HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Carioca Guest House

Guesthouse | Rua Alice, 118, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 22241-020

93.3% Overall Rating

22 out of 24 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/08/2013)

Abhishek Mihir Halder thinks…

"Carioca's USP is that its a guest house. Being not too crowded makes the place more cosy, friendly, relaxed and secure for its guests. The colonial setup of the property adds to it. Was a home away…"

Read all Carioca Guest House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.35
  • Towel USD 2.25

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that once you have paid the 10% deposit through Hostelbookers for Rock in Rio period (from 12th until the 22nd of September), Christmas, New Year or Carnival, the reservation will only be confirmed upon receipt of payment for another 50% of the total. We will contact you once you have made your original reservation with further information. Bookings without the full 50% deposit up front will not be honoured. The remaining 50% is to be paid at check in. Extra nights will be charged at normal rates.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rio de Janeiro

Samba Palace
13.50 USD

Hostel 87.2% 77 reviews
Cafe Rio Hostel
24.75 USD

Hostel 89.4% 63 reviews
Casa 579
18.00 USD

Hostel 90.3% 82 reviews
Cafofo Hostel
17.55 USD

Hostel 88.7% 22 reviews
Hostel in Rio
33.75 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Sarréufa Club Hostel
22.50 USD

Hostel 55.1% 45 reviews
Cortiço Hostel
103.51 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Rio Soul Hostel
12.60 USD

Hostel 84.5% 56 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.3%

Overall Rating

22 out of 24 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Carioca Guest House'

Atmosphere
96.7%
Location
93.3%
Facilities
89.2%
Cleanliness
85.0%
Staff
97.5%
Value
95.0%
Safety
96.7%
Refine your results Showing 18 of 21 reviews
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Abhishek Mihir Halder

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 August 2013 Abhishek Mihir would recommend this property

Liked: Carioca's USP is that its a guest house. Being not too crowded makes the place more cosy, friendly, relaxed and secure for its guests. The colonial setup of the property adds to it. Was a home away from home for me. The owners are very nice, always helpful to cater to the needs of the guests. They welcome you with a smile and ensure that you have a pleasant stay. I was really impressed with their homework towards maintaining the atmosphere at Carioca. Great job guys !! Rooms were clean with comfortable beds and had air-con. No problem of bugs. Was lucky to have the single separate bed as I was staying for a long time. Thanks to Liam for that consideration. The private bathrooms and other amenities were up to the mark. A spacious lounge area made for a great place to interact with other guests. The neighbourhood is great. Pretty much in proximity to everything one would need as a traveller. Loved my time there. Couldn't have asked for more. My stay there has left an indelible mark in my memory.

Disliked: Abhishek Mihir left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break

29 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and the place was great value for money.

Disliked: Nothing much, really.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They treat you more like a local and friend rather than a tourist. They wont sell you on tours, but can get in contact with them. They offer sound advice to save you money. It´s small with only 14 beds b/t 2 rooms and there´s some long term guests. Good location near bus stops and about 10 min walk to metro. The rooms feel more like a hostel, but everything else feels like a guest house.

Disliked: Long term guests snoring every night. Get to bed early to beat the vocal beat!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel McPherrin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Great owners and staff, good safe location

Disliked: The hot water was out in the upstairs shower

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2013

Liked: nice living room, located in a safe area, just 14 beds

Disliked: I really think that some reviews must be fake, a rating of more than 96% is far to much!!!!!!!!! Wifi just in living room, kitchen is very run-down and dirty, bathrooms could also be cleaner, staff is not always present. The hostel is not really bad, I just felt fooled be the high ratings that name it the best hostel in Rio, in fact, it is just slightly better than average!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joanne Evans

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2013 Joanne would recommend this property

Liked: Almost the perfect hostel. Plenty of space, not too many rooms, huge TV and uber-comfortable lounge where you can choose to sleep if you want to save some cash, there's actually a double mattress you can sleep on! Staff are friendly, bi-lingual and helpful, always trying to include all guests in cooking, going out etc. Smart pool table. Cheap laundry. Comfy 3 tiered beds. We enjoyed our stay so much we're actually still here 10 days later.

Disliked: Splitting hairs really but there's no breakfast included and you're not allowed to bring alcohol from off the premises as they sell their own, but they're a little more expensive than elsewhere. However I'd still stay here again in a heartbeat.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Moa Rahmn

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2013 Moa would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the staff, they were so helpful and invited us to BBQ, a samba night etc. We felt really welcomed. Common areas were cozy and made it easy to talk to other travellers. Rooms were clean and it was located in a safe neighbourhood, we never felt threatened walking around. Bus stop was rifht outside with buses to every part of Rio. Supermarket, ATM, postal office etc. were all close by. We would love to come back sometime! :)

Disliked: Common kitchen could be a litte bit more clean at times.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

26 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Carioca Guest House offers the best value for your money! The location is a very nice colonial building in a very safe area. Supermarket and bars in distance of 50m. The owner is really friendly and always helps you if you've got a problem. Even if there are big lockers for your baggage you don't need them because the atmosphere is extremely familiar!! I will miss Carioca Guest House and would always come back!!

Disliked: There are lots of mosquitos

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lars Rinn

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

24 March 2013 Lars would recommend this property

Liked: Rodrigo and Laura are the best hostel owners one could imagine

Disliked: Lars left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rowan Clark

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2013 Rowan would recommend this property

Liked: Great friendly place to staff. Nice quiet hostel and staff more than happy to help you out and give you info about day trips, buses, parties etc. Air con comes on at night time before bed and rooms are kept clean. Good size kitchen with all the utensils (except unfortunately for a toaster). The owners are great people and this hostel will only get better!

Disliked: Rowan left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kasper Svendsen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 March 2013 Kasper would recommend this property

Liked: Great crew! Really cool, friendly and helpfull guys rodrigo and Paula! S The house is like a guesthouse more than a typical hostel, which I liked a lot cause it was more like staying in a home than in a crowded hostel. Very relaxing, clean and safe. Good living rooms with nice couches and big tv's and a really fast Internet. Nice doorms with really good temperature and air condition! Nice bathrooms and showers and of course a really good kitchen to make food in! Free water. Nice area. Good price and cute dog! it's the first hostel I've been to where you can relax the same way as in your home. Really recommend this place!

Disliked: Not much bad about this place! These guys knows what travelers are lookin for. The hostel is in laranjeiras so of you wanna go to copacabana, ipanema it is 15 minutes by bus, but they go all the time and costs 2,5 reales.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brendon Eby

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

06 March 2013 Brendon would recommend this property

Liked: Im really glad I found this place! Everyone is treated like family as soon as they arrive. Location is great, the staff is very friendly and knowledgeable, the wifi is the fastest I have seen, and the air con is a definite plus. And its huge... you are not going to find a better value in Rio. Highly recommended!

Disliked: That I couldn't stay longer! I felt like I was at home... If you aren't careful this is the kind of place you can end up getting stuck at for a while.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Gostei muito da atmosfera. O staff é muito simpático e prestativo, fazendo com que os hóspedes se sintam em casa e criando interação entre todos. As jantas organizadas também são muito boas, tanto a comida como o preço!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cezar Nedel

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

22 February 2013 Cezar would recommend this property

Liked: Foi minha primeira experiência em hostel, mas eu acho que eu deveria ter começado antes. É uma galera muito legal que trabalha lá e os companheiros de quarto era bem animados e educados! Foi uma experiência muito boa! Recomendo!

Disliked: Eles têm um cachorrinho muito bonitinho e simpático, mas eu sou alergico. Porém, não há como não gostar desse cachorrinho.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rodrigo pinto

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

21 February 2013 rodrigo would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, great house, confortable music and place. It is just like a friends house.

Disliked: They could offer the breakfast, but the explain me that it is better to do not offer than offer a bad one.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really helpful and friendly, make you feel completly at home. The house is big and spacious, and the rooms are very clean, smelling like new.

Disliked: Could be closer to the beach, but I´m sure in this case it would be much more expensive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ricardo Batista

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2013 Ricardo would recommend this property

Liked: What a cool place!! Nice people and good atmosphere. Is like being at home, but with a good bar, friends from all the world and close of everything for a good price. The air conditioner in the room is a great deal, I didn’t find this in some hostels in the city.

Disliked: Nothing bd to tell about it! Was an awesome surprise to find something that good for a good price

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

17 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very comfortable! It a very nice place where makes u really want to spend time in. The cleanliness is a high point of the house! And the staff are always with a good mood and a big smile! Very fun people!

Disliked: I cound.t be there longer because I have a ticket to leave today.