HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Salvador de Bahia, Brazil

95.9%
39 reviews Book Now 
1

La Villa Francaise Guesthouse

Guesthouse
Rua Recife, 222, Jardim Brasil - Barra, Salvador de Bahia, Brazil 40140-330

38 out of 39 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend La Villa Francaise Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 94% Staff - 97% Facilities - 94% Safety - 96%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 99% Value - 96%
Jillian Merulla
Alone
Beach / sunbathing
100.0%
Jillian would recommend this property 12 April 2014

Absolutely wonderful! My hosts (and there two teenage kids) were sweet and helpful, i adore them!It was the first place I stayed during my first time in Brazil and I felt completely safe ( i am traveling alone) and more than comfortable. Very convenient to the beach and restaurants. included breakfast which was delicious and fresh everyday. I would HIGHLY recommend to anyone traveling to this area!

Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 18 November 2012

First, I have to say that the owners are extremely nice and welcoming and enabled me to have a really great experience in Salvador. English, Portuguese and French are spoken which is very helpful. The property is located in a great area and it's a few minutes walk to the beach. There are restaurants and stores aat the end of the block which makes it a great location. I'm from the U.S. and this is my first time in a foreign and although I don't recommend it I felt safe walking alone at night. You also get a key so yo can come and go as you please. Stephanie and Nathalie were extemely helpful and gave me complete information about all the attractions in the area; where to buy tickets, how much things cost, etc. They even arranged a ride to the airport for a 6am flight and the driver was on time. I will definitely stay there again on my next visit and I would recommend this place to a friend.

94.3%
150 reviews Book Now 
2

Hostel Galeria 13

Hostel
Rua da ordem terceira num 23, Pelourinho, Salvador de Bahia, Brazil 40026-260

144 out of 150 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel Galeria 13

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 96% Facilities - 92% Safety - 92%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 94%
Andrew Rodgers
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife
100.0%
Andrew would recommend this property 15 April 2014

This hostel is superb! Free Caipirinha hour, a great free breakfast until 12pm, fresh sheets daily, friendly staff and an attentive owner, Paulo, who really does try to make sure your stay there goes as smoothly as possible. The Hostel is usually quite busy so there will be lots of people to meet and a great atmosphere. The free Caipirinha's certainly aid the socialising. I would really recommend this hostel. :)

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 18 March 2014

Galeria 13 is a genuine backpackers' spot with a bunch of travellers to meet. - nice breakfast - plenty of turistic information - caipi happy hour

92.9%
58 reviews Book Now 
3

Open House Barra

Guesthouse
Rua Bernardo Catarino 137, Barra, Salvador de Bahia, Brazil 000

56 out of 58 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Open House Barra

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 96% Facilities - 92% Safety - 96%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 87% Value - 90%
stephen dixon
With my spouse / partner
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
97.1%
stephen would recommend this property 18 March 2014

The welcome, the breakfast, the nearby supermarkets and beaches, the staff (especially Alex).

Customer review
As a family with children
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 07 August 2013

Super nice staff!! Colourful house with a lot of space and beautiful old rooms! Amazing breakfast with lots of fresh fruit and sweet and savoury options! Close to themain beach in Porto de barra! Supermarket right next to the hostel!! Free capoeira lessons and caipirinhas guarantee a relaxed stay! Recommended!

92.6%
5 reviews Book Now 
4

Apartments Tamboleiro

Apartment
Rua Luiz Viana, Ladeira, do Carmo Nº 7, Santo Antonio, Pelourinho, Salvador de Bahia, Brazil 40301-410

5 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Apartments Tamboleiro

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 100% Facilities - 88% Safety - 92%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 92%
Carola Barth
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife
94.3%
Carola would recommend this property 18 January 2011

The apartment (2/3 pers.) was very good, very roomy and especially clean. the location is very central. Downtown is pretty safe during the day, but there are still streets to avoid (ask at reception). Small grocery on the other side of the street. View from the window on an extension of a street busy enough and the rooftops of the Pelourinho. The breakfast is ok & the staff was friendly. Very recommendable place. Good value for money.

bouguerra mehdi
100.0%
bouguerra would recommend this property 09 September 2009

Super appartement en plein Pelo !( pres du largo pelourinho)Petit commerce en face , super vue sur les toits ... genial

90.1%
118 reviews Book Now 
5

Barra Guest Hostel

Guesthouse
Rua Recife, no 234, Barra, Salvador de Bahia, Brazil 40140-330

114 out of 118 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Barra Guest Hostel

Atmosphere - 89% Staff - 88% Facilities - 87% Safety - 94%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 90%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 07 April 2012

We enjoyed our stay - good breakfast, very clean, decent sized room with large ensuite. Also had a tour organised through the hostel which was great, the guide Carlos was excellent.

