We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Galeria 13

Hostel | Rua da ordem terceira num 23, Pelourinho, Salvador de Bahia, Brazil 40026-260

88.8% Overall Rating

164 out of 173 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/03/2015)

"staff is ready to help. sheets get changed daily. great atmosphere. good breakfast. very close to city centre. just remember to have cash as they do not have credit card machines."

Read all Hostel Galeria 13 reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 29.04

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

this property doesn't accept bookings for more than 7 PEOPLE! if you book for more than 7 people your booking will be cancelled and your deposit lost. To confirm any double room bookings and large group bookings in Hostel galeria 13 it maybe required to make a further payment to the hostel. Payment conditions: A 50% non-refundable deposit is due to Hostel Galeria 13 in addition to the 12% deposit paid to Hostelbookers The 50% deposit must be made within one week of the Hostelbookers booking for it to be valid . New Year bookings Booking Dates From december 29th until the morning of the 1st of january; the booking must include these dates to be valid or your booking will be canceled. Any additional nights will be charged at high season rates. Minimum stay: Three nights. Carnaval conditions 2015 Dates:Full payment before arrival. Instructions on how to make downpayments will be sent by e-mail as soon as we receive your booking request. Expenses with deposits and transfers shall be borne by sender alone and are not refundable or deductible from total amount to be transferred to secure bookings. . As we have a late check out (12:00), rooms are only cleaned after this. Sometimes this can result in a later check in. We offer our great breakfast until 12:00, but please note we do not have a customer kitchen. Arriving before 06:00 am please make sure you book from the night before Please be aware we are a dog friendly hostel,if you have an alergy or are not a fan of our four legged friends Galeria 13 might not be for you! Galeria 13 would like to remind you of our two-day cancellation policy. Failure to cancel within this time or a no show will result in a cancellation charge equal to the full amount of your booking. So if you have to make a change PLEASE do email the hostel.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Salvador de Bahia?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Salvador de Bahia

Sleep Well Salvador Hostel
9.68 USD

Hostel 70.5% 9 reviews
On The Rock Hostel Salvador
8.07 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Laranjeiras Youth Hostel
12.00 USD

Hostel 81.5% 28 reviews
Hotel Arthemis
12.91 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Fusion Guesthouse
9.68 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel Solar dos Romanos
9.68 USD

Hostel 88.0% 89 reviews
Pousada do Indio Asa Branca
11.29 USD

Guesthouse 70.2% 14 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel Salvador
500.00 USD

Hostel 75.8% 27 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.8%

Overall Rating

164 out of 173 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Galeria 13'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
84.0%
Value
87.2%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 129 of 165 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ramon Pego

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2012 Ramon would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was spot on and they were very helpful with us. The atmosphere is fantastic. They even gave us a free extra breakfast and they invited us to some caipirinhas.

Disliked: Everything was perfect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent atmosphere, great place to meet new people. Got to see a lot more of the town, especially at night, because I was able to join a group. Rooms very comfortable, breakfast hit the spot - all good. Location is brilliant, very glad I chose it over Barra. Not too far from the beach by bus but the old town seems a much nicer place to spend the day.

Disliked: Only thing was no ladders for the top bunks, but I struggled through.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gabriella Highfield

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2012 Gabriella would recommend this property

Liked: We arrived at the hostel about 6pm and checked in. We were lucky enough to make it there in time for Capiriniah hour (everyday from 5.15-6.15 Capiriniah’s are free!) so we took our stuff to our room and then enjoyed a cocktail in the little courtyard area. The courtyard is great with lots of plants around a big wooden table and parasol. Beware, if you have sweet blood then make sure you have plenty of bug spray as I was bitten to death but little tiny midges. The bites were too small to be mosquito bites. Not everyone seemed to have this problem though so you might be fine. Our room was huge with a double bed and bunk beds although we had booked this as a double room. The aircon was very powerful and even made us cold and was turned off some of the time. Our small ensuite was adequate although the toilet cistern was a bit temperamental and we had to lift the cistern lid every time we flushed it to make it fill up again. Our room was cleaned daily and beds were made so this was a bonus. Breakfast was good with scrambled eggs and sausages available should you want this as well as bread, cheese, ham, cakes, fruit, coffee, tea and juice. Paulo the owner of the hostel was great and was able to provide lots of information to guests. Beware Paulo has two dogs, both quite large and one that looks more like a bear than a dog. Both are friendly but if you don’t like dogs then this is good to know before you book. This hostel was by far the most social hostel I have stayed in whilst in Brazil. Capiriniah hour makes it perfect to sit and talk with other guests. We were fortunate enough to meet lots of great people that we had dinner and also went to the famous Tuesday night street party with. Oh I forgot to mention that the hostel has a restaurant around the corner with some meals discounted for guests. The food is DELICIOUS!

