HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Vila Madalena Hostel

Hostel | Rua Francisco Leitão, 686, Bairro Pinheiros, Sao Paulo, Brazil 05414-020

92.3% Overall Rating

52 out of 55 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/01/2013)

Trent Blomfield thinks…

"A really cool hostel with decent facilities. There wasn't any strict rules. The rooms were clean and beds comfy. The breakfast was quite good with a good selection of food. The staff are incredible…"

Read all Vila Madalena Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.25

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sao Paulo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sao Paulo

Ô de Casa Hostel
24.79 USD

Hostel 96.8% 9 reviews
Pousada West
40.56 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Sampa Hostel
21.64 USD

Hostel 90.6% 42 reviews
Santa Maloca Hostel
20.28 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Okupe Hostel - Jardins
15.33 USD

Hostel 81.0% 37 reviews
Hey Hostel
15.78 USD

Hostel 94.5% 27 reviews
Café Hostel
17.58 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Vila Rock Hostel
15.78 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.3%

Overall Rating

52 out of 55 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Vila Madalena Hostel'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
96.0%
Value
92.0%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 47 of 54 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alberto frasca

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 July 2013 alberto would recommend this property

Liked: Wifi in all areas, really helpful staff.

Disliked: alberto left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Trent Blomfield

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 January 2013 Trent would recommend this property

Liked: A really cool hostel with decent facilities. There wasn't any strict rules. The rooms were clean and beds comfy. The breakfast was quite good with a good selection of food. The staff are incredible here and will go out of their way to help you.

Disliked: The only downside is the location. Vila Madalena is a great place, its just not easy to get to via metro (a 15 min walk up hill). Not easy with a backpack.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Carr

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 December 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: I booked this hostel purley based upon the excellent reviews I read online. Vila Madalena did not dissapoint. Firstly upon arrival we were given a tour and welcome unlike any other hostel I have stayed in previously and I have stayed at many hostels around the world. This hostel was one of the first 5 in Sao Paulo, now there are over 50! The location is in one of the most desirable in the city and it evident walking around the area. Many of the citys highlights are within walking distance. It is not a party hostel perse, however bars / clubs are within walking distance and the reception is 24h - so this is not an issue at all. I could write many lines more but to summarise, this is one of the best hostel experiences I have ever had. Would highly recommend.

Disliked: Nada

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zara Cassid

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2012 Zara would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is set out in an unusual way, which makes it more interesting than other ones I have stayed in. The rooms are in separate 'cabins', and you walk through an outdoor area which has seating and a lemon tree and loads of cool messages painted on the wall, in order to get to the kitchen and shower room. I liked this. It is themed around modern art so there are random items all over the hostel to look at. It was also well-equipped with travel plug adaptors for each bed, unlike other hostels I stayed in, where there was one plug for an entire room of six people. The shower was one of the better ones I used in any of the hostels I stayed in, in Brazil. The kitchen is clean and well-equipped so it would be very easy to cook meals there. The staff were really helpful. The owner took a lot of time explaining things to see in Sao Paulo, and answered all of my questions. He also helped me book the hostel for the next place I visited in Brazil. Rodrigo, one of the receptionists, was particularly accommodating also, and offered to help me with things whenever I needed it. I also spoke to several other members of staff there (whose names I cannot recall, and they were all friendly, with a quirky sense of humour! I always felt like the staff there had time for me, which was really nice.

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

31 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near to many nice bars and pubs. Friendly staff. Met a lot of fellow students that were looking for a room/apartment as well. Its near all the nice neigbourhoods you want to live in.

Disliked: Little far from metrostation, but near to the bus.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

11 June 2012

Liked: bath and kitchen cleaning;

Disliked: the distance from both metro station are quite far away, it takes about 30 minutes walking, so tiring!

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in an excellent neighbourhood. Rooms were clean and spacious with large lockers for our rucksacks. Good common areas, with a large living room and hammocks/beanbags in the courtyard. Staff were really friendly and even helped us to book our bus tickets to our next destination. Recommended some fantastic places to get and places to go.

