HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Ubatuba hostels

Reviews of Tropical Dolphin

Hostel | Av Gov abreu sodre 461, Pereque Acu, Ubatuba, Brazil 11 .680-000

95.8% Overall Rating

54 out of 55 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/05/2014)

Björn Hallman thinks…

"The property is beautiful. It's such a calm relaxed place, beautifully decorated with mosaic done by Daryll (the owner). When you open the main gate you got the beach right infront of you, impossible…"

Read all Tropical Dolphin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

you will be contacted by the property requesting the CVV code of the credit card used for this booking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ubatuba?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ubatuba

Green Haven Hostel
10.20 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Ecotrip Hostel
12.23 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Aldeia Hostel
14.27 USD

Apartment 95.9% 9 reviews
Casa de Colibri
12.23 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Pousada Tribo - Ubatuba Hostel
10.20 USD

Hostel 91.8% 15 reviews
GOL Backpackers Ubatuba
16.31 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Surf Garden Hostel
16.31 USD

Hostel 84.3% 8 reviews
TikamamaMINI
28.55 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.8%

Overall Rating

54 out of 55 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Tropical Dolphin'

Atmosphere
99.2%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
100.0%
Value
94.4%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 36 of 52 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Björn Hallman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 May 2014 Björn would recommend this property

Liked: The property is beautiful. It's such a calm relaxed place, beautifully decorated with mosaic done by Daryll (the owner). When you open the main gate you got the beach right infront of you, impossible to miss. The hostel in itself is a work of art. Every room has its own character and a beauty of its own. By the lobby they got a relaxing watefall and a small pond with som goldfish, lovely to sit by and let your mind wander. The yard has banana palms and coconut trees and a caged in corner with some of the cutest bunnies i've ever seen. The kitchen is big and spacius with a big gasstove, place for BBQ and a wood burned oven where you can make your own pizza. In the kitchen they also have a huge vivarium with some budgies and agapornis parrots witch sings beautifully. The hostel has all the elements of nature. The best thing of all is Daryll and his lovely family wich makes you feel really welcome and almost a part of the family. Daryll knows all the best beaches around, amazing nature trails and will happily help you find your way there. I loved staying here and will deffinatly return next time i'm in brazil and i recommend this place to all my friends.

Disliked: all was great

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Logan Henry

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2014 Logan would recommend this property

Liked: Joåo and Daryll were both very friendly and helpful. They gave us great advice on what beaches to go to, and the best ways to get there. They helped us rent bikes, call a taxi, let us use their surfboard, as well as answered every question we had about anything. We had a 2nd floor room with a balcony and an ocenview. Pereque-Açu beach is literally right across the street. This beach is pretty calm and not too crowded. There are 50 beaches south, which are the more touristy beaches. And, 50 beaches north, which are generely less busy. If we go to Ubatuba again, we will definitely stay there again. We honestly can't say enough about how helpful everyone was.

Disliked: Logan left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Henk Dekkers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 December 2013 Henk would recommend this property

Liked: Het is een pousada voor de prijs van een Hostel perfect voor echtparen en mensen boven de 30 heel rustig en gezelig. Daryll de eigennaar en John zijn fantastische gasten ik had 3 van de 4 dg. regen toch een goede tijd gehad daar.

Disliked: niets

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christoffer Drougge

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2013 Christoffer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic views and super friendly hosts one of our best stays in south america

Disliked: Nada

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners of the hostel are great and very helpful. Always giving great tips and the area and what are the best beaches to visit.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gustav Rowan

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 March 2013 Gustav would recommend this property

Liked: Darrel the owner and manager is the man. Full of ideas of things nearby that are very enjoyable and almost always extremely beautiful. Great facilities as well as bikes, skateboards and surfboards to rent. Quick bike ride to the downtown but everything you need is on this side of the bridge (grocery, food, calm clean beach).

Disliked: It is more of a hotel than a hostel in the sense that there are not group dorm style rooms. You will mainly encounter couples who were, for the most part, very well traveled and very interesting to talk to. Less of a place to find party buddies and a better place to have a good conversation.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, friendly staff, comfortable

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

19 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was soo amazing !people were so friendly and helpful !i totally recommend it!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tom Sillars

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

12 June 2012 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: My God, it's perfect. Picture yourself sitting on a veranda, lying in a hammock. You can hear the waves breaking as you pluck another beer from your private fridge, and look up through the palms in the garden to gaze out across the bay. What's more, Daryl & Denise will help you with anything (I thoroughly recommend the surf lessons, you'll be standing up in no time). If you don't find what you're looking for here, I'm not sure why you're in Ubatuba.