Disliked: This is a fairly noisy hostel because of its location. Also our room was directly above the bar so I would suggest taking ear plugs of you are a light sleeper.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

victor cheynier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2012 victor would recommend this property

Liked: Very good breakfast, nice spanish/english speaking staff, swimming pool, good location.

Disliked: Dorms are really humid, slow internet.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

morag currie

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2012 morag would recommend this property

Liked: great location lovely rooms

Disliked: morag left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I consider this hostel to be the best I have stayed at in 8 months of travelling. Why: Staff, breakfast buffet and free Caipirinha hours every day. They have a small pool, a chill-out room and the staff is incredibly friendly. The rooms are not the most spacious I have veer seen, but compared to the rest it doesn't matter.

Disliked: Well, it is in Pelo and their neighbours like to party, but that is nothing the hostel is responsible for.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christoph Alert

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2012 Christoph would recommend this property

Liked: Super Lage, gutes Fruehstuck und Caipirinhas

Disliked: Christoph left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hostel that does all the basics well (central location, good staff, good beds, hot showers, excellent breakfast) and with nice extras like free Caipirinha happy hour, swimming pool and garden area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel in Salvador! The staff was really friendly and helpful on suggesting good tips on places to go for fun and sightseeing. I especially enjoyed the breakfast, filled with fruits, eggs and pastrys and the free-caipirinha hour at the end of the day, those were great opportunitys to meet people to hang out!

Disliked: The shower in the shared room was a little messy and they didn't accept card as payment method, only cash, at the time. I hope they add this option soon.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Claudia Rommers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2012 Claudia would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel with great breakfast. The atmosphere is really nice always people to hang out with outside or in the morrocon room. The dogs are super sweet and the hostel provides good information about things to do in the surrounding.

Disliked: Quite a pity that you can not cook a meal yourself in the kitchen... there is no supermarket around there. Atleast I have not found it.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ling Yin Phyllis Ho

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2012 Ling Yin Phyllis would recommend this property

Liked: Paulo (the owner) and staff are very helpful and friendly. The private room is large and comfortable. We enjoyed the free daily capriniha. They provide schedule of events daily.

Disliked: Sometimes it can be quite noisy when people talked at the poolside or the reception area. The area around is quite slow at night. Walking around at night don't feel safe.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They serve the best breakfast ever with freshly made eggs, toasted sandwiches, fresh fruit and juices and cake!!! The location is unbeatable in the old town. And of course they serve free caipirinha every day from 5 - 6 pm!

Disliked: There is no kitchen. And if you're in the 10 bed dorm you might have to queue up for the bathroom.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

18 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, but particularly the staff and management.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere at the hostel - very friendly staff as well. Happy hour caipirihnas excellent and good way to meet other travellers there. Awesome breakfast. Information book prepared by the hostel on what to do in Salvador, transport options, etc is very useful - we had a great time in Salvador and were able to get around safely without always needing a taxi.

Disliked: Dorm can get crowded with people & luggage.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was amazing and all the staff were extremely friendly. The happy hour for caipirinhas was all you could drink... everyday! A lot of information about Salvador was available.

Disliked: The swimming pool was not in use whilst we stayed there and we were really looking forward to this, so very disappointed. The owner often walked into the dorm rooms throughout the day, even when people were getting changed which was very off putting and invaded our privacy

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. Definately the place to stay in Salvador.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Trent Blomfield

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

21 February 2012 Trent would recommend this property

Liked: Sociable, homey and awesome staff. The breakfast is by far the best I have had a hostel - and goes to 12 noon (a blessing after many a big night). The staff are great and the two dogs are friendly.

Disliked: Lack of powerpoints make charging things (cameras etc) a bit difficult. Not a great amount of common space to chill out in.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, amazing big free breakfast, owner is very helpful, great location, free caipirinha hour!

Disliked: Common areas are a little cramped but is good in the way of meeting people.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Brindley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 November 2011 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast is included and the staff are very helpful and friendly and organized our airport transfer for us. Room was spacious and clean. The hostel has a sister restaurant ´`Zulu` which serves good food at reasonable prices and gives a discount to those who stay in the hostel. Location is in a good safe part of town and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was great, as was location and free caipirinha happy hour

Disliked: Wasn't a huge fan of the massive, slobbering, farting dogs.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

26 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location.

Disliked: bed bugs in dorm room.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff and the owner are very friendly, and the atmosphere they set up is very friendly for travelers to meet and talk, rooms are nice and clean

Disliked: if Zulu can be washed more frequently

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, atmosphere, fruits for breakfast

Disliked: none

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was clean and you are able to meet alot of people.

Disliked: The owner could have been a little less cold... nice guy though.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location in the center of pelourinho

Disliked: only one bathroom for the whole dorm

The property's response is...