HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sofia hostels
See all Sofia hotels

Reviews of Hello Sofia Guesthouse & Hostel

Hostel | Sofia, Bulgaria, 12 Stefan Stambolov Str, Ground Floor Sofia, Bulgaria 1000

92.6% Overall Rating

21 out of 22 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/08/2013)

"The room was beautiful, probably one of the nicest we stayed in during our trip. The woman who runs the hostel / house is nice and helpful, and the location is quite close to town so you can easily walk in."

Read all Hello Sofia Guesthouse & Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 20.75

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We require approximate arrival time to be provided by email or phone. We have 15 Euro/or equivalence/ key and room deposit. Check-in start 12:30h, earlier is possible if there are free rooms

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sofia?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sofia

Galiani Hostel
6.92 USD

Hostel 65.0% 15 reviews
Best Western Premier Thracia
67.78 USD

Hotel 4 star 91.4% 3 reviews
Bulgari Boutique Hotel
26.28 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Orient Express
11.07 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel Lavele
10.37 USD

Hostel 86.5% 57 reviews
Scotty's Boutique Hotel
31.12 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Pozor Guest House
21.21 USD

Guesthouse 94.6% 8 reviews
Hostel Mostel
8.85 USD

Hostel 94.2% 930 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.6%

Overall Rating

21 out of 22 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hello Sofia Guesthouse & Hostel'

Atmosphere
87.3%
Location
92.7%
Facilities
87.3%
Cleanliness
97.3%
Staff
97.3%
Value
94.6%
Safety
91.8%
Refine your results Showing 18 of 21 reviews
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not far from the city centre, very new facilities, but...

Disliked: ... the facilities were quite weird, why is there a toilet in the shower (or a shower in the toilet room) without any separation? That the hostel is separated into two areas makes the atmosphere quite weird and also boring, it's very annoying to have four different keys that all look alike. it's definately not a good hostel if you travel alone and want to meet people.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: If you are put in the 6 bed dorm, you are kind of not really part of the hostel. I'll explain, if you need anything or need to use anything, you need to leave the building, walk some meters and go into the other building. In the 6 bed dorm, there is no fridge and no kitchen. It's kind of a pain if you need something you need to leave the building and walk a bit. The lady is really nice but her English can be problematic at times.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

28 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was beautiful, probably one of the nicest we stayed in during our trip. The woman who runs the hostel / house is nice and helpful, and the location is quite close to town so you can easily walk in.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yoshiyuki Sakai

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2013 Yoshiyuki would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanness (the building looks scary a bit, as they describe, but the inside is good). The lady in charge is very friendly.

Disliked: really nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

30 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice rooms , decoarted with taste and art. Free very good WiFi, informative staff. Also very cleen and spacy place. The rooms are like hotel but on cheap prices.

Disliked: The outside building is not pleasant, but it is belong to the Municipal and the owner told us that only they can renovate it. Actually this is a minore thing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

chen yan

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2013 chen would recommend this property

Liked: it is new and clean

Disliked: some are not convenient to use

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This a great guesthouse. It is very close to the zhenski pazar (women's market), which I love hitting up whenever I'm in Sofia. It's also very close to many trams, so it easy to get around Sofia, like to the center or the train station. And the room was excellent. It was very clean. And having an awesome TV with many channels is a definite bonus. It's also great that there is access to the kitchen, so you can go to the pazaar, buy fresh produce and even meats, and then save money and cook dinner. And Billa supermarket is also right next to the pazaar. What I also like about this place is that the staff is super friendly. I really enjoyed my stay. And unfortunately I will no longer be making frequent trips to Sofia, but if I still was, I'd love to stay here again.

Disliked: There isn't a sign locating the place, but that's okay, the directions they give you are easy to understand. And as long as you print out the reservation information, there is a number listed as well, if you get lost.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There is a market about 100m from the hostel and all sights of sofia are good to reach from there. The room was nice and clean and there is a small kitchen and fridge which you can use. The manager was very friendly and gave us information about things to do (we did a trip on an minibus to Rila monastery- very nice!, and the "free sofia tour"- very interesting and good!)

Disliked: The house looks very shabby from the outside and there was no sign for the hostel. We didnt feel comfortable when getting home in the dark, because there is no light in the street and entrance. You need to bring a torch!

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you are looking for a low-budget place in Sofia that is clean, friendly, and well-located, this is it! The staff is friendly and helpful.

Disliked: There should be a sign outside, and the entry should be well lit. But these things could be fixed easily.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARK FELLOWS

With my spouse / partner

City break

01 April 2012 MARK would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and informatative staff. Very clean and good location. Felt very safe and secure. The building is old and neglected outside, but inside is fine. Would definitely stay again.

Disliked: A hair dryer was not available as stated, but that's about all.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrick Harrison

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2012 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: What I liked was the place was really clean, handy for the Ladies Market, the kitchen and living room was really good with a fridge and stove, the staff were really nice and friendly and the value for money was absolutely brilliant. There was nothing wrong with the heating like one chap had mentioned, the room was very warm.

Disliked: Don't be put off by the outside as there is alot of renovation work being done

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

23 February 2012

Liked: location, clean

Disliked: no central heating, so froze to death, expensive for what you actually get - which is not much.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matteo Imperato

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2012 Matteo would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. Good for couples or friend travellers. Very good value for money

Disliked: Just the ery first night was a bit cold in the room (outside temp -5 C).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lee bates

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

20 November 2011 lee would recommend this property

Liked: the manager was great at communicating via email, making sure that we would have everything we needed. Inside the building is great. it has been designed with lots of care and attention. And the staff were happy to spend time giving advice. A great place to have excellent private accomodation but you also have the option of socialising in the lounge/kitchen. It was great; if i go back i can't think of a reason why i would go elsewhere.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eugenio Fernandez Alanis

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Eugenio would recommend this property

Liked: evrything is new, the apartment is beautifully decorated and fully equipped (even a huge LCD in every room)...great value for money, great location and friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

05 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We've got a very nice , I can say luxury room, new and clean with wooden furniture and big LCD TV for a really low-hostel price. Everything was OK, and can really highly recommend this place if you need some more privacy in the center of Sofia!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vyacheslav Stoyanov

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 August 2011 Vyacheslav would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place for staying. Nice new furniture and new bathroom. Staff very helpful. Great location - top downtown. Spent my lovely time in Hello Sofia Guesthouse & Hostel.

Disliked: Nothing have dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jana Priboiska

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

08 August 2011 Jana would recommend this property

Liked: The place is very nice. The rooms are luxuriously furnished and clean. The hostel is downtown and close to all important places. The manager was polite and helpful and gave us information about everything we asked. I received very good service at a very affordable price. I will definitely visit it again.

Disliked: The stay was great and I don't have complaints.


See all Sofia hostels
See all Sofia hotels