We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sofia hostels
See all Sofia hotels

Reviews of Hostel Mostel

Hostel | 2A, Makedonia Blvd., Sofia, Bulgaria 1000

95.0% Overall Rating

982 out of 1016 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/07/2015)

Scott Stevens thinks…

"Great location, lots of travelers to meet and amazing value with dinner and breakfast including. We stayed in a private room a few blocks from the main hostel so we got our alone time but also meet…"

Read all Hostel Mostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 10.97

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sofia?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sofia

Pozor Guest House
16.77 USD

Guesthouse 93.1% 10 reviews
Canape Connection
12.30 USD

Hostel 91.0% 82 reviews
Hello Sofia Guesthouse & Hostel
8.23 USD

Hostel 91.1% 26 reviews
VIP Apartments Sofia
22.36 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Galiani Hostel
7.43 USD

Hostel 65.6% 20 reviews
Hostel Lavele
7.13 USD

Hostel 87.8% 64 reviews
Best Western Premier Thracia
131.69 USD

Hotel 4 star 91.4% 3 reviews
Ivani Apartments
14.76 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.0%

Overall Rating

982 out of 1016 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Mostel'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
96.8%
Value
98.4%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 815 of 895 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 32 | 33   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Coelho Mendes

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2015 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, nice place to chill out, great breakfast, clean room

Disliked: Martin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Scott Stevens

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2015 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, lots of travelers to meet and amazing value with dinner and breakfast including. We stayed in a private room a few blocks from the main hostel so we got our alone time but also meet some great people when we ventured over to the main portion of the hostel.

Disliked: Scott left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you look up “value for money” in a phrase dictionary, Sofia’s Hostel Mostel would be pictured. The around 10E a night for a dorm bed includes an excellent breakfast and – this has to be a first – a choice of several vegetarian dinners, of the lentil/curry variety, but with rice, salad and a glass of beer. When you check in, they sit you down with map, explain the sites of the city and write helpful notes in the margins – it’s more like an orientation than a registration. The broken shower handle was fixed within 10 minutes of our report, and a staff member escorts any interested guests to the free walking tours. Todd particularly was helpful, recommending me sites in Veliko Tarnovo and helping me with language phrases. I have always had good experiences at hostels, but this was spectacular – I cannot say enough about Hostel Mostel. Highly, highly recommended.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, organized yet absolutely relaxed. The most awesome staff ecer. Definitely the best hostel I've stayed in.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a really great place to stay. They offer a dinner, it was really good even if it is only vegetarian, but after going out for dinner one night I understand why (as my dish was all meat).Staff are really friendly and helpful. Also go on the free walking tour it is good.

Disliked: I had to leave.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 June 2015

Liked: The free breakfast was good - although it was very limited for me (dairy and wheat intolerant). Easy to book a cab to the bus station. The price was very reasonable.

Disliked: We stayed in an apartment 5min walk away - we wanted to stay at a hostel for the atmosphere of meeting and chatting to new people and this was not possible. We were not told this at the time of booking. We wanted to have a few drinks before going out and bought some alcohol - as soon as we returned we were told we could not drink after 10.00pm (we arrived back around this time). This was very frustrating as there were no signs stating this fact and other people were drinking around us. The only reason I can see why this was the case was because they were trying to promote a pub crawl. We returned to our apartment to have some drinks there - the employees of the hostel were watching us on CCTV and called on the phone. They said we were having a party and we had to leave or go to our room. We were not having a party - there was NO music and only three people! We felt the staff were rude. We would have been much better off staying in a hotel where we could have a few drinks at the bar. There was no social aspect of this hostel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karla Wynd

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2015 Karla would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, most helpful staff, beautifully clean, great hot showers, great breakfast free Dinner where you get a chice, best hostel ever been in

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are excellent, included breakfast is great, rooms are comfortable and spacious

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dylan Hoey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2015 Dylan would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing complimentary breakfast and dinner. Facilities are very clean, and the staff are extremely friendly and accommodating.

Disliked: N/A

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Alexandra Deas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2015 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: There wasn't a mirror in the bed room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Bellamy

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2015 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: I had the best time here! Met some really cool people. Didn't want to leave. Its a fantastic place to stay and I will definitely come back!

Disliked: Christopher left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michael Triggs

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2015 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel had a very good atmosphere and was worth the money.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ad de Jong

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 May 2015 Ad would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, who were very willing to answer our questions nice common room free breakfast

Disliked: Ad left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Visiting friends or family

19 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good facilities with great service!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike. Its awesome!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

gina perkins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2015 gina would recommend this property

Liked: LOVED IT! The place is nothing special, but staff is the best and the atmosphere is so cool and fun. It was super easy to meet people (as I was travelling alone...) and I had the best time! The saddest part was that I only stayed for two days!

Disliked: honestly can't think of a single thing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marissa Higdon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2015 Marissa would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel Mostel had a great atmosphere and encouraged getting to know your fellow backpackers. The staff was amazing, there were day trips organized by the hostel and the breakfast was delicious.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

graeme haley

Alone

Business / conference

07 April 2015 graeme would recommend this property

Liked: Godd location. Excellant service by staff, good customer care. Warm. Clever and useful extra like free coffee etc

Disliked: graeme left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

02 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Centrally located. The atmospere is very good, the staff very friendly and helpful. Free breakfast and dinner! Hot showers 24 hours a day, big rooms.

Disliked: Nothing really ;)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Carlson

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2015 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff

Disliked: All was fine

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jnana Sri Harsha Dattada

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2015 Jnana Sri Harsha would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and loved the breakfast and dinner.

Disliked: Heating was not great in the room as heaters work only at certain time during night.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jessica Flynn

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

17 March 2015 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, helpful staff. Easy to get around, amazing breakfast!

Disliked: Having the room offsite from the main hostel/reception area, but really not a big problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrick Burke

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2015 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic deal, with the meals and the beer the Value for money is incredible. I have stayed in many worse hotels which claim to be three star. The only place worth considering in Sofia.

Disliked: Cannot think of anything.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kirstie Stark

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2015 Kirstie would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hostel. We had a private room so we stayed in another building not too far from the main hostel, it was clean and spacious with good showers and wifi. Every morning we walked to the hostel for a fantastic breakfast (waffles, eggs, meats, cheeses...), there was also an evening meal, both of these activities brought all the hostel together and was a great way to meet people. There is also a free pool table in the common room (not the best) again a good way to meet new friends.

Disliked: Given a choice I wouldn't make the hostel any bigger.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast and dinner

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Scott

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2015 John would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were super friendly and made you feel very comfortable. Breakfast and dinner included, hard to beat the price. Good dudes Yew!

Disliked: John left no negative feedback.


See all Sofia hostels
See all Sofia hotels