HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Cafofo Hostel

Hostel | Rua Jornalista Orlando Dantas, no 7, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 22231-010

88.7% Overall Rating

21 out of 22 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/04/2014)

"Silmara and Andressa are great hosts.Very friendly and helpful, with lots of advice on what to see and how to get there. They made us feel very welcome and we went to visit them on our return to Rio. They really make…"

Read all Cafofo Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 35.96
  • Towel USD 1.80

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rio de Janeiro

Sugar Loaf
17.98 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hostel in Rio
26.97 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Rio Soul Hostel
15.73 USD

Hostel 87.3% 46 reviews
El misti botafogo hostel e pousada
8.95 USD

Guesthouse 83.5% 107 reviews
Hostel Ze Carioca
17.98 USD

Hostel 50.2% 25 reviews
Albergue Eco Backpackers Hostel
15.73 USD

Hostel 77.1% 44 reviews
Ace Backpackers Youth Hostels Rio de Janeiro
22.47 USD

Hostel 70.4% 198 reviews
Sarréufa Club Hostel
22.48 USD

Hostel 50.3% 41 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.7%

Overall Rating

21 out of 22 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cafofo Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.6%
Location
89.1%
Facilities
87.3%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
93.6%
Value
86.4%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 14 of 22 reviews
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Silmara and Andressa are great hosts.Very friendly and helpful, with lots of advice on what to see and how to get there. They made us feel very welcome and we went to visit them on our return to Rio. They really make Cafofo hostel. The outside eating area is lovely. and there's a well stocked kitchen, even though it's small.

Disliked: We didn't find anything to dislike!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

22 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The helpfulness of the staff and clients

Disliked: poor wireless

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Patrick Scott

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway

30 June 2013 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely helpful and very friendly

Disliked: Beds in dorms feel very cheap. Bathroom facilities are very small.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: las duenas son muy muy agradable... son buena onda

Disliked: MOSQUITOS!!!!!!!!! en todas partes, la cocina, los dormatorios, mi cama... todas.. que chucha weon

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly Staff and a Great Location

Disliked: Extremely noisy of a night / very early morning, maybe if you are in an upstairs room it is ok, but not if you are on the ground floor. Maybe also a little expensive for what it was.....but considering it is Rio which is quite expensive, in the grand scheme of things, it probably isn't.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jon Bullock

As a family with children

Family Holiday

19 March 2013 Jon would recommend this property

Liked: The property is clean , the staff is nice and helpful with all my questions.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paloma Riroroco

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Shopping

04 March 2013 Paloma would recommend this property

Liked: Me encanto la sencilles y comodidad muy adecuado, me encantó!

Disliked: Paloma left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matthew Carr

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: My brother and I stayed at the Cafofo hostel over Christmas 2012 after reading many positive reviews online. We were given a Christmas present upon arrival and a glass of champagne which was unexpected but lovely. The hostel is relaxed like staying in a home away from home. The staff are extremely helpful and will advise you one the best places to see in Rio. One of the owners, Andressa, is a Mad Nintendo fan and has converted her Playstation to play over 1000 OldSkool Nintendo games like Super Mario Bros. That brought back memories. Cheers Andressa, and Happy New Year to all at the Cafofo - GREAT PLACE!

Disliked: N/A

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Patricia Rodriguez Ovejero

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2012 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: great location, really close to metro flamengo,where you can go everywhere in town good breakfast they offer you a chair in ipanema

Disliked: small room, not showers enough

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

04 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Common areas, soundtrack.

Disliked: Quite noisy. Some of the rooms are situated right next to the bathrooms, so all the noise (from some unthoughtful fellow travellers...) is coming right to you.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

16 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We booked for 2 nights and stayed almost 2 weeks!! The hostel is owned and run by an amazing team of girls who did everything possible to help us during and even after our stay. In 2 months of traveling South America it was the best hostel we have stayed in. It's in a great location and close to the metro, the layout is awesome with a big common area, the place is spotlessly clean and the breakfast was awesome!!

Disliked: Couldn't fault anything!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Steve McKenna

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break

13 July 2012 Steve would recommend this property

Liked: The people who run the hostel are very helpful and friendly. It's just a five-minute walk from one of Rio's most beautiful parts - Botafogo bay, where you can see Sugarloaf and Christ statue. I reserved a dorm room, but I was offered an 'upgrade' on arrival, as a private room was vacant, so I could stay in there for the same price. The breakfast is nice.

Disliked: Steve left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Peter Macmillan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: I found the staff unhelpfull and rude. Also very expensive

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

23 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best breakfast I ever had in a hostel! The team is very helpful and kind...So difficult to find at hostels! I am going to stay one more night because I liked it and recommended it!

Disliked: I felt like it could be more informative about the hostel´s rules...But it is total acceptable once they are in soft opening for just one week!