HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of El Misti Rooms Rio de Janeiro

Hostel

Emilio Berla 41, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 80%

Location 96%

Safety 86%

Staff 90%

Value 87%

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.08USD

Important Information

Age Restrictions: No persons under 18 years old can book shared rooms Cancellation Policy We require a 50% deposit to confirm and guarantee any reservation. The remaining balance must be paid at the check-in time. Any cancellations with less than 72-hours notice prior to the check-in time will not receive deposit refunds. Any request for a cancellation or modification must be submitted in writing. The same rules apply for both cancellations and modifications. Any no-shows will be charged 100% of the reservation total after 24-hours from the check-in time if no notification is received by El Misti Hostels. We recommend that all guests purchase traveler’s insurance to protect themselves from any unforeseen circumstances. In the case that you need to make an insurance claim, El Misti Hostels will help you in any way possible including providing documentation, etc. *Cancellations for groups of 6 or more people must be made with at least a full 2 (two) week’s notice. In this case, the group may collect 100% of their deposit paid to El Misti (not including deposits made through 3rd party sites). Any cancellations made with insufficient notice will not have any portion of the deposit refunded. * Cancellations for the Rock in Rio 2015 ( 15/09/15 - 30/09/15) can only be made 15 days before check in date, 100% refundable. Cancellations made after that date will not be refunded deposits.*Cancellations for the New Years Package ( 27/12/15 - 04/01/16) can only be made before Nov. 30 and are 100% refundable (not including deposits made through 3rd party sites). Any cancellations made after that date will not have deposits refunded.* Cancellations for the Summer Season 2016 ( 05/01/16 - 02/02/16 and 14/02/16 - 31/03/16 ) can only be made 15 days before check in date, 100% refundable. Cancellations made after that date will not be refunded deposits. *Cancellations for the Carnaval 2016 ( 02/02/16 - 13/02/16) Package can only be made up until Dec. 1, 100% reimbursable. Any cancellations made after that date will not have deposits refunded. *Cancellations for the Holy Week 2016 ( 23/03/16 - 28/03/16) Package can only be made 15 days before check in date, 100% reimbursable. Any cancellations made after that date will not have deposits refunded. *Cancellations for the Holy Week 2016 ( 23/03/16 - 28/03/16) Package can only be made 15 days before check in date, 100% reimbursable. Any cancellations made after that date will not have deposits refunded. *For Olympic Games (27/07/2016 - 28/09/2016) packages it is necessary to pay 50% of the value of the reservation, which is non-refundable, at the time booking is submitted. In order to confirm your booking, the remaining 50% should be paid 90 days prior check-in date.Cancellations will only be processed 90 days prior check-in date. After that date, no reimbursement will be made.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 80%

Location 96%

Safety 86%

Staff 90%

Value 87%

Showing 1-10 of 32 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything, it was great time spent there, in clean hostel with really nice people working there with amazing breakfasts!

Disliked: Small room, but i knew about it

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest
Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. It is our commitment to make the service as personalized and attentive as possible, making our guests feel relaxed and comfortable, exceeding the expectations.
Hope to see you again in sunny Rio de Janeiro.
Kind regards,
Management

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is ver good, and the staff is ver helpful.

Disliked: The toilets are too small, and you cant sit on your bed because the space among the beds is too small.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I've been here many times, and I think that says everything! Perfect location, best staff ever and always a good vibe. They serve breakfast every day and delicious dinners for a good price. And the best caipirinhas you can get! They offer plenty of fun events and parties in the city to make your stay unforgettable. I can't wait to come back and say hi to all my friends from the hostel!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest
Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay.
Hope to see you again in sunny Rio de Janeiro.
Kind regards,
Management

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Quiet location in a side road not far from the metro. Walkibg distance to the beach.The breakfast is a basic buffet with all you need: toast butter peanut butter, cereals, scrambled eggs. Even cake. You can have tea, coffee , juice, hot water, milk but no hot chocolate.The room & bathroom is clean &quiet and the air cond. Worjs silently. Very nice and friendly staff who help instantly.

