HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of 3Dogs Hostel Sao Paulo

Hostel | Rua Artur Godoí 51, Vila Mariana, Sao Paulo, Brazil 04018-050

77.5% Overall Rating

33 out of 44 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/12/2012)

"Good location - can get from the bus station to here on the metro without having to change lines. Lots of places to eat nearby, was only staying overnight before carrying on my travel so quiet residential area was…"

Read all 3Dogs Hostel Sao Paulo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 50.41
  • Towel USD 1.13

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Policies during world cup 2014: Bookings need 100% prepayment by way of credit card within 7 days after the reservation or they will be cancelled without any refund. Bookings cannot be cancelled, independent of the amount of time until date of checkin Check-in: 13.30 Check-out: 12.30 We have a 24 hour cancellation policy. Failure to cancel 24 hours before our official check-in time (13.30 on your arrival day) will result in a cancellation charge equal to the first night of your stay. We require you to send us the CVV code of your credit card by email or phone. Reservations, which have been guaranteed by you informing us the CVV code, are kept until official check-out time (12.30) the next day. We request full payment on check-in. Credit Card payments: 3% surcharge. Policies for group bookings of more than 4 people: Full credit card details (including cvc) need to be supplied to the hostel within 48 hours of making the reservation, or your booking may be cancelled. For additional group policy details regarding your booking, please contact the hostel directly within 48 hours of making your reservation, or your booking may be cancelled. We may request an additional deposit, and cancellation policies may differ depending on your booked beds.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sao Paulo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sao Paulo

Che Lagarto Hostel São Paulo
25.02 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
TAH! Hostel
17.50 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Uvaia Hostel
20.19 USD

Hotel 97.8% 9 reviews
Telstar Hostels
22.43 USD

Hostel 94.1% 16 reviews
Sao Paulo Global Hostel
17.50 USD

Hostel 81.0% 149 reviews
Aquarela SP Hostel
17.50 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Olah Hostel
15.70 USD

Hostel 90.3% 91 reviews
Hostel da Vila
17.94 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.5%

Overall Rating

33 out of 44 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend '3Dogs Hostel Sao Paulo'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
80.0%
Value
76.0%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 28 of 43 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

helena macgregor

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014

Liked: Good wifi connection Great chill out area Safe area near to metro

Disliked: Breakfast was terrible, pretty much just bread and butter, nothing on offer Kitchen filthy Staff were holiday makers and not attentive

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

khoon heng quek

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2013 khoon heng would recommend this property

Liked: good breakfast and location is safe at night and weekend.

Disliked: bring earplugs as the 10bed dorm is next to kitchen and people talk quite loudly at night.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2013

Liked: Location was handy in that it is on the same metro line as the major bus station

Disliked: I'm a laid back kind of gal, but this place has gone way past the 'shabby cool hostel' vibe, it's more like being a squatter in a place that has been vacated. The mezzanine double bed felt rickety and the gaps in the room had been attempted to be taped up unsuccessfully...

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location - can get from the bus station to here on the metro without having to change lines. Lots of places to eat nearby, was only staying overnight before carrying on my travel so quiet residential area was perfect.

Disliked: Breakfast pretty average, had to go out and buy drinks because only coffee on offer. Very quiet - not many guests staying so not very good for meeting people.

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: not very clean,poor breakfast

The property's response is...

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

08 November 2012

Liked: Nothing much

Disliked: No atmosphere in the hostel. My room smelled like urine and had a hole in the roof. Beds cannot really be called beds. I would not recommend this hostel to anyone.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anibal Montoya

Alone

City break

01 May 2012 Anibal would recommend this property

Liked: Cerca del metro, buen comercio alrededor, supermercado y comida 24 hrs

Disliked: Algo incomoda la ducha, la cocina pequeña

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, clean bathroom, excellent location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a

Disliked: a

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location close to the metro in a safe neighbourhood, wonderful and helpful staff, fantastic atmosphere, very clean hostel with a nice garden. The breakfast was delicious and the kitchen was fully equiped with every thing we needed.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners were very sweet, hung out with the guests on new years eve and took us all out to Avenida paulista for the fireworks show--it was nice to be able to buy beer inside the hostel, and the wifi intense connection was great.

Disliked: The bunk beds are not very comfortable, and the location, while safe, was not very happening

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

07 November 2011

Liked: The girls in the front door who worked in the morning were very helpful.

Disliked: the backyard was always dirty with scattered cans and cigarrete ends, we booked a twin private and they offered us a double one, our bedroom was next to the backyard and the people were talking so loud and doing skating that we could´t go sleeping until midnight that was the time that nobody could be making noise in the commom areas.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2011

Liked: Owners are lovely. Kitchen is cute. They give very good directions to the hostel.

Disliked: Walls paper thin, can hear everything. Double room was disappointing - a mattress that you had to get to by a rickety wooden ladder (mezzanine)...felt more like a shed. Shared bathroom was too far away.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: hi, i stayed there altogether for nearly 2 months: it is a lovely place in a central but quiet neirboughhodd close to everything you want including metro which is important for s.p. it is situated in a nice house and staff is great and sooo friendly. the cake in the morning is cool for breakfast. athmosphere and music great...a lot of people stay there longterm...rooms in the front house are great and they have a nice backyard...

