We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Solar dos Romanos

Hostel | Rua Portas do Carmo nº 14, Salvador de Bahia, Brazil 40026-290

88.7% Overall Rating

83 out of 87 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/07/2014)

Tom Grosvenor thinks…

"Great location in the heart of Pelourinho. Helpful, friendly staff, good breakfast. Free BBQ and beers after Brazil lost 7-1 ! We came back for one night after returning from morro de Sao Paolo. I…"

Read all Hostel Solar dos Romanos reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 32.63

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

CARNIVAL 2014 Due to the high demand for this period Bookings made from February 28th until march 7th Hostel Solar dos Romanos is going to comfirm the reservations only if the 50% of the payment is done. The payments can be done by Western Union to Mr. Waldison Stival, by Pay-Pal to the e.mail hostelsolardosromanos@hotmail.com more 10% of taxes or by credit card Visa or MASTER CARD more 10% of taxes. Cancellation policy: No refunds on cancellation. World Cup 2014 Due to the high demand for this period Bookings made from June the 10th until the 8th of July Hostel Solar dos Romanos is going to confirm the reservations only if the full payment is done. The payments can be done by Western Union to Mr. Waldison Stival, by Pay-Pal to the e.mail hostelsolardosromanos@hotmail.com more 10% of taxes or by credit card Visa or MASTER CARD more 10% of taxes. Cancellation policy: No refunds on cancellation.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Salvador de Bahia?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Salvador de Bahia

Hotel Arthemis
16.31 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Laranjeiras Youth Hostel
14.70 USD

Hostel 81.5% 25 reviews
Fusion Guesthouse
16.31 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Apartments Tamboleiro
29.28 USD

Apartment 92.6% 5 reviews
Pousada Meson
15.50 USD

Hostel 73.5% 37 reviews
Hostel Cobreu
12.23 USD

Hostel 83.3% 59 reviews
Pousada Sao Francisco de Assis
14.27 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Nega Maluca Guesthouse
11.42 USD

Hostel 88.5% 48 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.7%

Overall Rating

83 out of 87 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Solar dos Romanos'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
94.4%
Value
87.2%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 68 of 87 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

23 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: j ai tout aimé..je recommande vivement cet hotel

Disliked: rien

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tom Grosvenor

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2014 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in the heart of Pelourinho. Helpful, friendly staff, good breakfast. Free BBQ and beers after Brazil lost 7-1 ! We came back for one night after returning from morro de Sao Paolo. I would reccomend this hostel.

Disliked: Kitchen was pretty poorly equipped for cooking.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Katrin Becker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

15 June 2014

Liked: stafff really friendly and helpfut, great location, good breakfast

Disliked: way too expansive, rooms and bathrooms really old and not really clean

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location (directly in Pelourinho), friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast, view on the Baía de Todos os Santos

Disliked: Bathrooms are rather old

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and breakfast (fruits, bread, jelly, ham, coffee, juices, cake), friendly staff, nice terrace

Disliked: One bed was slightly damaged (lath floor) and cleanliness could be better

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Katie Holdsworth

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2013 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: The room was spacious, an EXCELLENT location, great views from the room, great free breakfast and the staff tried very hard to communicate with me in English. Really friendly staff.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, excellent location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julie Drake

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2013 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: Safe, secure, helpful staff, free purified water, great morning breakfast, great wifi, and lounge room to meet others,play pool, watch movies, and meet other travelers. Cool rooftop deck as well. Awesome location and amazing staff. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Julie left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

ODYSSEFS VARELIDIS

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2013 ODYSSEFS would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very helpful staff always willing to make suggestions or to try and answer your inquiries even though not all spoke english, safe and clean

Disliked: At times there is noise from the air conditioning appliances from adjacent buildings..

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, breakfast included, helpful staff, free internet

Disliked: not a party atmosphere, but can depend on the season

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Magali Richard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2013 Magali would recommend this property

Liked: I had a fantastic time at this hostel! The owners are so friendly, helpful and generous! I love themAll the staff is very kind as well. All speak portuguese but Some also speak spanish, English and French. The bedrooms are spacious, very clean, with nice private shower. there is a roof terrece and a big lounge, where everyone can sit, chat, have a beer or even watch football. The breakfast is also great. Went there during carnival, the pelourinho circuit was going past everyday and we Cld see it from the bedroom, or hear it from the reception. Great atmosphere!

