We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lisetonga Hostel

Hostel | Ladeira Ari Barroso, Casa 15, Leme Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 22010060

91.1% Overall Rating

103 out of 110 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/09/2014)

Elaine Byrne thinks…

"The location is near a metro so convenient for travelling around Rio. Staff and breakfast were good and caprinaha night was a good way to meet people."

Read all Lisetonga Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 32.82
  • Towel USD 2.05

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

After your booking is processed, Lisetonga Hostel will contact you by email to request additional information to secure your booking. Failure to provide these details might result in the cancellation of your booking. Note please: Bookings for New Year, Carnival, World Cup, please contact our reception. We require the 50% in advance. Adults only, not children allowed

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rio de Janeiro

El Misti Hostel Leme
8.16 USD

Hostel 72.0% 5 reviews
Copinha Hostel
18.05 USD

Hostel 70.4% 44 reviews
HOSTEL ECO ARCO VERDE
10.67 USD

Hostel 60.8% 27 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel Copacabana
17.78 USD

Hostel 80.7% 66 reviews
Hotelinho da Urca
36.92 USD

Guesthouse 94.5% 28 reviews
CabanaCopa Hostel
9.85 USD

Hostel 76.0% 283 reviews
Rio Nature Adventure
7.79 USD

Hostel 69.8% 12 reviews
Samba Green Hostel
12.31 USD

Hostel 83.9% 16 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.1%

Overall Rating

103 out of 110 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lisetonga Hostel'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
95.2%
Value
95.2%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 85 of 107 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, large rooms, nice bathrooms

Disliked: Breakfast start a little late, no bike rental, some of the staff members don't speak english very well

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Elaine Byrne

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2014 Elaine would recommend this property

Liked: The location is near a metro so convenient for travelling around Rio. Staff and breakfast were good and caprinaha night was a good way to meet people.

Disliked: The double room was small and the water heater was really loud.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fabio Calzavara

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Visiting friends or family

21 August 2014 Fabio would recommend this property

Liked: The room has very large lockers, almost a closet. The bunker bed was very good, not shaky ou noisy. The bathroom was almost always clean.

Disliked: The location was ok, but it is at the entrance of a favela - may intimidate some travelers.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good as it was close to the beach. The staff were helpful and the facilities are adequate.

Disliked: None

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrik Larsson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2014 Patrik would recommend this property

Liked: A very friendly hostel where everyone gets to know each other (if you're in to it). Very good service and breakfast is Ok, sometimes great! If you aeu looking for a place to meet friends and have some good parties this is def. It! We didn't come here for the party but had a very good experience anyway :) Location is up on a hill but close to Copacabana beach and plenty of supermarkets. There are also some nice restaurants close by!

Disliked: Nothing. It might be good to know that the place quitte often turns into a party anight, for those looking for a more quiet the hostel is kocated on a pretty steep hil If you don't mind walking for 5-10 min down and up the hill there isnt a problem. There are also moto taxis that will get you up there for a 3 R$.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nicely located in a quiet area on a hill, but close enough to the beach (if you are too tired to walk the hill, a mototaxi just costs 2,5 real). Good atmosphere. Happy hour: 2 Caipirinhas for 6 real. Cheap restaurants nearby. Value for money. There is a cute cat. Very safe neighbourhood.

Disliked: A minor detail, but the house parrot was shitting on the floor.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marin Ferara

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

21 March 2014 Marin would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice atmosphere.

Disliked: Breakfast starts only at 8.30

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meagan Hodge

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2014 Meagan would recommend this property

Liked: The place was original and quirky! Lots of colour and life to the place! The staff were always friendly! They also were knowledgable about the area and answered all my questions! The place was always clean and tidy! As well the owner seemed to really love what he did and his place! Great stay! Plus the parrot was adorable!

Disliked: The only thing I disliked was that it was located up a hill. So after a long day of activities that hill could be awful!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

01 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice bar, nice location

Disliked: Bit of a walk uphill to get there, but worth it

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ekaterina Dracheva

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2014 Ekaterina would recommend this property

Liked: It was a wonderful week in Rio with Lisetonga. Location on the top give some training to my legs:) It was safe and quiet, very nice local cafe just next door, and few minutes from beach. Breakfast was good, with fresh fruits and coffee and toasts. What do you expect more? Staff are nice and friendly especially Karina (cleaner was a bit angry woman though, hehe, but I guess she had a hard work, because some people are so dirty!). We had a great nights with barman Davi and his kaiperinia! I also like that after 11pm hostel get more quiet and I can sleep normal. So in general I have nothing to complain about.

