HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Sao Paulo Hostel Downtown

Hostel | Rua Barão de Campinas, 94 -, Centro, Sao Paulo, Brazil 01201-000

85.3% Overall Rating

190 out of 221 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/03/2014)

"Good location to metro, historic centre, great and helpful staff with good english, great breakfast, filtered water available."

Read all Sao Paulo Hostel Downtown reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sao Paulo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sao Paulo

Hostel Casa Branca
17.87 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Pousada Perdizes
30.83 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel Alice
20.10 USD

Hostel 95.0% 40 reviews
O'Riley's Hostel
22.34 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Café Hostel
14.30 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
The Connection Hostel
11.17 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Santa Maloca Hostel
17.87 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Dom Hostel
11.17 USD

Hostel 91.9% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.3%

Overall Rating

190 out of 221 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sao Paulo Hostel Downtown'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
85.6%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 133 of 151 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: security, well-managed, clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location to metro, historic centre, great and helpful staff with good english, great breakfast, filtered water available.

Disliked: It is a big hostel with not much space to encourage travellers to share experiences and ideas. Feels more like a hotel. On edge of shady part of town so need to be cautious, area popular with gay travellers.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Lukasz Sadlik

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2013 Lukasz would recommend this property

Liked: Staff really friendly and helpful. Very good breakfast and coffee.

Disliked: 1. Internet is PAID ! (well, you get an hour for free but then you pay - it's no joke !) It's not accaptable according to me. 2. You won't sleep there - walls are made of paper, it's like sleeping on the pavement by the street among all those buses and trucks. Take the room as close to the top floor as possible. 3. TV room is not organized well. Actually there could be 2 persons watching TV comfortably.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2012

Liked: good security

Disliked: no internet

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alice McQueen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 September 2012 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: It's a bit more up market than basic hostel accommodation, which you would expect given the price, the breakfast is great, and the hostel is close to the Banespa skyscraper and the markets and lots of shops.

Disliked: There was confusion over the price, but only in that I was told I would be paying less than advertised in reais because the dollar was strong (the theme of price seems to be a recurring issue on this webpage) The location is definitely dodgy at night, while fine during the day.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brendan O'Connor

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2012 Brendan would recommend this property

Liked: Very secure, even had a security guard on door. Helpful, friendly, professional staff. Huge room, like an apartment! Very clean. Nice big bar & table area on top floor. One of the best breakfast selections in South America- yeah the juice is a bit watery but who cares?!

Disliked: perfect until last morning- the taxi transfer we booked the previous night did not show up for some reason. They promptly got us another taxi but charged us 50% more than they said it would be. Also claimed that we owed them more money despite paying the full balance upon arrival- seems from other reviews they have confusion with the 10% deposit paid to hostelbookers at times, but we argued our case and they gave in eventually

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Michael Pruden

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness and helpfulness of staff, security.

Disliked: Beds were terribly unconfortable; had problems with my back for days after sleeping on the old mattress and box spring.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money Mostly very friendly staff, and reception staff are VERY SMARTLY dressed , PROFESSIONAL and speak good English ( they were more what you would expect in a 3 or 4 * hotel to be honest ) Nice Breakfast available till 10 am Internet facilities in the lobby area In general a clean hostel

Disliked: ***IMPORTANT*** IF YOU ARE PAYING IN CASH AT THE HOSTEL FOR YOUR STAY THEN YOU NEED TO PAY IN BRAZILIAN REALS **** THEY DO NOT WANT PAYMENT IN UK OR US CURRENCY At night some noise generated by other SELFISH gueats coming in during the night and shouting and slamming doors The hostel is in the DOWNTOWN area so you need to be aware of your surroundings. As with many many places around the world don't walk around at 10pm wearing a ROLEX watch - exercise discretion HOWEVER the hostel is literally ONE MINUTE from the very busy and popular bars and restaurants on Largo de Arouche, so even at midnight there are busy places close-by

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sven Sundlof

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2012 Sven would recommend this property

Liked: Big and well equipped room. Good breakfast. Friendly staff

Disliked: Would hav liked yoghurt and cereal with the breakfast

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff. Bar. Spacious rooms with lockers. Lots of computers in internet area.

Disliked: Dodgy area.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Shane O'Hara

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2011

Liked: Great private rooms...probably the largest I have come across anywhere in South America..ensuite bathrooms very large also..there is a knack in getting hot water so just ask about that..Fridge and television also in rooms...great bar area upstairs with a pool table...

Disliked: The people working there...the area..When we first arrived we were pleasantly surprised with the hostels due to reasons above..there was a barbeque on the very first night and we ate and drank with the people that worked there..They appeared lovely..one guy in particular was most welcoming and we got on great with him and we bought him drinks.....It all went sour from the second day..They attempted to overcharge us and I pointed this out politely but this was difficult considering the guy at the desk had no grasp of basic maths...He made me feel like I was haggling on the price..He was overcharging me even though I had an email to prove the price I was to pay..I spent so long with him and his calculator trying to explain what he was doing wrong..eventually, I got it sorted..however, the guy made it out that I was getting some sort of ridiculous deal off him..he was very smart (although not at maths) and underhanded..He made me feel as if I was ripping them off...anyway, these things happen, so we forgot about it and got on with our stay in Sao Paulo..Unfortunately, they did not forget about us...The mathematician at the front desk obviously had words with the rest of the staff about myself and my girlfriend, resulting in us being treated terribly for the rest of our stay there..The guy who we got on so well with the first night, buying him drink and chatting, completely turned on us. They were so incredibly rude and petit about it all..They made us feel unwelcome and unwanted..We had to stay in Sao Paulo much longer than we wanted and these guys made our stay so horrible and awkward...the area is a bit dodgy but ok if you are not alone..If you can put up with the staff then stay here. They did provide me with the worst experience of any staff on the entire ccontinent. Nice hostel, brutal staff.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very big room,very friendly and helpful staff, nice breakfast, good food at the bar

Disliked: Although the hostel is very safe, the location is not the best of Sao paulo

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 August 2011

Liked: they recommended sites to see

Disliked: the room had bugs on the ceilings and smelled bad

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great. Interior is clean.

Disliked: The juice in the breakfast was a bit thin.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: The room smelt like urine and mold, not sur whether it was the mattress, floor, curtains etc. I couldn't find a source, and the smell made me very uncomfortable all night that I slept in my clothes in my anti bug sleeping bag. It was only one night hence the reason I put up with it. Otherwise would of complained.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really recommend the other traveller. Hostel is like hotel. Breakfast was good. People is very kind

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were excellent with suggestions and advice for a quick stay in Sao Paulo.Highly recommnded!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

25 April 2010

Liked: noisy

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

28 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Huge hotel type hostel, its a HI hostel but not like an others we stayed at. The guy at the front desk was great but the hostel in general was pretty rundown, rooms were average for the price, and the area sisnt seem all that safe.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

satoko igarashi

02 March 2010 satoko would recommend this property

Liked: Though the area is knda dangerous, ppl was kind, and a room was not so bad.

Disliked: satoko left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, good breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ewa Opolewska

24 February 2010 Ewa would recommend this property

Liked: helpfulness staff, very good breakfast

Disliked: Ewa left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rutger teunissen

23 February 2010 rutger would recommend this property

Liked: nice clean and decent hostel if you want that!

Disliked: rutger left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

16 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked only position in center city

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

07 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nothing

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.