We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Barraco #55

Hostel | Rua da Assembleia #19, Nova Brasilia, Complexo do Alemão Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 21001020

96.3% Overall Rating

7 out of 7 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/11/2012)

SOW WAH KHUNG thinks…

"The stuffs, especially Fei An, are very friendly and helpful. I feel like home. I love this place and I feel save to walk around. The local people who stay in this area are very friendly and helpful…"

Read all Barraco #55 reviews

Facilities

  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rio de Janeiro

Aquarela Sweet Home Bed & Breakfast
32.84 USD

Guesthouse 96.0% 12 reviews
Brazil Full Connection
58.95 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Kaza Rio
16.84 USD

Hostel 77.9% 4 reviews
Other Side Hostel
5.89 USD

Hostel 76.7% 7 reviews
Villa Leonor
16.84 USD

Hostel 71.3% 129 reviews
Pousada Santa trem
21.05 USD

Hostel 77.8% 33 reviews
CaipiHostel
14.74 USD

Hostel 90.6% 65 reviews
Lapa Hostel
10.53 USD

Hostel 83.2% 49 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.3%

Overall Rating

7 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Barraco #55'

Atmosphere
100.0%
Location
91.4%
Facilities
94.3%
Cleanliness
94.3%
Staff
100.0%
Value
100.0%
Safety
94.3%
Refine your results Showing 7 of 7 reviews
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Miles

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2013 William would recommend this property

Liked: Great to experience the favela. Staff friendly and helpful.

Disliked: William left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere

Disliked: Everything alright

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

SOW WAH KHUNG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2012 SOW WAH would recommend this property

Liked: The stuffs, especially Fei An, are very friendly and helpful. I feel like home. I love this place and I feel save to walk around. The local people who stay in this area are very friendly and helpful too. So make this as your first choice and you will see another side of Rio De Jeneiro.

Disliked: SOW WAH left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is located in one of the favela's of Rio. The 4 hosts of the hostel were all very friendly and willing to help me with whatever question I had. While staying at their hostel I felt part of the community! Several workshops - such as a workshop to make wallets from waste - are organized for the residents of Barracco and the habitants of the favela. I even got offered to give an English course to the children of the neighborhood. This was really one of the most interesting places I visited on my trip!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A different side of Rio and really nice to meet the locals! Despite the view that favelas are dangerous I didn't feel insecure and had a wonderful time.

Disliked: It's a little far from the beaches and centre.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sterre gilsing

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

06 September 2012 sterre would recommend this property

Liked: Great place! Friendly staff, nice breakfast and lovely roof terrace. The neighborhood is very friendly and you can find everything you need close by. You can make your own food in the kitchen or find something nice to eat in one of the shops down the street. The monthly musical jam is a great evening to meet people, have fun and experience a real Brazilian athmosphere, and the film evenings on the square are nice as well! I highly recommend this place!

Disliked: When I arrived the place was still starting up so the beds were not there yet, but now that is all solved.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very nice experience!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.