We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sofia hostels
See all Sofia hotels

Reviews of Hostel Mostel

Hostel | 2A, Makedonia Blvd., Sofia, Bulgaria 1000

94.2% Overall Rating

942 out of 975 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/09/2014)

Jakub Tomasek thinks…

"Great place to stay. Huge hostel with all the facilities you might use. The staff give great tips even without asking."

Read all Hostel Mostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.69

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sofia?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sofia

Pozor Guest House
19.46 USD

Guesthouse 93.1% 10 reviews
Canape Connection
12.97 USD

Hostel 91.2% 79 reviews
Hello Sofia Guesthouse & Hostel
8.88 USD

Hostel 93.0% 25 reviews
Hostel44
12.97 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
VIP Apartments Sofia
25.94 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Galiani Hostel
7.35 USD

Hostel 65.6% 20 reviews
Hostel Lavele
9.51 USD

Hostel 86.9% 63 reviews
Best Western Premier Thracia
62.16 USD

Hotel 4 star 91.4% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.2%

Overall Rating

942 out of 975 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Mostel'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
96.0%
Value
95.2%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 782 of 854 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 31 | 32   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jakub Tomasek

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 September 2014 Jakub would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay. Huge hostel with all the facilities you might use. The staff give great tips even without asking.

Disliked: Jakub left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, friendly professional staff and really good breakfast!

Disliked: Not that much of a negative but just to note the private rooms are in a seperate building little away from the main hostel (5-10 min walk).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people are so friendly and helpful! And the stories you will hear there will blow your mind!

Disliked: The dinner was ate sooner than I expected, I didn't catch anything, but it was my fault, I went downstairs to dinner at 8:15 pm (dinner was until 8.00)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a great hostel! Staff where super friendly and helpful, breakfast and dinner they provide was amazing for what you pay, they also organise a free pub crawl which you only pay for the drinks you buy (and drinks are so cheap) I would defs recommend this place!

Disliked: The only thing Is there were 2 showers and 3 toilets for 16 people, not Ideal but they were good showers! Also I felt a bit unsafe around the streets near the hostel late at night but if your with a group then you would be fine.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Craig Burrows

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2014 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: Bang on the money. Everything you could ask for. The owner is an absolute legend, genuine guy and wants to help you. I reckon he opened the hostel just to be nice to travellers that's how cool he was. Recommend 100%.

Disliked: Nothing, this a fantastic hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Fullarton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

05 September 2014 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, easy access from the train station but also walking distance to all the sites. Excellent value for money considering the rooms and facilities are good and clean, plus you get free breakfast AND dinner?! It's nothing special but free food is free food when you're a traveller!

Disliked: The room was a bit noisy due to the tram being right outside but that's the only real negative, I'd say the positives outweighed this! And they do to run all night so it's not too bad.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andy Readman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2014 Andy would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel with the best free hostel breakfast I've ever had. The freshly waffles and nutella were amazing! Its also a great place to hang out with the pool table and a free beer each evening!

Disliked: Andy left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you backpack around Europe and have not been to a Hostel Mostel you do not have a complete view of the best Hostels in Europe. Prices are very good (lowest price for a single room i have seen) Buffet breakfast and dinner with a beer are included in the low price. What really separates this hostel is the atmosphere. Young Bulgarians work here and do their best to help you see the city. They always try to tell you the lowest cost alternative. If something needs fixing they try to address it asap. Bring your own beer food no problem. Free pub crawl. Free wifi and computers. And a fun friendly group to talk to from all over. As my friend beside me just said. Its a great hostel it desearves a good review.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

28 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The locations is very good! It is like 2 minutes walk from the center. Also they offer free luggage storage after you check out (so if you checked out and still want to enjoy the city before your departure you can leave the luggage at the hostel and it won't be in your way). There is free all inclusive breakfast (and it really is rich), There is very good wi-fi and also computers (in case you don't have a device with you ) and also they have printer. The shower is very nice (not like other hostels). The staff is very helpful and nice and they would assist you with getting around the town. Last but not least the building seems to be a very old building with a nice history so it is just a great opportunity to stay in such a place at such a low price.

