HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sofia hostels
See all Sofia hotels

Reviews of Be My Guest Hostel

Hostel | 13 Ivan Vazov str., Sofia, Bulgaria 1000

85.5% Overall Rating

58 out of 64 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/12/2013)

Christos Karapavlos thinks…

"The best location possible, in the middle of everything. Small and cozy. Nice colors. More like a friend's house than a hostel. Would stay there again."

Read all Be My Guest Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 9.49

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sofia?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sofia

Crosspoint Sofia Hostel
8.86 USD

Hostel 85.1% 40 reviews
Red B and B
16.45 USD

Guesthouse 82.3% 5 reviews
Nightingale Hostel
8.86 USD

Hostel 71.0% 205 reviews
Nightingale Hostel and Guesthouse
8.41 USD

Hostel 78.2% 13 reviews
Red Star hostel
10.12 USD

Hostel 70.4% 71 reviews
Hostel Gulliver
9.70 USD

Hostel 81.5% 45 reviews
Apartment Bendi
18.11 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Art Hostel
16.45 USD

Hostel 82.2% 63 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.5%

Overall Rating

58 out of 64 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Be My Guest Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
92.0%
Value
84.8%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 48 of 51 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christos Karapavlos

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2013 Christos would recommend this property

Liked: The best location possible, in the middle of everything. Small and cozy. Nice colors. More like a friend's house than a hostel. Would stay there again.

Disliked: Christos left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2012

Liked: -

Disliked: The bathroom was very little, if you are taller than 1,60 m you will have troubles. The breakfast very poor, a coffe (milk not avaiable) and a piece off industrial bakery. Very unhelpfull staff.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria van Beek

As a family with children

Family Holiday

26 July 2012 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is tiny and quiet and that was exactly what we needed. All members of staff were very helpful in providing information about transport options, calling taxis and the like. Twin bed room included a bathroom with shower and a simple breakfast. Excellent value for money in the middle of the town. Everything was very clean.

Disliked: There were quite some mosquitos around in July. Mosquito nets for the windows would be a good solution.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kenneth hargreaves

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2012 kenneth would recommend this property

Liked: really friendly staff....they let us have the room at 7am after we arrived from and overnight fligh because it was free....and a great location....

Disliked: kenneth left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is located in the center of the city, near every important place and also near many shops and markets.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2012

Liked: warm atmosphere and friendly staff

Disliked: no hot water and at night time staff sleep at couch, so you can not use couch in night time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Özge Arslan

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2011 Özge would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel has a great location, very close to the Republic Square. You can walk everywhere from the hostel. Our room was very nice, comfortable and warm which was all I wanted after a 14 hour train journey. We had a nice balcony as well. Although we have to leave the hostel very early to catch the bus to Rila, the staff also woke up early and gave us some croissants as breakfast. The staff also prepared us reservation letters for our visa application, he was a quite nice guy. We will definitely stay in this hostel next time in Sofia.

Disliked: Tricky to find with the directions provided.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely character, funky part of town and close to a great food/fruit market, local shops. Really nice and friendly staff with superb English - who were ready to lambast the cab driver who tried to charge us almost ten times the rate from the station!

Disliked: Nothing during our particular stay, although the incessant car alarms were a bit of a pain at night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cléo Pires

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2011 Cléo would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: nothing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Paul Ibbs

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 September 2011 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: It is not 10 stops by bus from the airport as it states in the description. But still very easy to get to by bus.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tony de Vries

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2011 Tony would recommend this property

Liked: Great room, coffee and loved that it was a small hostel.

Disliked: Tricky to find with the directions provided.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were useful and made attempts to research our travel arrangements. When we left the taxi tried to con us out of money (which we were unaware of) the staff member reprimanded the taxi driver and ordered us another taxi. It was a matter of pride not to allow his customers to be ripped off by the few dodgy taxi dirvers. We had a nice balcony.

Disliked: Have to walk through main kitchen and office to go to the shower.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The girl who ran the hostel during the day the was very helpful. A good breakfast was provided. A great central location.

Disliked: The man who ran the night shift seemed a little like he was the owners son, he seemed like he couldn't be bothered with the job. He was unhelpful, only interested the football match he was currently betting on. He brought down what was otherwise a good hostel

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

20 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great and the double room is really comfy with a nice little balcony

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

23 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, the people who run it are super friendly and speak english!Would def recommend it if you are looking for a hostel in a decent location for a decent price. Though it's walls are not soundproof and at times it can get very noisey and wake you up.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

23 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: dfg

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

EVANGELIA KARYSTIANOU

10 January 2010 EVANGELIA would recommend this property

Liked: very nice!

Disliked: EVANGELIA left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice charming place, a bit cramped but certainly value for money. Receptionists were on the computer alot but they were really quite friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

David Young

10 September 2009 David would recommend this property

Liked: It's in a very good location but it's not the cleanest place Ive stayed in...also no hot water in the morning but friendly and helpful staff!

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Handy location for airport bus

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Lucy Bentham

01 September 2009 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice chocolate croissant for breakfast!

Disliked: Lucy left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

13 July 2009

Liked: Excellent central location and lovely staff - pity about the rather older tatty and rather basic accommodation.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Cope

29 June 2009 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: This is a centrally located, clean, homely hostel. Perfect for a stay in Sofia. We're a couple so booked the double room which came with a balcony. This place feels very welcoming and the staff are very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this hostel and would gladly return.

Disliked: Emily left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great people, great accommodation, great price

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

02 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: not bad for the money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Sofia hostels
See all Sofia hotels