HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Copa Fun Hostel

Hostel | Rua Siqueira Campos , 214 sb, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 22031072

89.8% Overall Rating

30 out of 32 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/08/2014)

"The staff was very nice and friendly. They always tried to help you - could't be a better stuff :)"

Read all Copa Fun Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 39.74
  • Towel USD 1.32

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rio de Janeiro

Best Rio Hostel
19.87 USD

Hostel 70.5% 39 reviews
Hercus Hostel
11.92 USD

Hostel 56.2% 6 reviews
Che Lagarto Suites Copacabana Anita
43.64 USD

Hostel 80.6% 129 reviews
Che Lagarto Suites Copacabana Santa Clara
42.43 USD

Apartment 79.0% 33 reviews
El Misti Hostel Rio
10.11 USD

Hostel 76.7% 88 reviews
El Misti House Copacabana
10.99 USD

Hostel 88.0% 140 reviews
Rio Rockers Hostel
24.28 USD

Hostel 83.6% 4 reviews
Boulevard Bed & Breakfast
39.74 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.8%

Overall Rating

30 out of 32 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Copa Fun Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
97.6%
Value
88.0%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 24 of 32 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals

04 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very nice and friendly. They always tried to help you - could't be a better stuff :)

Disliked: Just the bathroom was a bit to small - but it is a hostel, for me it was not a problem at all.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff. Extremely clean and a nice place to stay

Disliked: Wifi wasn't great and the toilets/showers are a bit cramped

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Pepper

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 June 2014 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: great hostel, about 10 min walk from copacabana beach. fairly quiet area, decent breakfast on the roof terrace, lovely staff, nice chillout area. Top notch!

Disliked: no complaints!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly and helpful staff, they recommended restaurants and arranged football tickets. Great location - very close to Copacabana beach, a metro station and facilities such as banks and supermarkets.

Disliked: The window in our room was not very secure. Our room was located off the main sitting room so it could get very noisy when other guests were watching TV and sitting around talking.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly. Good breakfast. Great value for money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Heather Byrne

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2014 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff. Great location, only 10 mins walk from Copacabana beach

Disliked: Heather left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Angelique Slob

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2013 Angelique would recommend this property

Liked: this is one of those hostels where they get what it is all about: to offer you a home away from home. I stayed for a week and when I got back today for a few hours I was welcomed home and that is how it feels. The staff is super friendly and helpful. they all speak good english and are able and willing to help you with all your questions. The hostel itself has a rooftop where breakfast is surved and where you can buy drinks. There are three comunal áreas in the hostel where you can hang out. the dorms feel quite spacy and are nice and cool. The location is great, just a few blocks (10-15 min) from the beach. the área is safe to walk around also at night. The staff will inform you about the nightlife in copacobana or other áreas and they join the guests quite often. I would definately come back here and I would recommand this place to anyone who wants to stay in rio.

Disliked: Cant think of anything!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed 4 nights at the hostel. Staff were very friendly and knowledgeable, and took time to interact with guests. Everything was in order. The hostel provided a scrumptious breakfast and had a lovely roof terrace for travellers to interact. It was also very well located, being a few minutes walk from the Siqueira Campos metro station and about 10 minutes from Copacabana Beach - important points in a city where transport is relatively expensive.

Disliked: Dorm room was a bit musty when fully occupied (due to absence of air conditioning and inadequate ventilation). Few power sockets were available in the property. Bathrooms were common (small cubicles to shower in) with minimal space provided to get dressed.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Laura Curle

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are really knowledgeable and friendly, always willing to help whatever the problem or hour! Its like your home-they are really welcoming and make you feel comfortable.Its super clean with the staff cleaning lots through out the day. The will organise trips for you too.

Disliked: At times the showers can be lukewarm but that is my only criticism of this place otherwise its great!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2013

Liked: The staff were second to none, very helpful and friendly. Its in a good location a few blocks away from the beach. The breakfast was standard as well as the rooms.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Hodges

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2013 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was beyond amazing. Felt like I was at home. Laundry service was good and the hangout room was great. Location was really nice too. Off copacabana enough to be around less expensive markets. And close to the metro!

Disliked: Wifi was not always the best but a simple refresh usually was fine.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alastair Scott

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 May 2013 Alastair would recommend this property

Liked: Been in many hostels, a cut above and spottlesly clean

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

29 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Familiar atmosphere in a small, but very nice, house. Friendly and helpful staff at any time of the day. Close to Metrô, busstations, and the beach. Broad choice of food for breakfeast.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Niall Scully

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 April 2013 Niall would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly & helpful staff. Good location. Nice kitchen and common areas.

Disliked: Small, cramped dorms. Tiny bathrooms. Expensive drinks.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Niclas Gottmann

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2013 Niclas would recommend this property

Liked: We've had a rough week in Rio with a lot of unfortunate things to happen. Luckily enough, we had Vania as a receptionist at Copa Fun Hostel! She would eagerly help us with any problem that was thrown our way and made us feel comfortable at the hostal at any time. They even switched rooms for us - without us asking for it - so we were able to have a 6-person dorm four ourselves (3 pax)! The breakfast is ample and delicious. There is a pool table on the terrace to guarantee a good pre-gaming. The prices at the hostel-bar are very reasonable! Overall a great venue to stay at when travelling to Rio! (Did I mention the incredibly close location to Copacabana beach?) - GREAT!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Copa Fun is in very good location, near metro, bus, short walk to copacabana beach, lots of cafes and restaurants around, supermarkets, atm. The street is also safe to walk in the evenings and I never found street noise keeping me from sleeping(day or night). Bed rooms have very strong ac to keep them cool at night if cold is not your thing you can ask for extra comforter to keep you warm. It was nice having wi-fi, it crashes sometimes but mostly working well all areas of the hostel. There is common areas to lounge around and kitchen with tables is on the roof top, nice way to start and end the day. People in Copa Fun are so friendly and helpful, I got good tips where to go and what to see. For clubbing just ask Diego, he sure knows the places to have a great night! Breakfast I only missed having bit more fruits but the coffee is divine. I loved my stay and would definitely stay again in Copa Fun if I get back to Rio. Have fun, I sure did!! :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laurens-Jan Portegies

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2013 Laurens-Jan would recommend this property

Liked: Very safe and clean. Staff was very helpfull, they even invited me to come party with them in the night. The staff can book all sorts of trips: city trip, favela tour, football match etc. The breakfast on the roof terrace was quite diverse. The Copacabana beach is about 10 min walking away. All in all a great place to stay in Rio.

Disliked: The toilets are a bit small, there is barely room to sit down. The Wi-Fi wasn't always working. But these are just minor things.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

OSCAR RIERA

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

17 January 2013 OSCAR would recommend this property

Liked: La atención y la limpieza son excelentes. El hostel esta cerca de todo.

Disliked: Deberia tener un cartel bien grande en la puerta con el nombre del hostel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

rachel arbuthnott

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2012 rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Very nice atmososphere. I would def recommend to others.

Disliked: The toilets are tiny - its hard to close the door properly! Not a major issue as it is a great hostel and bathrooms are clean!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Torsten Skjoedt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2012

Liked: The staff is really nice and breakfast is OK.

Disliked: Showers and toilets are crammed and musty smelling, white walls with wires sticking out and and abundance of very noisy ventilators leave the impression of some sort of factory production facility rather than a relaxed hostel environment, no drinking allowed - at all! - matresses of bad quality. Stressfull environment.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: First time in Rio. Couldnt have been a better start. The staff were great! Notably Diago who showed us some of our craziest nights during carnival and Vania the motherly owner who nursed our hangovers the day after. The place is very friendly and safe, with reception staff on call 24h a day. Located about 7 mins walk from Copacabana beach, 4 mins walk to the metro, we found it really easy to get around the city. I would definitely recommend it, and have booked our second visit upon our return to Rio at the end of our trip. Will & Vince

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property is mostly family run and very friendly. It's a brand new hostel, so they're just getting their operation together. As of late February 2012, they're still doing construction and painting in the building. Otherwise, I did enjoy the nice big screen TV in the communal room. And the shaded roof with dining tables is a welcoming respit from the blistering Brazilian summer heat. The kitchen upstairs is great and well stocked with pots and pans, they do provide free coffee and the breakfast is ok (just bread/jam/butter/tea/coffee, nothing to scream at).

Disliked: STREET NOISE is a big downside to this hostel, as most of the rooms are next to the busy, heavily trafficked Rua Siguera Campos street outside with motorcycles, beeping sanitation trucks, taxis and loud Brazilians walking down the street at any given time of day or night. There is no wifi at this property. Guests had to use an open wifi connection from another building's wifi on the roof of the hotel. Wifi is not available in the rooms and it's spotty at best in select areas of the property. There is no air conditioning in the building (just ceiling fans), so it gets pretty uncomfortable in the rooms. But the friendliness of the staff makes up for a lot of it. I LOVE that they accepted credit cards to pay for booking.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mikel Andueza Bailo

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2012 Mikel would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly, the breakfast is awesome.

Disliked: It's a bit far way from the beach, well not that far away, but at night it's a bit dangerous cause there is no one on the street.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jesper Juul Jensen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

17 February 2012 Jesper Juul would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful place with the most friendly staff you could ever imagine, they go a long way to help you with tours, tickets and info.

Disliked: Bathrooms can feel a bit crampy, but they are very functional and clean.