Disliked: Nearest (male) bathroom was closed, meaning I had to go outside to find the nearest shower.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was easy to find. It's got lots of great character and lovely little chill out areas. On arrival we were given a map and information on what to do and see in the city. We were also shown around the hostel so we were comfortable with where everything was. We were in the 12 bed dorm which is absolutely lovely with secure lockers for everyone (remember to take you own padlock). It is extremely clean has separate bathrooms for men and women which is quite nice when you have been sharing for a while. We were here in the off season so it was relatively quiet but it would be a great little place to meet some other travellers when it's more busy.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay at this hostel. The staff were incredibly helpful, the location was great, close to heaps of great bars and restaurants. The tv/common room made it social if you wanted to go out but as there is no bar at the hostel it ensures people go out and the hostel is quiet at night. Also the free tea, coffee and biscuits was a nice touch.

Disliked: While I was aware there was no air con, the 12 bed dorm gets really hot (despite fans) as the window is a bit on the small side for the scale of the room. Also the $120 airport pickup is incredibly expensive and therefore we took the subway which took over 2 hours.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Luis Fernando Kolinger

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

19 November 2011 Luis Fernando would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere, location, value, rooms, everything is very good.

Disliked: One of the staff was really nice, but other not so much.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Almost all

Disliked: Nothin

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stuff is really nice and helpful, Atmosphere is amasing

Disliked: Be aware of the owner - he dont give a ... of the things he said the day before!!! Organization is a little chaotic. no breakfast included

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The stuff is lovely and very helpful and you can get coffee from the morning until 7pm (and some cookies too :-))

Disliked: The showers could be more powerful and the windows sealed as it gets quite cold when you get a bed on the window...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, the facilities, the relaxed atmosphere, the layout and vibe of the hostel the friendly and very informative staff

Disliked: Breakfast is not included The TV in the common room could be bigger (but it worked) The kitchen is a bit small but its a nice and cosy kitchen and functional The lockers in the dorms could be a little bit bigger for the backpacks

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were amazing, super friendly and eager to help. They made sure we had recommendations every day and every night before we left the hostel.

Disliked: The hostel had no water for most of the last day we were there, although this was no fault of their own (there was some kind of problem in the whole neighbourhood).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostel experiences on this trip. Staff were amazing. It was clean, and they went out of their way to ensure people came into a welcoming environment. It was safe, fun, relaxing, just a great experience. Outstanding location too.

Disliked: Nothing really. It's a 20 minute walk from the metro, which i thought at first was very far. Once you realize how big Sao Paulo is, you understand how convenient 20 minutes is!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was fine. Would recommend it.

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff very friendly and helpful, breakfast good if you get there early enough, rooms ok

Disliked: no laundry service and the next one down the street charges 40 Reias, small kitchen and common area, not a lot to do long walk from the metro station

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a really nice place! The atmosphere is really nice, it is one of the best hostels I ever stayed in.

Disliked: It is maybe a bit far away to the subway with your bagpack.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jack Castrique

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2011 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: This place is located right near a really cool bar district but without doubt the best thing about this hostel are the staff. Really helpful bunch of people go out of there way to show you we]here to go and what to do and also just great for a chat in general. The highlighted maps come in very handy!

Disliked: ...not a whole lot

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really friendly and helpful and the hostel felt very secure. Nice, laid back atmosphere.

Disliked: Location seemed just a bit out of the way and hostel was quite quiet.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved this hostel. Staff were fantastic and friendly and really helped me figure out where I wanted to go in the city. Rooms were spotless and staff made the beds every day. Quite a good breakfast provided and a decent wifi connection that I could access from inside the dorm rooms. Would definitely come back here again.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping

17 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet hostel

Disliked: Location is far from the Metro

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Simon Post

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2010 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Only a brief stay but the one thing that sticks in my mind was how welcoming and genuinely helpful the staff were. Good graffiti wall in the courtyard adds character. Safe and secure environment.

Disliked: Only 1 computer. Pool table not really usable unless you're double jointed!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

palomino Navarro humberto

Alone

City break

02 November 2010 palomino Navarro would recommend this property

Liked: OLL RIGHT

Disliked: OK