We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sofia hostels
See all Sofia hotels

Reviews of Art Hostel

Hostel | 21 A Angel Kanchev str., Sofia, Bulgaria 1000

82.2% Overall Rating

39 out of 63 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/09/2013)

"Beautiful hostel with nice garden, a free welcome drink at the bar and a nice space for the breakfast in the morning. The staff is also very friendly and helpful."

Read all Art Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sofia?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sofia

Red Star hostel
10.12 USD

Hostel 70.4% 71 reviews
Dream House Apartments
19.40 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Apartment Bendi
18.11 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hostel44
12.93 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Nightingale Hostel
8.86 USD

Hostel 71.0% 205 reviews
VIP Apartments Sofia
25.87 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
lnternet Hostel
9.87 USD

Hostel 79.7% 198 reviews
Marrinella apartments
28.46 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.2%

Overall Rating

39 out of 63 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Art Hostel'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
82.4%
Value
78.4%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 33 of 35 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Clay Thomas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2014

Liked: The location and they had a drape on my bed to keep the light out.

Disliked: I understand that the bar is an important part of this hostel. That's not a problem with me. What is a problem is that they don't pay much attention to the traveler. Like other posts I saw, they encourage the local people to come to the bar. Again no problem with me. I never got any bad looks or that. But when you put your focus on the bar you may forget about the hostel. There were only two people in a 10 bed dorm. There was a bed in the middle of the room that wasn't needed. The beds are stacked three high with the lowest bed being on the floor. The distance between that bed and the bed above wasn't much. So you couldn't sit up. I bumped my head several times getting into and out of bed. There was zero heat in the room and perhaps if the room would have been full of people then it would have been warmer by our body temps. The property is starting to get a bit run down. The kitchen has four burners that do not work and so if there are a couple of people want to cook, you have to share two burners. At night the place will be riddled with bottles, one night a broken one was in the entrance to the hostel. I think if you are going to run a bar, you need someone going around picking up the trash. It was cleaned each morning which was good. The breakfast was simple like most hostels, but when the coffee is gone from a small drip coffee maker they don't refill it. It's basically bread, cereal, salty cheese, apples, jelly and yogurt. Of course going from this place to Hostel Mostel was like going from a one star hotel to a 4 star. Hostel Mostel was full each night....I think if you read their reviews you will know why.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere.

Disliked: A bit noisy well into the night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful hostel with nice garden, a free welcome drink at the bar and a nice space for the breakfast in the morning. The staff is also very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Would be nice if they had some rooms without shared bathrooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Leonard

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2011 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: excellent character and great late night bar

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Partying / nightlife

11 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff that were always keen for a beer.

Disliked: NA

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2010

Liked: I was disappointed by my experience at Art Hostel

Disliked: The shower was cold and uncomfortable and the breakfast was really average.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2010

Liked: showers

Disliked: We didnt feel comfortable here. we expected it to be really laid back and to meet heaps of people but it just felt awkward because it seemed like we were invading on the locals that hang out there all the time. We felt like we were intruding everytime we went down to the bar. The hostel is nice and the garden is cool but atmosphere was pretty awkward.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Clotilde Marpeau

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

23 August 2010 Clotilde would recommend this property

Liked: The locationThe roomThe bar

Disliked: The breakfast

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

08 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was a great atmosphere, a great bar and really lovely to hang out there.We got a taxi to the hostel and the people we met were really nice.

Disliked: The beds were quite uncomfortable, although looked quite cool. there were also no curtains so let light in. the shower and toilet facilities were good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nadia Lindz

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

19 July 2010 Nadia would recommend this property

Liked: Very centarly lokated hostel. Great pleasure to be there.

Disliked: Nadia left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I am about to leave to Turkey, but I feel like not willing to leave the Art-Hostel...I had such a great time here, meeting people, talking about arts and life...a group of young Americans participating in some Theater Festival in Rhodopa Mountains, another group of local artists working on a musical projects...it's boiling..I hope I am coming back to spend much longer time here!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victor Valon

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2010 Victor would recommend this property

Liked: Very interesting and unusual hostel! All dorm beds were occupied during my stay, so they offered me a private room, which was obviously above the hostels standarts-beautifully and tasteffully designed -more like botique rooms. I enjoyed my privacy and in the meanwhile I was able at any time to particiapte in the active social life in the hostel, hanging in the garden in the afternoon, and having fun in the bar in the night, where you would meet most interesting people in the city.It definitely is my kind of place!

Disliked: Victor left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals

03 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its ambience, the helpful staff and the late bar

Disliked: not much

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Art Hostel is a very nice place-in the very center of the city, with fresh, artistically designed rooms, VERY friendly staff-all young artists, VERY interesting local people hanging in the bar looking like a bar in Berlin .I was very happy to catch a concert of a Bulgarian band and to see an exhibition on India...Seems like this is the most happening place in Sofia, not only as a hostel.Highly recommend it! Will be back!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

23 October 2009

Liked: Staff is happy enough to take your money, but not very enthusiastic about speaking English. Unfortunately, not many travelers out there speak Bulgarian. Bad attitude to have when you run a hostel that specifically caters to foreign travelers. Building is concrete and absolutely freezing upstairs: bring a sleeping bag! Bar is cheap and usually packed at night with locals, making it a good place to meet some interesting people. Laundry is cheap (5L), but turn-around time is 2-3 days, so expect a pile of soggy laundry if you aren't staying long.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

13 October 2009

Liked: Bar On Site Central Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

16 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the open mindness of the staff and the visitors, and their sympathy!The basement is also a funny place, working almost as a club

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Christine Goode

14 September 2008 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was great, and there was a welcome drink when you arrived. The staff was super chill and was willing to chat and hang out with you. The bar was a totally happening place, with locals and travelers gathering for drinks super late into the night!

Disliked: Christine left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 June 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Chilled out vibe and helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

daniel chafetz

21 May 2008

Liked: great location, internet availability

Disliked: daniel left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

17 December 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff was very helpful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 September 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to meet people. Hanging out in the garden.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 September 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff and sociable backgarden

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

jonas bjoedstrup

04 August 2007 jonas would recommend this property

Liked: the really relaxed atmosphere and especially the friendlyness and helpfullness of the owner..

Disliked: jonas left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 May 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Sofia hostels
See all Sofia hotels