Adam Toole
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Adam would recommend this property 23 March 2012

Great breakfast, nice clean rooms with good beds and large lookers. Awesom huge bathroom

88.8%
47 reviews Book Now 
6

Nega Maluca Guesthouse

Hostel
Rua Dos Marchantes 15, Santo Antonio/Pelourinho, Salvador de Bahia, Brazil CEP 40030-030

45 out of 47 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Nega Maluca Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 89% Staff - 96% Facilities - 85% Safety - 89%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 91%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
60.0%
16 October 2013

Location is very good, just 5 mins away from the historical center. Also, staff is incredibly helpful! Even though the hostel itself was not comfortable at all, staff did everything they could to make it up for us.

richard Tesoriero
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
77.1%
richard would recommend this property 05 October 2013

Very helpful staff and good internet connection. Nice balcony to chill out with a few beers.

87.5%
83 reviews Book Now 
7

Hostel Solar dos Romanos

Hostel
Rua Portas do Carmo nº 14, Salvador de Bahia, Brazil 40026-290

80 out of 83 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel Solar dos Romanos

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 91% Facilities - 85% Safety - 86%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 88%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture
71.4%
Customer would recommend this property 23 February 2014

Very good location (directly in Pelourinho), friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast, view on the Baía de Todos os Santos

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 07 October 2013

Great location and breakfast (fruits, bread, jelly, ham, coffee, juices, cake), friendly staff, nice terrace

87.1%
6 reviews Book Now 
8

Duda Hostel

Hostel
R. do Carmo 15 - Pelourinho, Próximo a Cruz do Pascoal, Salvador de Bahia, Brazil 40301-380

6 out of 6 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Duda Hostel

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 90% Facilities - 80% Safety - 93%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 70% Value - 93%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 19 January 2011

The location is great as its walking distance to the main sights and is great place to see the Tuesday Carnaval practices.

sarina ballauff
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
65.7%
sarina would recommend this property 08 December 2010

Nice room with balcony, not many travellers so dorm was quite empty. Good value for money. Great breakfast of eggs and fruit. Although the owners only spoke a tiny bit of English they were helpful and lent us their guidebook. Close to all the Pelo attractions and sites. Good for daytime activities

83.1%
13 reviews Book Now 
9

Centro Cultural do Bispo

Hostel
Rua do Bispo No.11, Salvador de Bahia, Brazil 41630-540

11 out of 13 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Centro Cultural do Bispo

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 84% Facilities - 69% Safety - 80%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 78% Value - 87%
Bree Doan
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
71.4%
19 March 2011

The space has a lot of potential. It is an artist loft space with pillows to lounge and high ceilings. I'd like to see it when they actually have music shows or dance classes. The owner is nice and friendly.

Sarah Sturrock
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals
100.0%
Sarah would recommend this property 09 March 2011

Fantastic hostel - laid back, airy, great value, great location and amazing people! Truly one of a kind and one of the best free breakfasts. Other advantages are the complete lack of curfew and party atmosphere. Staff were really friendly too. Can't recommend enough! We stayed for carnival and the local area was really lively, and we didn't feel too overcharged for the room.

83.0%
57 reviews Book Now 
10

Hostel Cobreu

Hostel
Ladeira do Carmo 22, Salvador de Bahia, Brazil -

54 out of 57 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel Cobreu

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 92% Facilities - 74% Safety - 83%
Location - 91% Cleanliness - 78% Value - 80%
Bradley Howe
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Bradley would recommend this property 23 April 2013

I can not speak highly enough about this hostel. Loved it, really loved it. The staff are among the friendliest I have ever come across, the location just in the historic center is wonderful and safe enough, the Tuesday Party on the steps next door to the hostel is loud, infectious, great fun and Brazilian. Great breakfast, good facilities, and a real nice bar in the base of the building to chat with fellow travelers and locals. I wish I could have stayed longer.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
71.4%
17 February 2013

It's in a great location, I loved the historic centre as it has everything you need close by. The breakfast is ok, some items would run out and not be replaced and the fruit wasn't very fresh. Wifi had a bad connection which kept dropping out. I'm surprised this place got such good reviews.

Salvador de Bahia

33 Hostels from 8.88 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Salvador de Bahia hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Salvador de Bahia. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.