We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lisetonga Hostel

Hostel | Ladeira Ari Barroso, Casa 15, Leme Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 22010060

90.2% Overall Rating

114 out of 121 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/02/2015)

Fumika Brown thinks…

"There were a choice of bathrooms and showers, so one was always available. The bathrooms were clean, our rooms were nice and spacious. They had a cat and parrot, which was pretty cool."

Read all Lisetonga Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 32.12
  • Towel USD 1.61

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

After your booking is processed, Lisetonga Hostel will contact you by email to request additional information to secure your booking. Failure to provide these details might result in the cancellation of your booking. Note please: Bookings for New Year, Carnival, World Cup, please contact our reception. We require the 50% in advance. Adults only, not children allowed

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rio de Janeiro

El Misti Hostel Leme
6.07 USD

Hostel 76.7% 6 reviews
Copinha Hostel
14.13 USD

Hostel 68.3% 48 reviews
HOSTEL ECO ARCO VERDE
12.85 USD

Hostel 60.8% 27 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel Copacabana
10.48 USD

Hostel 80.3% 70 reviews
CabanaCopa Hostel
9.31 USD

Hostel 77.0% 290 reviews
Rio Nature Adventure
9.31 USD

Hostel 69.8% 12 reviews
Samba Green Hostel
11.24 USD

Hostel 82.9% 18 reviews
Villa Budget Hostel
14.45 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.2%

Overall Rating

114 out of 121 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lisetonga Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
93.6%
Value
92.0%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 94 of 118 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

JAN BREMEK

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2015 JAN would recommend this property

Liked: Nice common areas, well secured hostel.

Disliked: I got room downstairs,Beirut - try to avoid that one! Rooms on ground floor are nicer, and on the first floor really great! The air conditioning was toooo loud!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Fumika Brown

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2015 Fumika would recommend this property

Liked: There were a choice of bathrooms and showers, so one was always available. The bathrooms were clean, our rooms were nice and spacious. They had a cat and parrot, which was pretty cool.

Disliked: You can't flush the toilet paper, which is fine and expected, but the bin for the toilet paper is completely open - it doesn't have a lid. At times this was pretty disgusting. Right now I am in a hostel where they have peddle bins....much better.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to beach

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a family feel to the hostel. This was perfect for Christmas. Rooms were a good size and they organised activities for us.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i like a lot the cat and the parrot and the way they get along

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its accross the street from this huge blue and white mosaic. I found later it is listed as one of the Rio tourists attracions too. The explained its called Mural Babilonia and they actually made it happen. That I find pretty cool!!!

Disliked: Sometimes the street is a bit loud for me.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

consuelo espana

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 December 2014 consuelo would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoy very much!!!! The beach is so near to the hostel and the place is wonderful very clean and safety it has a tower from there you have a very special time un the hamac watching the stars.

Disliked: consuelo left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

22 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Muito bacana ver a galera do hostel fazer mosaicos na frente, adorei.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place has The Vibe. You should stay there, too. Location is good. Don't worry about "Favela" talk. Positive vibrations all the way through. Socializing with other travellers was the best part of my stay there. Thanks Pierre for the great music you played for us all. Anyone who wants to meet people should have been there once in their lifes. Several small and cozy common rooms create the ideal setting to just chat people up at random. I ended up in a group of 9, spontaneously formed, roaming through Copacabana, Ipanema and Lapaz. I hope I will stay in contact with many of the really nice people I met there. The hostel is located at the end of Leme (normal barrio) at the edge of Babylonia (favela / "communidade"), however even Babylonia is not a kind of region which seems scary. More like a middle-class favela, where people own motorbikes and cars. So don't be afraid of staying there because of the location. Yet, normal safety procedures apply, as in every other part of Rio, e.g. don't walk alone at night, don't wear valuables etc... The house is decorated with lots of love and enthusiasm which adds to the feel-good atmosphere. Staff was nice, at night we were reminded of staying quiet after 11pm in a non-punishing way, yet effective (I guess), checkout was well prepared, all worked out just fine.

Disliked: Bring earplugs. I was part of the party group, so noise created by guests did not bother me. But even after our own chat cooled down, there's still the sort of bar across the road which also makes some noise. With earplugs in, I slept well, so it can not have been that loud (I have a light sleep).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, large rooms, nice bathrooms

Disliked: Breakfast start a little late, no bike rental, some of the staff members don't speak english very well

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Elaine Byrne

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2014 Elaine would recommend this property

Liked: The location is near a metro so convenient for travelling around Rio. Staff and breakfast were good and caprinaha night was a good way to meet people.

Disliked: The double room was small and the water heater was really loud.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fabio Calzavara

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Visiting friends or family

21 August 2014 Fabio would recommend this property

Liked: The room has very large lockers, almost a closet. The bunker bed was very good, not shaky ou noisy. The bathroom was almost always clean.

