We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ta Som Guesthouse

Guesthouse | #268 Road 6 Taphol village, Svay Dangkum Commune, Siem Reap District Siem Reap, Cambodia 855

87.0% Overall Rating

51 out of 54 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/12/2011)

Alexander Baskin thinks…

"They give you a free fruit shake on arrival! Free breakfast is good with plenty of options to choose from. Owner and staff are friendly, helpful and accomadating. Location is great if you want to be…"

Read all Ta Som Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Siem Reap?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Siem Reap

Chenla Guest House
9.00 USD

Hostel 79.2% 7 reviews
Advisor Angkor Villa Siem Reap
3.84 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 95.3% 283 reviews
Bou Savy Guest House
7.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 91.4% 420 reviews
MONICA ANGKOR HOTEL
25.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
New Angkorland Hotel
65.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
110.50 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Parklane Angkor Hotel
33.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Wooden Angkor Hotel
15.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 98.4% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.0%

Overall Rating

51 out of 54 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ta Som Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
87.2%
Value
87.2%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 49 of 52 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Geza Kovacs

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2013 Geza would recommend this property

Liked: Perfectly clean

Disliked: Noisy since the hostel is situated on the main road. Weak light in the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Walter Aeschimann

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2013 Walter would recommend this property

Liked: Das Hotel war in Ordnung

Disliked: Walter left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Baskin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2011 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: They give you a free fruit shake on arrival! Free breakfast is good with plenty of options to choose from. Owner and staff are friendly, helpful and accomadating. Location is great if you want to be away from the chaos of Pub St./Old Market, but have easy access to it (about a 10 minute walk). Best place I've stayed in Cambodia.

Disliked: Alexander left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A litle out of the main area to be quiet, but close enough to walk easily, only 5-10 minutes away.

Disliked: The staf can be a little pushy to use their tuk tuk drivers, but they are friendly

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean, big room. Short walk from the centre (Pub St etc).

Disliked: Staff are a bit nosey and pushy in trying to sell tours.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

chris consable

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2011 chris would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay. Take time to meet Moori the Tuk Tuk driver, lovely jubbly

Disliked: No complaints

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ans roelofsen

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2010 ans would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly people, good & correct service. Free pick up, an arrival drink, free water every day at the room

Disliked: nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

21 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room is spacious for the price .

Disliked: I stayed at the third floor and the water pressure is low. And there was small insects during the night time. It was advisable to bring along the insect repellent.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The clean room, the cable tv, and the free fruit shake upon arrival.

Disliked: They are very pushy about taking their tours to the temples, which gets pretty annoying, but unfortunately you'll find this all over Siem Reap. In the end, their tuk-tuk rides are good (don't take a tour, just use a guide book), and you actually do need a tuk tuk to get to and around the temples.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Black

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2010 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: We had an very enjoyable stay at this hotel. They recommended a $15 per person guided day trip to the temples, which we took and was excellent. The breakfast is good and the free tuks-tuks are a nice perk too. Great value for money.

Disliked: Katie left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sin Yoon Chong

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2010 Sin Yoon would recommend this property

Liked: feel more like a B&B and welcome by the people there. There are really helpful and friendly. Love everything here and will stay here again if i go to Siem reap again.

Disliked: Sin Yoon left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We felt like king and queen, with so much things that were included in the price. Free bus station pick up, free welcome drink, free water in the room, free fresh fruit, free breakfast, free transport to Psar Chas and when we left we got a souvenir. The person who picks you up at the bus station, also offers you to drive you around Angkor Wat for 12 $, which is a good price.

Disliked: -

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, price - ok.