Disliked: As yet Daryll hasn't been able to train monkey butlers to make caprinhas, but hopefully this will be rectified by the next time I visit.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lincoln Shedd

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break

11 June 2012 Lincoln would recommend this property

Liked: ambiente familiar e aconchegante. Decoração com detalhes handcraft e as varandas de frente pro mar dão um charme acolhedor à pousada. #Recomendo!

Disliked: a distância da rodoviária é uma complicação quando se precisa de um taxi às seis da manhã (os motoristas locais ou não acordam cedo ou cobram valores extorsivos por uma viagem simples e curta).

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Luciano Fiorente

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

24 April 2012 Luciano would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff

Disliked: Luciano left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anne von Petersdorff Campen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2012 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: it:s right on the beach and within walking distance from the centre. its a bit far to walk from the busstation

Disliked: Anne left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

27 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a really nice stay at Tropical Dolphin. The hostel have a good location near the beach and supermarkets. Book a djungeltour with Darryl, it was perfect and we saw beautiful waterfalls and nice beaches!

Disliked: No dislikes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a wonderfull stay here,Daryl&Denise are very friendly&helpfull,giving the best advice what to see and do!Great location at the beach and stunning beaches and things to see nearby!

Disliked: Bring insect repellent,loads of mosquito's;-/

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charlotte Blouin-Arbour

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 August 2011 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: I've been there 3 times.. Because it's such a wonderful, peaceful stay every time !! I liked everything in that place : the great ambiance, the kindness of the owners, the localisation on a calm beach, the nice rooms and... their view on the sea !!! I would go there over and over again, just to enjoy it forever ! And for that price... incomparavel ! E increivel, demais !!!!!! Du confort, des gens sympathiques et une vue sur la mer, quoi demander de plus ! Le paradis, on y resterait encore et encore !

Disliked: Eu gostei de tdo !!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jebb Burditt

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 May 2011 Jebb would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome owners who took really good care of us. We were planning on staying for two days and ended up staying a week. Free surfing tips and guidance. I really enjoy there company and this hostel, well recommended. One of the highlights of my trip.

Disliked: No dolphins

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lokation, atmosphere, fun place

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: right next to the beach. amazing people there! relaxed way of living

Disliked: no breakfast included

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly, very nice peoplçe

Disliked: a little bit messy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fatih Cantekin

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway

08 October 2010 Fatih would recommend this property

Liked: just amazing.it has been already a few days come back from ubatuba but i still keep talking about how tropical dolphin hostel gave a unique flavour with it's ambience location view last but never can be least the stuff if you can describe them as stuff since they are more like friends for me...if u want some pats running around in the garden,waking up with the view of ocean,a calm family athmospher rather than a dance floor in a hostel tropical dolphins must be your destination in whole brasil not only in ubatuba..go there i assure you wont regret..greating from ania and fati..:)

Disliked: can sound ridiculous but non i dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A really nice place with the most friendly staff/family. We had a wonderful time in Ubatuba on the beach relaxing with surfboards that we borrowed from Darryll (the owner). Both Denise and Darryll were really helpful with info about the surroundings and restaurants. Would definitely come back!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing

22 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely family. My best friends: the kids Jordan and Joshua. Great and wonderful experience.

Disliked: I needed more time for this beautiful place.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frank Westdorp

09 May 2010 Frank would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, friendly owners with never ending hospitality for their guests. Helping you out with all things. Had a great time here and felt really at home.

Disliked: Frank left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ilona Hartlief

04 May 2010 Ilona would recommend this property

Liked: We had a great stay at Tropical Golphina, we felt at home due to the very friendly and concerned staff. We would recommend this hostel to all visitors of Ubatuba! Ubatuba is a great place to explore and our stay in Tropical Golphina was very valuable in our experience of this little town!

Disliked: Ilona left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jennifer Melin

03 May 2010 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Thye couple that ownes it are soooo nice and helpfull with information. We where here in low season so I think thats why we didint meet that much people... Ubatuba isnt a very big backpacker place... but it is very cozy and slow.. not much party goin on.. some people like that 2. =)If u are goin to Ubatuba, this is the place to stay.

Disliked: Jennifer left no negative feedback.


See all Ubatuba hostels