HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotelinho da Urca

Guesthouse | Rua Marechal Cantuária, 10, Urca, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 22291-060

94.4% Overall Rating

27 out of 27 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/01/2014)

ELENA RODRIGUEZ DESPLOBAINS thinks…

"Everything, superb breakfast, beautiful room , exquisite decoration, helpful staff, amazing views from terrace."

Read all Hotelinho da Urca reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rio de Janeiro

Lisetonga Hostel
15.70 USD

Hostel 91.9% 106 reviews
El Misti Hostel Leme
11.17 USD

Hostel 65.0% 4 reviews
Sugar Loaf
31.40 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Copinha Hostel
19.74 USD

Hostel 69.4% 43 reviews
Alpha Hostel
13.46 USD

Hostel 77.0% 121 reviews
El misti botafogo hostel e pousada
11.17 USD

Guesthouse 78.5% 112 reviews
Ace Backpackers Youth Hostels Rio de Janeiro
35.88 USD

Hostel 70.4% 198 reviews
HOSTEL ECO ARCO VERDE
12.11 USD

Hostel 60.8% 27 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.4%

Overall Rating

27 out of 27 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotelinho da Urca'

Atmosphere
97.6%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
98.4%
Value
91.2%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 10 of 27 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ELENA RODRIGUEZ DESPLOBAINS

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 ELENA would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, superb breakfast, beautiful room , exquisite decoration, helpful staff, amazing views from terrace.

Disliked: ELENA left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sarah Martin

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: We had a double private with ensuite in a bungalow on top of the building. It was isolated from everyone else and felt very private. We also had an amazing view of the bay from our shower. The location is excellent, right next to Sugarloaf Mountain and the bus to Ipanaema and Copacobana is right outside the front door.

Disliked: Unfortunately we had an incident with heavy rains causing flooding in our room, however the staff were extremely understanding and apologetic and even washed our flood effected clothes for us. No map was available at reception at the time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diego Artigas San Carlos

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping

06 October 2013 Diego would recommend this property

Liked: La ubicación es excelente, la vista maravillosa. El entorno es seguro y muy agradable. Hay locales para comer baratos y muy buenos cerca. El acceso a transporte que te lleva a todos lados es ideal. Se puede llegar a cualquier lado muy rapidamente. Todo el staff (desde los la recepción hasta las chicas del aseo) es una maravilla. Todos muy atentos y amables. Son lo mejor. Siempre estuvieron dispuestos a ayudarnos en todo. Especiales gracias a Rafael, por toda la atención brindada. El desayuno es buenísimo, y la estadía completa fue un agrado. Volveremos siempre allá cuando vayamos a Río, sin falta.

Disliked: Nada

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Alice Bonet

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2013 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in a quiet and safe neighbourhood with good access (bus/taxi/metro) to zona sul and downtown. Nice breakfast terrace overlooking the Bahia de Guanabara just in front of Rio Yacht Club. Friendly atmosphere, owner, staff and fellow travellers.

Disliked: Property is an ongoing remodel of an old building, lots of steep stairs, room cramped and remodeled in dubious taste. Owner refused to honor the price in dollars quoted in the reservation (exchange rate had changed) and collected in local currency without issuing a receipt, presumably not intending to pay taxes. Breakfast scarce by Brasilian standards.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Chapple

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent. Safest place in Rio. Staff are friendly and the room was very clean.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jack Blundell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2013 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: We really enjoyed our time here. The hostel/guesthouse is a great relaxing place to stay. The 'sea view' rooms overlook the small harbour in Urca and has a fantastic view of Christ The Redeemer. The shared veranda also has this great view, perfect to sit down with a beer and looked out over (the free breakfast is also served here). The owner Eduardo is a good guy, massively helpful and spoke very good English. That goes for his staff as well. The area itself seems safe enough (we had no trouble) and is perfect to get around to different places in Rio. It is 10 mins walk to Copacabana, directly under Sugar Loaf Mountain and has a small isolated beach round the corner.

Disliked: None of the other guests there at the time we stayed spoke English and our Portuguese wasn't great so communication was limited. This was our fault but it is something to bear in mind if you are looking to meet other guests as Bellevue da Urca looks like it might not frequently get the 'standard backpacker' type. Having said that we may have just been unlucky with our timing. Also it was expensive for what it was (£60 p/night for a Double). However we booked quite soon before going and it was close to Carnival, it maybe cheaper otherwise.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything but the dislikes.

Disliked: No lights in the stairways at night and no fresh towels during a 3 nights stay. Pool did mot atttract too much to get in.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

21 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was like being in somebodys home - in fact it was being in someones home. it was very cosy and the guy that owned the place was very nice and eccentric! awesome awseome place

Disliked: it s not really a hostel so there is no tours and stuff if u like that sort of stuff...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in Urca! Very safe neighborhood (police permanently in front of the entrance), directly at the foot of the sugar loaf with the cable car in walking distance, a few meters away from Botafogo Bay with Urca beach also in walking distance. No breakfast, but coffee shop with good food in the same house. Eduardo the owner is very friendly and helpful. Thanks again for the nice stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wade Jones

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2012 Wade would recommend this property

Liked: The view from the Ocean view suite is freaking perfect. Wall to wall windows that open all the way. The owner is super friendly and willing to do whatever he can to make your stay better. Urca is a super nice neighborhood! Very quaint, and peaceful. Sugar loaf and two beaches are a short walk away!

Disliked: A few water problems but they were taken care of by the friendly staff.