position of course was that it was very quiet!!

Disliked: Very small bathroom.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Da Eun Lee

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

15 August 2010 Da Eun would recommend this property

Liked: all the staff were so kind and friendly. When I arrived there, a staff gave me a cup of cold water. It maybe usual, but I was moved by it. And the owner was gentle and nice to guests. If I have another chance to visit Siem Reap, I would definately stay in My Home. =)

Disliked: nothing special.