Disliked: Not enough space to baggage, no space for cloths

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice atmosphere, nice communal areas, good breakfast, very good value for money, all together a really nice hostel where I'd stay again

Disliked: you have to walk up a pretty steep hill to get there, and I didn't like that the mattresses and pillows had some plastic-gummy cover over them which makes it even hotter than it already is in the dorms

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: separate showers, price-value ratio, cute parrot, hammocks on the roofs,...

Disliked: breakfast (one of the worst I had so far in Brazil, but still eatable), there were 9 beds instead of 8 in our room, so it was really crowded... during the day one of the staff used our room for sleeping, also the little hill you have to climb up to get to the hostel is quite steep ;)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel McFaul

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Incredibly friendly, nice international mix of guests, great little bar in the evenings, safe and convenient location.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lucas Ferreira

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

16 October 2013 Lucas would recommend this property

Liked: O ambiente é muito felliz e muito bonito, os colaboradores do albergue são muito simpáticos e atendem muito bem. Recomendo para quem vai ao Rio sozinho ou com amigos e quer conhecer novas pessoas e ficar num ambiente alegre e muito bacana.

Disliked: Por se localizar numa comunidade em um morro, é um pouco desconfortável chegar até o albergue, no entanto há serviço de mototaxi que faz a subida por um preço bacana.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ROCIO ALEGRIA

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2013 ROCIO would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness is perfect! The staff is amazing... really nice and with good information about the city. The house is well decorated and it has good comun areas. Dorms are fresh and big with enough space for everyone. One of the best hostel we've stayed!

Disliked: Nothing. I have just have one suggestion: Breakfast should start before 8.30. For me 7.30 is a good hour to start.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

VERDA FAZLIC

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

08 October 2013 VERDA would recommend this property

Liked: JULIAN from Columbia was an awesome staff member who really helped us whenever needed. We stayed in on a Friday night and danced and drank till the morning! The hostel has the cheapest caipirinhas in Rio! The location is close to the beach and not far from the metro stations or the bus stop. Internet is great here, which was really surprising. The hostel is small enough that all of the staff know you by name in a day or two.

Disliked: The ONLY thing that we disliked about this hostel was the QUITE STEEP HILL that one has to climb to get to it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Sherwood

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

02 October 2013 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: Nice set up, esoteric character, close to the beach and close (ish) to the metro station, decent breakfast. Overall great value for money.

Disliked: The neighbourhood is pretty lively, and the sound travels. Don't stay here if you want a quiet night's sleep.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This house is really beautiful and there is a great atmosphere. The bathrooms are really clean and the decoration is amazing.

Disliked: Some parts the plastic around the mattress. But it prevents cimicids.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Samantha Vaughan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2013 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, great location despite the hill! Great breakfast.

Disliked: Bit noisey at weekends depending on which room you're in and proximity to the street but you should be out anyway!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, hot showers, clean shared bathrooms, helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

becci henderson

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2013 becci would recommend this property

Liked: A lot of places we stayed at were soulless, the same cannot be said for this place. It had lovely social areas where you could relax and have a beer, the building had character, the staff were friendly and helpful, the kitchen was really well eqipped and it was in a pretty good location within easy reach of the arterial transport routes.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ross Neal

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2013 Ross would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, great atmosphere and common area to meet people, clean, cheap caprinhas! What more can I say.

Disliked: Great hostel and can't think of any negatives.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kendall Funk

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2013 Kendall would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff, great atmosphere, walking distance to Copacabana beach, very clean, great price, and they accommodated all of our group's needs.

Disliked: Lisetonga is located in Leme, which is a pacified favela. The neighborhood seemed a little sketchy to me at first, but I never felt unsafe while walking around there. Only carry as much as you need for the day. Also, the walk up the hill is a killer but at least you can get some exercise in while in Rio!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff who organised all the tours and transfers for us - all we had to do was ask! Nice clean bathrooms with continual hot water. Good kitchen facilities.

Disliked: You have to climb a hill to get to hostel - but its really not that bad.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Bohdan Wytwyckyj

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2013 Bohdan would recommend this property

Liked: Very safe location. We wandered the surrounding streets late at night with no issues. Lockers are huge so you can leave your backpack secure if you want. Breakfast was your typcial bread, cheese and ham affair but there were also eggs and sausages on alternating days. Seemed spacious with plenty of outdoor space. We went of peak season however the place was still busy but never had an issue over showers or toilets. Its ideal for taxis to both coccobana and lapa if your intrested in the nightlife. Beach is a 5-10 min walk (down the hill). Easy for buses.

Disliked: There is no disputing that the hostel is mid way up a very large and steep hill. We took it as part of our training for the Inca trail however i can see how some peaople would be put off. Your not in the centre of the bar/restaurant/cafe areas however there are some good local ones about.