Disliked: The shared room is actually 20 beds (not 16 as mentioned). They beds are acually mats places on the floor. The room is in an attic and it can get very hot. They have an AC device (doesn't look like the usual AC) so it stays turned on during the night. If you choose this option you'd better choose a bed closer to the door.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing pub crawl. Staff helped get me tickets for UEFA game.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I can't fault this hostel. I've stayed in a lot of different places over the past few years and this is one of my favourites! If you ever go to sofia, stay here. The atmosphere is perfect, the staff are really friendly and all local so have very good knowledge. Foods great and facilities are good. 100% Positive

Disliked: The only thing I'd say is don't stay in the biggest dorm, get the slightly more expensive version, you get free food twice daily and the room is far nicer. But either way value for money is great!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant Breakfast included!

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It really did feel like home and we became attached very quickly and struggled to leave meaning we extended our stay! Great people and great atmosphere for meeting other travellers

Disliked: be aware you can't drink at the hostel after 10 and have to keep noise to a minimum, but they do offer a free bar crawl every night

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Erin Nieweglowski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 August 2014 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: I had a wonderful time at Hostel Mostel. The staff were absolutely incredible and so helpful when recommending restaurants, telling you the easiest way to get around the city, and letting you know all the alternative things you can do in Sofia. Hostel Mostel itself has a great atmosphere that is really chill and fun, and there are always people around to chat with. The free dinners where such a bonus and absolutely delightful! This is 100% the place to stay when you are in Sofia. Great location close to all the sites and absolutely wonderful accomodations.

Disliked: Erin left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel for meeting people and having a fun time in Sofia! Warm, friendly atmosphere there's always loads of people hanging around at all times to chat with. Staff are super helpful and knew my name straight away and breakfast and dinner were unexpectedly brilliant!

Disliked: Not as clean as some hostels I've been in but not bad!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alice Bayley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2014 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, friendly staff, organised activities, great location, great meals. Definitely value for money.

Disliked: Alice left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The facilites are good. The breakfast is great. Varied and delicious.

Disliked: We've been travelling the hole day, we were tired and It took long time to do the check in (45 min).

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

01 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast and atmosphere

Disliked: Bedrooms are in another building.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

31 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: super friendly staff, felt comfortable being able to approach them and ask questions. the place itself is off of the street behind a metal gate so the property feels very safe and secure there were some cute wild cats hanging around outside at breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2014

Liked: The hostel is in a very good location, with a lovely common room area and good kitchen facilities. The shower facilities are good and clean, however there are only 2/3 so must get busy when the hostel is at full capacity.

Disliked: We opted for the largest (and cheapest room) which was advertised as a 16 bed dorm. It was in fact a 20 bed dorm, with instead of bunkbeds, foam blocks that had been made beds with 2 sheets and a pillow. It definitely wasn't what we expected from such a highly rated hostel. I would suggest paying more and getting a room with actual beds.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gary Roy

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2014 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: This is an excellent hostel. The all-you-can-eat breakfast can carry you through most of the day. Then there is the free supper as well. The staff are incredibly helpful, especially Nora.

Disliked: This place was perfect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dário Martins

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2014 Dário would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hostel I have ever stayed in! They have the best breakfast ever and it´s free! And your booking can also include free dinner! Staff is AWESOME, they speak excellent english and are really nice and helpful! Clean bathrooms and showers, safe rooms, free wi-fi and 3 computers available. Thumbs up for the No Shoes area in the common room for chillout! I´ve met the most awesome people at the hostel! Also there is a pub crawl everynight! ;) Hostel Mostel felt like my home away from home, special thanks to Eleonora and Soup Dragon for everything! I will definitely return sooner or later! :)

Disliked: Nothing! :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jerick Parrone

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

07 July 2014 Jerick would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, friendly staff and massive amount of food for breakfast.

Disliked: The private rooms are 5 minutes walking outside of the actual hostel, which made it difficult to meet people and go for breakfast.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great times and giant breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Justin Rogers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2014 Justin would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostel breakfasts I have ever encountered in my travels. Likewise the dinner that is extra if it was not in your price is well worth it. Overall I enjoyed my stay here very much, the staff was great and I was pleasantly surprised with Sofia in general. I will make my way back to this hostel and highly recommend it to anyone visiting.

Disliked: Lack of working pool cues (minor)


See all Sofia hostels
See all Sofia hotels