HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Olah Hostel

Hostel | Alceu Wamosy, 40, Vila Mariana, Sao Paulo, Brazil 04105040

90.3% Overall Rating

88 out of 91 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/06/2014)

Claire Sturley thinks…

"Fairly small hostel but really clean, tidy and good value for money. We stayed in the private room which was really clean, had a good amount of space and a ceiling fan. Only one of the guys at…"

Read all Olah Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

These are our conditions to the Wolrd Cup 2014 ( From 01 June untill 19 Jully ). ** Payment policy: Full payment in advance is required. After your booking is confirmed, you will be contacted to proceed and arrange the payment method. Failure to complete the payment in 3 days will result in cancellation of your booking. **Cancellation Policy: Non Refundable.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sao Paulo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sao Paulo

3Dogs Hostel Sao Paulo
15.75 USD

Hostel 77.5% 44 reviews
TAH! Hostel
17.55 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Sao Paulo Global Hostel
17.55 USD

Hostel 81.0% 149 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel São Paulo
25.02 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Aquarela SP Hostel
17.55 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Telstar Hostels
22.50 USD

Hostel 94.1% 16 reviews
Uvaia Hostel
20.25 USD

Hotel 97.8% 9 reviews
Hostel da Vila
18.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.3%

Overall Rating

88 out of 91 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Olah Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
94.4%
Value
91.2%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 75 of 86 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

08 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff

Disliked: Shared Washrooms

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, very accommodating. Nice rooms. Decent kitchen.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff was friendly, free wifi

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire Sturley

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 June 2014 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Fairly small hostel but really clean, tidy and good value for money. We stayed in the private room which was really clean, had a good amount of space and a ceiling fan. Only one of the guys at reception spoke English but he was super helpful with bookings, directions etc. The hostel feels very secure, is in a reasonably quiet neighbourhood and is in a really good location for exploring São Paolo, it's a 500 metre walk to the metro station and only about a 5 minute subway ride to Central.

Disliked: Claire left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2014

Liked: nice and friendly staff. good wifi reception on the room

Disliked: cold shower in private room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very spacious and clean

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michaela Gibbs

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2013 Michaela would recommend this property

Liked: Really helpful staff here who were always happy to help. Breakfast was decent - there was plenty of variety (sandwiches, cereal, toast, fruits). The room we had was extremely spacious, clean and had a TV with satellite. The directions to and from the hostel were very accurate aswell, which helps!!

Disliked: Michaela left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, the staff.

Disliked: the bathroom's toilet is defective.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Darren Cohen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2012

Liked: The rooms are well sized and there is plenty of space. The free use of the computers was very helpful and the internet speed was fast. It was quite well located, close to Ana Rosa Metro Station (5min walk).

Disliked: The atmosphere in this place is worse than that of a cemetry. There is simply no atmosphere. It is very grey and unwelcoming. The staff were not friendly at all and kept themselves to themselves. There were very few, if any, other non-Brazilians staying in the hostel and as such it was impossible to meet anyone. Noone (except the staff) spoke English (or Spanish for that matter). The breakfast was very poor and the staff failed to apply common sense by covering it and so nearly everything was infested by flies making it inedible. People would randomly be in my room during the day and then not sleep there or staff would just spend the night in my room and be off the next morning at 6pm. The guy in reception was extremely loud, making an unwelcoming atmosphere even more so. Wouldn't recommend this hostel unless you are Brazilian, not looking to meet people and don't care about a short journey into the centre of the city.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good, well equipped kitchen, and very helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Haibiao Gao

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2012 Haibiao would recommend this property

Liked: It is a quiet and safe hostel.the location is good .the staffs are very nice

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Haibiao Gao

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2012 Haibiao would recommend this property

Liked: I lived in this hostel three times. The staffs are nice.offer whatever you want. The location is also good,very near to the metro station.it is 100% safe.that is what I was concerning about before going to Sao Paulo.

Disliked: Haibiao left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aliz Boer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2012 Aliz would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and superclean, the best hostel we have stayed so far in Brazil.

Disliked: Aliz left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A good place to be! The breakfast is good and the internet access is for free.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicolas Tominc

Alone

Business / conference

04 September 2012 Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff, breakfast, rooms, everything is very good!!!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gabriel Cardoso

Alone

Business / conference

17 August 2012 Gabriel would recommend this property

Liked: Incrivel.

Disliked: Nada

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff, close to metro station, good breakfast

Disliked: everything was ok, not extraordinary, but good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stuart Hendry

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2012 Stuart would recommend this property

Liked: Great owners and staff very friendly Good location,very clean and safe.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stuart Hendry

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2012 Stuart would recommend this property

Liked: Great place,very friendly owners and staff Safe,secure and clean Great location

Disliked: Nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jalen Lyle-Holmes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2012 Jalen would recommend this property

Liked: It had a friendly atmosphere and it was easy to meet other people at the hostel. There are lockers, though they are not in the rooms and would be too small to fit a bag (they do have a luggage room for that). Close to Ana Rosa Metro station,

Disliked: No real problems.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

12 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a really good breakfast!

Disliked: The rooms are so tight.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Stephanie Scribner

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2012 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Internet in room, tv in rooms in English , friendly staff

Disliked: no atmosphere. Was like cement garage and at 8 am they were banging in the hostel. Total bullshit so early. No hot water

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cesar Zurita

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2012 Cesar would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked a lot of things about Olah hostel. Great vibe, clean, and metro station was close by so that was awesome too. I liked that I could leave whenever and not worry about being locked out because I had my own set of keys. They had movies I wanted to see in my down time and hot water was always there! Overall this place was pretty rad.

Disliked: The only thing I "disliked" was that the breakfast was kinda sad. But hey it's free so wasn't that big of deal.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen James

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2012 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, extremely friendly and helpful staff, quiet dorm rooms. Plenty of space to chill out. Very safe and secure.

Disliked: There were a number of people who seemed to be staying at the hostel long-term so the atmosphere was slightly subdued.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stuart Hendry

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2012 Stuart would recommend this property

Liked: helpful and frendly staff and great breakfast

Disliked: Stuart left no negative feedback.