HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Top Rated Hostels in Sofia, Bulgaria

Hostel Mostel 95%

1. Hostel Mostel

Hostel
2A Makedonia Boulevard

Atmosphere 98%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 95%

Location 94%

Safety 97%

Staff 98%

Value 98%

449 out of 470 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel Mostel

30 Jul 2016 91%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 18-24

Bustling social atmosphere with free breakfast Cute and rustic Close to centre

would recommend this property

15 Jul 2016 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 25-30

Staff are all incredibly friendly and helpful. Day trip to Rila Monastery was excellent. Great facilities and location!

would recommend this property

Read all Hostel Mostel reviews
Elysia Hostel 92%

2. Elysia Hostel

Hostel
8A Pop Bogomil str,

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 98%

Facilities 86%

Location 92%

Safety 98%

Staff 96%

Value 96%

9 out of 10 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Elysia Hostel

10 Aug 2014 83%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture

The staff were helpful.

would recommend this property

01 Aug 2013 83%

Very friendly and helpful owner

would recommend this property

Read all Elysia Hostel reviews
Canape Connection 90%

3. Canape Connection

Hostel
12 A William Gladstone Street

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 83%

Location 95%

Safety 86%

Staff 98%

Value 92%

78 out of 82 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Canape Connection

30 Sep 2015 71%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

Location, staff

would recommend this property

24 Jun 2015 97%
Travel Type: As a family with children
Trip Type: Family Holiday

we had a wonderfull time.

would recommend this property

Read all Canape Connection reviews
Art Hostel-Usually We Spend Our Time In The Garden 88%

4. Art Hostel-Usually We Spend Our Time In The Garden

Hostel
21/A Angel Kanchev Street

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 84%

Location 96%

Safety 88%

Staff 86%

Value 92%

9 out of 10 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Art Hostel-Usually We Spend Our Time In The Garden

14 Aug 2016 91%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 18-24

The staff members were really helful and friendly (eventhough we arrived late). The location is premium. The athmosphere and overall feel is super nice.

would recommend this property

21 Jun 2016 77%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 25-30

Location Price The garden!

would recommend this property

Read all Art Hostel-Usually We Spend Our Time In The Garden reviews
Hello Sofia 89%

5. Hello Sofia

Guesthouse
12 Stefan Stambolov Str, Sofia

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 86%

Location 90%

Safety 89%

Staff 90%

Value 90%

28 out of 30 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hello Sofia

09 Aug 2016 86%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 31-40

Clean room, quiet place, proximity to local market.

would recommend this property

19 Jul 2016 77%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 25-30

Staff were helpful, rooms were quiet.

would recommend this property

Read all Hello Sofia reviews
Be My Guest Hostel 86%

6. Be My Guest Hostel

Hostel
13 Ivan Vazov Street

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 80%

Location 89%

Safety 81%

Staff 91%

Value 86%

12 out of 14 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Be My Guest Hostel

28 Jul 2015 89%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Events / festivals Sightseeing & culture Visiting friends or family

Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Interesting to talk to about their lives.

would recommend this property

24 Dec 2013 94%

The best location possible, in the middle of everything. Small and cozy. Nice colors. More like a friend's house than a hostel. Would stay there again.

would recommend this property

Read all Be My Guest Hostel reviews
YHA Levitt Smart Hostel 84%

7. YHA Levitt Smart Hostel

Hostel
55 Vitosha Blvd.

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 84%

Location 84%

Safety 84%

Staff 84%

Value 84%

4 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend YHA Levitt Smart Hostel

24 Jun 2016 20%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Work / volunteering
Age Range: 31-40

This property cancelled on me within days of arrival because they decided to book in a group and no longer had room for me. While they were polite in their email, it was not particularly helpful for me. I marked a one star for each category as I had to mark something in order to submit this survey, however I did not actually stay there due to their cancellation on me.

25 May 2016 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: City break
Age Range: 25-30

Great place. Very comfortable beds, staff were very friendly. Location is amazing. 100% recomended

would recommend this property

Read all YHA Levitt Smart Hostel reviews
Nightingale Hostel and Guesthouse 83%

8. Nightingale Hostel and Guesthouse

Hostel
8, Budapeshta Str

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 79%

Location 91%

Safety 84%

Staff 87%

Value 85%

39 out of 47 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Nightingale Hostel and Guesthouse

02 May 2016 91%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 41+

Mark the hostel manager, very helpful, dinner and breakfast excellent

would recommend this property

29 Mar 2016 83%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 25-30

Cheap, good location, safe

would recommend this property

Read all Nightingale Hostel and Guesthouse reviews
Internet Hostel Sofia 79%

9. Internet Hostel Sofia

Hostel
50A Alabin Str., 2 Floor, 6 ap

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 77%

Facilities 77%

Location 98%

Safety 78%

Staff 82%

Value 74%

49 out of 61 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Internet Hostel Sofia

18 Apr 2015 100%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Partying / nightlife

Great location.clean and comfortable place. Very friendly staff

would recommend this property

01 Jan 2015 86%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year City break Sightseeing & culture

Good location and clean rooms.

Read all Internet Hostel Sofia reviews
Orient Express Hostel Sofia 78%

10. Orient Express Hostel Sofia

Hostel
Balkan street 2

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 70%

Location 85%

Safety 83%

Staff 68%

Value 80%

6 out of 8 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Orient Express Hostel Sofia

17 Aug 2015 97%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture

Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff - even if we have mistaken our reservation there was no problem with staying. Staff was also helpful with managing parking.

would recommend this property

13 Sep 2014 66%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture

Great location, although a bit hard to find especially if arriving after dark. Neighborhood looks dicey, but we had no problems. Easy walking distance from Bus/train station and city center. Unique market street just around the corner. Great shower.

would recommend this property

Read all Orient Express Hostel Sofia reviews

Why book with hostelbookers?

Thousands of beds and private rooms, close to the things you’re planning to see and do.
With great value hostels and cheap hotels, everything you want to see and do is just a step away.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sofia?

Contact us directly

Our top-rated Sofia hostels have only been scored by hostelbookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Sofia. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

Guide to Sofia

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Sofia. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!