HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of El Misti Rooms

Hostel | Rua Emilio Berla 41, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 22-061-060

92.1% Overall Rating

47 out of 52 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/08/2014)

Josefina Boulan thinks…

"Me gusto mucho que el cuarto era espacioso y cómodo para un precio muy bueno ya que está en el corazón de Copacabana con fácil acceso a los diferentes puntos de la ciudad, también de noche, lo que…"

Read all El Misti Rooms reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.88

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Age Restrictions: No persons under 18 years old can book shared rooms Cancellation Policy We require a 50% deposit to confirm and guarantee any reservation. The remaining balance must be paid at the check-in time. Any cancellations with less than 72-hours notice prior to the check-in time will not receive deposit refunds. Any request for a cancellation or modification must be submitted in writing. The same rules apply for both cancellations and modifications. Any no-shows will be charged 100% of the reservation total after 24-hours from the check-in time if no notification is received by El Misti Hostels. We recommend that all guests purchase traveler’s insurance to protect themselves from any unforeseen circumstances. In the case that you need to make an insurance claim, El Misti Hostels will help you in any way possible including providing documentation, etc. *Cancellations for groups of 6 or more people must be made with at least a full 2 (two) week’s notice. In this case, the group may collect 100% of their deposit paid to El Misti (not including deposits made through 3rd party sites). Any cancellations made with insufficient notice will not have any portion of the deposit refunded. *Cancellations for the New Years Package can only be made before Nov. 30 and are 100% refundable (not including deposits made through 3rd party sites). Any cancellations made after that date will not have deposits refunded. * Cancellations for the Summer Season 2015 can only be made 15 days before check in date, 100% refundable. Cancellations made after that date will not be refunded deposits. *Cancellations for the Carnaval 2015 Package can only be made up until Dec. 12, 100% reimbursable. Any cancellations made after that date will not have deposits refunded. *Cancellations for the Holy Week 2015 Package can only be made 15 days before check in date, 100% reimbursable. Any cancellations made after that date will not have deposits refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rio de Janeiro

Rio Backpackers
17.63 USD

Hostel 80.5% 48 reviews
El Misti Hostel Copacabana
10.98 USD

Hostel 73.5% 176 reviews
Rio Ritz Hostel
17.63 USD

Hostel 65.4% 55 reviews
Walk On The Beach Hostel
19.84 USD

Hostel 88.8% 173 reviews
Che Lagarto Suites Copacabana Anita
43.64 USD

Hostel 80.6% 129 reviews
Blue Ocean Hostel
30.86 USD

Hostel 62.9% 3 reviews
Che Lagarto Suites Copacabana Santa Clara
42.43 USD

Apartment 79.0% 33 reviews
Copa Hostel
23.58 USD

Hostel 76.9% 75 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.1%

Overall Rating

47 out of 52 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'El Misti Rooms'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
96.0%
Value
88.8%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 33 of 51 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Josefina Boulan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 August 2014 Josefina would recommend this property

Liked: Me gusto mucho que el cuarto era espacioso y cómodo para un precio muy bueno ya que está en el corazón de Copacabana con fácil acceso a los diferentes puntos de la ciudad, también de noche, lo que facilita poder disfrutar de todo. Hay cenas todas las noches muy rica y completas con n buen precio y bar siempre que crea un ambiente muy amigable entre todos los huéspedes y con el staff que está siempre atento de dar las mejores recomendaciones. Ofrecen tour también completos y te facilitan todos los detalles.

Disliked: Josefina left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Slater

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 July 2014 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were great! (especially Josefina) She did tell me to write that, but it is very true as she has a great sense of humour. Staff were always helpful and treated me like a friend, which was nice as I was travelling alone. The fact that they all spoke perfect Portuguese, Spanish and English is a huge benefit for them and the potential customers and all other hostels should follow their lead. Breakfast was really good considering it was free, and basically all you can eat. Also the dinners were always delicious, and amazing value for money at 18 rs, which is cheaper than anywhere you will find in the copacabana area. I have to say that this is probably the best hostel I have ever had the chance to stay in, and I can't wait to come back for carnaval! As I am sure that they will have all the best parties to go to! They deserve all the praise that they get as they all work hard to please everyone that comes in to stay. One final thank you to all the staff there! As I woke up very late on my leaving day and had to rush out!

