HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of El Misti Rooms

Hostel | Rua Emilio Berla 41, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 22-061-060

89.9% Overall Rating

40 out of 45 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/04/2014)

Melanie Best thinks…

"El Misti is by far the best hostel we stayed in in Brazil. Where do I start? The staff are amazing, not only helpful but friendly 24/7 and you are treated like a friend rather than a customer. A home…"

Read all El Misti Rooms reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.90

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Age Restrictions: No persons under 18 years old can book shared rooms Cancellation Policy We require a 50% deposit to confirm and guarantee any reservation. The remaining balance must be paid at the check-in time. Any cancellations with less than 72-hours notice prior to the check-in time will not receive deposit refunds. Any request for a cancellation or modification must be submitted in writing. The same rules apply for both cancellations and modifications. Any no-shows will be charged 100% of the reservation total after 24-hours from the check-in time if no notification is received by El Misti Hostels. We recommend that all guests purchase traveler’s insurance to protect themselves from any unforeseen circumstances. In the case that you need to make an insurance claim, El Misti Hostels will help you in any way possible including providing documentation, etc. *Cancellations for groups of 6 or more people must be made with at least a full 2 (two) week’s notice. In this case, the group may collect 100% of their deposit paid to El Misti (not including deposits made through 3rd party sites). Any cancellations made with insufficient notice will not have any portion of the deposit refunded. *Cancellations for the Holy Week Package can only be made up until March. 15, 100% reimbursable. Any cancellations made after that date will not have deposits refunded. *Cancellations for the Soccer World Cup 2014 (from June 10th until July 15th) can only be made before February 1 and are 100% refundable (not including deposits made through 3rd party sites). Any cancellations made after that date will not have deposits refunded.The hostel reserves the right to charge a security deposit of 700 reals that will be refunded at the check-out as soon as damages are not caused to our property. *Cancellations for the New Years Package can only be made before Nov. 30 and are 100% refundable (not including deposits made through 3rd party sites). Any cancellations made after that date will not have deposits refunded. * Cancellations for the Summer Season 2015 can only be made 15 days before check in date, 100% refundable. Cancellations made after that date will not be refunded deposits. *Cancellations for the Carnaval 2015 Package can only be made up until Dec. 12, 100% reimbursable. Any cancellations made after that date will not have deposits refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rio de Janeiro

Rio Backpackers
17.97 USD

Hostel 80.5% 48 reviews
El Misti Hostel Copacabana
13.44 USD

Hostel 74.3% 173 reviews
Rio Ritz Hostel
17.97 USD

Hostel 65.4% 55 reviews
Walk On The Beach Hostel
17.97 USD

Hostel 89.1% 172 reviews
Copacabana Apartment
39.54 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Che Lagarto Suites Copacabana Anita
41.16 USD

Hostel 80.6% 129 reviews
Blue Ocean Hostel
32.35 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Che Lagarto Suites Copacabana Santa Clara
71.69 USD

Apartment 79.0% 33 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.9%

Overall Rating

40 out of 45 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'El Misti Rooms'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
92.8%
Value
85.6%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 28 of 44 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melanie Best

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014 Melanie would recommend this property

Liked: El Misti is by far the best hostel we stayed in in Brazil. Where do I start? The staff are amazing, not only helpful but friendly 24/7 and you are treated like a friend rather than a customer. A home from home! The chef, Leo, is fantastic! The evening meals (only 15-18brl) are not only good value for money but are delicious! The same goes for the breakfast, fresh, plenty and a good variety. It is extremely safe as they have a 24hour reception and a security guard who stays through the night. Location only 2 blocks from beach, 2 blocks from metro, 1 block to main road with buses all around rio and 1 block from supermarket/atm. The dorms are always clean as are the shower rooms as there are cleaners all through the day and early eve. Wifi available everywhere and is fast (unlike a lot of other hostels). The communal area allows the hostel to be very sociable but if you want an early night this is also possible! The dorms all have air con through the night and are very spacious compared to many we have seen. They are helpful when organising trips and nights but not at all pushy! Overall we would strongly recommend a stay here in rio, we wish we could stay for longer!!!!!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

PRISCILA VINHOLA

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Visiting friends or family

01 April 2014 PRISCILA would recommend this property

Liked: Muito bem localizado, organizado, pessoal preparado.

Disliked: none

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

07 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the El Misti hostel! staff is amazing, they picked my up from the airport, drove me to the hostel and even gave me breakfast! amazing people working and staying there. I've been over the craziest period - the Carnival, and staff organized going to bloco parties, helping with metro and just made my stay insanely amazing. plus, lots of incredibly nice people I've met staying there.

Disliked: small things like painting the doors of the rooms when u check in, but that didn't ruin anything :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CINTIA NUÑEZ

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 December 2013 CINTIA would recommend this property

Liked: El hostel es muy comodo y con mucha onda para todos los viajeros!!... es como seguir en casa con amigos.. el staff muy atento con todo lo que necesites y te dan los mejores consejos para disfrutar a pleno RIO de JANEIRO!!... (y cuidando tu dinero)... el desayuno abundante (te sirve para safar el almuerzo!!... lo mejor... el BARMAN y sus cahipiriñas!!!...

Disliked: ---

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pia Lamérand

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break

16 November 2013 Pia would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the atsmophere and the location. Everything went smoothly! The staff is very helpful and there is a lot a great party planned. I was traveling alone, but was never alone during my stay! It was perfect!

Disliked: The bathroom are not always very clean, but it is hard to keep the place clean with so many people going around.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and local

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

03 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast, nice staff.

