HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Mad Monkey Phnom Penh Hostel

Building 26, Street 302, BKK1 Phnom Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 90%

Location 82%

Safety 93%

Staff 90%

Value 81%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • WiFi

Important Information

Breakfast is not included.

We can not guarantee availability of our rooms for extensions of your stay after your initial online booking.

Due to being a very busy hostel every now and then we get a room extension or a walk in customer just moments before an online booking is confirmed.

If for any reason we are overbooked for your room we will refund your deposit and arrange alternative accommodation of a similar standard and price for you.

Group bookings of ten people are over are subject to a half board stipend.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Phnom Penh?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 90%

Location 82%

Safety 93%

Staff 90%

Value 81%

Showing 1-10 of 123 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Liked: Fun bar and easy place to meet other travelers. Staff are great!

Disliked: The room was really sterile and only had a window to a hallway. No natural light. Overpriced for what it was. The resturant and bar are also really expensive. The place didn't have much atmosphere.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Z

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice atmosphere, a good hostel for partying. Met great people!

Disliked: Don't know, I had the feeling that they kind of rip off backpackers with their overpriced tuk-tuks (just go 20 seconds down the street and you will get the same ride for 50% less) and overpriced food and tour packages. I feel like a backpacker hostel should have better prices then on the street.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good value for money

Disliked: Wifi slowNoisy at night

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: Good party

Disliked: Too noisy if you want to sleep

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: good atmosphere, free beers in the bar.

Disliked: not much, internet was really slow and didn't work in my room at all.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: atmosphere, overall vibe, simplicity, cleanliness, art

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice neighbourhood, maybe not so central but close to the places we were interested in. As a single traveler a good place to meet new people.

Disliked: The food at the restaurant is a bit overpriced. The staff at the reception could have been nicer, while we were asking for directions. Just arrange everything by yourself, it will be faster, more easy and cheaper.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Cool place for backpackers to hang out. Clean, good location

Disliked: They gave us a room by the bar. After a long day sightseeing we weren't able to fall asleep, because of the noise

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was very clean. The location was pretty good. We saw the city by foot. A lot of backpackers. Friendly atmosphere. Cool bar!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability