HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Salvador de Bahia, Brazil

95.0%
40 reviews Book Now 
1

La Villa Francaise Guesthouse

Guesthouse
Rua Recife, 222, Jardim Brasil - Barra, Salvador de Bahia, Brazil 40140-330

39 out of 40 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend La Villa Francaise Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 93% Staff - 96% Facilities - 93% Safety - 96%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 97% Value - 95%
Jillian Merulla
Alone
Beach / sunbathing
100.0%
Jillian would recommend this property 12 April 2014

Absolutely wonderful! My hosts (and there two teenage kids) were sweet and helpful, i adore them!It was the first place I stayed during my first time in Brazil and I felt completely safe ( i am traveling alone) and more than comfortable. Very convenient to the beach and restaurants. included breakfast which was delicious and fresh everyday. I would HIGHLY recommend to anyone traveling to this area!

Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 18 November 2012

First, I have to say that the owners are extremely nice and welcoming and enabled me to have a really great experience in Salvador. English, Portuguese and French are spoken which is very helpful. The property is located in a great area and it's a few minutes walk to the beach. There are restaurants and stores aat the end of the block which makes it a great location. I'm from the U.S. and this is my first time in a foreign and although I don't recommend it I felt safe walking alone at night. You also get a key so yo can come and go as you please. Stephanie and Nathalie were extemely helpful and gave me complete information about all the attractions in the area; where to buy tickets, how much things cost, etc. They even arranged a ride to the airport for a 6am flight and the driver was on time. I will definitely stay there again on my next visit and I would recommend this place to a friend.

92.6%
5 reviews Book Now 
2

Apartments Tamboleiro

Apartment
Rua Luiz Viana, Ladeira, do Carmo Nº 7, Santo Antonio, Pelourinho, Salvador de Bahia, Brazil 40301-410

5 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Apartments Tamboleiro

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 100% Facilities - 88% Safety - 92%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 92%
Carola Barth
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife
94.3%
Carola would recommend this property 18 January 2011

The apartment (2/3 pers.) was very good, very roomy and especially clean. the location is very central. Downtown is pretty safe during the day, but there are still streets to avoid (ask at reception). Small grocery on the other side of the street. View from the window on an extension of a street busy enough and the rooftops of the Pelourinho. The breakfast is ok & the staff was friendly. Very recommendable place. Good value for money.

bouguerra mehdi
100.0%
bouguerra would recommend this property 09 September 2009

Super appartement en plein Pelo !( pres du largo pelourinho)Petit commerce en face , super vue sur les toits ... genial

91.1%
61 reviews Book Now 
3

Open House Barra

Guesthouse
Rua Bernardo Catarino 137, Barra, Salvador de Bahia, Brazil 000

58 out of 61 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Open House Barra

Atmosphere - 93% Staff - 96% Facilities - 89% Safety - 92%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 86% Value - 88%
Alessandra Teixeira
With friends / other travellers
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife
100.0%
Alessandra would recommend this property 19 September 2014

Maravilhosaaaaa segunda vez! Estão de parabens,mais cores,mais diversão mais gente bonita.Continuaremos voltando sempre.

stephen dixon
With my spouse / partner
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
97.1%
stephen would recommend this property 18 March 2014

The welcome, the breakfast, the nearby supermarkets and beaches, the staff (especially Alex).

90.1%
118 reviews Book Now 
4

Barra Guest Hostel

Guesthouse
Rua Recife, no 234, Barra, Salvador de Bahia, Brazil 40140-330

114 out of 118 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Barra Guest Hostel

Atmosphere - 89% Staff - 88% Facilities - 87% Safety - 94%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 90%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 07 April 2012

We enjoyed our stay - good breakfast, very clean, decent sized room with large ensuite. Also had a tour organised through the hostel which was great, the guide Carlos was excellent.

Adam Toole
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Adam would recommend this property 23 March 2012

Great breakfast, nice clean rooms with good beds and large lookers. Awesom huge bathroom

90.1%
162 reviews Book Now 
5

Hostel Galeria 13

Hostel
Rua da ordem terceira num 23, Pelourinho, Salvador de Bahia, Brazil 40026-260

154 out of 162 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel Galeria 13

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 89% Facilities - 86% Safety - 89%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 88%
Customer review
Alone
City break, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 09 August 2014

Amazing breakfast. Daily free caipirinha hour is a good way to get to know other travellers. Great location right in the centre of Pelourinho.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 25 July 2014

Good dorms, common areas, location are all good. The breakfast, caipirinha hour and awsome people that stay there are the cherries on top of the cream!

88.7%
87 reviews Book Now 
6

Hostel Solar dos Romanos

Hostel
Rua Portas do Carmo nº 14, Salvador de Bahia, Brazil 40026-290

83 out of 87 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel Solar dos Romanos

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 94% Facilities - 85% Safety - 88%
Location - 98% Cleanliness - 82% Value - 87%
Tom Grosvenor
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Tom would recommend this property 16 July 2014

Great location in the heart of Pelourinho. Helpful, friendly staff, good breakfast. Free BBQ and beers after Brazil lost 7-1 ! We came back for one night after returning from morro de Sao Paolo. I would reccomend this hostel.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture
71.4%
Customer would recommend this property 23 February 2014

Very good location (directly in Pelourinho), friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast, view on the Baía de Todos os Santos

88.5%
48 reviews Book Now 
7

Nega Maluca Guesthouse

Hostel
Rua Dos Marchantes 15, Santo Antonio/Pelourinho, Salvador de Bahia, Brazil CEP 40030-030

46 out of 48 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Nega Maluca Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 95% Facilities - 84% Safety - 89%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 81% Value - 92%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
60.0%
16 October 2013

Location is very good, just 5 mins away from the historical center. Also, staff is incredibly helpful! Even though the hostel itself was not comfortable at all, staff did everything they could to make it up for us.

richard Tesoriero
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
77.1%
richard would recommend this property 05 October 2013

Very helpful staff and good internet connection. Nice balcony to chill out with a few beers.

83.3%
59 reviews Book Now 
8

Hostel Cobreu

Hostel
Ladeira do Carmo 22, Salvador de Bahia, Brazil -

56 out of 59 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel Cobreu

Atmosphere - 81% Staff - 92% Facilities - 74% Safety - 84%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 77% Value - 81%
Medora Davison
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Medora would recommend this property 21 June 2014

I loved staying at Cobreu. The staff were over the top helpful from calling taxis, to directions, to things to do in the day and at night. The breakfast was BANGING with eggs, coffee, fruit, and more. Yea, the house is old but the showers are clean and beds comfy. Also, pretty much at all times it was quiet and relaxing. But if you want more fun, the bar downstairs had cheap drinks and GREAT music.

Bradley Howe
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Bradley would recommend this property 23 April 2013

I can not speak highly enough about this hostel. Loved it, really loved it. The staff are among the friendliest I have ever come across, the location just in the historic center is wonderful and safe enough, the Tuesday Party on the steps next door to the hostel is loud, infectious, great fun and Brazilian. Great breakfast, good facilities, and a real nice bar in the base of the building to chat with fellow travelers and locals. I wish I could have stayed longer.

81.5%
25 reviews Book Now 
9

Laranjeiras Youth Hostel

Hostel
Rua da Ordem Terceira, (antiga Inácio Aciolli), 13, Pelourinho, Salvador de Bahia, Brazil 40026-260

23 out of 25 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Laranjeiras Youth Hostel

Atmosphere - 77% Staff - 78% Facilities - 76% Safety - 83%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 81% Value - 80%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife
51.4%
21 February 2013

Location is really good. Right in the city historical center. Breakfast wasn't too big but good

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
60.0%
Customer would recommend this property 03 September 2012

The hostel is in a beautiful old building in the old centre of the city. It seemed to be a pretty unsafe area though because there was nobody on the street on quite nights, on the other hand, every night there stayed a police car on the corner. But this safety issue counts for whole salvador. The sanitary is clean and nice. The rooms too.

79.7%
18 reviews Book Now 
10

El Misti Hostel Salvador

Hostel
Rua Odilon Santos 158, Salvador de Bahia, Brazil 41940-350

15 out of 18 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend El Misti Hostel Salvador

Atmosphere - 78% Staff - 94% Facilities - 70% Safety - 77%
Location - 83% Cleanliness - 67% Value - 85%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
68.6%
09 March 2014

It is very easy to go to the historical center by bus. There are a lot of bars and restaurants nearby and also a supermarket if you want to cook by yourself.

Samuel Sherwood
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
77.1%
Samuel would recommend this property 02 October 2013

Great value for money. Our favourite thing was the little puppy dog, Mystico! We had a lot of fun playing with him, he brought a kind of friendly and homely touch to the hostel.

Salvador de Bahia

28 Hostels from 8.12 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Salvador de Bahia hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Salvador de Bahia. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.