HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Galeria 13 Salvador Hostel

Rua da Ordem Terceira 23, Salvador, Brazil

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 87%

Location 93%

Safety 91%

Staff 86%

Value 89%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Common Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Restaurant
  • Swimming Pool

Important Information

We don't accept credit cards. Arrival before 6 am (book the night
before too). Check in 14.00. No Kitchen.If you have allergies or if
you don't like dogs, please be aware we have a doggie

RESERVATION CONFIRMATION .With some Double room bookings
and large group bookings Hostel galeria 13 may require you make a
further payment to the hostel. Payment conditions: A 50%
non-refundable deposit is due to Hostel Galeria 13 in addition to the
12% deposit paid to Hostelworld The 50% deposit must be made within
one week of the Hostelworld booking for it to be valid . The remaining
38 % will be paid on when arriving.

OLYMPIC FOOTBALL:Bookings from the 3rd of August till the 15th must be paid in full before arrival;
Cancelation policy on these dates:NONE

CANCELATION PLOICY: 48 hour cancelation policy
Failure to cancel within this time or a no show will result in a
cancellation charge equal to the full amount of your booking. So if you have to make a change please do email the hostel

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Salvador?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 87%

Location 93%

Safety 91%

Staff 86%

Value 89%

Showing 21-30 of 82 reviews

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I had a private room, it was big and clean. Central but not so safe location.

Disliked: By far the most unfriendly hostel owner and staff I have ever seen. They had a very unfriendly attitude since I arrived to the hostel.


The property's response is

Of course we were all to blame!!!Non guests are not permited in the rooms its quite a standard rule ,the guest did not appreciate this fact.our recption recieves payment from 0900 until 0100.on his last night he arrived at 0100 and informed the recption girl he still had not prepared himself to pay and he would be leaving at 0730.This was a concern for us and frustrating as we advice all customers of the importance of preparing payment.We make big efforts ,guests only have to make a little.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice location...excellent breakfast served until noon...friendly resident dogs.

Disliked: Constant problems with Wi-Fi signal, weak air-conditioning that kept the room uncomfortably warm, tiny bathroom, tiny pool (more like a big communal bathtub), common spaces a bit cramped and crowded...private rooms are far too expensive considering there's no television, no mini-fridge and there's not even soap provided in the bathroom.


The property's response is

guests really should have considered a hotel.Its hostel and never claim to have priavate tvs or frigo bar.I found it strange when they asked but after realisng how long they stayed in the room i understand,on average 16 hours a day just not healthy.That is why indeed the air con gave up and we changed their room straight away. No machine can handle it especially when you leave the room just not responsible.Wifi this is an ongoing headache in the old town we try but until all cables changed ?

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This hostel is superb! Free Caipirinha hour, a great free breakfast until 12pm, fresh sheets daily, friendly staff and an attentive owner, Paulo, who really does try to make sure your stay there goes as smoothly as possible.The Hostel is usually quite busy so there will be lots of people to meet and a great atmosphere. The free Caipirinha's certainly aid the socialising. I would really recommend this hostel. :)

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the hostel is fantastic, there's a pool and a "chill out" room with a hammock, the free breakfast is fantastic, there are free caipirinhas from 5:15-6:15, the staff is helpful, the AC is strong, and it's a great location

Disliked: the lockers in the dorm can only fit a small backpack - there will be no place to lock your big bag.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: A really great hostel in the heart of Salvador's beautiful historic center. Everything has been thought of! Delicious amazing breakfast, free caipirinha hour, lovely chill out room, WiFi in the rooms, an essential pool and a fantastic guide book so you don't miss anything in Salvador! Even a dirt cheap walking tour which was great, we picked a really relaxed pace and had a great afternoon with the guide, he went above and beyond to help us planning on going trips. I was very sad to leave and desperate to go back ASAP.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great hostel and staff were great for introducing us to the city and the sights on offer. Also very helpful with onwards travel plans. Dorms were very clean and spatious. Best breakfast on my trip so far!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Galeria 13 is a genuine backpackers' spot with a bunch of travellers to meet.- nice breakfast- plenty of turistic information- caipi happy hour

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's a great hostel for anyone who wants to meet new people, fellow travelers. Also, we started our Brazilian trip there and got very helpful advice from the staff.It's really easy to socialize there, they even have a caipirinha hapy hour around the pool. So nice!

Disliked: Nothing really, just that couldn't pay with a credit card. But it's fine, I got cash from an ATM.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Very good price-value ratio. Awesome breakfast, Caipirinha Happy-Hour, big rooms, helpful staff (english and portuguese speaking), ... we had a perfect stay

Disliked: Maybe the bathrooms are a bit small and the AC was really cold the first night.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The place is really beautiful, very clean and full of plants. The dogs are part of the kind staff. Also the caipis at the pool in the afternoon were really helpfull to pass the heat!The staff really help us to decide where to go in the city and around. It's a place to recommend!

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability