HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hercus Santa Teresa

Hostel | Rua Silvio Romero 22, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 20230-100

78.7% Overall Rating

7 out of 11 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/01/2014)

"Loved the staff-- they were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The location is also very good!"

Read all Hercus Santa Teresa reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Breakfast

Important Information

Follow our policy of reservations To confirm the bookings we charge an advance payment. (50%) The remaining is paid at the moment of the check in. Cancellation Policy If cancelled 60 days before date arrival, no fee will be charged. If cancelled 30 days prior to arrival, will be charged 50% of the reservation. If cancelled up to 7 days before date of arrival will be charged 95% of the reservation. If cancelled later or in case of no-shows you will becharged 100% of the total reservation. If you fail to pay 50% after 3 days of your booking, the reservation will be cancelled. After payment, send us proof of the deposit.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rio de Janeiro

Rio Aplauso Hostel
11.13 USD

Hostel 81.1% 10 reviews
Books Hostel
17.81 USD

Hostel 90.4% 52 reviews
Bossa in Rio Hostel
14.25 USD

Hostel 83.1% 96 reviews
Rio Forest Hostel
20.03 USD

Hostel 78.1% 3 reviews
Global Rio de janeiro
17.81 USD

Guesthouse 92.8% 33 reviews
Terra Brasilis Hostel
15.58 USD

Hostel 90.4% 174 reviews
Manga Hostel Lapa
15.58 USD

Hostel 93.9% 15 reviews
Lapa Hostel
15.58 USD

Hostel 83.3% 46 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.7%

Overall Rating

7 out of 11 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hercus Santa Teresa'

Atmosphere
70.9%
Location
90.9%
Facilities
72.7%
Cleanliness
76.4%
Staff
89.1%
Value
76.4%
Safety
74.6%
Refine your results Showing 10 of 11 reviews
Reset filter
40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Sanmita Palit

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2014

Liked: Nothing really.

Disliked: The hostel was really dirty. We refused to sleep in the first dorm thas it was a dump and smelled horrible. The second dorm had 9 beds in a double room with beds right next to 6foot open window with no grill or anything so you could just roll over in your bed and fall out of a window from the second floor. There was no space to walk around in the room. The matresses are never dusted and was just covered with dust. The breakfast was okay.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

david hannam

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2014

Liked: leaving! also staff where nice

Disliked: everything! no security (locker doors hanging off, the huge window larger than a door is left open all day and night on side road in lapa) room was disgusting - 12 people in tiny space and looked like it should be on a channel 4 documentary about inhumane living conditions. By far the worse place I've ever set foot in

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

07 March 2014

Liked: It was based within walking distance of Lapa which was really useful

Disliked: There are a couple of good members of staff but also 2 who dont want to help so you really have to ask your questions to the helpful ones. I came back from my room all day to find my things had been randomly moved around and a bracelet and charger taken. So be very careful. It is also really hard to find and if you are a lone girl I would not book this hostel purely because of location. I also booked through hostel bookers and they had cancelled my reservation when I had arrived and then tried to double charge me. I ended up paying the price it was originally but I had to argue. Also had the same conversation in the morning when they had booked me in for the wrong days. To be fair to the hostel they tried to help me but I could tell they got frustrated with my attempts at Spanish as they coudnt speak much english.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2014

Liked: Loved the staff-- they were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The location is also very good!

Disliked: The breakfast is only white bread with ham and cheese. One day we had stale bread and another day only ham and no cheese. The wi-fi is not strong enough to use around the hostel, and it really only works by the reception area. It is a small house, so it felt very crammed at times... and very hot! The kitchen is not well equipped, and it has a lot of ants and fruit flies. Overall, the hostel is very bare-bones. The only thing it has going for it is the staff. If you want a clean, relaxed place with great views, I recommend Bosa in Rio Hostel (located 5 minutes from Hercus). If you want a fun hostel that has a more "backpacker" feel, go to Books Hostel (around the corner from Hercus). Both have a great staff, a breakfast buffet, an on-site bar and more comfortable beds.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Christopher Smith

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

26 September 2013 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Great location (just off the main street with all the Lapa bars but far enough that you can get some sleep), nice staff, a standard hostel breakfast included. Three computers for internet access and WiFi too. Hostel is gated so safe although Lapa isn't as dangerous as some people make out.

Disliked: Needs lockers. The underbed storage didn't seem that secure although I think your posessions would be safe anyway. Rooms a bit cramped with triple bunk beds

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful stuff

Disliked: Toilets

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Staff and Music nights!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Belchior

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

23 May 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Great and gentle staff, check in as a host and check out as a friend. Strong cultural environment, with graffitis, painted walls and always with a nice and cool soundtrack. Great location. Everything new and clean at hostel.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan García

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2013 Juan would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, near to many good parties in Lapa! Awesome staff, a very nice ambiance... Met some really cool people!

Disliked: Juan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is what a hostel should be....! it is just cool! chilled out vibe, staff are very very friendly speak a whole range of languages luckily for me they stuck to English! the place is brand spanking new so everything is clean fresh! has outside area, had a bbq there and they made us caipirinhas.... was superb! Lapa is two minutes away so the location is also very good! whether you want to chill out or go mad...this hostel has it all! they also organised a tour for me to go on, i didnt have to do anything at all! highly recomended!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.