HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sofia hostels
See all Sofia hotels

Reviews of Nightingale Hostel

Hostel | Slaveykov Square #2A, Sofia, Bulgaria 1000

71.0% Overall Rating

164 out of 205 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/08/2014)

sasha georgiava thinks…

"Loved it so much! Very nice location and also the place of the hostel. in the central of the city! perfect to explore the interesing thing in Sofia. WIll come back! For Sure! Nightingale Hostel…"

Read all Nightingale Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Gym
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.65
  • Breakfast USD 1.90

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sofia?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sofia

Red Star hostel
10.12 USD

Hostel 70.4% 71 reviews
Art Hostel
16.45 USD

Hostel 82.2% 63 reviews
Apartment Bendi
18.11 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
lnternet Hostel
9.87 USD

Hostel 79.7% 198 reviews
Dream House Apartments
19.40 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hostel44
12.93 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Crosspoint Sofia Hostel
8.86 USD

Hostel 85.1% 40 reviews
Be My Guest Hostel
11.39 USD

Hostel 85.5% 64 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.0%

Overall Rating

164 out of 205 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Nightingale Hostel'

Atmosphere
63.2%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
66.4%
Staff
72.8%
Value
66.4%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 168 of 186 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Waugh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: From the moment I walked in all the staff were so welcoming. I arrived very early and ill and they gave me a bed straight away - way before check-in time :). The brakfast is fantastic and the best thing it gets changed up every day. The owner is a great bloke and always offering you beer and even had a few gym sessions in the Hostel with hime. Easily the best location of all the Hostels in Sofia - am actually back again on 8th September for another night as they stored my stuff for me whilst I was away on a course! Thanks again Nightingale Hostel

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Birkett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2012 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Excellent, eat all you want breakfast

Disliked: Not much

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2012

Liked: Nothing at all apart from the price but you get what you pay for

Disliked: Being eaten alive by bedbugs, the hostel is really run down and dirty. We arrived late at night (4am) which the owner was aware of as we had called him on arrival to Sofia. However the lady on reception had to be woken up to let us in. We had to make our own beds and then got bitten straight away by bed bugs. We stayed in the dorm for half an hour and then left as it was so dirty. We asked for our money back because of the bed bugs and we did get a refund. Still suffering with the bed bug bites now and we only stayed for half an hour. The dorm was riddled with them.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Christina Evans

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 June 2012

Liked: It was located in the book market and was handy for walking to all the main sites. the staff were helpful and friendly

Disliked: Although we had booked a private double ensuite, we had a bunk-bed room with our own shower but had to share the toilet facilities and the breakfast for the last two days was a coffee and a bowel of cornflakes or muesli despite the pictures on the website.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2012

Liked: The location was very nice and the bathrooms (communal) were pretty clean.

Disliked: If you want to sleep earlier after a long day, this is NOT the hostel for you. My friend and I were sick from our last leg from Istanbul and could not sleep at night due to the noise from people partying in the main room (right next to the rooms). Our room was also not ready when we arrived (ended up waiting 2-3 hours).

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2012

Liked: Good location and helpful, friendly staff.

Disliked: One of the most terrible hostel experiences that I've ever had. Despite the reservation at Hostelbookers and the so-called availability on its homepage, the room reserved was not available but instead we were given a bed in an 8-peron room and an additional bed there. The whole hostel was disorganised and smelly, especially the ladies' bathroom with the shower thing right above where you shit. The 8-person dorm is really small and one can hear everything at the reception and the common room so actually we couldn't sleep there. The luggage room is just a store room with everything crammed inside. I would never go there again!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff, clean, perfect location, good value for money. I highly reccomend Nightingale Hostel!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2012

Liked: Owner was relatively helpful, common room is large and well appointed. Location is great.

Disliked: I was in a female dorm, the room was so cramped I had to climb over a double bed to get to the bunk I was to stay in. The sheets hadn't been changed, you couldn't use the lockers (broken), I was offered a free night as long as I gave a positive review. The bathrooms are not great (shower over toilet), freezing cold and difficult to keep anything dry.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Silvia Georgieva

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

18 May 2012 Silvia would recommend this property

Liked: Very central location, value for money, yumi free breakfast and comfortable common room where you can relax and talk with others. Kitchen is great bonus also. Nice tours and tasty bulgarian food. Thanks.

Disliked: Silvia left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Traditional breakfast in the morning is a real bonus!

Disliked: Could be a little cleaner

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Margareth Petroli

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2012

Liked: Was really well located in city centre

Disliked: The clealiness was horrible. I got bed bugs in the beds there

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly people, extremely hospitable. Good breakfast, family like- atmosphere. Great hostel for students, suitable for longer stay as well.

Disliked: -

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Cheryl Kong

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

21 April 2012 Cheryl would recommend this property

Liked: Hot showers with sufficient water pressure. Staff were really friendly and helpful with information about the city. Thank you for teaching us the Cyrillic alphabets! Good location, with supermarket and lots of shops nearby, major sights were all within walking distance. Offered reliable airport pickup service

Disliked: We booked a private double ensuite but it turned out to be a 6 bed dorm and toilet was still outside (though both dorm and toilet was private).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nicholas kyser

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2012 nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Right off tram. Staff were friendly and understanding. Was a very homelike environment

Disliked: nicholas left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location right off of Taksim Square is fantastic! Staff were friendly and had good suggestions about where to try local foods. I had the eight bed dorm to myself :) Breakfast was unique with different cheeses, spreads, and produce. Good Internet connection too!

Disliked: Smoking is allowed downstairs in the common area; you can't smell the smoke upstairs in the rooms, but it's very strong downstairs. I think there's hot water showers, but not in the 4th floor bathroom...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ADAM GARFORTH

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2012 ADAM would recommend this property

Liked: Thankyou to everybody at the Nightingale hostel for their hospitality.

Disliked: ADAM left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Grzegorz Gieniec

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2012

Liked: Price, free breakfast, free internet

Disliked: The dorm smells badly, it is very tight, the staff doesn't care about cleanliness, and where is free beer?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mauro Calzone

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2012 Mauro would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff, facility and price

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

06 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is very central and friendly good price

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stefan Tremel

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2012 Stefan would recommend this property

Liked: Cheapest price for 3 beds

Disliked: no lookers Better describe to come there

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Maren Ehrecke

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 February 2012

Liked: The stuff, location and price.

Disliked: There was a horrible smell in the bathrooms and in the stairwell.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stanimir Kosev

Alone

City break

25 February 2012 Stanimir would recommend this property

Liked: The most central location in the heart of all attractions which Sofia can offer !!! Sightseeings , bars , restourants , night clubs just few steps around this place... Sofia is cheap city for food actually , but distance to nearby big Carrefour supermarket is only 15 meters from Nigtingail hostel. Really very helpful staff. Great place to stay...!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is very nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nightingale's staff were extremely helpful. Even when we had a question in the middle of the night the owner was on the phone with us giving us directions to the Rila Monastery (highly recommended). Everyone was friendly, food was good, and the location can't be beat.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jael van der Sluis

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 January 2012 Jael would recommend this property

Liked: Good internet, helpful staff, nice beds.

Disliked: Some dorms are a bit cramped.


See all Sofia hostels
See all Sofia hotels