HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Galeria 13 Salvador Hostel

Rua da Ordem Terceira 23, Salvador, Brazil

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 88%

Location 94%

Safety 93%

Staff 86%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Common Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Restaurant
  • Swimming Pool

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 29.68USD

Important Information

We don't accept credit cards. Arrival before 6 am (book the night
before too). Check in 14.00. No Kitchen.If you have allergies or if
you don't like dogs, please be aware we have a doggie

RESERVATION CONFIRMATION .With some Double room bookings
and large group bookings Hostel galeria 13 may require you make a
further payment to the hostel. Payment conditions: A 50%
non-refundable deposit is due to Hostel Galeria 13 in addition to the
12% deposit paid to Hostelworld The 50% deposit must be made within
one week of the Hostelworld booking for it to be valid . The remaining
38 % will be paid on when arriving.

OLYMPIC FOOTBALL:Bookings from the 3rd of August till the 15th must be paid in full before arrival;
Cancelation policy on these dates:NONE

CANCELATION PLOICY: 48 hour cancelation policy
Failure to cancel within this time or a no show will result in a
cancellation charge equal to the full amount of your booking. So if you have to make a change please do email the hostel

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Salvador?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 88%

Location 94%

Safety 93%

Staff 86%

Value 90%

Showing 11-20 of 41 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location and amazing breakfast

Disliked: Staff not always nice

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Amazing breakfast. Daily free caipirinha hour is a good way to get to know other travellers.Great location right in the centre of Pelourinho.

Disliked: Very very professional and organised staff shouldn't forget to smile times to times.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Breakfast, tv room

Disliked: Small bathroom

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good dorms, common areas, location are all good. The breakfast, caipirinha hour and awsome people that stay there are the cherries on top of the cream!

Disliked: For me really nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great generous breakfast, great location. I loved the free caipirinha hour, it was perfect to create a nice atmosphere. Ladies from the kitchen were really helpful and kind. It is located in the "Centro Historico" so it is a good place to start your trip.

Disliked: My bed was terrible, never had such a bad experience in a hostel before. Some people from the staff were rude. It would be nice if there was someone who actually speak Portuguese (from the staff). Please note: Spanish is not Portuguese.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Everybody in reception speaks portuguese ,English and nearly all |Spanish,bed was terrible what was the problem?because we were never told?

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Great breakfast, super location in the old town, very helpful staff

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Free Caiprainhas at happy hour. Very good breakfast, which didn´t run out even until midday. Helpful staff. Room cleaned every morning.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Excellent location of the hotel .. very close to town, close to the elevator (5 min walk) to boats that you can drive away in any other place .. There are buses near the pousada have 20 minutes To the sea (this beach we were, maybe closer).The owner of the place is amazing. Care about you all, what wii fii room, water dispenser, a really delicious breakfast and not missing anything, explain'll cover travel and where not to go, every day there Calendar What can be done that evening, perfect rooms

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I had a private room, it was big and clean. Central but not so safe location.

Disliked: By far the most unfriendly hostel owner and staff I have ever seen. They had a very unfriendly attitude since I arrived to the hostel.


The property's response is

Of course we were all to blame!!!Non guests are not permited in the rooms its quite a standard rule ,the guest did not appreciate this fact.our recption recieves payment from 0900 until 0100.on his last night he arrived at 0100 and informed the recption girl he still had not prepared himself to pay and he would be leaving at 0730.This was a concern for us and frustrating as we advice all customers of the importance of preparing payment.We make big efforts ,guests only have to make a little.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice location...excellent breakfast served until noon...friendly resident dogs.

Disliked: Constant problems with Wi-Fi signal, weak air-conditioning that kept the room uncomfortably warm, tiny bathroom, tiny pool (more like a big communal bathtub), common spaces a bit cramped and crowded...private rooms are far too expensive considering there's no television, no mini-fridge and there's not even soap provided in the bathroom.


The property's response is

guests really should have considered a hotel.Its hostel and never claim to have priavate tvs or frigo bar.I found it strange when they asked but after realisng how long they stayed in the room i understand,on average 16 hours a day just not healthy.That is why indeed the air con gave up and we changed their room straight away. No machine can handle it especially when you leave the room just not responsible.Wifi this is an ongoing headache in the old town we try but until all cables changed ?

Check Availability