HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Cafofo Hostel Rio de Janeiro Hostel

Rua Jornalista Orlando Dantas 7 - Botafogo, Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 85%

Location 87%

Safety 94%

Staff 95%

Value 89%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • PlayStation
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 27.91USD
  • Towel 1.24USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 85%

Location 87%

Safety 94%

Staff 95%

Value 89%

Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Visiting friends or family

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Location, friendly staff

Disliked: Noise, In our room we could hear everythnig from downstairs.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, good value for money

Disliked: I think it's something common to most hostels in Rio, that they don't make extra effort to make them nice or comfortable: no hangers, no hooks, no closet, no nothing where you can hang your clothes, no soap support; mouldy bathroom and wet floor when it rains. Two giant cockroaches in the shower one day. An air-conditioning machine that makes a noise worse than a race car's, luckily I didn't need it, it was cold.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's very cheap and clean!

Disliked: There wasn't so much people. But I dont't know if this is a negative aspect :D

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: it's very clean and comfortable

Disliked: the restrooms are unissex

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Space, quiet, style.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff

Disliked: The room was very small, no wardrobe, small window

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was a really pleasant stay on Cafofo Hostel. We stayed here doing carnaval and met some really nice people. The staff is really nice, and they speak english. They are always willing to help you. Nice place and nice people. Also they have a Nintendo and PlayStation, so if you want to stay on the hostel a night, you can have fun competing with the people on the hostel. Bathrooms and toilets are clean. The wifi is really good. The breakfast is good, too. And also great kitchen facilities. All in all - a really good place! We are absolutely going to stay here again, on our next visit!

Disliked: Nothing :-)

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Silmara and Andressa are great hosts.Very friendly and helpful, with lots of advice on what to see and how to get there. They made us feel very welcome and we went to visit them on our return to Rio. They really make Cafofo hostel.The outside eating area is lovely. and there's a well stocked kitchen, even though it's small.

Disliked: We didn't find anything to dislike!!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: The helpfulness of the staff and clients

Disliked: poor wireless

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Romantic getaway

Liked: The staff was extremely helpful and very friendly

Disliked: Beds in dorms feel very cheap. Bathroom facilities are very small.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments! We are proud to have one of the best staffs in Rio and we are always trying to have good people to take care of our guests. A short example is the upgrade to a private room you had, provided by one of our members. Regarding the aspect of the beds, after a year since we´ve opened doors and hosted over 4000 people we are having new matresses, pillows, bed linen and new beds for the next month! It will be a pleasure to have you here again soon!

Check Availability