We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sofia hostels
See all Sofia hotels

Reviews of Nightingale Hostel

Hostel | Slaveykov Square #2A, Sofia, Bulgaria 1000

71.0% Overall Rating

164 out of 205 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/08/2014)

sasha georgiava thinks…

"Loved it so much! Very nice location and also the place of the hostel. in the central of the city! perfect to explore the interesing thing in Sofia. WIll come back! For Sure! Nightingale Hostel…"

Read all Nightingale Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Gym
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.65
  • Breakfast USD 1.90

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sofia?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sofia

Red Star hostel
10.12 USD

Hostel 70.4% 71 reviews
Art Hostel
11.39 USD

Hostel 82.2% 63 reviews
Apartment Bendi
18.11 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
lnternet Hostel
9.87 USD

Hostel 79.7% 198 reviews
Dream House Apartments
19.40 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hostel44
12.93 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Crosspoint Sofia Hostel
6.31 USD

Hostel 85.1% 40 reviews
Be My Guest Hostel
11.39 USD

Hostel 85.5% 64 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.0%

Overall Rating

164 out of 205 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Nightingale Hostel'

Atmosphere
63.2%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
66.4%
Staff
72.8%
Value
66.4%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 168 of 186 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

20 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They were sweet and available...nice people!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sasha georgiava

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2014 sasha would recommend this property

Liked: Loved it so much! Very nice location and also the place of the hostel. in the central of the city! perfect to explore the interesing thing in Sofia. WIll come back! For Sure! Nightingale Hostel rocks! Yeeee-Haaaaa

Disliked: sasha left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Ayten

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: It was an amazing time in the Nightingale Hostel in Sofia. Very friendly staff personal. And i met a lot of very nice and interesting persons from all over the world. The atmosphere ist pretty familiar. You can cook and eat together, join the people and exchange your travel experiences with them. Definetly not the last time! 10 of 10 Points! Regards Michael

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Veljko Ivanisevic

Alone

Business / conference

02 December 2013 Veljko would recommend this property

Liked: excellent staff, very helpful.i recommend this hostel property to other travellers!!

Disliked: notingh evrytingh it s ok

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent staff, very helpful

Disliked: was a bit hard to find, but it is there!

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2013

Liked: The staff was mostly helpfull and the hostel is central. Also the guests were very friendly and nice

Disliked: the kitchen is very dirty althought the owners family cooked there itself every day. And the dirt is very old... Also there is every time a woman of the staff, who is sleeping in the commonroom. Also its very loud and dirty.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: L'auberge est très bien située sur le plan géographique, la salle commune est agréable et le jeune homme de l'accueil très sympathique.

Disliked: Les sanitaires n'étaient pas tous fonctionnels et spartiates. Si le linge de maison paraissait propre, les coussins et couettes en dessous avaient largement fait leur temps (tâches et usure).

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 August 2013

Liked: The location

Disliked: Wsn't equipped to handle the number of people they had - was overcrowded. Had to shower over a toilet. No fan / ac. No safety deposit boxes, just some lockers in the room. No character and the staff there were very unhelpful (i asked for some washing powder and the guy told me that he didn't have any despite the washing machine running all the time).

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2013

Liked: Absolutely nothing

Disliked: What can I say about this Hostel? NOT MUCH, because when we got there and paid for the rooms, they told us that they had "overbooked" and sent us to other "Hostel". Result? We ended up sleeping in an almost abandoned apartment, in the floor, (along with more than 30 people) with no kitchen, 1 bathroom for 30 people, and NO SECURITY AT ALL.. Besides, of course that there was no A/C or fan, the owner of that place was totally rude and was apparently building something while we were trying to sleep there. My WORST experience EVER!What can I say about this Hostel? NOT MUCH, because when we got there and paid for the rooms, they told us that they had "overbooked" and sent us to other "Hostel". Result? We ended up sleeping in an almost abandoned apartment, in the floor, (along with more than 30 people) with no kitchen, 1 bathroom for 30 people, and NO SECURITY AT ALL.. Besides, of course that there was no A/C or fan, the owner of that place was totally rude and was apparently building something while we were trying to sleep there. My WORST experience EVER!

