HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sofia hostels
See all Sofia hotels

Reviews of Nightingale Hostel

Hostel | Slaveykov Square #2A, Sofia, Bulgaria 1000

71.0% Overall Rating

164 out of 205 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/08/2014)

sasha georgiava thinks…

"Loved it so much! Very nice location and also the place of the hostel. in the central of the city! perfect to explore the interesing thing in Sofia. WIll come back! For Sure! Nightingale Hostel…"

Read all Nightingale Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Gym
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.65
  • Breakfast USD 1.90

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sofia?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sofia

Red Star hostel
10.12 USD

Hostel 70.4% 71 reviews
Art Hostel
16.45 USD

Hostel 82.2% 63 reviews
Apartment Bendi
18.11 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
lnternet Hostel
9.87 USD

Hostel 79.7% 198 reviews
Dream House Apartments
19.40 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hostel44
12.93 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Crosspoint Sofia Hostel
8.86 USD

Hostel 85.1% 40 reviews
Be My Guest Hostel
11.39 USD

Hostel 85.5% 64 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.0%

Overall Rating

164 out of 205 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Nightingale Hostel'

Atmosphere
63.2%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
66.4%
Staff
72.8%
Value
66.4%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 168 of 186 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are really friendly and helpful. The location is very central.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

19 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly and helpful offering advise on good places to eat out and where to go.

Disliked: The hostel is on two different sites, we had booked a private room with ensuite but on arrival were told that would be another 20 minute walk away.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Nicolas Fato

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2010 Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: In the medium, good rapport between quality and price..

Disliked: nothing particular

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Geoff gilley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2010 Geoff would recommend this property

Liked: We arrived and were upgraded to the guest house (which is under a separate listing and we recommend it). Here we were treated like we were friends of the family. Silvia and Mike are generous beyond belief to the point that you forget you are not old friend but in fact paying customers.The room was immaculate, en suit and possibly the best breakfast you will ever eat on a Saturday! We would recommend this to any couple looking for some where in Sofia. Our favorite by miles !!

Disliked: Geoff left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Martijn Rommelaars

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

15 August 2010 Martijn would recommend this property

Liked: Nice Staff; really helping you with getting around!

Disliked: Martijn left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

06 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The 2 guys who run the place are awsome, its ridiculously clean and the toilets are excellent.

Disliked: The owners a bit strange, but he's hardly ever there.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Work / volunteering

31 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location of the place. Close to the center

Disliked: Dirty, small rooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

samuel arthur

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2010 samuel would recommend this property

Liked: stayed at the Nightingale Guesthouse (South Park Apartment) for 2 nights and wished we had longer!Micheal and Sylvia really looked after us and gave us a very warm welcome. Really felt at home here, and was great to get a some inside knowledge about Sofia (restaurant and bar recommendations, travel tips, taxi bookings etc...) as well. Recommend!

Disliked: samuel left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bendik Nordgaard

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

19 July 2010 Bendik would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel have the best staff I have ever experienced! They will help you no mather what, with everything from ordering taxis to bringing you to the best pubs or clubs! the location is great! they even made us french toast for breakfast and bought us ice cake and beer! nice commonroom with a big TV, cable TV and two computers for free use, one of them is ancient though :P regards, John and Ben.

Disliked: No air conditions in our room.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

18 June 2010

Liked: Location was goog, but hostel was from middle soviet times. Person on duty was Ok, but tarakans in room was bigger than I saw in Zoo.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jenna Back

25 May 2010 Jenna would recommend this property

Liked: wonderful staff, perfect location, and clean facilities.

Disliked: Jenna left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Taaran Cariappa Ballachanda Subbaiah

19 May 2010 Taaran Cariappa would recommend this property

Liked: perfectly located, comfortable beds, great staff, and to top it all off, with the 4th night free it's the best deal available.

Disliked: Taaran Cariappa left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

christopher shepherd

16 May 2010 christopher would recommend this property

Liked: the owner Mihail was fantastic,coulded do enough for you,what ever i asked for he did more,i would go back time and time again,so if you want some where to stay thatsCENTRAL,GOOD,CHEAP,CLEAN AND FRIENDLY ,call in here first you will not be disapointed

Disliked: christopher left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Morgan Lovit

03 May 2010

Liked: I liked the location, only.

Disliked: Morgan left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

30 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, close to public indoor pool, nice rooms and beds, nice big television*be sure to ask for a key if you want to make sure you're not locked in

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

21 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice atmosphere and place to meet people. you should be an easy person otherwise you may not like. bathroom cleanliness maybe can be improved.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I spent the night talking music with the owners, who are a wonderful family. I've been to sofia before, it was nice to go back, staying here made my trip much more interesting.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fabrizio Purita

31 January 2010 Fabrizio would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location! Michael and his family are very friendly and nice, we drunk wine, we talked about Bulgarian culture and it was a very interesting intercultural exchange. I really enjoyed my stay in Sofia, and I want to said thanks for their hospitality. I recommend to everyone this hostel.

Disliked: Fabrizio left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

13 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Thank you for your kindness.We could relax .

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really had a great time there! The owners go out of their way to make you feel at home and welcome... A taste of Bulgarian hospitality, I guess! They also gave me very useful directions and tips. The location is ideal - right in the centre and close to many restaurants, pubs, sights, stores, etc. Another plus was the common room, where we gathered in the evening around the huge flat screen TV. Great people, great atmosphere!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

31 October 2009

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Owners were really nice and really helpful!! One of the employees was really nice first night but grumpy the next three, very moody! Big screen tv, 4 computers for internet. However down side another hostel which not entirely honest with its advertising, NO CARPARKING, NO LUGGAGEROOM, NO POOLTABLES and NO SECURITY ACCESS CARD.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Michael was a very lovely host, who was more than accomodating. He was extremely friendly and helpful with information of what to see and what to eat. Would reccomend this hostel to others.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hanne Tytgat

22 September 2009 Hanne would recommend this property

Liked: Nightingale hostel is a nice hostel in the centre of Sofia. It's ideal to do some sightseeing and go clubbing at night. So you get good value for money! And as a big bonus there is the fantastic owner Michael. He is always there to help you, guide you, entertain and organise trips. His friendliness and helpfullness add that extra something to your trip.

Disliked: Hanne left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and helpful people (Ali and Mike), good friedly atmosphere. A bit harder to find the hostel's entrance but if you will keep instructions on the hostel's web pages you should'nt have problem to find it. Good idea to stay there!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Sofia hostels
See all Sofia hotels