Disliked: The location was ok, but it is at the entrance of a favela - may intimidate some travelers.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good as it was close to the beach. The staff were helpful and the facilities are adequate.

Disliked: None

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrik Larsson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2014 Patrik would recommend this property

Liked: A very friendly hostel where everyone gets to know each other (if you're in to it). Very good service and breakfast is Ok, sometimes great! If you aeu looking for a place to meet friends and have some good parties this is def. It! We didn't come here for the party but had a very good experience anyway :) Location is up on a hill but close to Copacabana beach and plenty of supermarkets. There are also some nice restaurants close by!

Disliked: Nothing. It might be good to know that the place quitte often turns into a party anight, for those looking for a more quiet the hostel is kocated on a pretty steep hil If you don't mind walking for 5-10 min down and up the hill there isnt a problem. There are also moto taxis that will get you up there for a 3 R$.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nicely located in a quiet area on a hill, but close enough to the beach (if you are too tired to walk the hill, a mototaxi just costs 2,5 real). Good atmosphere. Happy hour: 2 Caipirinhas for 6 real. Cheap restaurants nearby. Value for money. There is a cute cat. Very safe neighbourhood.

Disliked: A minor detail, but the house parrot was shitting on the floor.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marin Ferara

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

21 March 2014 Marin would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice atmosphere.

Disliked: Breakfast starts only at 8.30

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meagan Hodge

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2014 Meagan would recommend this property

Liked: The place was original and quirky! Lots of colour and life to the place! The staff were always friendly! They also were knowledgable about the area and answered all my questions! The place was always clean and tidy! As well the owner seemed to really love what he did and his place! Great stay! Plus the parrot was adorable!

Disliked: The only thing I disliked was that it was located up a hill. So after a long day of activities that hill could be awful!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

01 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice bar, nice location

Disliked: Bit of a walk uphill to get there, but worth it

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ekaterina Dracheva

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2014 Ekaterina would recommend this property

Liked: It was a wonderful week in Rio with Lisetonga. Location on the top give some training to my legs:) It was safe and quiet, very nice local cafe just next door, and few minutes from beach. Breakfast was good, with fresh fruits and coffee and toasts. What do you expect more? Staff are nice and friendly especially Karina (cleaner was a bit angry woman though, hehe, but I guess she had a hard work, because some people are so dirty!). We had a great nights with barman Davi and his kaiperinia! I also like that after 11pm hostel get more quiet and I can sleep normal. So in general I have nothing to complain about.

Disliked: Not enough space to baggage, no space for cloths

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice atmosphere, nice communal areas, good breakfast, very good value for money, all together a really nice hostel where I'd stay again

Disliked: you have to walk up a pretty steep hill to get there, and I didn't like that the mattresses and pillows had some plastic-gummy cover over them which makes it even hotter than it already is in the dorms

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: separate showers, price-value ratio, cute parrot, hammocks on the roofs,...

Disliked: breakfast (one of the worst I had so far in Brazil, but still eatable), there were 9 beds instead of 8 in our room, so it was really crowded... during the day one of the staff used our room for sleeping, also the little hill you have to climb up to get to the hostel is quite steep ;)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel McFaul

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Incredibly friendly, nice international mix of guests, great little bar in the evenings, safe and convenient location.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lucas Ferreira

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

16 October 2013 Lucas would recommend this property

Liked: O ambiente é muito felliz e muito bonito, os colaboradores do albergue são muito simpáticos e atendem muito bem. Recomendo para quem vai ao Rio sozinho ou com amigos e quer conhecer novas pessoas e ficar num ambiente alegre e muito bacana.

Disliked: Por se localizar numa comunidade em um morro, é um pouco desconfortável chegar até o albergue, no entanto há serviço de mototaxi que faz a subida por um preço bacana.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ROCIO ALEGRIA

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2013 ROCIO would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness is perfect! The staff is amazing... really nice and with good information about the city. The house is well decorated and it has good comun areas. Dorms are fresh and big with enough space for everyone. One of the best hostel we've stayed!

Disliked: Nothing. I have just have one suggestion: Breakfast should start before 8.30. For me 7.30 is a good hour to start.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

VERDA FAZLIC

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

08 October 2013 VERDA would recommend this property

Liked: JULIAN from Columbia was an awesome staff member who really helped us whenever needed. We stayed in on a Friday night and danced and drank till the morning! The hostel has the cheapest caipirinhas in Rio! The location is close to the beach and not far from the metro stations or the bus stop. Internet is great here, which was really surprising. The hostel is small enough that all of the staff know you by name in a day or two.

Disliked: The ONLY thing that we disliked about this hostel was the QUITE STEEP HILL that one has to climb to get to it.