HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Eighty8

Hostel | Street 88, House 98, Phnom Penh, Cambodia N/A

87.2% Overall Rating

39 out of 41 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/07/2014)

Ugo Bodino thinks…

"very big common space downstairs, with a pool table and cool music on air, different kind of seats around and a swimming pool as well :) the rooms are tidy and clean, and FINALLY, a shower with…"

Read all Eighty8 reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 7.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Phnom Penh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Phnom Penh

Me Mates Place
1.93 USD

Hostel 83.2% 24 reviews
Encounters
4.50 USD

Guesthouse 86.7% 165 reviews
Hostel Nomads
4.50 USD

Hostel 89.4% 108 reviews
Camory Backpackers Hostel
11.58 USD

Hostel 92.9% 10 reviews
Dara Reang Sey Hotel
14.40 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Monsoon Boutique Hotel
20.74 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
C'est Wat Restaurant and Guesthouse
6.00 USD

Guesthouse 69.6% 29 reviews
Khmer City Hotel
10.00 USD

Hotel 65.7% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.2%

Overall Rating

39 out of 41 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Eighty8'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
73.6%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
89.6%
Value
90.4%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 38 of 39 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ugo Bodino

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2014 Ugo would recommend this property

Liked: very big common space downstairs, with a pool table and cool music on air, different kind of seats around and a swimming pool as well :) the rooms are tidy and clean, and FINALLY, a shower with pressure for the water :)

Disliked: a bit far from the centre. prices of the restaurant are a bit expensive but food is good

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Chilled open space downstairs, very relaxed feel. Bar played good music and served really good food and drinks! Was very easy to get to the main sites around town but was set back from the riverside where it is very touristy. Would definitely stay again.

Disliked: I had cleaners come into my room whilst I was still in bed to clean the room. I didn't feel too comfortable leaving stuff out as the cleaners had a key to our room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is so chilled and relaxed love it

Disliked: Every thing was great

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Tuncay Kilic

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2014 Tuncay would recommend this property

Liked: Nice common area, Pool, good food and drinks, nice music, friendly staff

Disliked: Rooms quite basic for the price, didn't feel cozy, no wifi in the rooms

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jit Lim

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2014 Jit would recommend this property

Liked: Clean room with present atmosphere at the common room.

Disliked: The location is a bite away from main activity of the town centre.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lindy Coops

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2014 Lindy would recommend this property

Liked: Nice big room, great bar and good atmosphere. Nice pool. Would definitely return!

Disliked: Lindy left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aileen Lau

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2014 Aileen would recommend this property

Liked: Beds were wonderful - eight bed dorm had separate beds (not bunks) and a toilet and shower in the same room. The pool and bar area downstairs was comfortable, food was excellent and there was always lots of company downstairs.

Disliked: Dorm is right above the bar so a little noisy if you are planning to get up early the next day, but wasn't too much of a problem as they usually closed it by midnight.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2014

Liked: Clean rooms, well priced food, nice communal area.

Disliked: Booked a double room but got given a twin. Asked at reception for this to be changed, and they just sent someone to push the two beds together, did not change the mattress so big gap between two singles. Overpriced bus ticket $12 charged rather than the $8 you can buy it for at the station. Turned up at 7am at reception for our bus pick up. The receptionist pointed to a clock 10 minutes fast on the wall and said we were late. We showed her both our watches and our iPad (time updated by the Internet) which showed the time as 7am but she did not accept this. Had to pay for a tuk tuk to the bus stop with no apologies given for the fact we did not get our free bus, or for being accused of being late when we quite clearly were not.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Ulanowski

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: This place is awesome! Hostel is well run, clean, secure, big, and quite modern. Private rooms are huge, with big washroom/shower, and good ventilation. I was able to connect to Wifi most anywhere, although speeds were quite average for Southeast Asia. Common area was awesome - it's a large space that spills into a bar/cafe, pool, and courtyard. Pool is clean and a great way to cool off after a long day of sight seeing. Plenty of chairs, tables, sofas, lounges to hang out. Good music blaring through the speakers. Food and drinks were great, but slightly expensive. Hostel location is sort of away from the main area, but it's honestly not a big deal to walk and/or take a tuk tuk for a dollar or two. Staff were helpful and helped create a relaxed environment. Would stay again and recommend to a friend! Amazing value for money!