Disliked: room was very dark

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Luis Vilela

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2010 Luis would recommend this property

Liked: the staff and location

Disliked: without elevator

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really pretty. Great value

Disliked: not perfectly central

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Catherine Tindale

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2010 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: Ta Som was a great place to base ourselves to see Angkor. The guesthouse has a well organised system to book tours (with or without guides). We didn't compare other gueshouse tour prices, but for the ease of doing it here, I don't think you could get better. The tuk tuk drivers are linked with the house, so if you do use one to go to Angkor, it is more likely that it will be the same guy taking you ito town or driving you to the airport. Which I think is a nice friendly touch.The room itself was great. Clean, big and we received some nice extra touches- drinkig water in our room everyday, a welcome drink to our room and a fresh fruit basket on the other days. Breakfast was fantastic and prompt. The location was something we weren't sure about when booking. But after walking around the town and going to Angkor, I think it was a good place to be located. An easy 10 minute walk to Pub street and markets (or, if you are feelig exhausted a maximum $1.50 tuk tuk home). I think being out a little bit meant we got way better value for money and a bit quieter. They even drove us to the airport on departure (not just a free pick-up, like most places!). And they lovely owners gave us a souvenir gift when leaving- how nice!This place has a great reputation on this sight, and I can see why. The place was buzzing with people every morning enjoying there stay!

Disliked: Nothing!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very nice.

Disliked: Some, not all, pushy and over friendly tuc-tuc drivers.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kari Opp

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2010 Kari would recommend this property

Liked: We really enjoyed staying at Ta Som Guesthouse. Upon checking in, we received delicious welcome fruit drinks, which were much needed to beat the heat of travel. We also received dragonfruit and bananas in the room. The laundry service was good and quick (as can be for having no dryers). In the rooms were also soap, a comb, shampoo, toothbrushes and toothpaste in case you forgot yours. Our favorite thing about Ta Som guesthouse was our Tuk Tuk driver, Calm. He took us to Angkor Temples and was very knowledgable about Siem Reap. He spoke excellent English and had a great personality. Overall, we would recommend Ta Som Guesthouse to anyone staying in Siem Reap.

Disliked: Kari left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Rui Daniel Silva

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2010

Liked: nothing...only the location

Disliked: the tourists don.t like that the people outside the guesthouse make pression on the tourists to buy this and this......that.s because whe buy all trips and excursion outside the guesthouse....and it is more cheap...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: la migliore guesthouse della Cambogia, ottima colazione, belle stanze, personale gentilissimo e disponibilissimo.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

04 August 2010

Liked: Good location. The tuk tuk driver is really helpful and I thought the welcome drinks were a nice touch. Other than that, not a lot!

Disliked: Our room was filthy - and wasn't cleaned for 4 days. There were horrible orange/brown stains all over the sheets, stains on the sink and bathroom floor, all in all it was disgusting. The owner was clearly very angry when we booked a boat trip with a tour company and we were pushed into booking a tuk tuk with the hotel as soon as we stepped through the door - not what you need after a 6 hour coach journey! The food was awful, the eating area looked dirty and run down so we didn't even have breakfast there. Also, there isn't a bar area so we didn't get to meet other guests at the hotel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Schick

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2010 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Best place we stayed! Clean, tidy, cool, good location, great price. Highly reccomend! Staff were very friendly, helpful and caring. 7 mins walk into old market. Free banana milkshake and fruit on arrival - delish! Cheap restaurant and great hearty breakfast included. Tuk tuks were free into town and they had good rates for tuk tuks to temples too.

Disliked: Wifi downstairs was a bit tempremental. SOme days our room was not serviced/cleaned but staff soon got us fresh towels/toilet paper when we asked.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful stuff and really good value for money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly guest house with really helpful staff. Their manager spoke very good English and was very good at arranging / taking us on tours. The location is good as it was out of the way of the centre but also a very walkable distance when needed.

Disliked: There isnt a huge amount to do in Siem Reap after the first few days however this is obviously not the hostel's fault and they cant really be faulted!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is lovely, the staff are so kind, and the rooms are large and clean. They even picked me up from the airport. I had a single room with a private bath and it was wonderful. The A/C worked great and the breakfast was substantial. I would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: The shower did not get very hot.