HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Vila Madalena Hostel Sao Paulo Hostel

Rua Francisco Leitao, 686, Sao Paulo, Brazil

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 90%

Location 86%

Safety 97%

Staff 94%

Value 93%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.51USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sao Paulo?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 90%

Location 86%

Safety 97%

Staff 94%

Value 93%

Showing 1-4 of 4 reviews

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good AC

Disliked: Too far from metro etc

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Visiting friends or family

Liked: It was an awesome experience staying at Vila Madalena! The staff is realy friendly and helpful. There was a great atmosphere with other backpackers and the staff. I would definitely recommend thir property

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Nice atmosphere, nice people and staff.

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Wifi in all areas, really helpful staff.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: A really cool hostel with decent facilities. There wasn't any strict rules. The rooms were clean and beds comfy. The breakfast was quite good with a good selection of food. The staff are incredible here and will go out of their way to help you.

Disliked: The only downside is the location. Vila Madalena is a great place, its just not easy to get to via metro (a 15 min walk up hill). Not easy with a backpack.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I booked this hostel purley based upon the excellent reviews I read online. Vila Madalena did not dissapoint. Firstly upon arrival we were given a tour and welcome unlike any other hostel I have stayed in previously and I have stayed at many hostels around the world. This hostel was one of the first 5 in Sao Paulo, now there are over 50! The location is in one of the most desirable in the city and it evident walking around the area. Many of the citys highlights are within walking distance. It is not a party hostel perse, however bars / clubs are within walking distance and the reception is 24h - so this is not an issue at all. I could write many lines more but to summarise, this is one of the best hostel experiences I have ever had. Would highly recommend.

Disliked: Nada

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Near to many nice bars and pubs. Friendly staff. Met a lot of fellow students that were looking for a room/apartment as well. Its near all the nice neigbourhoods you want to live in.

Disliked: Little far from metrostation, but near to the bus.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This hostel is set out in an unusual way, which makes it more interesting than other ones I have stayed in. The rooms are in separate 'cabins', and you walk through an outdoor area which has seating and a lemon tree and loads of cool messages painted on the wall, in order to get to the kitchen and shower room. I liked this. It is themed around modern art so there are random items all over the hostel to look at.It was also well-equipped with travel plug adaptors for each bed, unlike other hostels I stayed in, where there was one plug for an entire room of six people.The shower was one of the better ones I used in any of the hostels I stayed in, in Brazil. The kitchen is clean and well-equipped so it would be very easy to cook meals there.The staff were really helpful. The owner took a lot of time explaining things to see in Sao Paulo, and answered all of my questions. He also helped me book the hostel for the next place I visited in Brazil. Rodrigo, one of the receptionists, was particularly accommodating also, and offered to help me with things whenever I needed it. I also spoke to several other members of staff there (whose names I cannot recall, and they were all friendly, with a quirky sense of humour! I always felt like the staff there had time for me, which was really nice.

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: bath and kitchen cleaning;

Disliked: the distance from both metro station are quite far away, it takes about 30 minutes walking, so tiring!


The property's response is

We are 15 to 20 minutes walking to metro station and not 30 as you wrote. But, we are in the most expensive square meter in town and close to all bars, clubs, restaurants and the nightlife where all people want to live in town. If a metro is very important to you and the vibe of the suburb is nothing, why you didn't choose the other hostels close to metro stations? Please, take a look in a map before to book your next hostel.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 May 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location in an excellent neighbourhood. Rooms were clean and spacious with large lockers for our rucksacks. Good common areas, with a large living room and hammocks/beanbags in the courtyard. Staff were really friendly and even helped us to book our bus tickets to our next destination. Recommended some fantastic places to get and places to go.

Disliked: Nearest (male) bathroom was closed, meaning I had to go outside to find the nearest shower.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks Sam!!! The bathroom was not closed. Another guest was using. We have 6 bathrooms, that means 1 for every 6,3 people much more than we need, much more than other hostels have around the word!

Check Availability