We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sofia hostels
See all Sofia hotels

Reviews of Hostel Mostel

Hostel | 2A, Makedonia Blvd., Sofia, Bulgaria 1000

93.8% Overall Rating

996 out of 1030 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/08/2015)

Peter Kurilecz thinks…

"Very well located, with a nice large lounge area, and comfy well-maintained bedrooms and bathrooms"

Read all Hostel Mostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 11.19

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sofia?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sofia

Pozor Guest House
17.16 USD

Guesthouse 93.1% 10 reviews
Canape Connection
12.58 USD

Hostel 91.0% 82 reviews
Hello Sofia Guesthouse & Hostel
10.07 USD

Hostel 89.7% 28 reviews
VIP Apartments Sofia
22.88 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Galiani Hostel
7.61 USD

Hostel 64.8% 21 reviews
Best Western Premier Thracia
134.24 USD

Hotel 4 star 91.4% 3 reviews
Ivani Apartments
15.10 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Bulgari Boutique Hotel
22.37 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.8%

Overall Rating

996 out of 1030 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Mostel'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
96.0%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
94.4%
Value
95.2%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 823 of 909 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 32 | 33   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the crew's friendliness and competence , the nice room

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Kurilecz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2015 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Very well located, with a nice large lounge area, and comfy well-maintained bedrooms and bathrooms

Disliked: I can not think of anything major to report.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mi?osz Adach

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

14 August 2015 Mi?osz would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere in this cozy hostel was the biggest advantage. Availability of coffee/tea 24/7 and quite rich and various breakfast was a big plus too. All in all the crucial element that make the whole positive effect is staff which is extremely helpful and nice - receptionists are also great guides, tourist information and advisers in every aspect of Sofia's lifestyle.

Disliked: It could be a bit cheaper in comparison to Bulgarian prices

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ramil Nadirov

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2015 Ramil would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect and amazing hostel in Sofia ! Me and my friend really liked this hostel, very friendly staff, value for money, excellent atmosphere ! Just amazing ! I'm sure when we go to Sofia again we will stay there for sure :)

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aurelie Foucher

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2015 Aurelie would recommend this property

Liked: The great common room and building / the free breakfast

Disliked: The twin rooms are not located in the beautiful old hostel with the common rooms but across the street so not the same atmosphere not allowed to drink alcohol in the common area after 10pm

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melanie Gabauer

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 August 2015 Melanie would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hostel I ever stayed at! Most helpful staff and for 20 euros I got an amazing single room in a beautiful huge fancy apartment right in the center with all the social advantages of a backpacker's. very easy to meet nice people there and still get a good night's sleep! much better than the expensive hotel I stayed at before. Big recommendation!

Disliked: nothing I disliked!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hamza CINAR

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

12 August 2015 Hamza would recommend this property

Liked: This a great hostel, probably the best i stayed. Especially i like the way that they are quite flexible. I stayed one night and when i checked out, i asked to leave my belongings in order to visit the city and they kept it for me. The staff is wonderful. They make you feel like not like a customer but like their guest. The breakfast and dinner were included in the price and it was good. It is also the most social hostel i stayed. The same day i met a lot of people, they organize a go out all together like 10 pm. I higly recommend to join this if you d like to visit local bars with other travelers. They also take you to free walking Sofia tour which was also great. In 2 hours i had chance to see almost all the city. Thanks Hostel Mostel:)

Disliked: Almost nothing. It d be just great if they had a small extra fan in the room for August heat:)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Timothy Haughton

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

01 August 2015 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely place and location right in the centre of Sofia, a welcome surprise from the somewhat drab architecture of the rest of the city.

Disliked: Timothy left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Coelho Mendes

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2015 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, nice place to chill out, great breakfast, clean room

Disliked: Martin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Scott Stevens

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2015 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, lots of travelers to meet and amazing value with dinner and breakfast including. We stayed in a private room a few blocks from the main hostel so we got our alone time but also meet some great people when we ventured over to the main portion of the hostel.

Disliked: Scott left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you look up “value for money” in a phrase dictionary, Sofia’s Hostel Mostel would be pictured. The around 10E a night for a dorm bed includes an excellent breakfast and – this has to be a first – a choice of several vegetarian dinners, of the lentil/curry variety, but with rice, salad and a glass of beer. When you check in, they sit you down with map, explain the sites of the city and write helpful notes in the margins – it’s more like an orientation than a registration. The broken shower handle was fixed within 10 minutes of our report, and a staff member escorts any interested guests to the free walking tours. Todd particularly was helpful, recommending me sites in Veliko Tarnovo and helping me with language phrases. I have always had good experiences at hostels, but this was spectacular – I cannot say enough about Hostel Mostel. Highly, highly recommended.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, organized yet absolutely relaxed. The most awesome staff ecer. Definitely the best hostel I've stayed in.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a really great place to stay. They offer a dinner, it was really good even if it is only vegetarian, but after going out for dinner one night I understand why (as my dish was all meat).Staff are really friendly and helpful. Also go on the free walking tour it is good.

Disliked: I had to leave.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 June 2015

Liked: The free breakfast was good - although it was very limited for me (dairy and wheat intolerant). Easy to book a cab to the bus station. The price was very reasonable.

Disliked: We stayed in an apartment 5min walk away - we wanted to stay at a hostel for the atmosphere of meeting and chatting to new people and this was not possible. We were not told this at the time of booking. We wanted to have a few drinks before going out and bought some alcohol - as soon as we returned we were told we could not drink after 10.00pm (we arrived back around this time). This was very frustrating as there were no signs stating this fact and other people were drinking around us. The only reason I can see why this was the case was because they were trying to promote a pub crawl. We returned to our apartment to have some drinks there - the employees of the hostel were watching us on CCTV and called on the phone. They said we were having a party and we had to leave or go to our room. We were not having a party - there was NO music and only three people! We felt the staff were rude. We would have been much better off staying in a hotel where we could have a few drinks at the bar. There was no social aspect of this hostel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karla Wynd

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2015 Karla would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, most helpful staff, beautifully clean, great hot showers, great breakfast free Dinner where you get a chice, best hostel ever been in

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are excellent, included breakfast is great, rooms are comfortable and spacious

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dylan Hoey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2015 Dylan would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing complimentary breakfast and dinner. Facilities are very clean, and the staff are extremely friendly and accommodating.

Disliked: N/A

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Alexandra Deas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2015 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: There wasn't a mirror in the bed room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Bellamy

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2015 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: I had the best time here! Met some really cool people. Didn't want to leave. Its a fantastic place to stay and I will definitely come back!

Disliked: Christopher left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michael Triggs

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2015 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel had a very good atmosphere and was worth the money.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ad de Jong

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 May 2015 Ad would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, who were very willing to answer our questions nice common room free breakfast

Disliked: Ad left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Visiting friends or family

19 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good facilities with great service!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike. Its awesome!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

gina perkins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2015 gina would recommend this property

Liked: LOVED IT! The place is nothing special, but staff is the best and the atmosphere is so cool and fun. It was super easy to meet people (as I was travelling alone...) and I had the best time! The saddest part was that I only stayed for two days!

Disliked: honestly can't think of a single thing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marissa Higdon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2015 Marissa would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel Mostel had a great atmosphere and encouraged getting to know your fellow backpackers. The staff was amazing, there were day trips organized by the hostel and the breakfast was delicious.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

graeme haley

Alone

Business / conference

07 April 2015 graeme would recommend this property

Liked: Godd location. Excellant service by staff, good customer care. Warm. Clever and useful extra like free coffee etc

Disliked: graeme left no negative feedback.


See all Sofia hostels
See all Sofia hotels