HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sofia hostels
See all Sofia hotels

Reviews of Hostel Mostel

Hostel | 2A, Makedonia Blvd., Sofia, Bulgaria 1000

93.5% Overall Rating

929 out of 961 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/08/2014)

"It really did feel like home and we became attached very quickly and struggled to leave meaning we extended our stay! Great people and great atmosphere for meeting other travellers"

Read all Hostel Mostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 13.26

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sofia?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sofia

Pozor Guest House
20.34 USD

Guesthouse 93.1% 10 reviews
Canape Connection
13.56 USD

Hostel 92.3% 78 reviews
Hello Sofia Guesthouse & Hostel
10.61 USD

Hostel 93.2% 24 reviews
Hostel44
13.56 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
VIP Apartments Sofia
27.12 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Galiani Hostel
8.62 USD

Hostel 65.7% 19 reviews
Hostel Lavele
11.61 USD

Hostel 86.9% 63 reviews
Best Western Premier Thracia
65.00 USD

Hotel 4 star 91.4% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.5%

Overall Rating

929 out of 961 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Mostel'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
93.6%
Value
96.0%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 771 of 838 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 30 | 31   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant Breakfast included!

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It really did feel like home and we became attached very quickly and struggled to leave meaning we extended our stay! Great people and great atmosphere for meeting other travellers

Disliked: be aware you can't drink at the hostel after 10 and have to keep noise to a minimum, but they do offer a free bar crawl every night

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Erin Nieweglowski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 August 2014 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: I had a wonderful time at Hostel Mostel. The staff were absolutely incredible and so helpful when recommending restaurants, telling you the easiest way to get around the city, and letting you know all the alternative things you can do in Sofia. Hostel Mostel itself has a great atmosphere that is really chill and fun, and there are always people around to chat with. The free dinners where such a bonus and absolutely delightful! This is 100% the place to stay when you are in Sofia. Great location close to all the sites and absolutely wonderful accomodations.

Disliked: Erin left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel for meeting people and having a fun time in Sofia! Warm, friendly atmosphere there's always loads of people hanging around at all times to chat with. Staff are super helpful and knew my name straight away and breakfast and dinner were unexpectedly brilliant!

Disliked: Not as clean as some hostels I've been in but not bad!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alice Bayley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2014 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, friendly staff, organised activities, great location, great meals. Definitely value for money.

Disliked: Alice left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The facilites are good. The breakfast is great. Varied and delicious.

Disliked: We've been travelling the hole day, we were tired and It took long time to do the check in (45 min).

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

01 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast and atmosphere

Disliked: Bedrooms are in another building.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

31 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: super friendly staff, felt comfortable being able to approach them and ask questions. the place itself is off of the street behind a metal gate so the property feels very safe and secure there were some cute wild cats hanging around outside at breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2014

Liked: The hostel is in a very good location, with a lovely common room area and good kitchen facilities. The shower facilities are good and clean, however there are only 2/3 so must get busy when the hostel is at full capacity.

Disliked: We opted for the largest (and cheapest room) which was advertised as a 16 bed dorm. It was in fact a 20 bed dorm, with instead of bunkbeds, foam blocks that had been made beds with 2 sheets and a pillow. It definitely wasn't what we expected from such a highly rated hostel. I would suggest paying more and getting a room with actual beds.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gary Roy

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2014 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: This is an excellent hostel. The all-you-can-eat breakfast can carry you through most of the day. Then there is the free supper as well. The staff are incredibly helpful, especially Nora.

Disliked: This place was perfect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dário Martins

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2014 Dário would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hostel I have ever stayed in! They have the best breakfast ever and it´s free! And your booking can also include free dinner! Staff is AWESOME, they speak excellent english and are really nice and helpful! Clean bathrooms and showers, safe rooms, free wi-fi and 3 computers available. Thumbs up for the No Shoes area in the common room for chillout! I´ve met the most awesome people at the hostel! Also there is a pub crawl everynight! ;) Hostel Mostel felt like my home away from home, special thanks to Eleonora and Soup Dragon for everything! I will definitely return sooner or later! :)

Disliked: Nothing! :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jerick Parrone

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

07 July 2014 Jerick would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, friendly staff and massive amount of food for breakfast.

Disliked: The private rooms are 5 minutes walking outside of the actual hostel, which made it difficult to meet people and go for breakfast.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great times and giant breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Justin Rogers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2014 Justin would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostel breakfasts I have ever encountered in my travels. Likewise the dinner that is extra if it was not in your price is well worth it. Overall I enjoyed my stay here very much, the staff was great and I was pleasantly surprised with Sofia in general. I will make my way back to this hostel and highly recommend it to anyone visiting.

Disliked: Lack of working pool cues (minor)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Leow

Alone

Events / festivals

19 May 2014 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Warm friendly service, plenty of help given to all queries. Buildings very well maintained and very clean, in a convenient and reasonably safe location. Free breakfast everyday was EXCELLENT with a wide variety of breads, eggs, waffles, salad, yogurt, cereals, cheese, salami and hot drinks. Free dinner (usually 3 things to choose from - pasta with tomato sauce, rice with stewed beans/lentils, fried eggs with potato salad and coleslaw salad) also excellent.

Disliked: Not really a dislike, but just something to be aware of - the private single and double rooms are away from the main hostel on a separate road about 5 min away. This is great if you want to be alone, but if you want to mingle a lot with other people at the hostel it is not so good. Also breakfast and dinner are served at the main hostel building, so one has to get dressed before getting breakfast!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel was quite good, The roomate weren't but I can't complain about that.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and staff. A good option in Sofia

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, free breakfast with lots of options, computers and printer available for guests (computers for free), games and TV in the common room, lockers with locks in the dorms, free towels, hot showers... Felt a little like summer camp (in a good way!). An overall enjoyable experience.

Disliked: To get to the bathrooms you had to leave the room and go down the outside hallway.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

stephen bryant

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2014 stephen would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is so chilled out, got a great atmosphere. Really helpful staff, excellent breakfast and dinner included.

Disliked: stephen left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! One of the best hostels I've been to. Nothing to declare!

Disliked: .

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quite good all ;)

Disliked: The size of the beds, I'm quite tall and it was hard for me to sleep. 8 bed-dorm

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan Glover

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

21 April 2014 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Great value, great hostel

Disliked: Ryan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The common area, the food and the atmosphere.

Disliked: The entrance seems a little dodgy but the building is actually really nice once you've passed through the gate.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Zhihui Chin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

08 April 2014

Liked: Conveniently located near the tram station, and the building was a lovely old hostel from the early 20th century. Breakfast was generally okay and the facilities generally expected from a hostel are available as well.

Disliked: The private rooms were across the street in an apartment unit; it is quite noisy at night due to poor soundproofing from the trams on the road. There is also poor soundproofing from the noises made in the common room as well.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly staff, good tour on offer

Disliked: N/a


See all Sofia hostels
See all Sofia hotels