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2013

Liked: nothing.

Disliked: only 2bath rooms for over20 people.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Vanja Zaprianova

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2013 Vanja would recommend this property

Liked: Die Lage des Hostels ist sehr zentral gelegen - noch besser gehts wahrscheinlich nicht.

Disliked: Leider wurden nicht die Preise die im Internet standen verlangt. Anstatt wie angegeben € 8,90 mussten wir € 11 bezahlen, mit der der Begründung dass zur Zeit ein Konzert in der Stadt stattfindet und deshalb so viele Leute ein Zimmer suchen. Außerdem mussten wir bei der Ankunft feststellen dass das Zimmer das wir gebucht haben nicht mehr frei ist was dazu geführt hat dass die Hostelleitung uns umquartieren wollte in ein anderes Stadtgebiet was deutlich vom Zentrum entfernt war - sehr schade.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2013

Liked: It is very centrally located, close to many attractions and places of interest.

Disliked: Staff were abrupt at times and came across as petty. At times I felt awkward asking for advice or items because of the reaction I may get. Also pricing for rooms seemed inconsistent - just turning up people were charged significantly more.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

02 May 2013

Liked: good location

Disliked: atmosphere was not very nice and one of our beds were just 2 matresses on top of eachother.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Silvia Cardamone

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013 Silvia would recommend this property

Liked: great accomodation, great homemade breakfast, nice atmposhefe. people very kind and helpfull. everything was as described.

Disliked: Silvia left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

claire greenhouse

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2013 claire would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendly and helpful. I got a lesson in the cyrillic alphabet and Bulgarian history from the manager. The location is right on the main shopping streets but not too close to any clubs so still quiet at night time. They have a well stocked kitchen with a real oven and everything! The showers are always hot.

Disliked: The decor is not very modern (not that it matters at all)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Jablon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 December 2012 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has a quiet, mellow, homely atmosphere in which it's easy to chat with other guests, read, cook, play board games, etc. I like the murals painted on the walls here. The staff has really done a good job converting an old apartment into a very pleasant place to stay. Like many hostels, there are some people who come and go for brief periods of time while there are other people who stay long-term. But there are few hostels where people really feel comfortable enough to want to stay long-term. I met an Englishman here who came to Bulgaria to visit his girlfriend. He stayed for a month and plans to stay here on his return. He gave a new coat he had bought in England to the manager, telling him to pass it on to another guest. The Englishman realized that Bulgaria wasn't as cold as he thought it would be and that he therefore had no need of the coat. I must not be as tough as the Englishman because Bulgaria seemed cold enough to me to warrant accepting the coat from Michael. This says a lot about how pleasant the place is. The hostel feels akin to a community.

Disliked: Stephen left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LUKE DAVIS

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 November 2012 LUKE would recommend this property

Liked: I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful with good knowledge of the Sofia and Bulgaria in general. The hostel is around ten minutes walk to just about all the main sights of Sofia. Would recommend!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

richard cantlay

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2012 richard would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful, nice atmosphere

Disliked: nothing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2012

Liked: The Location was the only good bit

Disliked: Was not given a key to the room, and only had tiny lockers in the rooms, but not enough for each person. Did not feel safe leaving my things there when I went out during the day. The bathrooms were not cleaned regularly or particularly well. The internet was passable at best, kept disconnecting every couple of minutes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Pang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2012 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, good location, good Bulgaria breakfast, cheep price, I get a lot of help, very like and recommend people come to this hostel.

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kenneth thompson

Alone

Visiting friends or family

24 October 2012 kenneth would recommend this property

Liked: the location ,aand especially the hosts and staff who were awesum

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

02 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central, close to the Parlament and Churches. The Staff is very friendly and helpful, and is trying really hard to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

Disliked: The Wifi got some Problems, and doesn't always work properly.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and helpful staff.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

perah midbar alter

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2012 perah midbar would recommend this property

Liked: the magic of the place is the staff!

Disliked: perah midbar left no negative feedback.


See all Sofia hostels
See all Sofia hotels