We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Solar Chacara Hostel

Hostel | Estrada do Vidigal 701, Chacara do Ceu, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 22450-230

89.0% Overall Rating

14 out of 15 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/04/2014)

Mark Brown thinks…

"Everything was amazing. The staff were so helpful and nice and someone was always around to help. Its more like living in a beach house and felt more like a home stay as we had the place mostly to…"

Read all Solar Chacara Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.11

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rio de Janeiro

Favela Vidigal Guesthouse
21.09 USD

Guesthouse 93.8% 38 reviews
Fatima Macintyre Guesthouse
42.17 USD

Guesthouse 91.5% 83 reviews
Varandas do Vidigal
10.33 USD

Hostel 100.0% 3 reviews
Casa Alto Vidigal
10.54 USD

Hostel 91.4% 4 reviews
Lemon Spirit Hostel
110.50 USD

Hostel 90.9% 53 reviews
Vidigalbergue Rio Hostel
10.54 USD

Hostel 89.3% 46 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema
21.34 USD

Hostel 78.6% 124 reviews
Ipanema Beach House
27.41 USD

Hostel 86.2% 126 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.0%

Overall Rating

14 out of 15 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Solar Chacara Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
90.7%
Cleanliness
85.3%
Staff
90.7%
Value
90.7%
Safety
93.3%
Refine your results Showing 11 of 15 reviews
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

23 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: les parties communes sont tre bien..la cuisine et le salon sont parfait.

Disliked: notre chambre etait super humide...nos vetements dans notre valise etait mouillé... pas de menage dans les chambre,pour le prix ils pourraient le faire. la distance vis a vis du centre... il n y a personne a l accueil... nous avions demander un taxi pour le retour,et personne n etait au courant,la femme de chambre a du appeler quelqu un pour confirmer que le taxi arrivait....

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Brown

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was amazing. The staff were so helpful and nice and someone was always around to help. Its more like living in a beach house and felt more like a home stay as we had the place mostly to ourselves. Huge kitchen and such an amazing breakfast everyday. Rooms big and clean with lockers.

Disliked: Nada

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Merlin Naisar

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2014 Merlin would recommend this property

Liked: the view .incrediblehostel.super good breakfast and lovely stuff.

Disliked: its a bit ofa wolk from ipanema.location is not sooo good.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

24 February 2014

Liked: Nice kitchen and living room area; however, it's shared with the family who owns the hostel, so often the common areas are occupied by the family. Porch overlooks beautiful cliffs and ocean!

Disliked: The location offers beautiful views, but is far from any shops. To get to the heart of Leblon and Ipanema takes closer to 30 minutes at a brisk pace. Also, not a great atmosphere for socializing with fellow travelers. Especially far from nightlife.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

James Barratt

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 February 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: The living areas were very pleasant and the staff were very friendly. The location was great and the fact breakfast was included helped a lot.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Thomas Carlson

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: New, beautiful view, friendly staff, not too big a hostel so not many people around

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

05 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great stay! It's more like a big beach house rather than a hostel. Stayed with a friend in a private room. The owner Vivian is extremely nice and ready to help you with anything. The bar is a good bonus, you can by frozen foods and drinks if you're too tired to go out. You pay when you leave. Though at the end we didn't even have to pay for our rental bikes because to Vivian everything is a 'no problem'! Good location, Leblon beach is within a 10min walk and a smaller beach right down the hill. Taxi to Ipanema or Copacabana is around 15 reais. The house has cats inside.

Disliked: Some nights you could hear dogs barking outside

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcel Klein

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

06 October 2013 Marcel would recommend this property

Liked: I was really amazed when I arrived at Solar Chacara... I've been to many Hostels around the world but this is the one that I could actually live in for few years.. It's a massive house turned into a Hostel. The living room is massive and beatiful, the staff are helpful and friendly! The location could not be better - 5 min walk to Leblon! So yes, Highly reccomend it!! Tks

Disliked: No dislikes for me!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the common areas are very nice and the staff super friendly! has a nice view of the ocean and good location for beaches.

Disliked: it needs a little bit more of work the 5 bed dorm

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

zsofia magony

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

05 March 2013 zsofia would recommend this property

Liked: A fantastic place all together! Very laid back and chilled ambient. Great beaches in a walking distance, nice and comfortable rooms, ocean view from the common terraces! Great lounge and kitchen area. Rich buffet breakfast, friendly and helpful stuff. I am feeling lucky to find this hostel! Thank you!

Disliked: none

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Soroor Arabzadeh

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2013 Soroor would recommend this property

Liked: great water views. very close to leblon and vidigal beach. buses at doorstep. not overcrowded with backpackers. relaxed atmosphere. friendly and helpful staff. Great spacious rooms. breakfast was until 11am so we could sleep in.

Disliked: only thing was that the bed was some foam on a board and the toilet was a bit dirty.