Disliked: Impossible to complain about anything, I recommend it 300%

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Simas Prusinskas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 November 2012 Simas would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff! View from our room was great.

Disliked: Simas left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent. I wasn't here during Carnival and had a room facing the street - there was no problem with noise. The upstairs patio is a nice place to get some sun and do a bit of reading. The staff were quite friendly and helpful.

Disliked: I only stayed a few night and I noticed when I left that my arm was chewed up. The bed had some sand in it (as did the floor) so maybe it was just sandflies, I'm not sure. If you want a private room, they are pretty expensive unless you're sharing with others. Also, although there was no problem with noise from the street, the barrier between rooms might as well have been a sheet of wallpaper as you could hear everything in the next room.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

23 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location for Carnival was great andany helpful staff members.

Disliked: The prices were high for Carnival and the web site made me book 7 nights but many guests were able to book for just a few days.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is in the middle of historic centre close to restaurants and sights. There are a lot of people in the street till late, so we felt safe. We had a spacious double room, which was actually for 4 persons, with windows to the street. Our room was nice, but there are also rooms, which have windows in a ventilation shaft. The breakfast is good. Staff friendly and helpful. Our room was in 3rd floor, so we had to climb the steps few times a day, what was not a problem at all, but maybe is for somebody else.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: El staff es fantastico, muy amable y nos ayudaron en todos los viajes que realizamos a diario, tanto en Salvador como en las islas que se encuentran alrededor, la ubicación es buena en pleno centro del barrios histórico, lo único malo que hay mucho comercio y al pasar por la plza principal del barrio, los comerciantes no te dejan un minuto un paz.

Disliked: Demasiadas escaleras para llegar a nuentro cuarto.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the breakfast was good, staff very helpful and friendly, rooms very clean

Disliked: if you get a room that faces the street, you shoul be aware that there is a lot of noise during the night because of all the parties outside

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: rooms are spacey, and it overlooks the main street in the pelourino which is fun when their is festivals going on.

Disliked: their was not hot showers. their was also not a t.v. in our room when it suggested there would be. they also charged us more than our previous when we extended our stay without letting us know this.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Jia Ou-Yang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2011

Liked: The rooftop lounge area with a nice view of the ocean and plenty of sun. Good location close to the main attractions of Salvador and on a main touristy street.

Disliked: My room did not feel very clean (2nd floor, 4 bed room), my first bed was broken, there was no A/C, only a fan and some mosquitoes. I was not extremely impressed by breakfast, but the staff was nice.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Francisco was amazingly helpful an asset to the place, couldn't do enough for you. Eduardo too was great. Staff were around 24hrs. Breakfast had good selection. Rooms were abit sparse but plenty of room in the double room we had.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mari Wan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2011 Mari would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed here during carnival, staff were lovely esp the owner Eduardo. Rooms are great and breakfast is good. Didn't want to leave felt like family, free internet usage and tv to watch sports! Great atmosphere, would definately stay here again!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, especially regarding being late for breakfast and still getting it :) also regarding getting us to the airport, regarding information about where to go etc.... The room was spacious, good value for money and clean too...

Disliked: Not too many other backpackers in the place probably because it was out of season. In the end should have gone to Barra than Pelroinho

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I kept coming back and forth to this place as I had to stop several times in Salvador. All the staff treated me super friendly, especially the owner Eduardo is such a sweetheart. He did not only change my reservation to 2 as one friend couldn't come along without extra charge but they were so welcoming when we came back a week later staying with them again. It felt like coming home. They managed to fit us in even though it was the beginning of Carnival and the night we left, the night guard called our cab and made sure we would be leaving the Pelourinho safely. Obrigada por um tempo ótimo da sua casa!!!

Disliked: If I have to name one, maybe private rooms are a little bit nicer than the dorm rooms, so if you travel with friends get your own room and meet people on the patio

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Aidan Foley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2011 Aidan would recommend this property

Liked: Great place!!

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent place to meet others during Carnaval - great owner and staff

Disliked: had to ask for the bathroom to be cleaned all the time - but the hostel was v busy at it was Carnaval time