Disliked: there was a cleaningladychange and the new one is not so good. often the bathrooms were filthy unfortunately but before this was perfect. i hope they get that sorted again. in addition to that the owner is nice but complicated when it comes to money (but still: stay there, it is a good place!) e.g. he exchanged the rolls for breakfast although everybody complained of the new quality for budgetpurposes. i stayed for 2 months and wanted a flatrate (like there is a flatrate of around 500 reies for 4 people in the house in a special room which was by that time full). i wanted to pay the flatrate too but thought i could just stay in another room. he did not allow me to pay the same flatrate although i wanted to stay the full 2 months. instead he offered a rebate of 10% which meant around 900 reies every months. i did not understand that as i wanted to stay for 2 months and next door people stayed for 500 reies (4 bedroom) and i should pay 900 reies (6 bedroom)...anyway: still a great place to stay but the owner is not so easy with moneythings...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

lisa doyle

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2011 lisa would recommend this property

Liked: really nice atmosphere they are very eco conscious!

Disliked: there were some pretty annoying frat boys making noise late into the night

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Valentine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2011 James would recommend this property

Liked: We all hear stories about crime in Sao Paulo, but I arrived at the hostel at 0600 in the dark and felt perfectly safe - this is clearly a wealthy area and very near the Metro, Ana Rosa. Great location. The hostel has a "new" feel about it - there is a good amount of space between the dorms and there is no pressure for showers - lots in the clean, white bathrooms. Luba and Frodo are the whacky young Dutch couple who run the place and they're a lot of fun. The notices around the place certainly have a little Dutch humour. Luba drew all over the city map for me, effectively planning my stay and helping me get the best from the short time I had. A big plus is that they will do your laundry quite cheaply for you and leave it by your bed - luxury by hostel standards.

Disliked: They could do with a clearer sign outside, but I mentioned this and they are planning to light it.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Marius Buligescu

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

09 February 2011

Liked: the good neighbourhood

Disliked: They were presentinh themselves dishonestly - showing the house where the locals lived, they moved our things from a room to another without asking us (I mean I don`t mind moving, but I want to move my own stuff and not find clothes on the floor). They say they accept credit cards but on the net they forget to mention they charge 5% extra for paying by card. You don`t have a key to your dorm, you can`t handwash -there are so many things I didn't like - I think this is the worst hostel I\ve ever been too all and I`ve been to hostels all around the world.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds were comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. It is only a short walk from the metro station.

Disliked: The room was right next to the common area and some of the people staying there were loud very late at night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ronald Morales

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

29 November 2010 Ronald would recommend this property

Liked: Good location nice people in the staff

Disliked: nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 November 2010

Liked: The staff are friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The dorm we stayed in was right next to the kitchen/common room so very noisey. Only common areas are outside or the one table in the kitchen, so not enough room for the amount of people in the hostel. Tv up full blast until after 1am and people for some reason yelling into the computer skyping.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

emil lange nielsen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2010 emil would recommend this property

Liked: good breakfast, with cake every day. very clean. very safe area. close to the botanic garden. relaxed and friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: expensive to wash and you were not aloud to hand-wash.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fatih Cantekin

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping

08 October 2010 Fatih would recommend this property

Liked: it is located at the city center really close to paulista street which is almost only atraction point sao paulo introduce you.But compared to hospitality of stuff location is just minor detail.i stayed several hostel in sao paulo 3 dogs is the only one which offers you comfort and friendly athmosphere

Disliked: nut much really only a phsycholog staying there from canada was annoying but it is not hostels itself's fault

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

srinivas nedunuri

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2010

Liked: Clean and safe place, in a nice neighborhood. The guy on night duty was very friendly and helpful. They have lots of maps and literature.

Disliked: As i said the staff were mostly pretty good and helpful. However, they do seem to nickel and dime you to death. And sometimes its not just nickels and dimes. For example, they advertize an on-site laundry machine. Great! I thought, I can finally get some washing done without having to pay R$4 to get a shirt cleaned at a street laundry service. Well, guess what, they certainly have a washing machine but they won't let you use it! No, you have to pay them R$5 for the privelege of having your item of clothing washed, (and another R$5 to get it dried!). What a ripoff. Honestly, i know there's some cost incurred in buying a washing machine but they run for years and years (I know, i own several) and there's o reason for charging someone, esp a budget traveler that insane amount to get a t-shirt or pair of shorts washed. Another pet peeve of mine: places that advertize free wireless internet, and then not telling you that you can't get it in all the rooms! For example, I was in a private double which is across the courtyard (what they were calling their "magnificent garden") from the main house and i couldn't pick up the wireless signal. Most annoying There's really no common room except the kitchen. Finally, in the truly bizarre category, there were signs in all the lavatories saying to please place toilet paper in the trash can b/c the Brazilian sewage system is not designed to handle excess toilet paper. What?? Even more strange, the sign was only in English, not in Portuguese as all the other signs were. I'm still shaking my head over that one Anyway, I really don't know how this place compares to other places in SP, but I really do wish they would address some of these issues, even if it means charging an extra 3 or 5 $r a night. To me, its well worth it

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the owner is very nice, friendry and helpful. nice breakfast. very recommend this place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Graham

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2010 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: a great place and the staff are very friendly and helpfull. great craic altogether

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.