HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Galeria 13

Hostel | Rua da ordem terceira num 23, Pelourinho, Salvador de Bahia, Brazil 40026-260

92.0% Overall Rating

149 out of 157 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/06/2014)

Christopher Maytham thinks…

"Free Caiprainhas at happy hour. Very good breakfast, which didn´t run out even until midday. Helpful staff. Room cleaned every morning."

Read all Hostel Galeria 13 reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 40.50

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

this property doesn't accept bookings for more than 7 PEOPLE! if you book for more than 7 people your booking will be cancelled and your deposit lost. To confirm any double room bookings and large group bookings in Hostel galeria 13 it maybe required to make a further payment to the hostel. Payment conditions: A 50% non-refundable deposit is due to Hostel Galeria 13 in addition to the 10% deposit paid to Hostelbookers The 50% deposit must be made within one week of the Hostelbookers booking for it to be valid Please note Ivete Sangalo Concert Fonte Nova: Booking dates From december the 13th until the morning of the 15th . The booking must include these dates to be valid or your booking will be canceled. Any additional nights will be charged at high season rates. Minimum stay: Two nights New Year bookings Booking Dates From december 29th until the morning of the 1st of january; the booking must include these dates to be valid or your booking will be canceled. Any additional nights will be charged at high season rates. Minimum stay: Three nights. Carnaval conditions 2014 Dates: From February 27th until the morning of the 6th of March; the booking must include these dates to be valid or will be canceled. Any additional nights will be charged at high season rates. Minimum stay: seven nights. Payment conditions: A 50% non-refundable deposit is due to Hostel Galeria 13 in addition to the 10% deposit paid to HostelBookers. The 50% deposit must be made within two weeks of the HostelBookers booking for it to be valid. Instructions on how to make downpayments will be sent by e-mail as soon as we receive your booking request. Expenses with deposits and transfers shall be borne by sender alone and are not refundable or deductible from total amount to be transferred to secure bookings. The remaining 40 % must be paid by the end of the year. Cancellation policy: Check in is after 14:00. As we have a late check out (12:00), rooms are only cleaned after this. Sometimes this can result in a later check in. We offer our great breakfast until 12:00, but please note we do not have a customer kitchen. Arriving before 06:00 am please make sure you book from the night before Please be aware we are a dog friendly hostel,if you have an alergy or are not a fan of our four legged friends Galeria 13 might not be for you! Galeria 13 would like to remind you of our two-day cancellation policy. Failure to cancel within this time or a no show will result in a cancellation charge equal to the full amount of your booking. So if you have to make a change PLEASE do email the hostel.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Salvador de Bahia?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Salvador de Bahia

Sleep Well Salvador Hostel
15.75 USD

Hostel 70.5% 9 reviews
On The Rock Hostel Salvador
12.60 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
El Misti Hostel Salvador
8.91 USD

Hostel 78.5% 17 reviews
Laranjeiras Youth Hostel
19.20 USD

Hostel 81.5% 25 reviews
Hotel Arthemis
18.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Fusion Guesthouse
18.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel Solar dos Romanos
18.00 USD

Hostel 87.4% 86 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel Salvador
12.45 USD

Hostel 77.9% 26 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.0%

Overall Rating

149 out of 157 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Galeria 13'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
92.8%
Value
90.4%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 118 of 150 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Sadler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing breakfast, awesome caipirinha happy hour, great location, strong wifi even on top floor dorm, excellent management and friendly staff.

Disliked: Bathroom off my ten bed dorm quite small.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joel Jaervinen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 June 2013 Joel would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value with good location, decent breakfast and the free caipirinha-hour! Absolutely the place to stay in Salvador!

Disliked: It's a little bit cramped at places, which is understandable considering the Pelourinho buildings. I would change the old wooden lockers in the dorms which didn't feel a safe place to leave valuables in.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Florian Schmitz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2013 Florian would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice people! Helpful staff! Pefect location rigth beneath the main Plaza!