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Charlotte Winter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2014 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: Great social bar area. Dorm rooms had plenty of space to move around and big lockers to beable to store all your belongings in. Food was really tasty and so were the cocktails

Disliked: Although food was great it was small pirtions especially for the price paid. There were Mosquitos on my bed when I checked in, I was glad I had my own sleeping bag cover with me. Property is a bit of a walk to main bars and not in the nicest of areas, however it was only $2 in a tuk tuk so not a problem

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Wiper

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 January 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: Not all of the staff spoke great English but they made up for the communication barrier with lovely smiles and always helping as best as they could-especially the lovely lady who works at the bar in the afternoon/evenings! The rooms were lovely and cleaned every day, if you wanted them too. We booked a bus through them-Giant Ibis and the shooting range trip which is very expensive but a once in a lifetime opportunity! The location is a little out of the way but the walk to the riverside is interesting and there are plenty of great places to eat nearby- as well as the food at 88 of course-honey and mustard baguettes are delicious.

Disliked: Lots of mosquito's near the pool area-not really their fault but maybe some repellent burners may help the situation. None in the room though.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalia Marczewska

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2014 Natalia would recommend this property

Liked: Really great place to stay. The dorms were very comfortable with big beds and lockers. Towel for $10 deposit and nice sheets. The showers were clean - if not maybe a bit old - but had no problems with them. The bar, chillout and pool areas were really great - made it very easy to meet people. The staff were very useful - especially the owner who let me use his laptop to call my bank to unblock my card - thank you again!

Disliked: There's not much to do in the area (apart from local shops and a street full of VERY local food(ie. no idea what it was ) but there are always tuk tuks/bikes outside the hostel ready to take you wherever you want to go (although u always have to negotiate as they start with a steeper price). It's about a 15/20min walk from the central market - and the bus station where buses arrive. You can book things at the hostel although it was a little bit more expensive. They can also arrange a visa for Vietnam for pretty much the same cost as at the Embassy (although if heading that way in Sihanoukville you can get it the same day/within a couple of hours for $60). Some people complained a little about the noise in the biggest dorm (advantage - no bunks) near the bar but the smaller dorms on the 2nd floor were all fine.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere

Disliked: Value for money, room is not that great

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bahador Hosseini-Alast

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2014 Bahador would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was super friendly and helpful. They book tours and bus tickets, and the buses will pick you up from the front of the hostel, which is a huge plus. If you need a visa to any other nearby country, they'll take care of that as well. Canadians need a visa to go to Vietnam, and the process takes a bit of time, but the hostel got our visa within 24hrs. The hostel has a bar and a swimming pool, which makes it a very social place. Overall, we had a great stay here and I would highly recommend this place.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

parearau black

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2014 parearau would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!

Disliked: parearau left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly staff. The range of good food available at the bar. Comfy communal area, if a little noisy in the evening.

Disliked: While I felt safe inside the surrounding area isn't the best and its about a 20 min walk from town. There is not much they could do about that though. I sometimes felt it was hard to escape loud music in the bar, would have been hard to use Skype as it was loud and wifi only worked in this area, not in rooms. That being said, I enjoyed my stay :)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Suliman Alarifi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2013 Suliman would recommend this property

Liked: Everything from Staff to the facilities!

Disliked: Services Prices r ridiculously over price food and transportation! U can easily go to the restaurant next door and buy the same thing with half price also a bus ticket from PP to SR for $10 at the hostel where u can get it for $7 next door station or $6 in city centre. Great hostel but over price services ...

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jordi Mogas Recalde

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

09 December 2013 Jordi would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel I've been in Southern Asia. All clean, friendly staff, very good athmosphere, many people, the swimming pool, quite cheap, the beds (not bunks), etc., etc. I am wishing to visit them back!

Disliked: -The services they offer are all overpriced! You will pay at least the double for bike rental, laundry, drinks, trips, etc. than in any other place. -The bikes they rent are a disappointment that not match with the new and cared hostel. -The cheapest room can be noisy because is heading the bar zone what means music and people all day long, but it won't be never bad if you're looking for fun ;-) -The most typical Cambodian thing is also at their door, the tuk-tuk mosquitos: "Tuk-tuk, sir? Tuk-tuk, sir?"

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved this place, great atmosphere, cleanest most neat room we've had to date. Food good and staff v helpful

Disliked: Nothing!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marcus Köthenbürger

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2013 Marcus would recommend this property

Liked: Great Common-Area. Many Backpackers. Great Bar. Swimming Pool.

Disliked: The Location is really far off. The surroundings are a bit scary :-/

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alanna Askew

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2013 Alanna would recommend this property

Liked: Everything you need in one place and very clean

Disliked: Lack of social atmosphere in the common area

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Roger Stoffelen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2013 Roger would recommend this property

Liked: Nice lobby, bar and swimmingpool. Nice rooms, definitely value for money.

Disliked: To much chemicals in the swimmingpool. Staff could be more helpfull and friendly. A walk to the centre takes at least 15 minutes.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Charles BONGRAIN

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2013 Charles would recommend this property

Liked: SWIMMING POOL

Disliked: NOTHING

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

chevallier fabien

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2013 chevallier would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff very friendly place

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Watts

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious

Disliked: John left no negative feedback.