We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of LimeTime Hostels - Vila Madalena

Hostel | 973 Rua Mourato Coelho, Vila Madalena, Sao Paulo, Brazil 05417-011

84.0% Overall Rating

72 out of 78 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/06/2012)

Shanti Gorton thinks…

"wonderful area, and right next to the saturday fruit and veg market. the staff were fabulous, so helpful and made it clear they wanted us to feel safe and would help us to enjoy our time as much as…"

Read all LimeTime Hostels - Vila Madalena reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.60

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

World cup special conditions from 1/06 - 18/07 ** Payment policy: 100% of the payment in advance is required. After your booking is confirmed by hostelworld.com, You will be contacted to proceed and arrange the payment for the remaining balance. Failure to complete the payment in 14 days will result in cancellation of your booking. **Cancellation Policy: 50% if cancelled 30 days in advance, except the first payment made here on Hostelworld.com

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sao Paulo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sao Paulo

Ô de Casa Hostel
11.22 USD

Hostel 96.6% 10 reviews
Sampa Hostel
16.67 USD

Hostel 90.6% 42 reviews
Hey Hostel
9.62 USD

Hostel 95.0% 29 reviews
Vila Madalena Hostel
12.82 USD

Hostel 92.3% 58 reviews
Garoa Hostel
10.58 USD

Hostel 92.7% 29 reviews
Café Hostel
11.22 USD

Hostel 96.9% 12 reviews
Hostel Alice
11.22 USD

Hostel 95.0% 43 reviews
Pousada West
16.03 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.0%

Overall Rating

72 out of 78 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'LimeTime Hostels - Vila Madalena'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
86.4%
Value
84.0%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 64 of 68 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Daniel Duarte

Alone

Business / conference

24 May 2015 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere for who want To meet people and have fun.

Disliked: Toilets too small.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2012

Liked: Nothing!

Disliked: On my first night I woke up in the morning with over 100 bed bug bites. when I approached the staffthey told me this is a problem they are working on! The room had no lock on the door & numerous peopleget opening the door to see who was in the room. The hostel is very dirty & is need of a makeover. I left early.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere, decor, clean room

Disliked: Girl at the front desk very grumpy, kitchen not very well equipped, very noisy hostel!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shanti Gorton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2012 Shanti would recommend this property

Liked: wonderful area, and right next to the saturday fruit and veg market. the staff were fabulous, so helpful and made it clear they wanted us to feel safe and would help us to enjoy our time as much as possible. they knew lots of interesting things for us to do every day, and were very chilled and kind. most nights there was a live band, including some of the loveliest samba music. the bar was open to the public at night, so you got a real variety of people. spoke good english, and were an enormous help when booking internal flights in brazil.

Disliked: very small - so not a lot of people within the hostel to socialise with, unlike a bigger hostel where they is more of a inclusive feel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place to meet non-gringo girls.

Disliked: Bathroom.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

alex jaja

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2012 alex would recommend this property

Liked: It's a good place, turns into a bar at nite, good crowd of people staying at the hostel, though the 16 dorm room is quite cramped. Fun place!

Disliked: My reservation never made it to the hostel, so that was annoying because I had to scramble for a different room. Though the hostel staff did apologize and tried to make it work for me.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is well run by the three owners who all care about your stay. It is clean and well organised with a great terrace on the roof.

Disliked: Can lack atmosphere on the nights when the bar is closed and when I stayed the bar was empty even when open. Only place to really meet people is the kitchen. Described as having a pool on Hostelbookers which is inaccurate.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Iskandarian

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

07 September 2011 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome place to stay with some really fun bars on the next block.

Disliked: nada

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a great bar and a nice rooftop bbq terrace. Staff were very friendly and helpful. the location is excellent, a short taxi ride to the metro, and walking distance to lots of nice bars and restaurants.

Disliked: The 16-bed dorm was disgusting. its a shame they were no smaller mixed bed dorms, as travelling with my boyfriend meant we had to stay in the 16-bed one, which was full of farting, coughing, sneezing, SNOORING, men. sick! there were bags everywhere and old plates of food left on the side. very cramped.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

09 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing atmosphere with live music at the bar. I did a tour Downtown during the day which was alright as well. Staff was really helpful. I recommend it.

Disliked: it was all good.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff, the breakfast, the bar, the location all of it, especially fransisco's city tour. ( also the Saturday morning Market out from was brilliant )

Disliked: 16 bed dorm is to cramped

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

15 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Vila Madalena is a great area. This place is a really popular bar among locals (has a line to get in) - live music, good food, drinks etc. It's a great party place. If you're coming from the international GRU airport and know you want to take a cab instead of the bus/metro, ask them for their airport pickup service. The driver isn't a cab driver, he's just someone that works with the hostel, really nice, reliable, guy who speaks English and charges a fixed rate that's much cheaper than a normal cab.

Disliked: Wifi signal is only strong in the main bar area. It's a great location in itself but quite far from the metro. It seems that their first priority is on being a bar instead of being a hostel. The hostel living room/kitchen out back is pretty pathetic, but during non-bar opening times, you use the main area and that's great. Some of the staff members were rude but others were great. If you're traveling alone, it's not the best place to stay because it's not a normal hostel and it's hard to meet other people staying there; however, if you're traveling with a group, it is the perfect place to stay if you want to party and meet locals!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

liam hall

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2011 liam would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are great. Owner is awesome. Area is great on the weekend

Disliked: Nothing

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2011

Liked: The bar was good.

Disliked: Too far away from the downtown and a bad transportation convenience. The properties are normal.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Blair Franklin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 January 2011 Blair would recommend this property

Liked: The rooftop, Good place to chill out and meet people.

Disliked: The bathrooms needed to be cleaned more regually.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its located right in the middle of the party district so you know what to expect! The staff is really helpful.

Disliked: If you have the chance try to stay away from the 16 bed dorm. Its just to much people for one room

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Paulo, Paulo, and Martin were the absolute best - they are smart, speak great English, and know Sao Paulo in and out. We met lots of travellers at the hostel. Vila Madelina is a really fantastic place to stay in with lots of bars and clubs and shops. They have a great policy - ´we dont order pizza by the slice, we order by the pie to share´

Disliked: Its a little more tricky to walk to the hostel from the subway station than we thought, but busses and taxis were easy to catch once we got there. Otherwise, hostel was perfect!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great position and BRILLIANT staff! Very clean, very sociable guests and a great set up all round. Highly recommended!

Disliked: Nothing worth noting.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was incredible! When I left I felt like I was leaving a family of friends. Best hostel experience ever! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Disliked: N/A

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, nice athmospere and very clean, they even make your beds every day!

Disliked: The room i stayed in (6 bed female dorm) is rather small for 6 people, and the 'airconditioning' is not really airconditioning but a fan. Also there's no lock on the door (but there are lockers under each bed)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Richard Hier

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2010 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean, comfy beds, very helpful staff and really safe!

Disliked: Limited space in the dorm

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

23 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were very clean and staff more than helpful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife

08 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near bars/restaurants. Helpful staff.

Disliked: Unfortunately when we stayed our dorm was being used by a group of noisy teenagers so we didn´t sleep at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Irvine

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2010 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Probably the best hostel in South America!! If you are staying in Sao Paulo you must stay here - one of my best hostel experiences ever! The location is perfect in a great part of town, it has an excellent bar with live music and a really great friendly crowd, and the staff are truly wonderful and nothing is too much trouble!! If only every hostel was as amazing as Casa Club..! Love you guys, thanks again for making our stay in Sao Paulo so memorable - Casa Club rocks!!

Disliked: Emily left no negative feedback.