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Visiting friends or family

23 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast, caipirinhas for free, nice atmosphere

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

02 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are so helpful and friendly! Speak fluent English too which is helpful non Portuguese speakers. Fantastic hostel!! Highly recommended.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner and staff were helpful / friendly and fun - so making Galleria a brilliant place to stay! Breakfasts were generous and served 'til late, free drinks were offered for an hour each evening so everyone got chatting and there was a sociable atmosphere, the place was clean (the cleaners deserve a payrise - esp during Carnaval!) and the location is in the heart of Pelourinho ... and a safe walk back from the main squares! And there's a pool.... We stayed here for the week of carnaval and then I stayed a night on the way through a few weeks after - if I leave you in any doubt ... I recommend Galleria 13!

Disliked: Not much ... after 3 months in South America this is one of the best places I stayed in!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Justin Steele

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2013 Justin would recommend this property

Liked: Paulo and all the staff did a great job of organising the place for carnival and making sure all guests were well looked after.

Disliked: Bit of a squeeze with the number of people there during carnival, but the hostel is designed as well as possible to make use of the available space.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, awesome staff, great dogs, delicious breakfast, a/c!!

Disliked: There are two properties which is fine but sometimes it's difficult to get into the separate one. But really only a minor inconvenience.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christian Hamp

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2013 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere was excellent, breakfast and everything else too

Disliked: Christian left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

André Pédico

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

14 January 2013 André would recommend this property

Liked: Superb location, great staff.

Disliked: Nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is in general a nice and relaxed hostel. The common area is not so huge but it is partly outside and enough space to meet the other travellers. Stuff is really helpful. The tour they offer every day is good but only in the historic center and mainly about churches and such stuff. I recommend that they would offer an alternative tour for not sightseeing interested people.

Disliked: Why is the kitchen not opened for guests? That is really missing in such an hostel. They own a restaurant close and want to get drag the guests there, but I dont think they make more money in this in the long term. A good backpacker hostel needs a kitchen for guests. The hostel is located in the historic center, which is in general very boring, it is only for tourists, no locals come here ever.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Bianca Sawyer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2012 Bianca would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, the pool, free caipirinhas at happy hour! The dogs, Zulu restaurant, location is great, breakfast has a lot of variation. They also have booklets you can look though which have info on things to do and see, places to eat etc. in the area. These were very useful.

Disliked: There is no kitchen avaliable to use, or even a fridge to keep food in. Guests get a 10% discount at Zulu restaurant, but this does not come close to the savings you get when cooking your own meals. The bunk beds do not have ladders, which make them very awkward to climb up and down on, especially in the dark

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Grzegorz Smieciuszewski

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

09 December 2012 Grzegorz would recommend this property

Liked: I really like the location. Two steps from main part of historic city.

Disliked: noisy neiberhood...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hands down the best hostel we stayed at throughout our two weeks in Brazil. People moved hostels in Salvador in order to stay here - BOOK WELL IN ADVANCE!!! Welcome was warm, beers are cold and the breakfasts are great. Nice outside area for 5.15 caiprinhias every day as well - on the house! There was a massive list of things to do, recommendations and help. The movie/tv room was great to chill out as well.

Disliked: We had to ask both nights we stayed for our air conditioning to be turned on - it gets very stuffy in the top rooms so don't forget!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ramon Pego

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2012 Ramon would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was spot on and they were very helpful with us. The atmosphere is fantastic. They even gave us a free extra breakfast and they invited us to some caipirinhas.

Disliked: Everything was perfect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent atmosphere, great place to meet new people. Got to see a lot more of the town, especially at night, because I was able to join a group. Rooms very comfortable, breakfast hit the spot - all good. Location is brilliant, very glad I chose it over Barra. Not too far from the beach by bus but the old town seems a much nicer place to spend the day.

