We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Manga Hostel Lapa – Rio

Hostel | Rua do Lavradio 186, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 20230-070

92.6% Overall Rating

21 out of 22 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/07/2014)

Sean Lockwood thinks…

"Great location, right in the heart of Lapa with metro station 10 mins walk away to get to the beach. Breakfast was good and the staff were friendly and helpful."

Read all Manga Hostel Lapa – Rio reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that the Manga hostel requires pre-payment for the first night as soon as you made a booking. If there are any problems with this, Manga hostel will contact you in email to arrange for this. Failure to cooperate may result in the cancellation of the booking without refunds. Hostel will charge you 50% of pre payment for these period and for carnival too(28/02/2014 to 05/03/2014) and it´s non refundable. AGE RESTRICTIONS: MANGA HOSTELS IS A +18 HOSTEL. no one under 18 will be allowed in the hostel. Special Conditions ***New Years Eve 2015 5 minimum stay. From 28/12/2014 to 02/01/2015 50% advanced payment, not refundable ***Carnaval 5 minimum stay. from 13/02 2015 to 18/02 2015 50% advanced payment, not refundable ***Semana santa: from 02/04/2015 to 05/03/2015 5 minimum stay. 50% advanced payment, not refundable

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rio de Janeiro

Lapa Hostel
10.54 USD

Hostel 83.2% 49 reviews
Books Hostel
14.76 USD

Hostel 90.2% 53 reviews
Rio Aplauso Hostel
12.65 USD

Hostel 82.1% 12 reviews
Global Rio de janeiro
16.87 USD

Guesthouse 92.2% 38 reviews
CaipiHostel
14.76 USD

Hostel 90.6% 65 reviews
Bossa in Rio Hostel
13.50 USD

Hostel 85.4% 101 reviews
Rio Forest Hostel
10.54 USD

Hostel 78.1% 3 reviews
Terra Brasilis Hostel
16.87 USD

Hostel 91.1% 180 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.6%

Overall Rating

21 out of 22 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Manga Hostel Lapa – Rio'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
95.5%
Facilities
89.1%
Cleanliness
89.1%
Staff
94.6%
Value
91.8%
Safety
94.6%
Refine your results Showing 8 of 22 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DIEGO ANDRE GUTIERREZ SOTO

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2014 DIEGO ANDRE would recommend this property

Liked: El staff muy amigable, el aire acondicionado estaba bueno

Disliked: Los lockers de las maletas muy pequeños

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sean Lockwood

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, right in the heart of Lapa with metro station 10 mins walk away to get to the beach. Breakfast was good and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Music was on loud in the main reception area until 6 in the morning one night with people up drinking. I know this as heard it all night and it was only turned off just after I woke up. Now I'm all for people having a good time but due to the nature of the building the music echoes around the rooms which are upstairs with people often leaving the doors open. The staff on duty didn't seemed concerned about those of us trying to get some sleep and I would have thought music off at 12-2 would be beneficial to all guests.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

brian davidson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2014

Liked: Manga Hostel had comfortable beds and a good location. The breakfast was good. The employees were good.

Disliked: It was 12 people per dorm, the dorm was hot often, there were way too many people in the dorm, the common room would party so late into the night screaming and chanting and playing beer pong. Who plays beer pong every night? I stayed there for 6 nights and I played on one night, but that kind of partying is childish, and the guests would play every night. Very loud, and they needed more fans, it is hot in this hostel

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nancy Umaña B.

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2014 Nancy would recommend this property

Liked: Eu gostei demais!

Disliked: Nancy left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has the most friendly and helpful and fun staff of any place I have ever stayed! The location is also awesome, although it's a bit further from the beaches, it's so easy to catch a bus or the metro to them. Lapa is alive at night and so much fun to stay in with loads of character. The hostel is big and the atmosphere is really nice. The beds are great, we stayed in the 23 bed dorm and we thought it would be really cramped but it wasn't, large proper beds and enough space for everyone. An awesome place you stay, you couldn't have a bad time!

Disliked: It would be nice if breakfast could run just a bit later than 10am, and also have a bit more variation although the cheese and ham toasties are a treat!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jay Dickin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2013 Jay would recommend this property

Liked: Manga seemed to be pretty much brand new. We were at the end of our travels and it was so nice to sit in the lounge and just chill with a big tv!

Disliked: There were a lot of flies but they weren't too much of a problem. The breakfast was also rather dull.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Sadler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Good beds, each with power socket and light, big lockers. Caipirinha happy hour Friday and Saturday great vibe! Location is awesome for lapa partying.

Disliked: In a 24 bed dorm, the main problem was bathroom, 2 toilets with one out of order for three of my four day stay. Locks for showers in a mixed dorm would be good as a guy accidentally opened the door when I was showering..,embarrassing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael McMullen

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

21 April 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: everything, perfect location, clean, safe, comfortable, good staff, free caipirinhas

Disliked: nothing, but there were not many people because it is new. If they were at full capacity, I think it would have been a bit crowded.