HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Apartment Hostel Bulgaria-Veliko Tarnovo

Hostel | str.Vasil Levski 14 v, Veliko Tarnovo, Bulgaria 5000

85.4% Overall Rating

14 out of 16 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/06/2013)

Tanja Bergen thinks…

"The room is very clean, the washrooms are spotless, and the bed is comfortable. That said, the check in procedure was a pain, the AC didn't work, and the staff were hard to get a hold of. Overall:…"

Read all Apartment Hostel Bulgaria-Veliko Tarnovo reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 129.35
  • Breakfast USD 3.23

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Veliko Tarnovo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Veliko Tarnovo

GuesthouseDiel
12.93 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
City Hotel Apartment
12.93 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Nomads Hostel
12.65 USD

Hostel 88.0% 69 reviews
Hostel Apartment Stambolov
12.93 USD

Hostel 82.9% 5 reviews
Guest House Stambolov Veliko Tarnovo
9.70 USD

Guesthouse 82.4% 17 reviews
Trendy Inn
18.98 USD

Hostel 97.6% 55 reviews
Homes Hostel
10.35 USD

Guesthouse 50.5% 3 reviews
Hostel Mostel
8.86 USD

Hostel 94.9% 159 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.4%

Overall Rating

14 out of 16 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Apartment Hostel Bulgaria-Veliko Tarnovo'

Atmosphere
81.3%
Location
85.0%
Facilities
77.5%
Cleanliness
90.0%
Staff
80.0%
Value
95.0%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 12 of 15 reviews
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Tanja Bergen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2013

Liked: The room is very clean, the washrooms are spotless, and the bed is comfortable. That said, the check in procedure was a pain, the AC didn't work, and the staff were hard to get a hold of. Overall: Apartment Hotel is clean and that's about all I can say. Hostel Mostel on the other hand is fantastic!

Disliked: Lydia picked me up though I was expecting Svetoslav, who I made my booking with. Lydia was rushed to get back to work (I guess she isn't a hostel employee?) so she tried to introduce me to the place very quickly. When I asked for the wifi password, she said she didn't know and that she had to leave. When I pressed her to find out she phoned (possibly Svetoslav) and wrote it for me. The writing was so messy that I couldn't read it and had to ask again which seemed to upset her. The AC also didn't work and having left Egypt one week earlier, I can say that the double room was literally as hot as the Sahara desert. At night, the room was hotter than the outdoors. In spite of myself, I was initially too lazy to book another hostel and emailed Svetoslav to extend my booking. When I didn't hear back (or get any information about check out procedures) I simply left my keys in the bedroom door and took a taxi to Hostel Mostel, which is incidentally a delightful place with friendly staff and a great atmosphere.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gavin Collins

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2013 Gavin would recommend this property

Liked: Great location , clean , comfortable bed , fair price

Disliked: Gavin left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very clean, comfortable.

Disliked: It was difficult to find the apartment. In front of the door, you have to call the owner by phone.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frank Willberg

As a family with children

Family Holiday

07 August 2012 Frank would recommend this property

Liked: breathtaking view, helpfull staff, great location, very nice interior, air-con

Disliked: no fridge, wrong adress

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Attila Oliver Marton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2012 Attila Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: very good looking

Disliked: the aircondition doesn't work

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Keith Forward

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2011

Liked: Nice room, nice bathroom good value for money. Easy 15 minute walk to the touristy stuff

Disliked: The whole point of booking ahead is so you can turn up and have a room without any hassle. This was all hassle. We got an email saying "just give me a call and I'll be there in 10 minutes". We called and texted and no response. Called landline number given, but the woman spoke no english and even when we asked a Bulgarian to call for us she had no clue about our booking. Waited an hour outside first, then went to find internet and found a contact address to go to. Waited there and eventually a random Bulgarian guest phoned the manager for us. He answered this time and said someone would come and take us to the apartment. This took another hour, and several phone calls, as it seemed they didn't want to come, during which time we were offered a room for twice as much which we refused. The whole thing was very unprofessional and even talking to the manager I got no explanation or apology. Four hours later we got into the apartment, but then first offered the wrong room and they didn't know about the deposit on hostel bookers so had to argue about the money. Even had the nerve to say we were causing problems. It seemed like they just found us a nuisance. Shame because the rooms are like a nice hotel and very cheap, but I would not risk staying here until they get their customer service sorted out. Apparently the manager had gone to Slovenia but no-one ever explained or gave us any reason for the problems. Never been so annoyed in our 4 months of travel. You expect a few little problems, but this was just rude.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, good location

Disliked: Faulty furniture, hot water for only a short time

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Glen Stobbs

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Glen would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap, had good internet access [albeit cabled not WiFi] and was central to Veliko Tarnovo. Air-conditioning made a difference. I always seem to pick the hottest weeks to visit Bulgaria.

Disliked: The lack of Toilet Paper was embarrassing, and with an elderly person in our group, it would have been nice to know about the stairs before booking, as it almost killed him trying to get upstairs.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Schroeder

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 April 2011 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Nearly better than any hotel.

Disliked: Noisy, smoking neighbours on the same floor.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Margrit Laqua

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 April 2011 Margrit would recommend this property

Liked: It's actually better than a hotel room. We didn't mind the 3 stairs up to stay in this really good apartment in the center of town.Clean and comfortable.

Disliked: As it is part of a apartment covering the whole floor, we had to deal with girls in one of the 2 rooms with shared bathroom who let out all their smoke into the corridor to be absorbed by the fan in their bathroom. Party during half of the day and noise in the middle of the night or rather the eary morning hours, when they returned. But with reasonable people it surely is no problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adrian George Opritoiu

21 March 2010 Adrian George would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and very well located place. Actually, it was even better then described. Next time we are going to be there again. It is an apartment nicely divided in 4 rooms, individually locked. Every room has it's own TV and A/C. Also, my room had a nice private bath. Strongly recommended

Disliked: Adrian George left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sabine Kolelr

30 August 2009 Sabine would recommend this property

Liked: It was beautiful. We had a nice stay there and you can really relax there. We had to phone the owner when we arrived though but he was there within 5minutes.

Disliked: Sabine left no negative feedback.