We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

98.8%
14 reviews Book Now 
1

Discovery Hostel Rio

Hostel
Rua Benjamin Constant, 26, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 20241-150

14 out of 14 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Discovery Hostel Rio

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 97% Safety - 100%
Location - 97% Cleanliness - 97% Value - 100%
Laura Plant
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Laura would recommend this property 09 June 2015

I've just been on a 3 month trip in South America and this is honestly the best hostel I stayed in the whole time! Amazing atmosphere (great caiprinhas at the bar), incredibly helpful staff (including in a fairly horrible money situation my friend had), great clean rooms & bathrooms and a lovely sociable communal area. These guys do everything a good hostel should do, stay here.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 09 February 2015

Lo mejor es la atmosfera, las personas que trabajan ahí hacen que tu estadía sea la mejor, siempre dispuestos a ayudar y son simpaticos.

97.1%
10 reviews Book Now 
2

LimeTime Hostels

Hostel
Rua Dezenove de Fevereiro, 52, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 22280-030

10 out of 10 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend LimeTime Hostels

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 90% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 100%
Lauren Cadette
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Lauren would recommend this property 10 August 2015

I had a really good experience at Lime Time. The staff were lovely and really helpful with information about the area, attractions and evening activities, they also made great Caipirinha's. The atmosphere was really inclusive and chilled, but livened up in the evenings, with people usually all going out together from the hostel. The rooms were clean and safe with key locks (some also had balconies). The showers were regularly cleaned and warm. The hostel is in a prime location, with the beaches in walking distance and a supermarket, good places to eat, the metro and bus stops literally at the end of the street. The hostel also has CCT inside and out so you always feel safe. I would definitely return.

Bruno Belline
With friends / other travellers
Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation/spa
88.6%
Bruno would recommend this property 06 May 2015

Caipirinhas free todas as noites, promovem um clima de interação muito legal entre as pessoas hospedadas.

96.3%
7 reviews Book Now 
3

Barraco #55

Hostel
Rua da Assembleia #19, Nova Brasilia, Complexo do Alemão, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 21001020

7 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Barraco #55

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 94% Safety - 94%
Location - 91% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 100%
SOW WAH KHUNG
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
SOW WAH would recommend this property 28 November 2012

The stuffs, especially Fei An, are very friendly and helpful. I feel like home. I love this place and I feel save to walk around. The local people who stay in this area are very friendly and helpful too. So make this as your first choice and you will see another side of Rio De Jeneiro.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 12 October 2012

The hostel is located in one of the favela's of Rio. The 4 hosts of the hostel were all very friendly and willing to help me with whatever question I had. While staying at their hostel I felt part of the community! Several workshops - such as a workshop to make wallets from waste - are organized for the residents of Barracco and the habitants of the favela. I even got offered to give an English course to the children of the neighborhood. This was really one of the most interesting places I visited on my trip!

96.0%
12 reviews Book Now 
4

Aquarela Sweet Home Bed & Breakfast

Guesthouse
Av. Maracanã, 351, Maracanã, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 20271-111

12 out of 12 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Aquarela Sweet Home Bed & Breakfast

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 98%
Location - 83% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 95%
David Burke
With friends / other travellers
Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Family Holiday
97.1%
David would recommend this property 05 July 2014

Very friendly and accommodating staff. Always very clean and the best breakfast I've ever had!

michael morris
With friends / other travellers
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
michael would recommend this property 02 July 2014

Everything! From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome, the hosts were very friendly and very helpful in all aspects of our stay, we had a twin room, with shared bathroom facilities, all were spotlessly clean for the entire duration of our stay. It certainly made our stay in Rio de Janeiro a very enjoyable one, already planning a return visit at some point in the future

95.2%
3 reviews Book Now 
5

Ganesha Guest Home

Guesthouse
Otávio Correia Street, 241, House 2, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 22291-180

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Ganesha Guest Home

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 93% Safety - 93%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 86%
Charles Barton
Alone
Events / festivals
91.4%
Charles would recommend this property 18 July 2014

I was welcomed with fresh coffee, fresh bread and fruits, even though I got there early. The owner is helpful and friendly, and thankfully speaks some English (unfortunately my Portuguese is pretty poor). I stayed in the private double room downstairs - it was charming, comfortable and convenient. The location is great, down a side street away from traffic. The area, Urca, is not far from Corcovado or Copacabana, but is much more relaxed and quiet, but with decent, unpretentious bars and restaurants, and even a little beach with great views.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Events / festivals
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 23 June 2014

Ganesha is a small bed and breakfast that makes you feel home. The hostess is very kind and helpful on every aspect regarding the city and how to get around. Is a great place to enjoy Rio and move easily around the city. Is located in a quiet neighborhood with good access by bus.