Disliked: There is nothing that I actively disliked. I will say that the triple beds are a tad difficult to get in to if you are in the middle bunk, which I was. But you get what you pay for and at 38 rs per night I couldn't have any complaints. So if you think that after your stay, something was wrong, then you should've really saved up more money for a hotel as your standards are way too high..

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Shoaib Haroon

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2014 Shoaib would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff, amazing recomendations. Great great place to meet people. They do group dinners and have drinks to serve as well. I am very happy I picked this hostel.

Disliked: Rooms/beds were a bit cramped and the ladder fell off one of the bunks one night. Not much control over temperatures in showers, so it was usually uncomfortably cold.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lieke Tiel Groenestege

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2014 Lieke would recommend this property

Liked: Highly recommended! Had an excellent stay here. The hostel is clean, the rooms are good and safe and the staff are simply great! They absolutely contribute to an amazing stay in Rio. Great atmosphere and they offer plenty of fun events and parties in the city. The breakfast is excellent, so is the dinner every night! If you want to have an amazing stay in Rio, stay at EL Misti Rooms!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SEBASTIAN VEGA URIBE

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

18 May 2014 SEBASTIAN would recommend this property

Liked: I was very cool meet people from all around the world, everyone were very friendly, excellent place!

Disliked: nothing in particular

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melanie Best

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014 Melanie would recommend this property

Liked: El Misti is by far the best hostel we stayed in in Brazil. Where do I start? The staff are amazing, not only helpful but friendly 24/7 and you are treated like a friend rather than a customer. A home from home! The chef, Leo, is fantastic! The evening meals (only 15-18brl) are not only good value for money but are delicious! The same goes for the breakfast, fresh, plenty and a good variety. It is extremely safe as they have a 24hour reception and a security guard who stays through the night. Location only 2 blocks from beach, 2 blocks from metro, 1 block to main road with buses all around rio and 1 block from supermarket/atm. The dorms are always clean as are the shower rooms as there are cleaners all through the day and early eve. Wifi available everywhere and is fast (unlike a lot of other hostels). The communal area allows the hostel to be very sociable but if you want an early night this is also possible! The dorms all have air con through the night and are very spacious compared to many we have seen. They are helpful when organising trips and nights but not at all pushy! Overall we would strongly recommend a stay here in rio, we wish we could stay for longer!!!!!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

PRISCILA VINHOLA

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Visiting friends or family

01 April 2014 PRISCILA would recommend this property

Liked: Muito bem localizado, organizado, pessoal preparado.

Disliked: none

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

07 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the El Misti hostel! staff is amazing, they picked my up from the airport, drove me to the hostel and even gave me breakfast! amazing people working and staying there. I've been over the craziest period - the Carnival, and staff organized going to bloco parties, helping with metro and just made my stay insanely amazing. plus, lots of incredibly nice people I've met staying there.

Disliked: small things like painting the doors of the rooms when u check in, but that didn't ruin anything :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CINTIA NUÑEZ

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 December 2013 CINTIA would recommend this property

Liked: El hostel es muy comodo y con mucha onda para todos los viajeros!!... es como seguir en casa con amigos.. el staff muy atento con todo lo que necesites y te dan los mejores consejos para disfrutar a pleno RIO de JANEIRO!!... (y cuidando tu dinero)... el desayuno abundante (te sirve para safar el almuerzo!!... lo mejor... el BARMAN y sus cahipiriñas!!!...

Disliked: ---

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pia Lamérand

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break

16 November 2013 Pia would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the atsmophere and the location. Everything went smoothly! The staff is very helpful and there is a lot a great party planned. I was traveling alone, but was never alone during my stay! It was perfect!

Disliked: The bathroom are not always very clean, but it is hard to keep the place clean with so many people going around.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and local

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

03 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast, nice staff.

Disliked: You're not allowed to drink alcohol.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

22 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Welcoming atmosphere and good activities organised. Perfect if traveling alone.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast, hot showers, great location.

Disliked: Size of the rooms are small. Three tier bunk beds, no bar and social area.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful staff, free wifi in the rooms, save neighbourhood, close to the beach and shops, easy to reach from the bus terminal.

Disliked: 3-store-bunkbeds in a small room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MATTHEW FIELD

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2013 MATTHEW would recommend this property

Liked: A very clean and well maintained hostel with a welcoming atmosphere. The location was great and the staff very enthusiastic and willing to help where they could. The breakfast was good and the reccommended tours excellent. 10/10

Disliked: MATTHEW left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ulrika Linde

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 April 2013 Ulrika would recommend this property

Liked: It is a great atmosphere and booth staff and other guests has been very kind and helpfull! Pedro and Santiago from the staff are excellent! This hostel is great for everyone!

Disliked: Ulrika left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jan Thomas Alter

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 April 2013 Jan Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very well located and absolutely safe with a 24/7 reception. One of the cleanest hostel I' ve ever stayed at. Open and laidback hostel community. A fantastic breakfast which very hotels will hardly beat.

Disliked: The hostel has three floor bunk beds

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

guadalupe perez cesaretti

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 April 2013 guadalupe would recommend this property

Liked: Me gusto mucho la disponibilidad del staff ante cualquier duda y recomendaciones para hacer actividades. También me encanto la casa, super cómoda, con aire, desayuno abundante y un ambiente familiar. ME SENTÍ COMO EN CASA!! ALTAMENTE RECOMENDABLE!!!

Disliked: me tocaron días de lluvia, pero no los voy a culpar o.O :D

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Victor Galvez

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2013

Liked: Nice people and friendly.

Disliked: ITs so hot, the bathroom and common places are always dirty, the bed its no so comfortable and the conditionary air works only in the night, The bed is dirty and sometimes, the place is noisy ,

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great bar at the lobby but hot in summer

Disliked: the hostel is located in a very noisy street in the mornings

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Esta ubicado en un lugar seguro, no tan cerca de la playa...es caluroso pero afortunadamente las habitaciones tienen aire acondicionado. Los baños no muy bien cuidados...algo sucios. En general es un buen lugar, acorde con el precio que cobran...probablemente con un poco más de cuidado estaría muy bien.

Disliked: Los baños un poco sucios y el lobby muy caluroso...deberían tener un sistema de extracción de aire y/o aire acondicionado....muy sofocante

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are absolutely excellent and helpful

Disliked: Needs a/c in common areas and more frequent cleaning, too many beds in tiny rooms.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Common areas and breakfast are great! Staff are friendly and always willing to answer any questions you have!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lesley Adjebeng

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2013 Lesley would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has the most amazing staff I could have ever wished for during my 5 weeks stay in RJ. I now consider them friends who I dearly miss and cannot wait to see again very soon. Everybody is very friendly and helpful, the atmosphere is great and the guys are almost always willing to show you around town, take you out, integrate you into social life and make you feel welcome. And with its prime location 5mins from Copacabana beach you cannot ask for much more.. The girls cleaning there are very lovely and are working hard to maintain a good standard of cleanliness throughout the day. Dependent on the amount of people at the hostel the conditions of bathrooms may vary which however is more related to people being careless than to the cleaning service. The buffet for breakfast is not to be missed: fresh fruits, French sticks, toasts, ham, cheese, cereals, juice, coffee and a very tasty (but addictive!) cake are a great start into the day :) I would and I will most certainly return. Mario, Martin, Franco, Leila y mi Laurita los adoro, gracias por todo <3 Federico tienes un equipo increible!! nos vemos muy pronto x

Disliked: Lesley left no negative feedback.