HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Alice

Hostel | Rua Harmonia, 1275, Vila Madalena, Sao Paulo, Brazil 05435-001

95.0% Overall Rating

43 out of 43 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/07/2014)

David Cahill thinks…

"I only stayed 1 night as I had travelled up from Rio that day & was flying out to Bogota from Sao Paulo the next. The lady on duty (Karen) was really friendly. She also helped me when I tied to check…"

Read all Hostel Alice reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 36.70
  • Towel USD 1.22

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sao Paulo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sao Paulo

Café Hostel
14.68 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Sampa Hostel
21.21 USD

Hostel 90.6% 42 reviews
Pousada Perdizes
28.14 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Ô de Casa Hostel
22.43 USD

Hostel 96.8% 9 reviews
Vila Madalena Hostel
14.27 USD

Hostel 92.3% 56 reviews
Hey Hostel
11.01 USD

Hostel 94.5% 27 reviews
Vila Rock Hostel
14.27 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Garoa Hostel
14.27 USD

Hostel 94.7% 26 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.0%

Overall Rating

43 out of 43 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Alice'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
97.6%
Value
92.8%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 30 of 42 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Cahill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: I only stayed 1 night as I had travelled up from Rio that day & was flying out to Bogota from Sao Paulo the next. The lady on duty (Karen) was really friendly. She also helped me when I tied to check on to my flight, there was a problem as the airline had changed the times without notifying me & would not let me check in without me contacting them. She phoned the airline for me & fixed the problem. The beds were comfy & the facilities were great. I would stay there again.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patricia Honda Gerage

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

06 May 2014 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very helpful and friendly staff, clean rooms and they serve a good breakfast.

Disliked: Patricia left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location with very friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Some fruits for the breakfast would be nice, as well as a hint, that the eggs are unboiled. But all in all you get a good value for your money.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

30 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: N 1 hostel in sao paulo, it was very good exprience , the pepole are great, the hostel is cozy and friendly good breakfest and very clean. the owner is amazing and give very good atantion to the gusts. very close to the metro ( walking distance) love it

Disliked: nothing at all every thing perfect

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Tran

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2013 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the only private ensuite room which was isolated from the rest so gave us some privacy. The hostel is also very clean and staff are helpful.

Disliked: The wi-fi could not entirely reach our private ensuite room as it was away from the rest of the house. Our shower did not have warm water on the first day, but the staff rectified the situation on the following day and refunded us the difference.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: GREAT Hostel, one of the best hostels (if not the best) I've ever stayed in! Great location, nearby the metro, tasty breakfast (with homemade bread and cake), a nice chill out area (inside and outside) and really clean bathrooms. The staff is helpful with all your questions and Vila Madalena is such a great neighbourhood!

Disliked: Nothing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just outside the city centre so the area is pretty calm and feels safe. Easy to travel in to the city centre. Really friendly staff. Good breakfast, beds, showers and clean. It`s a pretty calm hostel but people come together in the evening to watch tv and I`m sure that if there had been more people around during my stay then we`d have gone out and enjoyed the night life. Good stay and a good night sleep.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Barksby

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2013 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Althought designed for backpacking, the experience ispleasant, clean environment, good facilities, friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast including daily fresh bread rolls and other home cooked treats, Denise and crew welcome you as 'friends' rather than 'clients' A really freat place to stay...Home from Home. Definitely a Hostel I would happily recommend and return to.

Disliked: Another Internet PC would be useful for busy times...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly helpful, the beds were super comfy, and the hostel was just 5 mins away from the Villa Magdalena metro station. The owner also bakes a cake every day, and it's really clean (even the showers!)

Disliked: Nothing - it was great!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Daniela Petrili

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

20 May 2013 Daniela would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very helpful and attentive. Good atmosphere.

Disliked: The only thing I missed was the classic Brazilian "pão francês" for breakfast. The breakfast was very good and they offered home-made bread, which is also great, but I still think there should be "pão francês" as an option.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Peter Rogerson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2013 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed here on an overnight stop to foz d.o. Arrived quite late and were met by Paulo who checked us in. He was very friendly and helpful . Booked a twin room with ensuite. Beds and bathroom were clean. Good shower. The room was a converted garage, with concrete floor, not a great problem. Very quiet as was at the back of the main building with a little garden. We believed from the description that it was near the main bus station. As it happens, it cost us $R60 by taxi to get here as the bus station they talk about is in fact a metro station.

