HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of MOM's Guest House

Hostel | # 0099 Wat Bo road, Siem Reap, Cambodia .

84.1% Overall Rating

30 out of 34 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/02/2012)

"Decent location - a good area to stay in if you want to get away from the noise of Psar Chas, but still within walking distance of all nightlife options."

Read all MOM's Guest House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Siem Reap?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Siem Reap

Angkor Saphir Hostel
7.08 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Golden Orange Hotel
11.66 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.5% 31 reviews
Garden House guesthouse
4.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Golden Village
16.89 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Golden Bayon Guesthouse
13.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
MAYFAIR ANGKOR VILLA
43.43 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
European Guesthouse
5.79 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Myhibiscus Hotels & Resort
40.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.1%

Overall Rating

30 out of 34 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'MOM's Guest House'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
88.8%
Value
84.0%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 23 of 24 reviews
Reset filter
34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2012

Liked: Decent location - a good area to stay in if you want to get away from the noise of Psar Chas, but still within walking distance of all nightlife options.

Disliked: Staff were astoundingly unhelpful and deceptive throughout our stay. When we arrived, we were taken to a room that we later found out belonged to a different hotel (adjoining to Mom's). This was never explained to us, and as a result the staff at Mom's then refused to deal with any of our questions and problems, as we were staying at a 'different' hotel, despite having paid them the money for our stay upfront. For example, we weren't given breakfast at Mom's (despite this being included in the price), and they couldn't tell us when, where or if it was served at 'our' hotel. We didn't have any hot water throughout our stay (again, 24-hour hot water is falsely advertised by Mom's), and staff refused to help us with this. We also weren't allowed to use the laundry facility at Mom's, for absolutely no reason. But the worst episode of the stay was on our first night - we arrived back at Mom's late in the night (as Mom's falsely advertises a 24-hour reception on HostelBookers) and found that a temporary security fence had been put up around the hotel. This is standard practice with some Cambodian hotels, so we simply asked the guard to let us in. We told him we were staying in the annexe building of Mom's and he then refused to let us in, telling us that this was a different hotel - the first we had been told of it. We pleaded to be let in, but he still refused, so (on the guard's directions) we walked through a dark and dangerous alley to get to the entrance of 'our' hotel. There was no-one there to let us in, so we had to go back to the gate and shout until one of the other guests heard us and told the guard to let us in. The next day, the staff laughed when I told them what happened, and said that they didn't advertise a 24-hour reception (this is a lie), and that it was unreasonable to expect to be let in at any time, as they needed to sleep. This was undoubtedly our worst guesthouse experience in South East Asia, and also one of our most expensive.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The very friendly Mom and her son in law Chhay, they know everything about the area and will make all your arrangements within whatever budget price you request. This is not a rif off establishment like so many others in the area. A very enjoyable stay.

Disliked: A few mosquitoes in the dining room, but this has been mentioned to the owner and he will surely be on to it.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

17 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfectly acceptable for the price - breakfast could do with some improvement though!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CAROL PINDER

06 December 2009 CAROL would recommend this property

Liked: When I was feeling ill, the owner said I could wake him up at any time during the night and he'd take me to the doctors - I thought that was above and beyond the call of duty - he was really helpful. Really nice people.

Disliked: CAROL left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heather Kempson

04 June 2009 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: Location - just outside of down town chaos but off road from Angor Wat main road. Breakfst was available even for an early start and internet access was free and speedy

Disliked: Heather left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 March 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, clean and bright room, good free breakfast. I definitely recommend this hostel to anyone traveling to Siem Reap

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

17 February 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Politeness of the manager,helpfull personel,very friendly people/

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Graham Saville

17 December 2008 Graham would recommend this property

Liked: Good rooms and brekkie included. Helpful staff and we made good use of the hostels tuk-tuk driver to visit the ruins.

Disliked: Graham left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 December 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and helpful staff; overall cleanliness

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Schaefer

08 December 2008 David would recommend this property

Liked: Was out of the commercial zone yet close enough for a quick walk or tuk tuk ride in to the hart of things.Very clean and every recommendation they made paid off.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

fiona pieterson

27 November 2008 fiona would recommend this property

Liked: We loved it, we stayed in the new section in a 3 bed, room with a fridge, couch and chairs, Tv satelite, and bath. New and clean and cheap at $30 US, walk or $2 US to main streets about 1.5 -2 km. Luxury and great value. They also allowed us late check out and free internet.

Disliked: fiona left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Derek Owen

22 October 2008 Derek would recommend this property

Liked: The owner (we called him Charles) was really helpful & friendly.He organised a car, driver & excellent guide for $60 per day to tour Angkor Wat & surrounds. We are now back in Cape Town comletely templed out! Thoroughly recommend Moms!!

Disliked: Derek left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

16 August 2008

Liked: - available tuk tuk driver at all time- laundry service

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

01 June 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jens Lakomy

20 March 2008 Jens would recommend this property

Liked: clean rooms, friendly stuff

Disliked: Jens left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

18 March 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quiet little place, nothing exceptional, but all in all OK for a few nights, if you don't want to party hard. Location is good for Angkor visits.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

19 February 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quiet

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Latter

28 January 2008 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: helpfull and smiley, friendly staff, cleanliness

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

14 January 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was spotless and the free breakfast tasted great,comfy bed after a long day at Angkor Wat.!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

rebecca sumpton

21 October 2007 rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: staff were friendly enough, really clean amazing rooms, well worth the money

Disliked: rebecca left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Siobhan Murphy

13 June 2007 Siobhan would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and fiendly, nice reception particularly after adventurous journey from border

Disliked: Siobhan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

13 May 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very Clean rooms, very friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 December 2006 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Many amenities for the price. Extremely clean and a pleasure to return to after a long day trekking around temples!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.