HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

98.9%
5 reviews Book Now 
1

Lapa Astral Hostel

Hostel
Rua Joaquim Silva, 123, Centro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 20241-110

5 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Lapa Astral Hostel

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 100%
Cristiano Fernandes
Alone
Events / festivals
100.0%
Cristiano would recommend this property 27 February 2014

I absolutely loved this hostel it was by far the best i have stayed in. The location couldnt have been better.

Andrea Santana
Alone
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Andrea would recommend this property 25 February 2014

This is a new hostel in Lapa, so the place is organized and the beds are pretty confortable. It looks much better than the other hostels in the same área because of its design and service - the whole staff is very welcoming and helpful!

98.8%
7 reviews Book Now 
2

Discovery Hostel Rio

Hostel
Rua Benjamin Constant, 26, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 20241-150

7 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Discovery Hostel Rio

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 97% Safety - 100%
Location - 97% Cleanliness - 97% Value - 100%
Kirill Bobriashov
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife
100.0%
Kirill would recommend this property 15 March 2014

Very nice place, positive, communicate and polite staff. Stayed only 2 days and it was clean, comfortable, good wi-fi, location, price and tasty breakfast. My recomendations to everybody.

Peter Ayliffe
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Peter would recommend this property 23 September 2013

Excellet hostel. Very homely feel and seems to attract the right kind of travellers. Staff were fantastic and the breakfast was pretty decent. Definitely one of the most comfortable and sociable hostels I've stayed in. Also very nicely located... a walk away from Lapa and Santa Teresa and a metro ride away from the beaches. Nicely situated in the middle of everything really.

95.2%
3 reviews Book Now 
3

Casa Alto Vidigal

Hostel
Rua Armando de Almeida Lima, 2 Arvrão, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 22452-030

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Casa Alto Vidigal

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 93% Safety - 93%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%
DeLisa Smith
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
DeLisa would recommend this property 08 February 2014

This property is all it has been described as and more. The views are absoutely amazing. It has a rocking bar and an awesome DJ. The many different actors and actresses who come to the property just to be photographed because of the view really amazed me. The staff are friendly and very helpful. They went above and beyond for me and anyone else who asked. They even offer the same touristic tours you can get in town at a great discounted price.

Jody King
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Romantic getaway
91.4%
Jody would recommend this property 17 May 2013

It offers stunning views over Vidigal favela, Leblon and Ipanema beaches which is worth the fee alone. The favela is safe and the community is really friendly. The staff here are really welcoming and fun people. I love this place so much I am staying here for another month! I don't want to leave. Amazing hostel!

94.8%
6 reviews Book Now 
4

Aquarela Sweet Home Bed & Breakfast

Guesthouse
Av. Maracanã, 351, Maracanã, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 20271-111

6 out of 6 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Aquarela Sweet Home Bed & Breakfast

Atmosphere - 93% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 76% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 93%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 15 April 2011

Jose and Ricardo were great hosts - always willing to help. The place was exceptionally clean and the breakfasts were vastly superior to anything we have had elsewhere in South America.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 09 March 2011

Fantastic place to stay. Jose and Ricardo are more than accommodating — they'll help you out with whatever you need — plus they put on a fantastic breakfast. Facilities where great too — 24/7 hot showers, clean toilets and an immaculate self-service kitchen. Sao Cristovao Metro station is only a 5-10 minute walk away, making it easy to get around Rio.

93.9%
26 reviews Book Now 
5

Hotelinho da Urca

Guesthouse
Rua Marechal Cantuária, 10, Urca, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 22291-060

26 out of 26 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hotelinho da Urca

Atmosphere - 96% Staff - 98% Facilities - 85% Safety - 97%
Location - 97% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 90%
ELENA RODRIGUEZ DESPLOBAINS
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
ELENA would recommend this property 07 January 2014

Everything, superb breakfast, beautiful room , exquisite decoration, helpful staff, amazing views from terrace.

Sarah Martin
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Sarah would recommend this property 20 October 2013

We had a double private with ensuite in a bungalow on top of the building. It was isolated from everyone else and felt very private. We also had an amazing view of the bay from our shower. The location is excellent, right next to Sugarloaf Mountain and the bus to Ipanaema and Copacobana is right outside the front door.

93.9%
15 reviews Book Now 
6

Manga Hostel Lapa

Hostel
Rua do Lavradio 186, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 20230-070

15 out of 15 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Manga Hostel Lapa

Atmosphere - 96% Staff - 94% Facilities - 90% Safety - 96%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 89% Value - 97%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 11 March 2014

This hostel has the most friendly and helpful and fun staff of any place I have ever stayed! The location is also awesome, although it's a bit further from the beaches, it's so easy to catch a bus or the metro to them. Lapa is alive at night and so much fun to stay in with loads of character. The hostel is big and the atmosphere is really nice. The beds are great, we stayed in the 23 bed dorm and we thought it would be really cramped but it wasn't, large proper beds and enough space for everyone. An awesome place you stay, you couldn't have a bad time!

Jay Dickin
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Jay would recommend this property 13 November 2013

Manga seemed to be pretty much brand new. We were at the end of our travels and it was so nice to sit in the lounge and just chill with a big tv!

93.7%
37 reviews Book Now 
7

Favela Vidigal Guesthouse

Guesthouse
Av. Pres. João Goulart, Largo do Santinho, Vidigal, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 22452-160

36 out of 37 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Favela Vidigal Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 96% Staff - 96% Facilities - 87% Safety - 94%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 98%
elizabeth Laird
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
elizabeth would recommend this property 12 January 2014

Great location, just 3 minutes walk from Largo do Santino, in Vidigal. Very friendly neighbours. After a few days, I felt very much at home in the location. I always felt safe when walking about and shopping in Vidigal. The property was secured by a surrounding wall with locked door onto the street. Vanessa provided excellent and sensitive support in helping me to settle in to the house and is location. Vanessa had lots of useful knowledge and advice to help me to make the most of my first trip to Rio.

Mitchell Stone
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Mitchell would recommend this property 14 November 2013

Great place to stay in Rio. Venessa and Tito are very helpfull. Excellent value for money and a more 'Brazilian' experience than staying in Leblon, Ipanema or Copacabana. Highly recommendable.

93.3%
24 reviews Book Now 
8

Carioca Guest House

Guesthouse
Rua Alice, 118, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 22241-020

22 out of 24 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Carioca Guest House

Atmosphere - 96% Staff - 97% Facilities - 89% Safety - 96%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 85% Value - 95%
Abhishek Mihir Halder
Alone
Work / volunteering
94.3%
Abhishek Mihir would recommend this property 10 August 2013

Carioca's USP is that its a guest house. Being not too crowded makes the place more cosy, friendly, relaxed and secure for its guests. The colonial setup of the property adds to it. Was a home away from home for me. The owners are very nice, always helpful to cater to the needs of the guests. They welcome you with a smile and ensure that you have a pleasant stay. I was really impressed with their homework towards maintaining the atmosphere at Carioca. Great job guys !! Rooms were clean with comfortable beds and had air-con. No problem of bugs. Was lucky to have the single separate bed as I was staying for a long time. Thanks to Liam for that consideration. The private bathrooms and other amenities were up to the mark. A spacious lounge area made for a great place to interact with other guests. The neighbourhood is great. Pretty much in proximity to everything one would need as a traveller. Loved my time there. Couldn't have asked for more. My stay there has left an indelible mark in my memory.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 20 July 2013

They treat you more like a local and friend rather than a tourist. They wont sell you on tours, but can get in contact with them. They offer sound advice to save you money. It´s small with only 14 beds b/t 2 rooms and there´s some long term guests. Good location near bus stops and about 10 min walk to metro. The rooms feel more like a hostel, but everything else feels like a guest house.

92.8%
33 reviews Book Now 
9

Global Rio de janeiro

Guesthouse
Ladeira de Santa Teresa, 45, 101, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 20241140

32 out of 33 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Global Rio de janeiro

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 100% Facilities - 86% Safety - 92%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 97% Value - 88%
jozsef levente csapo
Alone
City break
80.0%
jozsef levente would recommend this property 23 March 2014

Freiendly staff & Clean place. Good place to stay if you like a quite athmosphre.

Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 20 November 2013

Wonderful hosts; very genuine and hard-working. They're extremely helpful without being intrusive in any way. They also have the cutest 18-month-old who loves new people. Located just steps away from the Lapa Arches; very happening place. Definitely a little more character on this side of town than Copacabana/Inpanema. Bathrooms/room/kitchen very clean and cozy. Definitely worth every penny (or centavo).

92.6%
81 reviews Book Now 
10

Fatima Macintyre Guesthouse

Guesthouse
Rua General Venancio Flores, 555 Ap. 101, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 22441-090

78 out of 81 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Fatima Macintyre Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 91% Staff - 93% Facilities - 83% Safety - 97%
Location - 98% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 92%
Catherine Carragher
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Catherine would recommend this property 17 July 2013

Fatima, daughter Julia and housekeeper were all very friendly and helpful. Room clean, beautifully decorated apartment, given own space to come and go as pleased. Very safe, fantastic location. Felt very at home here. Stayed with partner twice and alone here once. Will be returning again if ever in rio. Definitely recommend.

María Belén Llull
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
María Belén would recommend this property 05 April 2013

Fátima es lo más! Si van a Río deberían alojarse en lo de Fátima. Su casa está super bien ubicada, en el Barrio Leblon, uno de los más lindos. Las habitaciones son muy lindas y limpias, al igual que los lugares comunes de la casa. Fátima es muy agradable y te ayuda un montón con el viaje, dándote todos los detalles que necesitas para tu estadía. No sólo lo recomiendo, sino que si vuelvo a Río no dudaría en parar allí!

Rio de Janeiro

113 Hostels from 8.95 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Rio de Janeiro hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Rio de Janeiro. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to Rio de Janeiro

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Rio de Janeiro. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter