HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Vila Madalena Hostel

Hostel | Rua Francisco Leitão, 686, Bairro Pinheiros, Sao Paulo, Brazil 05414-020

91.4% Overall Rating

51 out of 54 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/01/2013)

Trent Blomfield thinks…

"A really cool hostel with decent facilities. There wasn't any strict rules. The rooms were clean and beds comfy. The breakfast was quite good with a good selection of food. The staff are incredible…"

Read all Vila Madalena Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.23

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sao Paulo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sao Paulo

Ô de Casa Hostel
24.56 USD

Hostel 96.8% 9 reviews
Pousada West
40.18 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Sampa Hostel
20.09 USD

Hostel 90.6% 42 reviews
Santa Maloca Hostel
15.63 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Okupe Hostel - Jardins
15.18 USD

Hostel 81.5% 34 reviews
Hey Hostel
11.16 USD

Hostel 95.2% 22 reviews
Café Hostel
13.40 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Vila Rock Hostel
15.63 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.4%

Overall Rating

51 out of 54 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Vila Madalena Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
96.0%
Value
91.2%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 47 of 53 reviews Previous   1 | 2
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Vila madelena hostel is a one of the best hostel I ever stayed; located in very safe area and is just 15 minutes walk to subway station which will take you anywhere in the city, good breakfast ( included) very helpfull staff, clean rooms, its just what you expect from a good hostel,Tulio and his crew will inform you about anything you need and will do their best to make your stay well..Thanks to Tulio , James , Bruno and Luis

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Leanne Osborne

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2010

Liked: We stayed in this hostel as a stopover en route to Iguacu Falls and it was fine for that purpose.The staff were really helpful (perhaps a little too much!!)

Disliked: The hostel seemed to lack atmosphere and wasn't as we'd expected from the description...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family
Romantic getaway
Shopping

03 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cleanest hostel in South America. Vila Madalena was such a nice hostel, dorms were nice and breakfast was good. The owner/manager went out of his way to help all guests staying at the hostel. Without his helpful knowledge and assistance our stay in Sao paulo would most certainly not have been as great as it was. Fantastic hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christine Abou-Rizk

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2010 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: The owner and all the staff were absolutely awesome! So friendly and helpful with everything regarding our stay. The kitchen and bathrooms were always spotless. They recommended this amazing little Samba club which we really enjoyed and gave us a real incite into Sao Paulo. Would definately recommend this Hostel to anyone visiting the city.

Disliked: Christine left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

19 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Character

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I can honestly say this is the cleanest hostel I´ve stayed in on my travels in Brazil. It´s well-decorated and has a style of it´s own (as a graphic designer I found it right up my street!). It´s obvious that the staff want the place cared for and kept nice for everyone´s sake which makes for a pleasant stay. Tulio and Luis, the staff, go out of their way to make you feel welcome and are full of useful info about the city. Their English is excellent and they´ll even help you book buses etc which can be hard to do if you´re not Brazilian. Overall a very relaxing place to stay.

Disliked: Get there early for breakfast! The ham goes quick.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was very nice chilled place to stay, rooms and beds clean. Staff were very nice and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LILY HUANG

Alone

City break

04 August 2010 LILY would recommend this property

Liked: Tulio, Luis, and other staff are so nice and helpful. They show me a great image of San Paulo. The location is safe and good for wandering to some chic places by reasonable walling distance. It,s safe to walk! They have many ideas to explore the city. Rooms are clean and stylish.

Disliked: LILY left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kristen Maloney

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2010 Kristen would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to relax and meet people.

Disliked: Kristen left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jan Becker

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

31 July 2010 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff, very very clean and safe! the owner is awesome!!

Disliked: nothing..

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcelo Vera

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2010 Marcelo would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good localitation

Disliked: Marcelo left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Work / volunteering

06 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely clean. Lovely owner and cool staff - super friendly and helpful. I will definately be coming back. Cheers guys!

Disliked: A bit quiet while i stayed, but all the hostels in SP have been quiet at this time. Still met loads of fun travellers and brasilians!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire Moore

26 May 2010 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly & helpful staff.

Disliked: Claire left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel...CLEAN and the staff was wonderfully warm and helpful. I would highly recommend it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LILITA AMOLINA

19 April 2010 LILITA would recommend this property

Liked: Vila Madalena is a lovely hostel and Tulio and other guys working there helped us a lot to see as much of SAO as possible in a very short time.

Disliked: LILITA left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Margareth Celse-L'Hoste

28 March 2010 Margareth would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was really nice, with fresh food and nice brazilian music. The hostel is located in a safe and bohemian lovely district.

Disliked: Margareth left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara Wallimann

03 March 2010 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: Vila Madalena is the best hostel we have stayed at in a very long time. The people working here are lovely and full of great information about Sao Paulo. The beds are so comfy and the breakfast is nice (love the big coffee mugs!!!). Internet and Wi-Fi works really well and the location of the hostel is great. It's a great place to hang out, relax and meet other interesting people (it's not a party hostel!). We just love it and stayed much longer than plannend.

Disliked: Sara left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Craig Williams

27 February 2010 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: This is a really lovely hostel, very clean with good facilities but what really made it was the staff. They were so friendly and helpful and really made us feel welcome, we hope it stays just the way it is!

Disliked: Craig left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Astrid Chapman

12 November 2009 Astrid would recommend this property

Liked: I travelled for 4 months in South America and this one the best hostel I stayed at. The owner and staff are incredibly helpful.

Disliked: Astrid left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

nicolas medot

26 August 2009 nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: Tulio is a great host, he makes up for everything that the hostel is lacking.He is the most knowledgeable person we've met in Sao Paulo and the most willing to help.The hostel is in a great area, it is very clean, safe and very well decorated/furnished.Book in advance if you want a double room because we never had the opportunity to get one.

Disliked: nicolas left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Molzer

08 July 2009 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was a great way to meet people in Sao Paulo. Tulio was great and tried to be a nice host for all of the guests. Incredibly clean, the breakfast was nice and it was one of the safest areas in the city. The only thing I would recommend would be some board with recommendations so that we don´t have to ask the owner for them. He always had ideas on places to go and was good about it but sometimes I like to look at all of the options myself. Really great communal spaces at the hostel. Thanks Tulio!!

Disliked: Katie left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

10 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We liked it that much we stayed another night and the owner was so helpful and tells you all the best places to go and see.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.