Disliked: You're not allowed to drink alcohol.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

22 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Welcoming atmosphere and good activities organised. Perfect if traveling alone.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast, hot showers, great location.

Disliked: Size of the rooms are small. Three tier bunk beds, no bar and social area.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful staff, free wifi in the rooms, save neighbourhood, close to the beach and shops, easy to reach from the bus terminal.

Disliked: 3-store-bunkbeds in a small room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MATTHEW FIELD

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2013 MATTHEW would recommend this property

Liked: A very clean and well maintained hostel with a welcoming atmosphere. The location was great and the staff very enthusiastic and willing to help where they could. The breakfast was good and the reccommended tours excellent. 10/10

Disliked: MATTHEW left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ulrika Linde

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 April 2013 Ulrika would recommend this property

Liked: It is a great atmosphere and booth staff and other guests has been very kind and helpfull! Pedro and Santiago from the staff are excellent! This hostel is great for everyone!

Disliked: Ulrika left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jan Thomas Alter

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 April 2013 Jan Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very well located and absolutely safe with a 24/7 reception. One of the cleanest hostel I' ve ever stayed at. Open and laidback hostel community. A fantastic breakfast which very hotels will hardly beat.

Disliked: The hostel has three floor bunk beds

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

guadalupe perez cesaretti

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 April 2013 guadalupe would recommend this property

Liked: Me gusto mucho la disponibilidad del staff ante cualquier duda y recomendaciones para hacer actividades. También me encanto la casa, super cómoda, con aire, desayuno abundante y un ambiente familiar. ME SENTÍ COMO EN CASA!! ALTAMENTE RECOMENDABLE!!!

Disliked: me tocaron días de lluvia, pero no los voy a culpar o.O :D

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Victor Galvez

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2013

Liked: Nice people and friendly.

Disliked: ITs so hot, the bathroom and common places are always dirty, the bed its no so comfortable and the conditionary air works only in the night, The bed is dirty and sometimes, the place is noisy ,

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great bar at the lobby but hot in summer

Disliked: the hostel is located in a very noisy street in the mornings

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Esta ubicado en un lugar seguro, no tan cerca de la playa...es caluroso pero afortunadamente las habitaciones tienen aire acondicionado. Los baños no muy bien cuidados...algo sucios. En general es un buen lugar, acorde con el precio que cobran...probablemente con un poco más de cuidado estaría muy bien.

Disliked: Los baños un poco sucios y el lobby muy caluroso...deberían tener un sistema de extracción de aire y/o aire acondicionado....muy sofocante

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are absolutely excellent and helpful

Disliked: Needs a/c in common areas and more frequent cleaning, too many beds in tiny rooms.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Common areas and breakfast are great! Staff are friendly and always willing to answer any questions you have!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lesley Adjebeng

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2013 Lesley would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has the most amazing staff I could have ever wished for during my 5 weeks stay in RJ. I now consider them friends who I dearly miss and cannot wait to see again very soon. Everybody is very friendly and helpful, the atmosphere is great and the guys are almost always willing to show you around town, take you out, integrate you into social life and make you feel welcome. And with its prime location 5mins from Copacabana beach you cannot ask for much more.. The girls cleaning there are very lovely and are working hard to maintain a good standard of cleanliness throughout the day. Dependent on the amount of people at the hostel the conditions of bathrooms may vary which however is more related to people being careless than to the cleaning service. The buffet for breakfast is not to be missed: fresh fruits, French sticks, toasts, ham, cheese, cereals, juice, coffee and a very tasty (but addictive!) cake are a great start into the day :) I would and I will most certainly return. Mario, Martin, Franco, Leila y mi Laurita los adoro, gracias por todo <3 Federico tienes un equipo increible!! nos vemos muy pronto x

Disliked: Lesley left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2013

Liked: The worst in my 2 months in South America

Disliked: Everything

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Vikram Bhagdev

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 January 2013 Vikram would recommend this property

Liked: great friendly people at the reception always ready to help. perfect location. had an awesome time

Disliked: Vikram left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

PAOLA IANNUZZI

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013 PAOLA would recommend this property

Liked: En 15 dias volvi 3 veces a este mismo hostel. La relacion calidad-precio es excelente, no te venden una cosa que no es y la calidad de la gente que trabaja ahi es por demas buena. Me he desvelado y quien trabajaba de noche me banco contandome cosas muy buenas de la ciudad, Hemos salido a la playa o de noche con las chicas/os que trabajan ahi. He visto como son conciliadores por demas con huespedes que hasta para otros huespedes son pesados. Te hacen sentir que son uno mas, realmente muy compañeros la gente del staff, lo cual genera un ambiente por demas propicio para viajar.

Disliked: PAOLA left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

PAOLA IANNUZZI

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013 PAOLA would recommend this property

Liked: Una cosa que me sorprendio que es muy util para un hostel, es que tiene mucha cantidad de baños. Siempre que me hospede en un Misti, la calidad de la gente que trabaja es buenisima y es una realidad cuando dicen que te hacen sentir como en tu casa. Siempre se vuelve al Misti :D Desayuno: importantisimo para un viajero, siempre es abundante y con bastante variedad. Estaban en reformas y le han colocado Aire acondicionado en todas las habitaciones, en Rio resulta de gran utilidad.

Disliked: PAOLA left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

David Clow

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2012

Liked: Staff are helpfull and friendly and location is quite good.

Disliked: None of the facilities are up to standard, no aircon in a 9 bed triple bunk room with one fan is not enuff, compounded by the fact you book and pay for air con but dont recieve it.