Disliked: Breakfast was the most basic I have yet come across. Not brilliant but enough to feed you first thing in the morning.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Andersson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: - many guests - much fun - cheap beer - not so much rain compared to other partts of Rio

Disliked: - too complicated to get to beach. - taxi driver refused to drive up to the hostel, since it was located to high.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Trent Blomfield

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

15 March 2013 Trent would recommend this property

Liked: A brand new hostel, with some nice owners. The showers were nice and warm. And the Mac computer was a welcome site. Cheap price too. Kitchen facilities were top class.

Disliked: Breakfast was ok but the bread was sliced bigger than the toaster (bread got stuck). This is nothing to do with the hostel, but there was a lot of 'live ins' or people there for long term which made meeting others really difficult. There was also no locker space available in my room as someone decided to use the lockers as their personal wardrobe (so no where to put my valuables).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The lady at Hostel Alice is lovely, she will make every effort to make sure you enjoy your stay. The rooms are very clean, the beds are big with the comfiest pillows and an ensuite bathroom. The kitchen is big and has everything you need. There is a supermarket only 3 blocks away. But the best thing is that it is easy to get to from the bus terminal or into the centre of town.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

leonardo castelan

Alone

Events / festivals

28 October 2012 leonardo would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

FRASER MCPHIE

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2012 FRASER would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, Bruno was particulalrly friendly.

Disliked: FRASER left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wow, what a funky and friendly hostel! It was pretty quiet when we were there but you can see the potential for a good vibe and place to meet other travelers. The owner and other staff were amazingly helpful and we were very grateful that they could speak English since we know no Portuguese. Huge comfortable bed in the double room was a welcome treat after traveling for half a year. Wifi didn't work in the room though - had to be in the main house. Breakfast was excellent - homemade cakes, fresh fruit, breads, good coffee. Definitely recommend staying here.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andreas Klein

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

31 July 2012 Andreas would recommend this property

Liked: great rooms, beds, breakfast, atmosphere and bathrooms! best place to stay in sao paulo

Disliked: Andreas left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

yasmin geneva

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2012 yasmin would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. This was a fantastic hostel and I would recommend it to everyone. It has an amazing atmosphere. The staff are friendly and are happy to help with any questions that you might have.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Kirchner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: A very welcoming and nice place in a not always so welcoming city. Can only agree with previous reviewers that this hostel has likely the most lovely staff members I've encountered on a 3-month trip in Brazil! Very clean and comfortable place, well located in proximity to the heart of Sao Paulo's nicest neighbourhood, Bohemian Vila Madalena.

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic hostel, one of the best I stayed at in Brazil. Very clean and the personal touch added by the owner Denise really made it feel like home. The free mangos in the kitchen were awesome :) and great breakfast too. There's lockers in each room, free wifi (and free internet on a huge Mac in the common room) and the staff are very helpful in assisting you with your day plans to see the city, as well as informing you of the best nightlife. The hostel is in a fantastic location and just a 3-4 minute walk from the metro station. There's a common room downstairs with a big LCD TV, a range of DVDs and even an N64! Unfortunately I was ill for most my stay (don't buy any sandwiches from the airport in Foz Do Iguazu!) but Denise was extremely helpful, made me tea - and even phoned her father (a doctor) who advised on which medicine I should go and buy. A fantastic personal touch! I'd definitely recommend this hostel to others, it's easy to see why they're #1 on Hostelbookers!

Disliked: Nothing - fantastic hostel!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicolas Espinosa

Alone

Romantic getaway

13 June 2012 Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: The place is great. Conditions are great, rooms are clean and coussy. The staff (Bruno, Denise & Adriana) were so friendly I felt like home. The hostel is positioned close to a metro station so it's easy to move. Thank you guys!!! 100 out of 100!!!

Disliked: Everything was perfect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Le

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2012 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: It's new, clean, and friendly. The staff were really nice and helpful. The place is new and is about 1 year old. It is within walking distance to the metro on the green line.

Disliked: None.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Neil Hoefhamer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2012 Neil would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere to socialize, the staff are really friendly and help in any way they can.

Disliked: Neil left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gloria García Giménez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2012 Gloria would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Gloria left no negative feedback.