HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Global Rio de janeiro

Guesthouse | Ladeira de Santa Teresa, 45, 101 Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 20241140

93.1% Overall Rating

33 out of 34 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/03/2014)

jozsef levente csapo thinks…

"Freiendly staff & Clean place. Good place to stay if you like a quite athmosphre."

Read all Global Rio de janeiro reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.34

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

** FOR CARNIVAL AND NEW YEARS BOOKINGS: AFTER YOUR BOOKING WE WILL GET IN TOUCH WITH YOU TO PROCEED WITH A 50% DEPOSIT OF THE TOTAL AMOUNT PAYABLE UPON ARRIVAL, IN ORDER TO CONFIRM YOUR RESERVATION (This amount will be discounted to the total you will have to pay at the hostel) The New Years package deal has a minimum of 5 nights. The dates are flexible and apply from December 27th until January 2nd. The carnival package deal has a minimum of 7 nights. The dates are flexible and apply from February 5th until February 15th.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rio de Janeiro

Rio Aplauso Hostel
11.15 USD

Hostel 81.1% 10 reviews
Hercus Santa Teresa
17.84 USD

Hostel 78.7% 11 reviews
Books Hostel
17.84 USD

Hostel 90.4% 52 reviews
Hercus Hostel Lapa
17.84 USD

Hostel 78.2% 27 reviews
Manga Hostel Lapa – Rio
15.61 USD

Hostel 93.9% 15 reviews
Bossa in Rio Hostel
16.06 USD

Hostel 83.1% 96 reviews
Rio Forest Hostel
20.07 USD

Hostel 78.1% 3 reviews
Fridays
66.91 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.1%

Overall Rating

33 out of 34 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Global Rio de janeiro'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
98.4%
Staff
100.0%
Value
87.2%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 29 of 33 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

jozsef levente csapo

Alone

City break

23 March 2014 jozsef levente would recommend this property

Liked: Freiendly staff & Clean place. Good place to stay if you like a quite athmosphre.

Disliked: jozsef levente left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, owners, cleanliness, safe and secure,

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: super friendly and helpfull staff!!

Disliked: ventilator couldnt be moved

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful hosts; very genuine and hard-working. They're extremely helpful without being intrusive in any way. They also have the cutest 18-month-old who loves new people. Located just steps away from the Lapa Arches; very happening place. Definitely a little more character on this side of town than Copacabana/Inpanema. Bathrooms/room/kitchen very clean and cozy. Definitely worth every penny (or centavo).

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

20 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, very nice people (family business, very pleasant)

Disliked: Breakfast is minimal, shower is 'brazilian', as they say, one can't really adjust water temp.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Elisa, Sid and Hermes were so nice. You feel at home there! The are very helpful. The favela tour is very interesting. Near to buses and metro station. The terrace is the best part of the house to have ga drink at the end of the day.

Disliked: Good location but ipanema and Copacabana are a little bit far away

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alan miller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2013 alan would recommend this property

Liked: If you want to know what its like to stay with a family in Rio, this is the place to stay. Very secure and clean. Great breakfast, it will keep you going all day. Great view from balcony especially at night. The best thing I did were the tours I did with Sid. One for the city centre and one for the favellas...very cheap and such a good tour..you have to do it! Rio is a great place. Sid, Alyse and Hermes will look afteryou.

Disliked: Wifi access unlimited but PC internet limited as its used for the business/family but they will accommodate if they can. You can hand wash your stuff for free but washing machine use is expensive.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Louise Horstmann

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2013 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are very friendly and helpful and the house is clean. The location is good being very close to the steps of Lapa and the arches.

Disliked: It's a bit difficult to find since there are no signs outside indicating the hostel. The room is really hot and there's no air conditioning.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice Room, good breakfast. The owners are very nice und helpful!! Location very close to Lapa (good for nightlife) an Santa Teresa. In walking distance to city center. probably not a party place, but nice for couples for e.g.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Elisa and Sid are brilliant hosts. We stayed for a week during Carnival and they could not have taken care of us better. The location is great- right in the middle of Lapa with a big balcony overlooking all the action by the Arches. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kate Della Bosca

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2013 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: Sid and Eliza were very helpful and the place was also very clean. It was very intimate as there were other guests staying here but it felt as though we were part of the family. In a good location close to public transport, the metro and bars etc.

Disliked: Definitely stayed in a party area during carnival and most nights we could hear the party all night long. Good for those who like to party!

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Welcomed in by lovely hosts, this feels more like a homestay than a hostel. 3 mins walk down the hill to Lapa, the party district, so a great location if that's what you're after. The owners are both tour guides so are a great at helping you find your way round the city.

Disliked: In summer season, december to march, the temperatures can get very hot and there is no air conditioning in the rooms so sleeping can be a little tricky at times.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mark van Beek

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2012 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Great location just 5 minutes walk from the nightlife of Lapa and from the Bus and Metro station. Property is basic but clean. Fast Wifi connection! Sid and Elisa make you feel at home and, as they are both tour guides as well, they have good tips.

