We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Open House Barra

Guesthouse | Rua Bernardo Catarino 137, Barra, Salvador de Bahia, Brazil 000

90.9% Overall Rating

57 out of 60 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/03/2014)

stephen dixon thinks…

"The welcome, the breakfast, the nearby supermarkets and beaches, the staff (especially Alex)."

Read all Open House Barra reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 35.95

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

*** Special Event Booking for: CARNIVAL SEASON *** Dates from Feb 11/2015 to Feb 20/2015 *** Conditions: a minimum of seven nights is required. *** Payment policy for Carnival Season: Any booking containing Carnival season dates require and additional 50% deposit [of the balance] to be made directly to the property. After your booking is confirmed by hostelworld.com, You will be contacted to proceed and arrange the payment method. Failure to complete the payment in 48 hours will result in cancellation of your booking. Remaining balance shall be paid 30 days prior season start. Failure to complete the balance payment on time will result in cancellation of your booking. *** Cancellation Policy: There is no refund policy for deposits made in advance. SPECIAL SEASONS The same conditions for Carnival bookings and payments apply to other special seasons as New Year eve season (Dic28 - Ene1) and World Cups (Jun 2013/2014) RESERVATION POLICY A minimum stay of two nights is required to accept a booking. We have no cancellation policy, booking deposits made to us are non-refundable. Bookings are considered as a whole, so cancelling or changing part of your booking dates means a cancellation of the entire booking. Due to changes in Paypal policy and procedures, momentarily balance payments at checkin must be paid in cash. New Year Eve and Carnival season balances due 15 days prior arriving date, failing to cancel these balances on time will be understand as a -no show-. Bookings including more than five nights-room require an additional deposit of half of the extra nights booked to be accepted, made directly to Open House. We do not accept bookings from guests who already had canceled or changed their bookings with us, or had no-shows. Bookings are non transferable neither fractional. When involving a group, partial or individual payments for a due balance are not accepted, so full balance shall be paid for a member of the group have access to the accommodation. Booking including minors will not be accepted unless the guest contact us first for room for kids availability. Our checkin/checkout is flexible although arrivals before 8am and departures after 8pm will trigger an extra charge.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Salvador de Bahia?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Salvador de Bahia

Barra Guest Hostel
11.42 USD

Guesthouse 90.1% 118 reviews
La Villa Francaise Guesthouse
16.92 USD

Guesthouse 95.0% 40 reviews
Andarilho Hostel
14.80 USD

Hostel 71.4% 3 reviews
Hospedaria Recanto do Porto
14.80 USD

Hostel 75.2% 9 reviews
Hi Barra
14.80 USD

Guesthouse 68.6% 12 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel Salvador
14.55 USD

Hostel 75.8% 27 reviews
On The Rock Hostel Salvador
11.84 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel Galeria 13
10.57 USD

Hostel 90.1% 162 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.9%

Overall Rating

57 out of 60 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Open House Barra'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
96.0%
Value
88.8%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 44 of 58 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

stephen dixon

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 March 2014 stephen would recommend this property

Liked: The welcome, the breakfast, the nearby supermarkets and beaches, the staff (especially Alex).

Disliked: It was a shame to leave.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

david hannam

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2014 david would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, great staff, good location, great breakfast

Disliked: showers could be better but not bad

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

07 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super nice staff!! Colourful house with a lot of space and beautiful old rooms! Amazing breakfast with lots of fresh fruit and sweet and savoury options! Close to themain beach in Porto de barra! Supermarket right next to the hostel!! Free capoeira lessons and caipirinhas guarantee a relaxed stay! Recommended!

Disliked: .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katarzyna Grochowska

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2013 Katarzyna would recommend this property

Liked: Everything - amazing design, friendly and helpful owner, good breakfast

Disliked: Nothing :]

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly and helpful staff, amazing mojitos, excellent capoiera lessons, very relaxed atmosphere and lovely art everywhere. The breakfasts were also amazing. I would definitely recommend this place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

07 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the welcome staff , the charming decoration the atmophere and the perfect location to reach beaches , special thank to Alex , sweet and good advise to explore Salvador vibes

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast is fine, location is good but keep in mind Salvador is big.. everything you need is in walking distance except for the historical center.. the staff is helpful and friendly

Disliked: well, noisy at times and a little bit dirty (but neither was really a problem)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people of course,especially Angela and just all all staff there are so great.Jaclyn salsa dance lesson was so great and fun and Alek is very cool guy.And I love all different colours on the walls.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ewa Jaroslawska

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2012 Ewa would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing place - staff friendly, helpful and offering even joint trips for concerts. Hostel has unique atmosphere:-) Clean, cosy, so you want to come back:-) breakfast amazing as well:-)

Disliked: Ewa left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susanne Kropp

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2012 Susanne would recommend this property

Liked: Charming place with wonderful hosts that took us out to a great samba concert which we wouldn't have found on our own. Thank you very much for these pleasant days in your house! Awesome breakfast.