Disliked: Not close to the beach you need to walk 4 blocks.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest
Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having a good stay with us.
Hope to see you again in sunny Rio de Janeiro.
Kind regards,
Staff El Misti Rooms

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Nos recibieron con muy buena onda. Los empleados son divinos, super atentos. Nos recibieron con caipirinias y nos ayudaron en todo.

Disliked: Muy desordenado.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Estimado Huesped
Gracias por tomarte el tiempo de compartir Tu experiencia con nosotros. Es un placer el saber que disfrutaste de nuestros servicios e instalaciones.
Vamos a tratar de seguir sus comentarios y sugerencias.
Esperamos tener la oportunidad de recibirte en un futuro próximo!
Saludos cordiales,

Staff El Misti

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The hostel had a perfect location, not far from the beach and easily reachable. The staff were very nice and helpful. Ended up staying an extra night!

Disliked: The only plugs in the room were placed at the door so it was difficult to charge anything as people came in and out of the room at all hours of the days.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: There was a good atmosphere. Everyone could mingle in the tv/bar area or sit on the step outside. It was four blocks from the beach.

Disliked: Every time the hostel staff have me advice it turned out to be wrong.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's just a few short blocks from Copacabana. They make dinner each night, and as a vegan charged me only 10 reals for loads of delicious roasted vegetables, potatoes &c. (The Argentine chef, though, while very nice, struggled to understand what animal products were and didn't tell me that there were eggs in the beetroot!) There is thorough recycling. The bathrooms, while a bit grotty, are at least individual ones rather than cubicles. The staff were in general helpful. Good breakfast.

Disliked: There are no washing machines, only a laundry service. The 'bar' is only a table where someone makes caipirinhas: it's the atmosphere rather than the alcohol that is the most important thing to get from a bar. It feels very crammed in, especially in the dorm (one triple bunk filling each wall). The ladder did not fix to the bed and it felt dangerous climbing up to and down from the top bunk. The lockers were pretty small and noisily metallic. They were full when I wanted to extend so I asked a receptionist to book me in at their sister hostel, having seen that they had availability but there then being an electricity and thus internet blackout such that I couldn't do it myself. She completely failed to do this and they only had expensive beds left when I chased her up about it, leaving me homeless at eleven o'clock on a Saturday night in Rio.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's just a few short blocks from Copacabana. They make dinner each night, and as a vegan charged me only 10 reals for loads of delicious roasted vegetables, potatoes &c. (The Argentine chef, though, while very nice, struggled to understand what animal products were and didn't tell me that there were eggs in the beetroot!) There is thorough recycling. The bathrooms, while a bit grotty, are at least individual ones rather than cubicles. The staff were in general helpful. Good breakfast.

Disliked: There are no washing machines, only a laundry service. The 'bar' is only a table where someone makes caipirinhas: it's the atmosphere rather than the alcohol that is the most important thing to get from a bar. It feels very crammed in, especially in the dorm (one triple bunk filling each wall). The ladder did not fix to the bed and it felt dangerous climbing up to and down from the top bunk. The lockers were pretty small and noisily metallic. They were full when I wanted to extend so I asked a receptionist to book me in at their sister hostel, having seen that they had availability but there then being an electricity and thus internet blackout such that I couldn't do it myself. She completely failed to do this and they only had expensive beds left when I chased her up about it, leaving me homeless at eleven o'clock on a Saturday night in Rio.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest:

First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation.It is the most important value to us to improve our facilities and quality of services.We would like to apologize that we did not reach your expectations in some aspects. Based on your comment and suggestions, we will make a great effort at any cost to make some improvements.

Kind regards
Managment

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location, friendly staff, nice "improvised bar", good vibe. Its awesome that they pick you up at the airport for free!!!

Disliked: beds could be more comfortable

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Lukas,

Thanks a lot for your comment. Was a pleasure to have you here talking about football and stuff...
We will take your recommendations for the improvement of our hostel.
Hoping to see you again.

Best regards.
Management and all the staff.

Check Availability