Disliked: Breakfast could be a bit less basic.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The guest house is in a superb location on the cobbled streets of Santa Theresa, just thirty seconds walk from the arches of Lapa which lines a square that is full of kiosk bars at the weekend and a street of open air pavement bars and cafes. It's also just 300 meters from the cinelandia metro station and the teatro municipal. The family make you feel at home and both Sid and Elisa are trained tour guides so they are full of useful information and the bed is heavenly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

ROBERT MERRETT

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2012 ROBERT would recommend this property

Liked: Great location,literally just down the street approx 300 metres to the Lapa Arches.From Lapa Arches approx 10 min walk to nearest Metro station, Cinelandia. Very friendly welcoming Hosts,Sid, Elisa & Hermes.Global Rio de Janeiro is actually the Hosts home split into 3 Rooms?.So the Hostel/Home is more intiment.So if you prefer a quieter Accomadation,then i would "recommend" it.Breakfast is provided & was included in the cost.Continental style.Bread,Jam,Fruit,cold/meats & Tea or Coffee & fruit juice,which is a great start to the day.This property is very clean & tidy."Recommended".......

Disliked: Its not that i disliked it.But maybe when you first Arrive at the Front Door. First impression maybe that the inside might not be as in photos on Hostelbookers.But think of the adage.Never judge a book by its cover.Once inside everything is as per photos.Property is very tidy & clean,as its more of a home than a Hostel. Also if your just off the plane with your luggage/Backpack,there is about 200-300metres up the Hill Zig-Zag.Once youve dumped your luggage its not so much of an issue.After a day or two you will get used to it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philipp Schilling

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 August 2012 Philipp would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! It was the best stay during our trip of 6 weeks! The employees were very, very lovely and helpful. The tried their best to make us feel like home. When we will come back to rio one day, we will go there again. Especially the favela tour with the owner of the hostel was great!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Renee Miller

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2012 Renee would recommend this property

Liked: Sid and his wife were fantastic! He gave us a favela tour and told us exactly which buses to take to get various places, which I'm sure saved us TONS of money. He directed us to the best steakhouse, great music venues, and even directed us on a walking tour of the city centre. Breakfast was fantastic. Location was great - just around the corner (literally) from Lapa (where the nightlife happens). Fantastic!

Disliked: It was a little bit pricey. But with all of the help that Sid gave us, I think it saved us money overall.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan Moldt

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2012 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: We had the best time with Sid and his family. The property is their house and the room was perfect for the three of us! We felt like we were part of the family! I highly recommend global rio to any travelers who are looking for a personal and highly seclusive stay

Disliked: We enjoyed everything

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louis Jean

Alone

Family Holiday

15 June 2012 Louis would recommend this property

Liked: The owner Sid is the most helpful and knowledgeable host. The hostel only has 3 rooms, which makes it intimate. The best location in town!

Disliked: Louis left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Vitor Amadeu

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 June 2012 Vitor would recommend this property

Liked: First you can think that's not really a good place to stay, but after the first night you will totally change your mind. I think that's the closest Hostel to Lapa, so you wont worry with transportation after hard partying. Sid and Elisa are both fantastic people and tourist guides, so they will freely advice you how to enjoy the city like professionals do. I also thought that wouldn't be safe come back at late night, but besides some homeless people around, the area was really safe and there were some police around.

Disliked: There's no indication that's a Hostel at the door, so it can be a bit hard to find. A flag at the door would help.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Wrigley

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2012 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic place with very friendly hosts. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Nothing - we were made to feel very welcome from the minute we arrived.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sid and Elisa the owners are the most charming people we ever met. Sid is a smiling guy with a lot of love for his city (RIO). He is also an incredible source of information that will make your stay here in Rio an original and spicy one. He will advise you for your walking tours, the restaurant, the places to party and you will be able to have the brasilian experience of Rio not just the touristic regular one. We also discussed a lot of music and brasilian movies. He has a lot of culture to share. We also took his favela tour. A very good experience as he took us to places we would have never been if it wasn't for him with landfield information. The location is perfect for the WE as it is conveniently located near the party district Lapa and the bohemian one Santa teresa.

Disliked: We stayed three night but the bathroom wasn't cleaned or refreshed during our stay ... Take some ear plugs on weekends cause the party runs all night ;) But as we joined the fiesta as well it was easy to fall asleep !

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ekin Gedik

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2012 Ekin would recommend this property

Liked: We and my three colleagues stayed in Global Rio De Janeiro for 3 nights. First of all, hosts Sid and Eliza are charming people. They made us feel like at home. Also, they were very helpful at everything we need. They provided us a flexible check-in and out, gave many information about surroundings, Brazilian culture and so on. They are both also professional tour guides, speak English fluently and provided us with any information we need. Sid took us to a Favela tour which was an astonishing experience. Also, location of the hostel is one of the best that could be found in Rio. It is really close to Lapa which has a lively nightlife. Ipanema and Copacabana could be reached using metro within 15 minutes from the hostel. Surroundings are safe and fun. Also other tourist attractions like Cristo Redentor and Sugar Loaf could be reached by taking only one bus. It was a marvelous experience for us and we could recommend the place to anyone who wants to stay in Rio.

Disliked: Ekin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jesús Guarneros Díaz

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

04 May 2012

Liked: It is really near from everywhere (Restaurants, pubs, taxi, bus, airport, subway) it's safetly and really confortable. If you're going to Rio de Janeiro there isn't better option tha Globla Rio de Janeiro

Disliked: It's located in a hill so you have to walk a little bit to take the bus, but not too much (1 block)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Brendan O'Connor

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2012 Brendan would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed here for our 3 nights in Rio. Sid & Elisa were so helpful & did all they could to help us & make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Great location near lapa, about a minutes walk from the Selaron staircase & near to buses to all locations. Sid gave us an interesting favela tour for R$20 per person which was great. Breakfast was nice, as described, upper end of what you'd expect in South America. Very safe & homely.

Disliked: Personally prefer a private bathroom for convenience but other than that was very happy.