Disliked: Susanne left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a very good start to our Brazil trip. Everyone was really helpful and the atmosphere was great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dorota Owsianska

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 September 2012 Dorota would recommend this property

Liked: If you want to visit Salvador, get to know the local culture and people, be hosted by some of the nicest people, stay in an artistic guesthouse and, what’s more, spare some money, this is a place for you. Our room was big and very nice, the bathrooms were very clean, and in the kitchen you could quickly whip up a meal. All in all, the guesthouse was well-furnished and beautifully decorated: the hosts are both artists. The location is close to the beach and a little far away from the city center (Pelo), but it is, by no means, a problem: to get there quickly you have plenty of fast and cheap buses. The bus connection is not overwhelmingly complicated, either. The guesthouse is in a very safe area, too. The price for the room was very good and the host, Alex, is extremely nice and hospitable and provides interesting information on the places in the vicinity of the guesthouse as well as those in the city center. He will introduce you to the local culture and will take you to the best clubs in town, too. I would not hesitate to say here once again. If you don’t stay here, you will miss out on a lot of things.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

08 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: colourful, great atmosphere and a good, safe location

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Amy Bucci

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2012 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: I was pleasantly surprised at the wonderful, colorful, Open House Barra. For most of the day, Alex, a music buff himself, has a wonderful mix of relaxing tunes by Brazilian artists. Alex was super helpful with directions and ideas of things to do. It also was great to have free internet to research little day trips. The location was perfect for me, a 4 block walk to the beach, a 1 block walk to a fabulous vegetarian restaurant, and a taxi ride to Pelourinho.

Disliked: Amy left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jonathan Denis-Jacob

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2012 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in a safe and convenient area of Salvador. Very friendly and helpful staff and owners. Good choice of activites offered. Excellent breakfast.

Disliked: No proper windows in some of the rooms, several mosquitos in the room. But that was the only little thing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

12 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location,friendly staff,atmosfere,safety,free capoeira lesson,artistic decoration inside the hostel,food and fruit,free caipirinhas.Everything:):):)

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

James Curtin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: There was a really nice feel to Open House Barra. It is one of the most unique places that I have stayed in. Alex and all the staff were very helpful. I would really recommend this place to other travellers.

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Eveline Trudel-Fugère

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2012 Eveline would recommend this property

Liked: It's a really nice hostel with a great atmosphere and really nice paintings everywhere. There are always some activities at night, capoeira lessons, samba lessons, the owner makes some caipirinhas for free. The owner is really nice and really helpful!

Disliked: If you hope to visit and enjoy the pelourinho, maybe it's not the right place to stay because you have to take a bus or a taxi to go there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!! The Owner Alex is so helpfull and nice. The house made with a lot of love. Good breakfast. Wifi.

Disliked: absolut nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Wong

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 June 2012 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: We really enjoyed our stay mainly because the lovely owners who looked after us, guided throw the city very well and prepared delicious capirinas. Cool lounge areas, with tons of books, videos and music. The room was well decorated as the rest of the house with very fast internet connection. This place is highly recommendable.

Disliked: ...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caroll Summers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2012 Caroll would recommend this property

Liked: So colorful!!!!!! I loved the ambience. the music was awesome . Even though there were few guests at the house I had a great time. The breakfast is the best I ever had in a hostel, the pancakes were sooooooo delicious. Perfect location to move around the city and take a swim at night. I loved Salvador and I loved this place!

Disliked: /

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cannot fault this place, great huge breakfast, 4 blocks from a nice protected beach, great artwork on the walls. The owner Alex even took me out to a local jazz concert overlooking the ocean, magic night. Lots of common areas, soft music adds to the atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amina Porobic

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2012 Amina would recommend this property

Liked: Alex and the rest of the crew! Thanks so much for all the hospitality and your help! Alex took us out to a jam session on Saturday night which was fun! He also mad caipirnhas every night on the house which were delicious! Even gave us pizza when we were watching movies because as he says you can't watch movies without pizza! The breakfast is also delicious!! And the property itself is really cool as all the artwork has been done by his wife and it's amazing! Heaps of chill out room as well! Thankyou so much for taking care of us!

Disliked: Nothing!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Zandman

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: Very charming decor (art created by one of the owners), nice breakfast with spice pancakes, relaxing tv room, friendly owner.

Disliked: Disappointed that when shifting my reservation, I lost my booking deposit. Also wished they´d mentioned a tip was expected for the capoeira class...they made it sound like it was included.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The warm-hearted hosts created a feeling of being very welcome. We even did a Samba workshop in the hostel with caipirinha and they gave us good tips any time. We´re really going to miss you, Alex and Jaqueline and your beautiful Salvador de Bahia!

Disliked: -