We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Sunday Guesthouse

Guesthouse | N.97, St 141, Phnom Penh, Cambodia .

76.0% Overall Rating

426 out of 537 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/03/2014)

catherine clark thinks…

"The room was just what I expected for the price. staff very nice & helpful. Decent wifi"

Read all Sunday Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Phnom Penh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Phnom Penh

Eighty8
4.60 USD

Hostel 87.2% 42 reviews
Me Mates Place
1.93 USD

Hostel 82.9% 25 reviews
Camory Backpackers Hostel
11.61 USD

Hostel 92.9% 10 reviews
Hostel Nomads
4.50 USD

Hostel 89.4% 108 reviews
Encounters
4.50 USD

Guesthouse 86.7% 165 reviews
Dara Reang Sey Hotel
14.40 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
C'est Wat Restaurant and Guesthouse
6.00 USD

Guesthouse 69.6% 29 reviews
Monsoon Boutique Hotel
20.80 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.0%

Overall Rating

426 out of 537 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sunday Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
61.6%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
88.0%
Value
88.0%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 408 of 413 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

catherine clark

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2014 catherine would recommend this property

Liked: The room was just what I expected for the price. staff very nice & helpful. Decent wifi

Disliked: It is a bit out of town so you have to get a tuk tuk everywhere

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lewis Black

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2014 lewis would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very helpful and pleasant

Disliked: Location not the greatest but still not bad

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

giuseppe sanseverino

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 giuseppe would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff

Disliked: bed sheet were not so clean

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Danielle Harris

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2013

Liked: The staff did arrange our bus tickets for us and a trip to the killing fields and genocide museum but our bus tickets were overpriced and the trip was a bit of a shambles. If you are prepared to sleep in a filthy room then this is fine, it really is good value for money and to be fair we didn't have any cockroaches in our room.

Disliked: Very very dirty rooms, nobody changed our sheets in 4 nights or came in to clean. The location isn't very good and lots of the tuk tuk drivers don't know where it is. The reception locks up quite early so you have to go next door if you want to buy any water in the evening. Breakfast and laundry service was more expensive than expected and our tv did not work.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2013

Liked: Location and wifi

Disliked: old rooms, furnitures, paintings, bathroom. dirty and dark

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2013

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: severe bed bug plague not taken seriously by staff! Could change room, but after almost no time, there were new guests in the other room, without thorough countermeasures. Sheets were only washed cold which doesn't help if bed bug infested! Other sheets showed clear signs of bed bugs, namely a row of tiny blood stains. Also rooms not too clean and strange smell in bathroom. Don't even consider sleeping there!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are really friendly and helpful!

Disliked: It's a bit far from the centre of Phnom Penh

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi, good location and helpful staff

Disliked: Lacks some atmosphere, there was nobody really around socialising when we stayed

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice people that speak english perfectly, great price

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place had great helpful staff. Good cheap food. Comfy beds. A bit out of town so got a tuk tuk which was cheap. Also we booked a fan room but it was far too hot so paid $4 extra for air con. Still really cheap. When we went to the killing fields and s21 they arranged a tuk tuk which was great. It also helping the local guys to make money instead of going with a minivan tour. the driver was a nice guy. Overall a good stay :)

Disliked: It is little bit out of the way.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: okay

Disliked: okay

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Emma Thomas

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

24 March 2013 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: The owners were very helpful and knowledgeable with regards to onward journey bookings as well as things to do in the city.

Disliked: the room was a bit basic and worn.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was easy to get to and the staff were extremely helpful in arranging transport and activities.

Disliked: The room could have been slightly cleaner but it was a budget night stay and it was more about the location.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Samantha Johnson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2013 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are very clean!!

Disliked: A bit far from the center, and tuk-tuk drivers seem to have a hard time figuring out where its located.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Jordana Max

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2013

Liked: Not expansive Staff very friendly

Disliked: Jordana left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

11 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is friendly and will book you anything under the sun that you want- from planes to buses to boats. His wife makes a tasty breakfast and you can get lunch and dinner as well. The building is clean and we felt safe leaving our things with the owner downstairs before our room was ready.

Disliked: We got in very late from the airport and our room had been given away. We had to stay across the street in a rather uncomfortable place. It was only for a few hours, but it was a disappointing surprise! Our room was ready the next morning. Just make sure you email them to say what time you'll be checking in and get a confirmation that they got your message!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

claudine jefferson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2013 claudine would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and comfortable, good value, efficiently managed from Claudie R.J.

Disliked: claudine left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2013

Liked: Always a tuktuk available..possible to walk to Prison 21 and Central market

Disliked: Quality of the bathroom, too much wanting to sell their own trip

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very comfortable room for 3 with private bathroom very cheap!

Disliked: I had to wait 1 hour to check in as the room i booked was not ready

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, we stay there every time we are in PP. Hot showers, cold AC, friendly staff, what more could you want! Plus a free pickup, which is great.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We have stayed here twice now - good value for money, cold AC, hot showers and really friendly staff. Location-wise you will need to tuktuk around, but for a short stay in the city it's great. The free pickup from the bus station is really nice, it feels great to get off the bus and be able to ignore all the touts trying to rip you off! Would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location for sights an value on tours from reception. Paid a bit extra @ $8 dollar pp for me an my partner to go killing files, tool slang museum an shooting range than you would with tuk tuk but we got driven in a air con Lexus by the hotel owner. Compare this to $6 pp for a tuk tuk an its well worth it, especially on way to killing fields as roads are very dusty!

Disliked: Location for sights was good but not for atmosphere. $2 tuk tuk to riverside where it's better.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anne Friberg Andersen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2012 Anne Friberg would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff - Very helpful with bookings, tours and they brought up food to our room. Location was within walking distance to S-21, took about 10 min to get down there. Room was cheap, and we had hot water and a TV. We had a very nice balcony just outside our room, very nice place to sit and relax. Free Wi-Fi.

Disliked: The location wasn't good. It was quite hard to find a nice place to eat (and a place who had an english menu..) - we went down to the river one night, and there are way more possibilities down there.. And it was really expensive to have them make a Lao visa (more than $10 extra)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Jardine

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2012 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Great and very helpful staff! The hostel has a daily showing of the killing fields in the lobby area which was class. Arranged tuk tuk driver from killing fields and prison tour which was brilliant!

Disliked: Jack left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2012

Liked: The price was okay. The location was okay. It was quiet. The advice about local attractions was good.

Disliked: General dirtiness of the floors and bathroom. Fairly poor response to issues that were raised.