HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of El Misti Rooms Rio de Janeiro Hostel

Emilio Berla 41, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 79%

Location 96%

Safety 85%

Staff 90%

Value 87%

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.20USD

Important Information

Age Restrictions: No persons under 18 years old can book shared rooms Cancellation.
We require a 50% deposit to confirm and guarantee any reservation. The payment of this 50% must be done at least 3 weeks prior to check in date. If the booking is made with less than three weeks from arrival date, the payment of the 50% must be done within 24 hours after making the booking. The remaining balance must be paid at the check-in time. In the event of a no-show the hostel charges the full amount of balance on customer's credit card.

CANCELATIONS POLICIES BY DATES:

*For July-August 2016 (01-07-2016 to 01/08/2016 and 23/08/16 to 31/08/16) cancellations can only be made 15 days before check in date, 100% reimbursable. After that date deposits won't be refunded.

*For Olympic Games Packages (02-08-2016 to 22-08-2016) it is necessary to pay 50% of the value of the reservation, at the time booking is submitted. Cancellations will only be processed 90 days prior check-in date. After that date, no reimbursement will be made. In the event of a no-show the hostel charges the full amount of balance. For cancellation requests which fall within the stipulated time will be charged an administrative fee of 12.5% of the total amount.

*For New Year's Package (27-12-2016 to 04-01-2017) Cancellations will only be processed 30 days prior check-in date. After that date no deposits refunded will be made.

*For the Summer High Season Package 2017(05-01-2017 to 20/02/2017) cancellations can only be made 15 days before check in date, 100% reimbursable. After that date deposits won't be refunded.

*For the Carnival Package 2017(21-02-2017 to 04/03/2017) cancellations can only be made 30 days before check in date, 100% reimbursable. After that date deposits won't be refunded.

* For any other dates not included above have to be made 72hs before check-in, otherwise no reimbursement is performed.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 79%

Location 96%

Safety 85%

Staff 90%

Value 87%

Showing 1-10 of 22 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything, it was great time spent there, in clean hostel with really nice people working there with amazing breakfasts!

Disliked: Small room, but i knew about it

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest
Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. It is our commitment to make the service as personalized and attentive as possible, making our guests feel relaxed and comfortable, exceeding the expectations.
Hope to see you again in sunny Rio de Janeiro.
Kind regards,
Management

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is ver good, and the staff is ver helpful.

Disliked: The toilets are too small, and you cant sit on your bed because the space among the beds is too small.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I've been here many times, and I think that says everything! Perfect location, best staff ever and always a good vibe. They serve breakfast every day and delicious dinners for a good price. And the best caipirinhas you can get! They offer plenty of fun events and parties in the city to make your stay unforgettable. I can't wait to come back and say hi to all my friends from the hostel!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest
Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay.
Hope to see you again in sunny Rio de Janeiro.
Kind regards,
Management

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Quiet location in a side road not far from the metro. Walkibg distance to the beach.The breakfast is a basic buffet with all you need: toast butter peanut butter, cereals, scrambled eggs. Even cake. You can have tea, coffee , juice, hot water, milk but no hot chocolate.The room & bathroom is clean &quiet and the air cond. Worjs silently. Very nice and friendly staff who help instantly.

Disliked: Not close to the beach you need to walk 4 blocks.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest
Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having a good stay with us.
Hope to see you again in sunny Rio de Janeiro.
Kind regards,
Staff El Misti Rooms

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Nos recibieron con muy buena onda. Los empleados son divinos, super atentos. Nos recibieron con caipirinias y nos ayudaron en todo.

Disliked: Muy desordenado.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Estimado Huesped
Gracias por tomarte el tiempo de compartir Tu experiencia con nosotros. Es un placer el saber que disfrutaste de nuestros servicios e instalaciones.
Vamos a tratar de seguir sus comentarios y sugerencias.
Esperamos tener la oportunidad de recibirte en un futuro próximo!
Saludos cordiales,

Staff El Misti

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The hostel had a perfect location, not far from the beach and easily reachable. The staff were very nice and helpful. Ended up staying an extra night!

Disliked: The only plugs in the room were placed at the door so it was difficult to charge anything as people came in and out of the room at all hours of the days.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: There was a good atmosphere. Everyone could mingle in the tv/bar area or sit on the step outside. It was four blocks from the beach.

Disliked: Every time the hostel staff have me advice it turned out to be wrong.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's just a few short blocks from Copacabana. They make dinner each night, and as a vegan charged me only 10 reals for loads of delicious roasted vegetables, potatoes &c. (The Argentine chef, though, while very nice, struggled to understand what animal products were and didn't tell me that there were eggs in the beetroot!) There is thorough recycling. The bathrooms, while a bit grotty, are at least individual ones rather than cubicles. The staff were in general helpful. Good breakfast.

Disliked: There are no washing machines, only a laundry service. The 'bar' is only a table where someone makes caipirinhas: it's the atmosphere rather than the alcohol that is the most important thing to get from a bar. It feels very crammed in, especially in the dorm (one triple bunk filling each wall). The ladder did not fix to the bed and it felt dangerous climbing up to and down from the top bunk. The lockers were pretty small and noisily metallic. They were full when I wanted to extend so I asked a receptionist to book me in at their sister hostel, having seen that they had availability but there then being an electricity and thus internet blackout such that I couldn't do it myself. She completely failed to do this and they only had expensive beds left when I chased her up about it, leaving me homeless at eleven o'clock on a Saturday night in Rio.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's just a few short blocks from Copacabana. They make dinner each night, and as a vegan charged me only 10 reals for loads of delicious roasted vegetables, potatoes &c. (The Argentine chef, though, while very nice, struggled to understand what animal products were and didn't tell me that there were eggs in the beetroot!) There is thorough recycling. The bathrooms, while a bit grotty, are at least individual ones rather than cubicles. The staff were in general helpful. Good breakfast.

Disliked: There are no washing machines, only a laundry service. The 'bar' is only a table where someone makes caipirinhas: it's the atmosphere rather than the alcohol that is the most important thing to get from a bar. It feels very crammed in, especially in the dorm (one triple bunk filling each wall). The ladder did not fix to the bed and it felt dangerous climbing up to and down from the top bunk. The lockers were pretty small and noisily metallic. They were full when I wanted to extend so I asked a receptionist to book me in at their sister hostel, having seen that they had availability but there then being an electricity and thus internet blackout such that I couldn't do it myself. She completely failed to do this and they only had expensive beds left when I chased her up about it, leaving me homeless at eleven o'clock on a Saturday night in Rio.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest:

First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation.It is the most important value to us to improve our facilities and quality of services.We would like to apologize that we did not reach your expectations in some aspects. Based on your comment and suggestions, we will make a great effort at any cost to make some improvements.

Kind regards
Managment

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location, friendly staff, nice "improvised bar", good vibe. Its awesome that they pick you up at the airport for free!!!

Disliked: beds could be more comfortable

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Lukas,

Thanks a lot for your comment. Was a pleasure to have you here talking about football and stuff...
We will take your recommendations for the improvement of our hostel.
Hoping to see you again.

Best regards.
Management and all the staff.

Check Availability