HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of El Misti Hostel Salvador

Hostel | Rua Odilon Santos 158, Salvador de Bahia, Brazil 41940-350

79.7% Overall Rating

15 out of 18 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/03/2014)

"It is very easy to go to the historical center by bus. There are a lot of bars and restaurants nearby and also a supermarket if you want to cook by yourself."

Read all El Misti Hostel Salvador reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.23

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Age Restrictions: No persons under 18 years old can book shared rooms Cancellation Policy We require a 50% deposit to confirm and guarantee any reservation. The remaining balance must be paid at the check-in time. Any cancellations with less than 72-hours notice prior to the check-in time will not receive deposit refunds. Any request for a cancellation or modification must be submitted in writing. The same rules apply for both cancellations and modifications. Any no-shows will be charged 100% of the reservation total after 24-hours from the check-in time if no notification is received by El Misti Hostels. We recommend that all guests purchase traveler’s insurance to protect themselves from any unforeseen circumstances. In the case that you need to make an insurance claim, El Misti Hostels will help you in any way possible including providing documentation, etc. *Cancellations for groups of 6 or more people must be made with at least a full 2 (two) week’s notice. In this case, the group may collect 100% of their deposit paid to El Misti (not including deposits made through 3rd party sites). Any cancellations made with insufficient notice will not have any portion of the deposit refunded. *Cancellations for the New Years Package can only be made before Nov. 30 and are 100% refundable (not including deposits made through 3rd party sites). Any cancellations made after that date will not have deposits refunded. * Cancellations for the Summer Season 2015 can only be made 15 days before check in date, 100% refundable. Cancellations made after that date will not be refunded deposits. *Cancellations for the Carnaval 2015 Package can only be made up until Dec. 12, 100% reimbursable. Any cancellations made after that date will not have deposits refunded. *Cancellations for the Holy Week 2015 Package can only be made 15 days before check in date, 100% reimbursable. Any cancellations made after that date will not have deposits refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Salvador de Bahia?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Salvador de Bahia

Sleep Well Salvador Hostel
13.39 USD

Hostel 70.5% 9 reviews
On The Rock Hostel Salvador
12.49 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel Galeria 13
11.15 USD

Hostel 90.3% 161 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel Salvador
14.55 USD

Hostel 75.8% 27 reviews
Hi Barra
15.62 USD

Guesthouse 68.6% 12 reviews
Andarilho Hostel
15.62 USD

Hostel 71.4% 3 reviews
La Villa Francaise Guesthouse
17.85 USD

Guesthouse 95.0% 40 reviews
Barra Guest Hostel
12.05 USD

Guesthouse 90.1% 118 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.7%

Overall Rating

15 out of 18 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'El Misti Hostel Salvador'

Atmosphere
78.9%
Location
83.3%
Facilities
70.0%
Cleanliness
67.8%
Staff
94.4%
Value
85.6%
Safety
77.8%
Refine your results Showing 10 of 17 reviews
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2014

Liked: It is very easy to go to the historical center by bus. There are a lot of bars and restaurants nearby and also a supermarket if you want to cook by yourself.

Disliked: The atmosphere is sadly very bad. Somehow the people don't really communicate with each other. It is ok to sleepy there but if you are traveling alone and want to meet some nice people i would not recommand this hostel.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff friendly and helpful atmosphere relaxed and friendly

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Samuel Sherwood

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2013 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money. Our favourite thing was the little puppy dog, Mystico! We had a lot of fun playing with him, he brought a kind of friendly and homely touch to the hostel.

Disliked: Good value but you need to take a bus if you want to see anything interesting.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jacinta Drake

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 September 2013 Jacinta would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is close to the beach and nightlife in salvador. Staff were really friendly.

Disliked: There was no fly screen for the large dorm so we got a lot of mosquito bites.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good breakfast

Disliked: not really clean

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Michelle Riley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2013 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: The lady at reception was extremely helpful and so welcoming, all the staff were so nice! The breakfast is fantastic, so much choice, its literally the best brekkie we've ever had in South America! Definitely worth staying to try it out especially as its cheap!!

Disliked: The bathrooms were very dirty and our room was upstairs, the whole time we were there it was raining and our roof leaked in the night and soaked all my backpack and all my things under the bed including my camera on charge. This should be fixed if people are to sleep in here. The kitchen is tiny and there are not many things to cook with, but its really dirty anyway. And the showers are on a 30 second timer which is rather frustrating and i think it should be advertised.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Clark

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2013 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Friendliest most helpful staff, english and Spanish speaking. Marcelo the manager is really brilliant, not only a lovely very interesting person (get him to tell you about his motorbike travels, so cool!) but he also gave us the most amazing guidance and advice. He really went out of his way for us. Free Caipirinhas arrival and he upgraded us to a better dorm with air con for free as he had spaces. Very clean hostel, loads of bathrooms, big lounge area and all the staff from the cook who makes the best cake EVER for breakfast (breakfast also amaze balls) to the cleaners are LOVELY! Would recommend to anyone, fantastic price, such good value, very safe as it's up above street level and easy to get buses from less than 100m from the hostel.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natasha (Known as Tish) Butcher

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2013 Natasha (Known as Tish) would recommend this property

Liked: What didnt I love?!!! This place is fabulous!!! I loved my time here, The staff are amazing and the manager is awesome!! Everyone is so helpful. I was alone and they helped me. Secure lockers. Nice room. Air con. Great place to meet people. Was one of the best I have ever stayed in. Thank you to all the El Misti Salvador team for making my stay so great!! xxxxxxxx

Disliked: Nothing I did not like.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Helpful advice on what to do and where to go and a good, fun atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really really friendly and helpful. The hostel is also in a good location with easy access to buses for travellig around Salvador. Air con was great too.

Disliked: Mentioned previously - I felt like I was living in a temporary property and kitchen and bathroom facilities were not great. Mattresses were old and the sheets did not fit the bed well.