HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sofia hostels
See all Sofia hotels

Reviews of Hostel Mostel

Hostel | 2A, Makedonia Blvd., Sofia, Bulgaria 1000

94.3% Overall Rating

900 out of 931 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/04/2014)

Zhihui Chin thinks…

"Conveniently located near the tram station, and the building was a lovely old hostel from the early 20th century. Breakfast was generally okay and the facilities generally expected from a hostel are…"

Read all Hostel Mostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 13.82

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sofia?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sofia

Pozor Guest House
21.20 USD

Guesthouse 92.4% 9 reviews
Canape Connection
11.30 USD

Hostel 92.3% 77 reviews
Hello Sofia Guesthouse & Hostel
9.67 USD

Hostel 92.6% 22 reviews
VIP Apartments Sofia
28.26 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Galiani Hostel
6.91 USD

Hostel 65.0% 15 reviews
Hostel Lavele
10.36 USD

Hostel 86.5% 57 reviews
Best Western Premier Thracia
67.72 USD

Hotel 4 star 91.4% 3 reviews
Bulgari Boutique Hotel
26.26 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.3%

Overall Rating

900 out of 931 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Mostel'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
97.6%
Value
95.2%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 750 of 810 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan Glover

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

21 April 2014 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Great value, great hostel

Disliked: Ryan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The common area, the food and the atmosphere.

Disliked: The entrance seems a little dodgy but the building is actually really nice once you've passed through the gate.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Zhihui Chin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

08 April 2014

Liked: Conveniently located near the tram station, and the building was a lovely old hostel from the early 20th century. Breakfast was generally okay and the facilities generally expected from a hostel are available as well.

Disliked: The private rooms were across the street in an apartment unit; it is quite noisy at night due to poor soundproofing from the trams on the road. There is also poor soundproofing from the noises made in the common room as well.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly staff, good tour on offer

Disliked: N/a

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I found the hostel staff very helpful and accommodating, while, overall, I found it to be one of the better hostels I have ever stayed in.

Disliked: While the breakfast choices were very good, the dinner was lacking and often cold.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I have been here before and it was as good. the breakfast was very very good. the staff were very helpfull and the room was clean. the location was also very good. this time i used the pick up from the airport and it was spot on. thanks to all

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I've stayed at! Awesome hang out area where its easy to meet other people, friendly staff, only 6lev extra for amazing breakfast (including waffles!) and dinner. Doing it right!

Disliked: Nothing!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Miren Elitxabet Huegun Arruabarrena

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2014 Miren Elitxabet would recommend this property

Liked: El ambiente, es por excelencia el hostal mas famoso de la ciudad. Mucha gente joven, muy abierta, y con ganas de conocer a otra gente. El plato de pasta por la noche un puntazo. Una noche llegamos un poquito tarde, y el cocinero nos preparó la cena fuera de su horario. Estamos muy agradecidos.

Disliked: Las habitaciones grupales están fuera del hostal, en un piso en un edificio en el centro de la ciudad, a unos 800 metros del hostal. Las habitaciones son bastante pequeñas, no muy cómodas. Los baños de ese edificio se inundan con facilidad.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Cottrill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2014 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hostel with amazing people! Great atmosphere with all the facilities you could need on your travels!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caio Soares

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2014 Caio would recommend this property

Liked: Location and friendly staff.

Disliked: The beds and bedsheets were clean indeed. But it would definitely seem cleaner if you used WHITE sheets! ;)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a great stay. The best part is hands down the friendly atmosphere; everyone's really easy going and it's easy to meet people at breakfast and dinner. oh and the no shoes area rocks!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Richardson

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Great lounge area

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yoana Barakova

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 December 2013 Yoana would recommend this property

Liked: I totally enjoyed the cozy atmosphere, the staff was very friendly , with a sense of humour and what impressed me the most was how they immediately remembered our names. I liked the attitude of the foreigners as well. All of them were very likely to chat with us and i even changed some coordinates in case we see each other again. Oh, and not to forget the idea of having board games, billiard and a guitar is fantastic!

Disliked: Well, I don't think there was something I didn't like in the property itself. Probably, the only drawback was that I got sick the last day and they were extremely kind to me, but unfotunately didn't have any pills. Of course, they are not required to have, but for the future is good to posess a small first aid kid in case somebody cannot go to the pharmacy or to the hospital immediately.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are so kind and friendly and helpful. WiFi speed is good. And I could use everywhere.

Disliked: When I took shower, at once I must go outside. So I was cold. I couldn't use kitchen at only breakfast time.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeffrey Love

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2013 Jeffrey would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, really make an effort, one servered great food, one was great with the pub crawl and the rest cared about the people at the hostal.

Disliked: the toilets were very small and the locks on the doors each jammed, I found one of the young staff, short in height a bit strange.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was really nice to make friends, and have fun

Disliked: too marketed

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast and dinner, warm rooms

Disliked: Only 2 communal showers

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Si Liang Puar

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 November 2013 Si Liang would recommend this property

Liked: The vibe about the place and the people

Disliked: Its a little hard to find.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2013

Liked: Cheap, free computers

Disliked: Dirty showers and they make you pay for breakfast even thought it says its free

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lara Silveira

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 October 2013 Lara would recommend this property

Liked: It is a lovely hotel, an amazing recovered old hostel in the city center with a very good ambiance and lots of nice world travellers to meet there.

Disliked: The hostel entrance is very dodgy because from the street entrance to the Hostel itself is a 1min walk but you soon realise it is actually better that it is hidden as it makes it so special.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gary Hodges

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2013 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were both knowledgeable and friendly. The breakfast is easily the best among all of the many hostels I have stayed at and the fact that they serve a basic dinner is amazing.

Disliked: Like most of Europe they ave not discovered that cigarette smoke kills not only those that directly inhale it but those that get it second hand. While smoking is thankfully not allowed inside, the smoking area is directly in front of the only entrance so you are subjected to smoke both entering and exiting and any time the front door is left open to air the room. This was also the case at their two other hostels. Come on, an easy fix, put smokers away from the doors and windows!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

13 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice building, friendly staff, no extra fees (free wifi, bedsheet, etc.). Great atmosphere.

Disliked: It was quite far from the bus stop. The sidewalk is sometimes challenging, if you have a luggage with wheels, but it's manageable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

vikki wilson

Alone

City break

11 October 2013 vikki would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was fantastic, the welcome was lovely and the rooms very big

Disliked: The private rooms where seperate from the hostel

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jorge Puente De La Vega

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2013 Jorge would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I have stayed. The atmosphere is awesome. I made really good friends during my stay. The breakfast is amazing and the free pasta for supper brings everyone at the hostel together. To top it off, everyday at 10PM there is a pub crawl!! Do not expert do sleep in this hostel because you will have much fun. By far one of the best hostels!!!

Disliked: Jorge left no negative feedback.


See all Sofia hostels
See all Sofia hotels