Disliked: Only thing was no ladders for the top bunks, but I struggled through.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gabriella Highfield

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2012 Gabriella would recommend this property

Liked: We arrived at the hostel about 6pm and checked in. We were lucky enough to make it there in time for Capiriniah hour (everyday from 5.15-6.15 Capiriniah’s are free!) so we took our stuff to our room and then enjoyed a cocktail in the little courtyard area. The courtyard is great with lots of plants around a big wooden table and parasol. Beware, if you have sweet blood then make sure you have plenty of bug spray as I was bitten to death but little tiny midges. The bites were too small to be mosquito bites. Not everyone seemed to have this problem though so you might be fine. Our room was huge with a double bed and bunk beds although we had booked this as a double room. The aircon was very powerful and even made us cold and was turned off some of the time. Our small ensuite was adequate although the toilet cistern was a bit temperamental and we had to lift the cistern lid every time we flushed it to make it fill up again. Our room was cleaned daily and beds were made so this was a bonus. Breakfast was good with scrambled eggs and sausages available should you want this as well as bread, cheese, ham, cakes, fruit, coffee, tea and juice. Paulo the owner of the hostel was great and was able to provide lots of information to guests. Beware Paulo has two dogs, both quite large and one that looks more like a bear than a dog. Both are friendly but if you don’t like dogs then this is good to know before you book. This hostel was by far the most social hostel I have stayed in whilst in Brazil. Capiriniah hour makes it perfect to sit and talk with other guests. We were fortunate enough to meet lots of great people that we had dinner and also went to the famous Tuesday night street party with. Oh I forgot to mention that the hostel has a restaurant around the corner with some meals discounted for guests. The food is DELICIOUS!

Disliked: This is a fairly noisy hostel because of its location. Also our room was directly above the bar so I would suggest taking ear plugs of you are a light sleeper.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

victor cheynier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2012 victor would recommend this property

Liked: Very good breakfast, nice spanish/english speaking staff, swimming pool, good location.

Disliked: Dorms are really humid, slow internet.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

morag currie

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2012 morag would recommend this property

Liked: great location lovely rooms

Disliked: morag left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I consider this hostel to be the best I have stayed at in 8 months of travelling. Why: Staff, breakfast buffet and free Caipirinha hours every day. They have a small pool, a chill-out room and the staff is incredibly friendly. The rooms are not the most spacious I have veer seen, but compared to the rest it doesn't matter.

Disliked: Well, it is in Pelo and their neighbours like to party, but that is nothing the hostel is responsible for.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christoph Alert

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2012 Christoph would recommend this property

Liked: Super Lage, gutes Fruehstuck und Caipirinhas

Disliked: Christoph left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hostel that does all the basics well (central location, good staff, good beds, hot showers, excellent breakfast) and with nice extras like free Caipirinha happy hour, swimming pool and garden area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel in Salvador! The staff was really friendly and helpful on suggesting good tips on places to go for fun and sightseeing. I especially enjoyed the breakfast, filled with fruits, eggs and pastrys and the free-caipirinha hour at the end of the day, those were great opportunitys to meet people to hang out!

Disliked: The shower in the shared room was a little messy and they didn't accept card as payment method, only cash, at the time. I hope they add this option soon.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Claudia Rommers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2012 Claudia would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel with great breakfast. The atmosphere is really nice always people to hang out with outside or in the morrocon room. The dogs are super sweet and the hostel provides good information about things to do in the surrounding.

Disliked: Quite a pity that you can not cook a meal yourself in the kitchen... there is no supermarket around there. Atleast I have not found it.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ling Yin Phyllis Ho

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2012 Ling Yin Phyllis would recommend this property

Liked: Paulo (the owner) and staff are very helpful and friendly. The private room is large and comfortable. We enjoyed the free daily capriniha. They provide schedule of events daily.

Disliked: Sometimes it can be quite noisy when people talked at the poolside or the reception area. The area around is quite slow at night. Walking around at night don't feel safe.