We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hercus Hostel Lapa

Hostel | Rua da Lapa 207, Sobrado, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 20021-180

75.9% Overall Rating

21 out of 29 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/04/2013)

"Great Location, Great Hosts, didn't feel unsafe walking around at night. Was in the middle of the nightlife. Just amazing"

Read all Hercus Hostel Lapa reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 4.08

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Special conditions for the World Cup, New Years and Carnival: To confirm the booking we ask guests to pay at least 50% of the total (the remainder must be paid at check-in) If canceled 60 days before date arrival, no fee will be charged. If canceled 30 days prior to arrival will be charged 50% of the reservation. If canceled up to 7 days before date of arrival will be charged 95% of the reservation. If canceled later or in case of no-shows will be charged 100% of the total reservation. If you fail to pay 50% in 3 days of booking, the reservation will be canceled. After payment, send us a proof of the deposit.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rio de Janeiro

Fridays
61.17 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Global Rio de janeiro
18.35 USD

Guesthouse 92.2% 38 reviews
Cidade Maravilhosa Hostel
16.31 USD

Hostel 85.8% 24 reviews
Rio Aplauso Hostel
24.47 USD

Hostel 82.1% 12 reviews
Discovery Hostel Rio
22.84 USD

Hostel 99.2% 11 reviews
Habitat Carioca
22.43 USD

Hotel 86.4% 4 reviews
Kariok Hostel
20.39 USD

Hostel 90.7% 69 reviews
Books Hostel
13.46 USD

Hostel 90.1% 54 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.9%

Overall Rating

21 out of 29 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hercus Hostel Lapa'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
79.2%
Value
71.2%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 12 of 28 reviews
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alejandro Rueda Sanz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

25 September 2014 Alejandro would recommend this property

Liked: Location, ambience, breakfast.

Disliked: After check-out service & smell of humidity

The property's response is...

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2014

Liked: The location in lapa is good for people who want to party and close to a metro.

Disliked: The staff bar 1person are all completely useless there was a lot of confusion with what beds were being slept in which resulted in a 3am wake up by the front desk staff asking us if any beds were free as they had over sold. No organisation at all!!!1 girl member of staff gave us wrong information on 3 separate occasions which really screwed us up for 1 day. No hot water EVER!! the shower and toilet facilities are not the best. Our door to our room didn't even close. Do not book here if you do not like party hostels. We expected it through carnival but we get the feeling its pretty much like it all the time!! It was literally chaotic the entire time we were there! Maybe due to carnival but who knows! One night a staff member stayed in our room which resulted in other staff members coming in and out having loud conversations throughout the night and early morning.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: Very noisy

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2013

Liked: The location was an easy walk from the Lapa nightlight, St Theresa and Central

Disliked: One of the emplyees was unfriendly. Many of the guests would talk aout her rudeness. Wanted to use internet middle of the night, and worker gve me a hard time about putting on the light so I can see (so they could sleep)

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2013

Liked: Staff are nice.

Disliked: I was surprised that after I place my booking from this website they send me email and ask for 50% deposit within 3 days. They said this could be paid by credit card. However we were arriving within two days and it was not a peak season at all during our stay so that make me feel ridiculous. I don't wish to send my credit card info this way for security reason and I don't see any reason that I need to pay that much deposit during a non-peak season. Other dislike: 1)Not feeling safe in this area and I saw a robbery just happened near by. 2)Small breakfast that I ate at 09:00 and start feeling hungry at 10:00. (plus many ants on your bread!) 3)No window in room and always have a bad small inside. 4)the locker can be easily opened by a + screw driver...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location, Great Hosts, didn't feel unsafe walking around at night. Was in the middle of the nightlife. Just amazing

Disliked: Nothing. Everything was great!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Ashcroft

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2013 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is located in Lapa which is the liveliest part of Rio full of bars and clubs which are open every night. The staff were great and all spoke at least English (some spoke Spanish as well) and were always willing to help with directions, places to visit or booking tours & activities. The Hostel itself was clean, the rooms were all air conditioned (a massive plus with the heat and humidity) and had secure lockers. Breakfast was also included in the price! There was a cool social area with a pool table and plenty of seats for travelers to meet each other, as well as free use of computers and free wireless internet, and there was always someone on reception at any time of day. I definitely recommend going Lapa as it is the liveliest place in Rio and this hostel was a great place to stay, I only booked one night here but will be staying longer!

Disliked: Nothing, everything was great!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Kamila Sepolowicz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

26 February 2013 Kamila would recommend this property

Liked: it is within walking distance from party places in Lapa (even on high heels)

Disliked: airconditioning was blowing into me and had to be on as otherwise other ppl would have linched me...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

17 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Lapa city centre and transport!

Disliked: Larger lockers for belongings in 12 person dorms

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a great location, the facilities are fantastic and (some) of the staff are helpful and knowledgable... not all! The bathrooms, kitchen and bedrooms were always clean and well maintained and it was great to have air - con!

Disliked: My only two (small) problems were that two people in my room had their lockers almost broken into but I don´t know if that was potentially a dodgy guest... and that there were social areas however they lacked atmosphere, and I wouldn´t have wanted to travel alone to this hostel

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

gemma upson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

14 February 2013 gemma would recommend this property

Liked: Good location if you want to stay in lapa, walking distance to metro and pubs for nights out. secure door and lockers. staff semi helpful. free pool table and computers for average wifi coverage. very clean and good cooker that actually works! Generally a good hostel.

Disliked: Showers were often cold, room had no window so smelled musty at times. Tried to put us in seperate rooms even though we booked far in advance but once we complained they placed us in a mixed dorm no problem.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a great location in Lapa, 5 minute walk from all the nightlife which was good. A little pricey over new year period but still cheap compared to some other hostels during the same time.

Disliked: The hostel ran out of water a few times which was annoying.