94.2%
40 reviews Book Now 
6

Favela Vidigal Guesthouse

Guesthouse
Av. Pres. João Goulart, Tanques, Vidigal, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 22452-160

39 out of 40 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Favela Vidigal Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 96% Staff - 96% Facilities - 87% Safety - 95%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 99%
Thomas Martin-Jeffery
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Thomas would recommend this property 25 August 2015

It does everything it says on the tin. Vanessa and Tito are awesome and will do everything they can to make your visit to Rio a great one, giving lots of advice usually over a beer. The life and character of the Favela IS the life and character of Rio. These guys tell you that they are high in the Favela with a great view so if you want that then the location is great, no surprises.

Valeska Massue
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Valeska would recommend this property 28 August 2014

The view is astonishing. The house is perfect if you want peace and quietness.and everything was so clean... But go out and you will find bars and nightlife to have fun. Amazing place.

93.8%
6 reviews Book Now 
7

CASA DO ABACATEIRO

Hostel
Rua Sao Manoel, 30, Botafogo, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 22290-010

6 out of 6 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend CASA DO ABACATEIRO

Atmosphere - 96% Staff - 96% Facilities - 90% Safety - 96%
Location - 86% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 93%
Rafael Ramirez
Alone
Beach / sunbathing, Business / conference, Partying / nightlife
100.0%
Rafael would recommend this property 17 August 2015

Tiene una atmósfera muy cálida cerca al metro y zona de restaurantes. Zona muy segura.

Customer review
Alone
Events / festivals
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 18 December 2014

Everything was good. Very nice people working there. Near the Botafogo metro station, only one stop from Copacabana beach. Tudo bom. Muito bom pessoas.

92.3%
192 reviews Book Now 
8

Terra Brasilis Hostel

Hostel
R. Murtinho Nobre 156, Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 20241-050

177 out of 192 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Terra Brasilis Hostel

Atmosphere - 96% Staff - 93% Facilities - 91% Safety - 92%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 93%
Benjamin Susanna
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing
100.0%
Benjamin would recommend this property 13 August 2015

Amazing view, great breakfast, very clean and wonderful staff. This is the best hostel I've seen yet in South America!

Victoria Haeusler
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Victoria would recommend this property 31 July 2015

The view from the 3 different levels of terraces looking over Rio is just amazing!! It is nearly as good as the view you go all over town trying to get! Very friendly helpful staff and a good breakfast. I loved the eco friendly aspect as well with great attention being paid to recycling and water use. I can't wait to go back!

92.2%
39 reviews Book Now 
9

Global Rio de janeiro

Guesthouse
Ladeira de Santa Teresa, 45, 101, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 20241140

38 out of 39 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Global Rio de janeiro

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 100% Facilities - 87% Safety - 90%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 86%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 02 July 2015

The personal advice of the people living their and that they spoke really good english.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife
71.4%
Customer would recommend this property 29 July 2014

Friendly couple who own the house, very helpful and knowledgable about Rio. Excellent location for Lapa and the colourful steps.

91.3%
84 reviews Book Now 
10

Fatima Macintyre Guesthouse

Guesthouse
Rua General Venancio Flores, 555 Ap. 101, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 22441-090

81 out of 84 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Fatima Macintyre Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 91% Staff - 93% Facilities - 80% Safety - 96%
Location - 97% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 87%
Catherine Carragher
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Catherine would recommend this property 17 July 2013

Fatima, daughter Julia and housekeeper were all very friendly and helpful. Room clean, beautifully decorated apartment, given own space to come and go as pleased. Very safe, fantastic location. Felt very at home here. Stayed with partner twice and alone here once. Will be returning again if ever in rio. Definitely recommend.

María Belén Llull
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
María Belén would recommend this property 05 April 2013

Fátima es lo más! Si van a Río deberían alojarse en lo de Fátima. Su casa está super bien ubicada, en el Barrio Leblon, uno de los más lindos. Las habitaciones son muy lindas y limpias, al igual que los lugares comunes de la casa. Fátima es muy agradable y te ayuda un montón con el viaje, dándote todos los detalles que necesitas para tu estadía. No sólo lo recomiendo, sino que si vuelvo a Río no dudaría en parar allí!

Rio de Janeiro

101 Hostels from 4.19 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Rio de Janeiro hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Rio de Janeiro. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to Rio de Janeiro

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Rio de Janeiro. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter