We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

100.0%
3 reviews Book Now 
1

Varandas do Vidigal

Hostel
Rua Madre Ana Coimbra, 3, Casa 3 Vidigal, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 22452390

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Varandas do Vidigal

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%
Samia Vivacqua
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Samia would recommend this property 19 February 2014

Fantástico! O lugar é alternativo com relação aos hotéis e hostels convencionais e mistura o ambiente de favela com um ambiente tão aconchegante quanto os melhores hostels da cidade, só que com um preço muito menor e com uma vista que mesmo os hotéis de luxo não podem oferecer. A varanda é sensacional e o hostel oferece drinks e lounge durante algumas tarde e noites. Recomendo fortemente e acho mesmo que esse tipo de hospedagem pode virar moda rapidamente por aí.

Customer review
Alone
Partying / nightlife
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 19 February 2014

Surpreendente! Escolhi uma alternativa barata para um estadia rápida de apenas um dia e fiquei surpreso em encontrar um hostel com uma vista incrível e bom instalações e serviços de ótima qualidade. O ar condicionado é excelente e as instalações estão super limpas. É necessário subir o Vidigal para chegar ao hostel, porém nada que a vista não supere com facilidade! Além disso eles realizam eventos pois o lugar é ideal para isso, porém ainda não tive a chance de presenciar. A foto da varandas deles poderia ser um cartão postal do Rio! Sem dúvida eu recomendaria este hostel tanto pelo preço e pela qualidade!

99.2%
11 reviews Book Now 
2

Discovery Hostel Rio

Hostel
Rua Benjamin Constant, 26, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 20241-150

11 out of 11 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Discovery Hostel Rio

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 98% Safety - 100%
Location - 98% Cleanliness - 98% Value - 100%
Anna Balint
With friends / other travellers
Beach / sunbathing, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Anna would recommend this property 10 November 2014

Clean spacious rooms, social area for breakfast and for hanging out in the evenings. Good way to meet other travellers in a very pleasant atmosphere. Jade gave us a map and drew lots of useful stuff inside including the bus numbers on how to get there. The location was super close to Gloria station, lots of bus stations and close to the nightlife área of Lapa.

Ellie Boyd
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Ellie would recommend this property 20 August 2014

This was one of my favourite hostels during my whole trip. The staff are so helpful with showing you how best to get around Rio. There is an awesome common area which is great for meeting other travellers. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfy. Met some great people here and was very sad to leave. You can book trips/transport at Reception and they make it very easy for you. Would thoroughly recommend and would definitely stay again - stay here!

96.3%
7 reviews Book Now 
3

Barraco #55

Hostel
Rua da Assembleia #19, Nova Brasilia, Complexo do Alemão, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 21001020

7 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Barraco #55

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 94% Safety - 94%
Location - 91% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 100%
SOW WAH KHUNG
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
SOW WAH would recommend this property 28 November 2012

The stuffs, especially Fei An, are very friendly and helpful. I feel like home. I love this place and I feel save to walk around. The local people who stay in this area are very friendly and helpful too. So make this as your first choice and you will see another side of Rio De Jeneiro.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 12 October 2012

The hostel is located in one of the favela's of Rio. The 4 hosts of the hostel were all very friendly and willing to help me with whatever question I had. While staying at their hostel I felt part of the community! Several workshops - such as a workshop to make wallets from waste - are organized for the residents of Barracco and the habitants of the favela. I even got offered to give an English course to the children of the neighborhood. This was really one of the most interesting places I visited on my trip!

96.0%
12 reviews Book Now 
4

Aquarela Sweet Home Bed & Breakfast

Guesthouse
Av. Maracanã, 351, Maracanã, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 20271-111

12 out of 12 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Aquarela Sweet Home Bed & Breakfast

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 98%
Location - 83% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 95%
David Burke
With friends / other travellers
Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Family Holiday
97.1%
David would recommend this property 05 July 2014

Very friendly and accommodating staff. Always very clean and the best breakfast I've ever had!

michael morris
With friends / other travellers
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
michael would recommend this property 02 July 2014

Everything! From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome, the hosts were very friendly and very helpful in all aspects of our stay, we had a twin room, with shared bathroom facilities, all were spotlessly clean for the entire duration of our stay. It certainly made our stay in Rio de Janeiro a very enjoyable one, already planning a return visit at some point in the future

95.2%
3 reviews Book Now 
5

Ganesha Guest Home

Guesthouse
Otávio Correia Street, 241, House 2, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 22291-180

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Ganesha Guest Home

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 93% Safety - 93%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 86%
Charles Barton
Alone
Events / festivals
91.4%
Charles would recommend this property 18 July 2014

I was welcomed with fresh coffee, fresh bread and fruits, even though I got there early. The owner is helpful and friendly, and thankfully speaks some English (unfortunately my Portuguese is pretty poor). I stayed in the private double room downstairs - it was charming, comfortable and convenient. The location is great, down a side street away from traffic. The area, Urca, is not far from Corcovado or Copacabana, but is much more relaxed and quiet, but with decent, unpretentious bars and restaurants, and even a little beach with great views.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Events / festivals
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 23 June 2014

Ganesha is a small bed and breakfast that makes you feel home. The hostess is very kind and helpful on every aspect regarding the city and how to get around. Is a great place to enjoy Rio and move easily around the city. Is located in a quiet neighborhood with good access by bus.

93.8%
38 reviews Book Now 
6

Favela Vidigal Guesthouse

Guesthouse
Av. Pres. João Goulart, Largo do Santinho, Vidigal, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 22452-160

37 out of 38 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Favela Vidigal Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 96% Staff - 96% Facilities - 87% Safety - 94%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 98%
Valeska Massue
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Valeska would recommend this property 28 August 2014

The view is astonishing. The house is perfect if you want peace and quietness.and everything was so clean... But go out and you will find bars and nightlife to have fun. Amazing place.

elizabeth Laird
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
elizabeth would recommend this property 12 January 2014

Great location, just 3 minutes walk from Largo do Santino, in Vidigal. Very friendly neighbours. After a few days, I felt very much at home in the location. I always felt safe when walking about and shopping in Vidigal. The property was secured by a surrounding wall with locked door onto the street. Vanessa provided excellent and sensitive support in helping me to settle in to the house and is location. Vanessa had lots of useful knowledge and advice to help me to make the most of my first trip to Rio.

92.7%
23 reviews Book Now 
7

Manga Hostel Lapa – Rio

Hostel
Rua do Lavradio 186, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 20230-070

22 out of 23 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Manga Hostel Lapa – Rio

Atmosphere - 93% Staff - 93% Facilities - 88% Safety - 94%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 89% Value - 92%
I. C. Turner
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break
94.3%
I. C. would recommend this property 29 November 2014

Ryan and a girl with curly hair and whose name beginning with M I cannot spell are really spot on. The 23-bed dorm is spacious and airy, with high ceilings and tall triple bunks. The amply-proportioned lockers forming a wall down the middle make it feel like there are fewer beds. There is a lot of communal space, having a television space with day bed and computer on the first floor and a back yard as well as the main reception/bar/dining/pool room. It is in the heart of Lapa, the main area for going out. There is a nice cat called Carlota too.

Sean Lockwood
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals
94.3%
Sean would recommend this property 28 July 2014

Great location, right in the heart of Lapa with metro station 10 mins walk away to get to the beach. Breakfast was good and the staff were friendly and helpful.

92.7%
7 reviews Book Now 
8

Lapa Astral Hostel

Hostel
Rua Joaquim Silva, 123, Centro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 20241-110

6 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Lapa Astral Hostel

Atmosphere - 97% Staff - 94% Facilities - 91% Safety - 88%
Location - 94% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 94%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 12 July 2014

The hostel felt safe as there was somebody on the door 24x7 and they would check all the dorms are locked on a regular basis. There were enough bathrooms for the number of people and the showers were hot and had great pressure. Hostel is 2 minutes walk to the arches and the famous stairs in Lapa. Good breakfast, beds and lockers

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals
57.1%
15 June 2014

The hostel is still fairly new and has a nice communal area, which makes it easy to meet people. Lapa is a great area for nightlife and this hostel is well positioned for enjoying the bars & street parties, especially at the weekend.

92.2%
38 reviews Book Now 
9

Global Rio de janeiro

Guesthouse
Ladeira de Santa Teresa, 45, 101, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 20241140

37 out of 38 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Global Rio de janeiro

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 100% Facilities - 87% Safety - 91%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 85%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife
71.4%
Customer would recommend this property 29 July 2014

Friendly couple who own the house, very helpful and knowledgable about Rio. Excellent location for Lapa and the colourful steps.

Kristian Johnson
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals
100.0%
Kristian would recommend this property 16 July 2014

I stayed here with two friends (all 22-year-old lads) during the 2014 World Cup and we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Sid and Elisa are incredibly friendly and knowledgeable about the city - if there is something they don't know, it is not worth knowing about! The house is VERY, VERY CLEAN and the bedrooms are great. The location is also fantastic; a one-minute walk from Lapa, where there are plenty of bars & restaurants, and a shirt ten-minute walk to the Metro. It was honestly one of the best places I've ever stayed.

92.0%
56 reviews Book Now 
10

El Misti Rooms

Hostel
Rua Emilio Berla 41, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 22-061-060

50 out of 56 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend El Misti Rooms

Atmosphere - 91% Staff - 93% Facilities - 88% Safety - 93%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 90%
I. C. Turner
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break
82.9%
I. C. would recommend this property 29 November 2014

It's just a few short blocks from Copacabana. They make dinner each night, and as a vegan charged me only 10 reals for loads of delicious roasted vegetables, potatoes &c. (The Argentine chef, though, while very nice, struggled to understand what animal products were and didn't tell me that there were eggs in the beetroot!) There is thorough recycling. The bathrooms, while a bit grotty, are at least individual ones rather than cubicles. The staff were in general helpful. Good breakfast.

I. C. Turner
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break
82.9%
I. C. would recommend this property 29 November 2014

It's just a few short blocks from Copacabana. They make dinner each night, and as a vegan charged me only 10 reals for loads of delicious roasted vegetables, potatoes &c. (The Argentine chef, though, while very nice, struggled to understand what animal products were and didn't tell me that there were eggs in the beetroot!) There is thorough recycling. The bathrooms, while a bit grotty, are at least individual ones rather than cubicles. The staff were in general helpful. Good breakfast.

Rio de Janeiro

109 Hostels from 5.71 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Rio de Janeiro hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Rio de Janeiro. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to Rio de Janeiro

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Rio de Janeiro. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter